We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel ever Not 5* barely 3* if it's lucky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Asarlik Beach
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed in well over 100 hotels around the world and this was worst ever. Good points. Hotel was clean and generally staff were helpful except the Manager who only speaks English when it suits him. We were unfortunate and had bad weather and they could not cope. Entertainment was almost non existant unless you wanted to watch the kidddie disco until after 9.30pm. Not our idea of fun watching 6/8 kids and the birdie dance or disorganised Karaoke. Trying to get a table for Breakfast or Dinner was a nightmare. Had to sit outside for breakfast in a gale force wind and try and eat cornflakes before they blew off your spoon. Weather not the hotels fault of course but the lack of organisation was. Now the worst bit. The food was diabolical. It was very repetative and never hot. It came from the kitchens cold. Chef picks up raw chicken to throw on grill then in same gloves picks up cooked and puts it on your plate. Had a bad tummy several times. So much chicken under different names but same as night before. Meatballs every other night. Rubber chips for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Jacket potatoes 2 nights but gone by 7.45pm. Sprouts for breakfast left from night before. Manged to get butter at breakfast most days but when we asked for butter at Lunch or Dinner was told only margarine you can't have butter. The quantity of food was there but no quality. Snack bar didn't change in 2 weeks. Burgers you could sole your shoes with, pasta and rubber chips and some salad. The children were getting plates of food from the snack bar to feed the stray cats and these are the plates we eat from. Staff did not stop them. So called Al la Carte nights were awful as well. We found Nuri in the Restaurant very helpful but some of the bar staff just wanted to throw bottles around and show off. Expecially in Marine Bar and if you were over 30 then they didn't want to know. Had to shout to get served. Very thin disposable plastic cups for your drinks in some bars and plastic stirers for your coffee not spoons. We like our wine in a glass. After all supposed to be 5*. Excellent choice of drinks but most was very poor quality. Wine was very rough. Beer was OK. We certainly expected a lot better from a supposedly 5* hotel and this was not a cheap holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2010

Had a fab time at this hotel.I was there with my husband and another 2 couples.Food was good and always plenty of it.The hotel was full when we were there but the staff worked none stop to make sure that you didnt have to wait for tables or drink.We were there for 2 weeks none of us had as much as an upset stomach staff were always cleaning,bars swimming pools,etc rooms were kept spotless clean towels everyday. The only complaint was not enough sunbeds but wasn't helped by people putting towels on them and not coming to the pool until about 5hours later.The setting of this hotel is stunning set around the bay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LochLomondScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This was my 6th time at the Royal Asarlik and yet again i havent been let down! I was in a party of 10 adults and none of us were disappointed!
The food in the hotel is very yummy! Im a fussy eater and always found something i enjoyed! Theres lots of choice and salads and some lovley breads. It makes me laugh when people complain about the food, i dont think people realise that Turkey is a third world country, if you want your full english breakfast then stay in england or go to Benidorm!
I stayed in a spotless standard room with 2 other friends and there was more than enough room for the 3 of us! The maids do a lovley job of cleaning the room and always so friendly.
As a travel agent i have recommended this property to plenty of my customers and i have even booked to go back in May!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jodiemx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

After visiting Isis Resort twice & WOW Bodrum Resort once already this year we wanted a hotel closer to the town so me & my daughter went to Royal Asarlic before season finished & we were not disapointed, all areas were clean, food was reasonable concidering it was winding down. The best thing about this hotel is no doubt the staff the most friendly bunch of people you will ever meet, Ibrahim (my best friend), Onur & Kenan in marine bar, Esin, Mustaffa, Murat & Selcuk in main restaurant & Hakan in lobby bar..... You are all stars, thanks guys. I Fell and broke my leg & dislocated my ankle in barstreet and if it wasnt for Esin & Ibrahim getin me to hospital dont know what i would have done. They then looked after me when i was let out 3 days later & continued to do so un till i went home. Absolute Angels XXXXX Animation team were FaB too :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x_ally_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

The hotel site is big and modern.
Right on the beach.

The only reason this hotel has 5 stars is because of the facilities it houses

The food was a let down, same food virtually every day.
Chicken,
Meat balls (Different sizes and shapes)
Chips, chips chips for breakfast dinner and evening meal.


Usual salad options and fish available.

No ice cream available
All in all the food is not the quality I expected other folks may have their own views
The food was not kept warm to an acceptable level it was barely warm (breeding ground for E.coli, salmonella etc
Our room was one of the standard rooms. No major complaints about the standard, the room was comfortable enough for 3 people the only let down but the extra 3rd bed was a fold up bed which in my eyes could have been more comfortable.

Bar service was unpredictable some occasions we were given the wrong drinks e.g. asking for beers we were given Baileys. Whiskey we received White rum. One smart allec bar person (From the pool bar) who will remain nameless decided to take the “p” when I asked for lager he said what’s that? I pointed to the pull he said that’s called beer. Wonder why he was not tipped by me. The quality of the spirits to me is poor they can make you ill (not due to quantity)

There are 2 pools one noisy and one quiet the choice is yours.

The high light of the hotel is the glass floor which greets you on the 6th floor (restaurant floor) as you exit from the lifts. Ladies be careful what you wear all is visible from the floors below.

The actual restaurant seating area is mainly al fresco so if unfortunately if it does rain (it did while we were there) there is very little space for folks to eat. But the restaurant views are spectacular.

If you go on any trips the trip to Kos is a great day out (Take to optional coach trip available to buy on the ferry). Cheap duty free available upon arrival back in arrivals at Bodrum)

99% of the staff was friendly.

All in all a great hotel but the food was a let down.

Short walk to the local bus stop for Bodrum.
The quality of shopping can vary from cheap shoddy goods to cheap well made goods. and knock the price down.

A visit to Turgutreis market is a must this is massive but its a pick pocketers paradise

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILSTON77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Great hotel in a great location and resort in between Gumbet and Bodrum.Lovely large spacious rooms [standard rooms] could accomadate 3 people very easily. Great ameneties ,absolutely fantastic views from the roof top bar and restaurant. [2 beautiful bays to chose from[ The hotel boasts 7 bars [lobby,palm,green,panaroma,beach,love corner and apparently 24 hour marine bar] The choice of alcholic beverages was impressive and the best choice that i,ve encountered over the last few years with allinclusives. Drinks available was wine white,rose and red which was very good.Also local vodka,gin,whisky,rum,bicardi and brandy plus their version of Bailey,s which was great. The food was very good with lots of choice however they didn,t manage to keep it hot very well as it was luke warm most of the time. [would go back if the mansagement sorted this issue out] The staff especially the bar and waiters were very attentive [well most of them anyway] Nuri was my fave as he was very hard working and went out of his way to accomadate .The guy that ran the panaroma bar was a regular Tom Cruise and expert cocktail maker and was very efficient.The entertainment team did try their best but were a bit unorganised but Roberto listened to our requests for a quiz when it was torrential rain and we all confined to the hotel lobby bar [well there was nowt else to do and it was free] He organised a well executed quiz with only a couple of hours notice but the kareoke he organised was a bit of a shambles. Don,t know wether because it was end of seaon but the a la carte restaurants were crap! Food poor quality not very good choice and yet again it was cold. However overall it was a very good holiday and a good hotel and i would go back again especially as i can,t resist the bargains to be had!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themorleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I actually found myself scared to try the food on the first couple of days after reading reviews on here, however once i started i couldn't stop. O.K were not talking Michelin star however for an all inclusive hotel it was excellent, good choices and cooked properly as a result please don't be put of by other reviews.

The hotel itself was amazing. My daughter, partner and myself were n the newer part and in laws were in the older part. Both parts of the hotel were well equipped, comfortable and very clean. The staff couldn't do enough for us and entertainment excellent too. THIS HOTEL MADE OUR HOLIDAY WHAT IT WAS :-) :-)

Only bad point, not enough sun beds.

I recommend giving it a try.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l5tuy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#25 of 101 in Gumbet
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
8.5 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 53 in Turgutreis
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hilton Bodrum Turkbuku Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
0.2 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#4 of 101 in Gumbet
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asarlik Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asarlik Beach

Address: Adnan Menderes Cd., Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#13 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range: £59 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Asarlik Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of " away from noise but close to the fun " it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of "away from noise but close to the fun" it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. 7 Days a week the animation team will liven up the guests' holiday with daytime activities, shows, competitions, sketches and special themed show night. 4-12 Aged mini club is waiting their children. Water sport possibility on the beach. The guests will definitely find something fitting to their enjoy. In a 6 story main building there are 353 rooms. Modern and classic style decorated rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe box, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Asarlik Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asarlik Beach Gumbet
Asarlik Beach Hotel
Royal Asarlik Beach Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing