We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back!!! :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayaz Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gumbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayaz Hotel
Ranked #45 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going back!!! :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Never been to turkey before read a few negatives reviews so was a bit worried... I loved bodrum, I loved the hotel!! Sooo much to do you didn't have to leave the resort if you didn't want too... entertainment was amazing... choices of pools, we stuck to pool with a bar and loud music :) the views and area just stunning... directly on the beach with water sports and restaurants. ... big shout out to dennys lovely food and great people.. made our holiday! ! Back of hotel paradise front of hotel party.... bar street and shops all depends what you like... we went on boat trips and bar crawl with thomas cook great!! Room was well a room all we needed with a beautiful view. .. personally on holiday I dont spend time in my room but before booking ask for view amazing!!! Shopping is amazing take minimun clothes . Some shops are pushy go to 'sams bags' and next door 'hozey' clothes both pleasant good deals lovely people. Thank you to ayaz hotel we will he back!!♥

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    13
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, the staff were always friendly and made you welcome.
Rooms are adequate as we only used them to sleep in, Gumbet is a lively resort and Bodrum is close by which is also beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the sea, as you have a beautiful view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMH1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

This was our first trip to turkey and we were not dissappointed even though the ayaz was not up to our expectations. Our room was very basic with the view of a brick wall and no tv. This did not spoil our holiday as we only slept and washed in our room. The reception staff were very aloof and unapproachable but we found any information we required, was offered willingly by the turkish people. The staff of the LMT bar across the road were very friendly and made our holiday. Make sure if you book a boat trip, you go to dodgy Tony at the sammi beach hotel. The staff at the sammi beach are far better than the ayaz but the ayaz has the better setting, (pool, bar etc)
If you are doing your own transfers the taxi service charges a fixed rate of £33 , but if you do your transfers online you can get them a lot cheaper.
will go back to gumbet next year but was advised that if you book the hotel direct you will get a better deal and room.

  • Liked — layout of pool and bar
  • Disliked — very basic room with no view
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ayaz for two weeks from 10th September.

I have been to Bodrum/Gumbet many times and I stayed at the Ayaz on my first visit fifteen years ago.

Well the room we were in did not look as though it had been updated since then!! Out room was very basic, no TV or fridge or luxuries like that but we didn't expect too much as we did get a good deal on our holiday. The room was cleaned every day though and clean towels provided.

We found the hotel staff especially the night time receptionist to be quite rude.

We were not provided with an accomodation voucher from our agent which understandably the hotel needed. We said we would contact our agent and get them to email/fax the document to the hotel direct.

Two days later the hotel had apparently still not received this . The receptionist became quite rude and basically said if we did not get the voucher then we would have to pay for our accomodation again and when the agent paid them we would be reimbursed. Anyway I spoke to our agent who emailed the voucher through to my private email address and funnily enough it came through straightaway!!

I agree with another review on this site that they put the English people in the basic rooms hoping that they will want to pay to upgrade, it seems that the Dutch and German guests who were staying were put in better rooms.

The location of the hotel is perfect, right on the beach. I would not recommend this hotel to people with young children or people who enjoy their sleep as the evening entertainment some nights went on till about 3am and the music was very loud.

We stayed on half board basis and the food was ok but did get a bit repeative in the second week.

The hotel is joining forces with the hotel next door to make one big hotel and rennovations are due to be carried out so may be this will improve the rooms etc.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2007

We went towards the end of September and had a fantastic holiday. The location is the best. The pool is amazing, but having the beach right in front of you tops it off. We have been to Turkey before but not Gumbet so we did know what to expect. The rooms were basic, but we really only used them to shower and sleep. We did need to keep the window shut at night as otherwise the music from the bar was too much but the air conditioner was up to the task. I would definately recommend it as I had a lovely relaxing holiday and didn't want to come home. Only one slight down that we found was not having a fridge in the room but thats just minor stuff.

  • Liked — Beach front location and pool
  • Disliked — Lots of steps and hills
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abandrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

Chose this hotel based on reviews on this site. Unless you like cracked tiles and mouldy old bathrooms I wouldn't recommend staying here. The rooms were pretty bad, the bathrooms were a nightmare. The Front desk service not friendly and didn't speak English. pool was nice, pool side staff were also nice. But they blasted the music by the pool and asked people to dance which got annoying...too loud. Had to wear ear plugs by the pool. Saw one room that was rennovated which looked ok. Would not go back there again. Very disapponited.

  • Liked — Nothing! A nightmare!
  • Disliked — Filthy bathrooms, beds.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Attar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

we just returned from Ayaz hotel. 2 adults and our daughter who is almost 3. We arrived at 2am and our room was awful, basically it was so old and dark and dingy I wouldn't leave my cats in there. We went to reception next morning and was told there was a deluxe room available. This was going to cost about £50 a night on top of what we'd paid. Room was nice to look at and a big improvement but we didn't go with it as after speaking to other Brits there we all thought it was a scam. All Brits got these kennel rooms then told to upgrade to deluxe. Anyway in the end we moved to an equivilant room to the kennel which was in a newer block by the pool which was an improvement slighly. Then the sleepless nights started. We found out from locals that they are trying to turn Gumbet into an Aiya Napa, San Antonio type place and the hotel bar played house music very very loudly til 3am every night. All rooms are on top of it so you cannot escape it. If you are travelling with children this isn't reallyideal. We bought ear plugs which made no difference. Meals were ok but we tended to eat out, loved Sami Beach next door. Take a boat trip with Dodgy Tony as he is great! The pool at Ayaz is lovely but be warned you will share it with the whole of Gumbet. It seems as the bar/snacks are open to public, if you drink there you can also use the pool and its probably the best pool in gumbet. They organised pool parties for public who dropped lots of glasses in pool, great for when your kids go in next morning. There are plenty of sunbeds and rest areas. Anyway its a shame that they are doing this to the hotel as they are spoiling a beautiful area and terrific location.
If you are travelling without kids and intending to party then I think this should suit you but if you want a bit of peace its not the best place. Oh by the way, the hotel only went 'clubbers' style this summer so reviews prior to summer 2007 will not reflect the hotel now. We met a couple who were there last year who loved it hence theyu returned by were very disappointed this year and said if they knew this had happened to Ayaz they wouldn't have returned.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank saz_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.1 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#6 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA
Club Hotel Vela & SPA
#32 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ayaz Aqua
Ayaz Aqua
#18 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anil Hotel
Anil Hotel
#47 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sun Club
Hotel Sun Club
#75 of 98 in Gumbet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nagi Beach Hotel
Nagi Beach Hotel
#23 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayaz Hotel

Property: Ayaz Hotel
Address: Ayaz Cad No 12, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Ayaz Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing