We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Ayaz”
Review of Ayaz Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gumbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayaz Hotel
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 28 June 2007

A great place to stay! The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic but clean and were with balcony, settee and free air conditioning that worked properly! Some people did upgrade to a suite but negotiate a price as it can be done! This is a great place to chill. You do not have to go far to the pool, beach, bar, restaurant, street bars or bus stop. The food was plentyful and consisted of soup, a great variety of salads and hot food, which was meat or fish and potatoes, rice or pasta, there was also a nice selection of desserts and fruit. We only ate out once! When we did we went to Uncle Festers and had a lovely meal with great service and good value. Hotel guests can eat and drink next door at Denny's at a discount of 25% beware that is only for evening meal not for day time snacks etc. Drinks at the hotel Cozzy's bar are a bit more expensive but the setting is worth the extra, right on the sea front. Beware though the drinks cost can mount up over the holiday. LMT bar over the road has a happy hour (12 hours) is very welcoming and great fun, Mustafa and the boys will look after you. Also the Joy bar offer drinks buy one get one free. Aloha offer reasonable drinks, snacks and free pool table, nice through the day for lunch. The best £1 English or Irish breakfast is at the Red Dragon. All in all a great place to relax and enjoy your holiday. If you want bar street it's only up the road but far enough away not to bother you if you don't. Bodrum and Bitez are both worth a visit. We hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2007

Hey, we just returned from Gumbet and us 7 gyals all stayed at the Ayaz Hotel. It was brilliant. The rooms were basic but clean and decent size and trust me u aint going to be spending any time in your hotel room apart from sleeping (if that). Rooms get cleaned everyday and get given fresh towels everyday. All the staff are helpful and nice, they do anything u ask. Air conditioning in all the rooms too and you can pay a lil extra and get a safe deposit box.

The pool and lounging area is the best feature. Plenty of space to relax and sunbathe. You dont even need to get up all day, drinks and food are served to u wherever you are laying/sitting. There is a bar right next to the pool. Staff are always on hand. Sunloungers are all free to use. The lounging area is right next to the hotel pool and is the best aspect (for me). There are massive beanbags on the floor and you can just sleep/sunbathe there...so comfortable.

The beach is literally 10 steps from the hotel pool. Along the beach there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, eating areas, 'waffles n ice-cream', watersports and other activities such as pool, mini golf and a climbing wall. At night, they provide entertainment. Whilst we were there, we saw a belly dancing show and hip-hop show.

There was a variety of choice for breakfast but it was same everyday so the last couple of days we went out for breakfast. Dinner time was good. Reminded me of school dinners lol. There was something different every night and you had a large choice of salads and side dishes. Soup as a starter and then desserts too. I enjoyed all the dinners. All you had to pay for were the drinks.

Walking out of the front of the hotel, take a right and you come towards lots of shops and restaurants and a taxi stand. Take a left, and you'll pass some shops and end up right bang in the center of all the major bars on bar street. Its a 5min walk. Places we went to were Shakers, X-Bar, central bar and coyote ugly. There are many more but i rate shakers as a must go. Opposite the hotel is a place called LMT pub. You have to go there at night around 10/11pm. All the staff will entertain you...by dancing! And you can join in... trust me its a laugh. We couldn't get enough of it. And they do tetley tea there! you wont find it anywhere else. If you want a nice and quiet drink then theres a corner pub round the side of the hotel that you wont miss. We spent most of our time there too.

A dolmus/bus stops outside the hotel every 15minutes. You can take this and you can go into bodrum for shopping or whatever. Really cheap too.

Make sure you book excursions with your hotel if possible. Just makes it easier as you will get asked from 100 of different people to book with them. We went on the boat trip that stops at 5 different islands and went for a turkish bath. There are many more to choose, whatever takes your fancy.

The only thing to beware of is that the shop keepers do hassle you to come and shop from them. You'll learn to ignore it after a while. Other than that theres nothing more you could ask for. Everthing is literally on your doorstep. You dont even need to leave the hotel to have a good time. You'll understand once you've visited. I definitely would reccommend this hotel to anybody.

Lancashire GyalZ xx

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sam_xxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

this hotel was fab until the last day. we had to be checked out of the room by 12, not a problem with us. our flight wasnt until half 11pm so we stayed around there all day. had out tea there coz we were half board then they tried to charge us because we'd checked out already. they didnt make the rules clear so we were a bit puzzled why we had to pay.
not only that, because we had to leave our cases in the luggage room, when i had mine brought back to me they had broke the handle that you pull it along with. they tried to call me a liar and say i was playing games because we had to pay for the meal. they didnt deal with the problem aswell as they could of, which was upsetting. as, we had the greatest hol up till then. my advise to other customers will be to just be careful there. xxx

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gumbetgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

we researched tripadvisor before booking our hotel in gumbet and decided the ayaz seemed to have excellent reviews so we went for it.

and we were not dissappointed! on arrival (3rd june 2007) staff were friendly and took us to our room. rooms are a little small and basic, but we expected this as this is only a 3 star hotel. however we had a balcony and airconditioning, and the window also had a mesh over it so no bugs get into room. hairdryers also, so no need to put one in your case. the rooms are kept spottless, cleanest hotel i have stayed in, and rooms are comfortable.

pool area is more like a 4 to a 5 star quality, pool is large with jacuzzi and there are bar stools IN the pool at the bar area to swim over to. pool very clean. plenty of free sunbeds (cushioned and kept spottless). there are swinging sofas round the area to laze on if u wish and huge big pillows to sit on if you want to order food from the bar (seats also). bar and entertainment area is kept nice, huge sofas to lie on, more like beds. entertainment every night (turkish dancers, hip hop show) best entertainment on beach. drinks a bit pricey for turkey, roughly £2 a beer, £2.70 fresh orange, cocktails and soft drinks average priced, but this is only to be expected from the best hotel on the beach. beers are very cheap in many restaurants, 80p was about the cheapest we seen! staff are very friendly, but not sleazy like many other bar and shop staff we met. staff cant do enough to help you.

There is plenty for kids to do, huge climbing wall, like one from gladiator and mini golf and pool table also a kids pool.

each hotel has its own space on the beach, you can lie on sunbeds for free, there are double beds and four posters on the beach further up from ayaz! and staff will ask you if you would like a drink and bring it over to you but you are not pestered which is good.

Food was ok (self service), breakfast was continental style. cereal, salad, boiled egg and bread (toasted), teas coffees and fruit juice. however you can get english breakfasts for £1.50 in many surrounding restaurants. evening meal was much better, wide choice. usually a meat dish, or 2 and vegetarian options. soup, salad, sauces, and a choice of desserts (turkish like very sweet things!). overall food was good.

We did not want to leave the ayaz, please book for more than a week, 1 week is simply not enough! we are planning to go back to the ayaz, best hotel we have stayed in, very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2007

perfect location,perfect facilities,perfect atmosphere,perfect service......

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank malibu00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

Mum and I have just returned from two weeks at the Ayaz in Gumbet. This was our first time to Turkey, and it felt like paradise. The staff were the most helpful, friendly and jovial bunch we have ever met. The room was cleaned to perfection every day. The food was fantastic, and varied, far more than the other hotels round us according to others we met. We booked half board as it was so cheap, and never ate out at night anywhere else as it was so well catered in a open buffet style.

The pool was next to none and cleaned every Crystal clear. The entertainment was as good as anywhere around for beach front local entertainment, and not too far from Bar St - the local night life, although mum is that bit older in her 60's we didnt really do them, but the others around us partied hard there. It was quieter than earlier in the year and so relaxing.

The shops are right outside, - cheaper to the left up the small hill, than down. Boat trips daily from the hotel 10ytl (but can be bought for 7 outside), 5 bays to swim in and one of them camel beach has camel rides 10 ytl, short but fun if your camel has its own agenda as mine did. Lunch and apple tea and biscuits included, and the boat has its own photographer to take piccies, and they sell you a disc with the ones you liek on really cheap. Bodrum a short ride away on dolmush 1.70 ytl each, with the local market there in the bus station ( large) on Tuesdays. If you do nothing else you must visit Pamuke Kale, a mountain with hot springs running down it, its like being in another world, a long journey, but so worth it. We did the 2 day trip, staying overnight in 4 star hotel ( very posh, BUT the service and food were not as nice or as good as the Ayaz ), £30 but fantastic value, we did Ephesus on the first day. Day trip to Cos £7.

The sea is crystal clear, and shallow so lovely to paddle/swim in, and great for kids. Free sunbeds on clean beach, with lots of snacks and drinks around, and the hotel guys come around if you want drinks from their little bar. Security guard and dog patrol all night, no trouble there at all.

We have never had such a relaxing and fun filled holiday anywhere, and mum has travelled a lot. I can see why the people we met come back year after year.

Stayed: October 2006
8  Thank mellowdee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

just back from a week in the ayaz hotel , and to say we had a brilliant week, we have a 2 year old son and the staff were excellent with him, we had the best holiday ever the rooms were basic but everthing you need and were cleaned daily. it has the best pool on the strip which is really clean and also a kiddies pool,

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank foggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.5 mi away
Ayaz Aqua
Ayaz Aqua
#15 of 101 in Gumbet
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#8 of 98 in Bodrum City
1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
WOW Bodrum Resort
WOW Bodrum Resort
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#24 of 101 in Gumbet
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayaz Hotel

Address: Ayaz Cad No 12, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range: £33 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Ayaz Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing