We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointment!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayaz Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gumbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayaz Hotel
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Gumbet
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

Chose this hotel based on reviews on this site. Unless you like cracked tiles and mouldy old bathrooms I wouldn't recommend staying here. The rooms were pretty bad, the bathrooms were a nightmare. The Front desk service not friendly and didn't speak English. pool was nice, pool side staff were also nice. But they blasted the music by the pool and asked people to dance which got annoying...too loud. Had to wear ear plugs by the pool. Saw one room that was rennovated which looked ok. Would not go back there again. Very disapponited.

  • Liked — Nothing! A nightmare!
  • Disliked — Filthy bathrooms, beds.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Attar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    13
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

we just returned from Ayaz hotel. 2 adults and our daughter who is almost 3. We arrived at 2am and our room was awful, basically it was so old and dark and dingy I wouldn't leave my cats in there. We went to reception next morning and was told there was a deluxe room available. This was going to cost about £50 a night on top of what we'd paid. Room was nice to look at and a big improvement but we didn't go with it as after speaking to other Brits there we all thought it was a scam. All Brits got these kennel rooms then told to upgrade to deluxe. Anyway in the end we moved to an equivilant room to the kennel which was in a newer block by the pool which was an improvement slighly. Then the sleepless nights started. We found out from locals that they are trying to turn Gumbet into an Aiya Napa, San Antonio type place and the hotel bar played house music very very loudly til 3am every night. All rooms are on top of it so you cannot escape it. If you are travelling with children this isn't reallyideal. We bought ear plugs which made no difference. Meals were ok but we tended to eat out, loved Sami Beach next door. Take a boat trip with Dodgy Tony as he is great! The pool at Ayaz is lovely but be warned you will share it with the whole of Gumbet. It seems as the bar/snacks are open to public, if you drink there you can also use the pool and its probably the best pool in gumbet. They organised pool parties for public who dropped lots of glasses in pool, great for when your kids go in next morning. There are plenty of sunbeds and rest areas. Anyway its a shame that they are doing this to the hotel as they are spoiling a beautiful area and terrific location.
If you are travelling without kids and intending to party then I think this should suit you but if you want a bit of peace its not the best place. Oh by the way, the hotel only went 'clubbers' style this summer so reviews prior to summer 2007 will not reflect the hotel now. We met a couple who were there last year who loved it hence theyu returned by were very disappointed this year and said if they knew this had happened to Ayaz they wouldn't have returned.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank saz_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

After arriving at the Ayaz we were took to our rooms which i felt needed a lot of attention we stayed that night as there was no other rooms aviable. The next morning we went to the reception and spoke to the manager who was very helpful. He offered us an upgrade to a delux suite costing us more money but it was worth every penny.

After that we had a great time at the ayaz the staff couldnt do enough to make you feel welcome.Breakfast was very basic but the meals was very good with different choices and varity but also cheap to eat out as well.At Dennys next door you got discount if you stayed at the Ayaz.

Room service was daily with fresh linen every day and kept spotless clean.The pool area was excellant you could always get sun loungers at any time or you could chill out on the cozy cushions have a drink at the pool bar or relax in the pool.Great location very central. I believe the hotel is to be refurbished in 2008 i would say it would be one of the best in Gumbet . We will be back again soon

  • Liked — Hotel room pool and staff
  • Disliked — the older rooms that are to be refurbished in 2008
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dianeandrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

couldnt be bothered writing these things......just to say i had a great stay at Ayaz with my girlfriend. everything was close to hand and the people are very friendly. food wasnt exactly 5 star but it was respectible. eating out is quite cheap so thats not really a major issue. highly recommend for young and old alike. great pool very comfortable and clean rooms. all in all a great place! highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ashpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Ayaz from 3rd June, for two weeks. I completely agree with CarolGraham and Sam who have written reviews from around the same time. The Ayaz is a great base, hotel is spotlessly clean, friendly, helpful staff etc. Rooms are basic but I believe there are plans to update/renovate them next year. Rooms cleaned and fresh towels daily, bathrooms bit small.
The pool area is gorgous and there are plenty of sunbeds and beanbags. The Cozzie beach bar linked to the hotel is stunning, drinks are reasonable(can get cheaper elsewhere), entertainment every night and the bar staff are fantastic. Look out for Musty, Algun, Ozzie and Sedar and say "hi" from me.
The hotel is right on the beach and in the middle of the bay which has a lovely promenade/walkway and near all the bars and resturants. If staying at the Ayaz you can eat for a discount at Denny's resturant next door, the food is lovely. The food in the hotel is ok but can get bit boring if there for 2 weeks.
You must pop into Bodrum for a day on the Dolmus, the market is good and some really nice seafront, seafood resturants which are bit more expensive but well worth it.
I would advise you to book trips and tours via the beach front sellers or the travel agencies on the main road through Gumbet eg Queen Travel. They are much cheaper and better value than through the international travel companies. I would recommend the 2 day/overnight trip to Ephesus and Pamukkule which is really interesting and reasonable at £30 per person including most meals. I believe Dalaman is also a good day out.
You absolutely MUST go on a boat trip to the 5 islands, which costs about £10 inc. lunch or £15 for all inclusive. Beware of sea urchins tho, as I stood on one and ended up in the clinic having the spikes pulled out-which was not fun!
Also the Turkish bath is great but although the initial price is cheap(£2) you have to pay extra for oil massages, but they are well worth it-I floated out of there!
Overall we had great time and would definately recommend Gumbet and the Ayaz Hotel. We were pleasantly suprised and certainly can't complain as we payed less than £300 for 2 weeks Half board!
So if your'e thinking of going, book it, pack it and....get gone!

  • Liked — The pool and bar area and bar staff
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dianna123cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2007

A great place to stay! The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic but clean and were with balcony, settee and free air conditioning that worked properly! Some people did upgrade to a suite but negotiate a price as it can be done! This is a great place to chill. You do not have to go far to the pool, beach, bar, restaurant, street bars or bus stop. The food was plentyful and consisted of soup, a great variety of salads and hot food, which was meat or fish and potatoes, rice or pasta, there was also a nice selection of desserts and fruit. We only ate out once! When we did we went to Uncle Festers and had a lovely meal with great service and good value. Hotel guests can eat and drink next door at Denny's at a discount of 25% beware that is only for evening meal not for day time snacks etc. Drinks at the hotel Cozzy's bar are a bit more expensive but the setting is worth the extra, right on the sea front. Beware though the drinks cost can mount up over the holiday. LMT bar over the road has a happy hour (12 hours) is very welcoming and great fun, Mustafa and the boys will look after you. Also the Joy bar offer drinks buy one get one free. Aloha offer reasonable drinks, snacks and free pool table, nice through the day for lunch. The best £1 English or Irish breakfast is at the Red Dragon. All in all a great place to relax and enjoy your holiday. If you want bar street it's only up the road but far enough away not to bother you if you don't. Bodrum and Bitez are both worth a visit. We hope to be back next year.

  • Liked — The pool, garden setting and beach front location.
  • Disliked — Basic rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2007

Hey, we just returned from Gumbet and us 7 gyals all stayed at the Ayaz Hotel. It was brilliant. The rooms were basic but clean and decent size and trust me u aint going to be spending any time in your hotel room apart from sleeping (if that). Rooms get cleaned everyday and get given fresh towels everyday. All the staff are helpful and nice, they do anything u ask. Air conditioning in all the rooms too and you can pay a lil extra and get a safe deposit box.

The pool and lounging area is the best feature. Plenty of space to relax and sunbathe. You dont even need to get up all day, drinks and food are served to u wherever you are laying/sitting. There is a bar right next to the pool. Staff are always on hand. Sunloungers are all free to use. The lounging area is right next to the hotel pool and is the best aspect (for me). There are massive beanbags on the floor and you can just sleep/sunbathe there...so comfortable.

The beach is literally 10 steps from the hotel pool. Along the beach there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, eating areas, 'waffles n ice-cream', watersports and other activities such as pool, mini golf and a climbing wall. At night, they provide entertainment. Whilst we were there, we saw a belly dancing show and hip-hop show.

There was a variety of choice for breakfast but it was same everyday so the last couple of days we went out for breakfast. Dinner time was good. Reminded me of school dinners lol. There was something different every night and you had a large choice of salads and side dishes. Soup as a starter and then desserts too. I enjoyed all the dinners. All you had to pay for were the drinks.

Walking out of the front of the hotel, take a right and you come towards lots of shops and restaurants and a taxi stand. Take a left, and you'll pass some shops and end up right bang in the center of all the major bars on bar street. Its a 5min walk. Places we went to were Shakers, X-Bar, central bar and coyote ugly. There are many more but i rate shakers as a must go. Opposite the hotel is a place called LMT pub. You have to go there at night around 10/11pm. All the staff will entertain you...by dancing! And you can join in... trust me its a laugh. We couldn't get enough of it. And they do tetley tea there! you wont find it anywhere else. If you want a nice and quiet drink then theres a corner pub round the side of the hotel that you wont miss. We spent most of our time there too.

A dolmus/bus stops outside the hotel every 15minutes. You can take this and you can go into bodrum for shopping or whatever. Really cheap too.

Make sure you book excursions with your hotel if possible. Just makes it easier as you will get asked from 100 of different people to book with them. We went on the boat trip that stops at 5 different islands and went for a turkish bath. There are many more to choose, whatever takes your fancy.

The only thing to beware of is that the shop keepers do hassle you to come and shop from them. You'll learn to ignore it after a while. Other than that theres nothing more you could ask for. Everthing is literally on your doorstep. You dont even need to leave the hotel to have a good time. You'll understand once you've visited. I definitely would reccommend this hotel to anybody.

Lancashire GyalZ xx

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_xxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bagevleri
Hotel Bagevleri
#7 of 97 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#6 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA
Club Hotel Vela & SPA
#33 of 97 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anil Hotel
Anil Hotel
#47 of 97 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sun Club
Hotel Sun Club
#72 of 97 in Gumbet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baba Hotel
Baba Hotel
#34 of 97 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayaz Hotel

Property: Ayaz Hotel
Address: Ayaz Cad No 12, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Ayaz Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing