We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in turkey”
Review of Baba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baba Hotel
Ranked #61 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This was our 2nd time at Baba.We absolutely adore this place.We love the fact that everyone goes out of their way to make you feel so special.The new rooms are fantastic and with clean sheets and towels everyday it was perfect. The staff are adorable and great company when they get 5 minutes to have a chat with you.The food is fantastic - rather on the large side. I would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel. We have aready booked for next year.

Val & Bob Ager

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

this hotel has just had most of the rooms refurbishid wow nice right on the beach allso stone throw a way from bar street and resraunts try sues place for fish and chips verry nice for a steak try the coulumbion steak house boat trips on the beach

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 141tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

weve just got home today
baba was a very nice hotel clean rooms clean towels every day we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived till the the day we booked out food was great to the bar staff very friendly grat with our son kai they looked after us all nothing was to much i would recomendthis hotel to anybody we had such a great time were going back thank you to all to the staff
best wishes dave vanessa jade kai

Room Tip: we booked pool view ground floor great rooms cleaned daily
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanessamoat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Booked a last min deal with thomas cook and after seeing the good reviews for this hotel we were looking forward to it ! We arrived at 5am ish and the area was pretty quiet and settled. Our room was 'retro'/'oldfashioned' compared to the new rooms. We did ask if we could move or if we could have a fridge but we got no where and were told we could not move rooms but we just got on with it! Friends we meet had really nice rooms on the ground floor with a fridge and after seeing their room really made us want to move but we didnt spend that much time in our room.
The pool is big enough and there was always a sunbed even at 1 in the afternoon. Staff were ok not the most friendly.
This is not a bad hotel at all its really really clean, in a perfect location for young people wanting to party and shop. There is so so so much to do loads of watersports, boat trips and loads of days out which we loved.
We did go on a boat trip twice but not with the hotel we were told to try the sami boat trip and it was well worth the money! good fun and a better boat than the baba boat apparently.
Turkish bath is also really good at the hotel! but if u book an excersion ouside of the hotel u get a free turkish bath!
THE FOOD ! we went half board and the food was not the best. ok if you want chips and not very nice meat everyday i suppose. It wouldnt of been so bad if you were allowed to sit wherever but we asked to sit on outside near the footpath and were told NO because we were not paying !!!! which was really annoying! To be honest breckfast and dinner werent worth going to and its quite cheap to eat out so we basically ate out everyday as there are loads of lovely resturants that serve huge meals and are so nice !!
The only major moan appart from the food was that we had a late flight at 1am 3 familys at the pool were told they could keep their room until 8pm instead of 12pm and to just leave a tip however we asked the same person on reception and he said no no you can use the turkish bath or pay 20 pounds ! We were also told off for drinking water and eating our own food (bag of crisps) at the pool but we saw so many other guests doing this and they didnt get 'told off''. Some guests got offered free use of fridge other didnt an we were facing the sun club hotel so loads of people could see into our room and when we looked out we could see barbed wire and all the crap where people sit on there breaks!
Its kind of one rule for one and another for others!! but we didnt let this bother us too much !
The hotel is good value for money if you go b and b and is so clean! it is noisy but didnt bother my sleep at all the area is amazing and we will be returning to Gumbet next year but in a different hotel !!!!!!! x Also use test button on aircon!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor with pool view and make sure you book a fridge before hand when you book holida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fluffy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just come back a week ago, been to Gumbet before about 14 years ago and recognised the name of the hotel and its location. We stayed on the lower ground floor near the poolside as I have Rheumatoid Arthritis so my mobility is limited. The rooms are very clean, modern, and towels etc changed everyday. We took a boat trip on the hotel's boat which was great, The hotel even took me and my partner to the boat as I wasnt able to get into the smaller boat that takes you to the bigger boat and also brought us back. On our return journey home they also took us to the pick up point where there is the changeover from the feeder buses to the coach to the airport as I had problems getting onto the feeder bus on the way to the resort. This Hotel is not only excellent for its service etc but its location is ideal if you aren't able to walk too far as the shops etc are located at the back of the Hotel and the beach is at the front!.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baba1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Having been to the baba a couple of times in the past we were suprised how much the hotel and the resort has changed it has gone from a family type resort to a resort best suited to the 18 / 30s particulary around where the baba is located right next to the bar street area
Hotel is basic the majority of rooms are very basic and small there are a few refurbished rooms that are ok but not many .the hotel has been cut in half from the orignal one with a big wall running down the centre to divide them
We felt the hotel standards were poor people were finding it difficult to keep rooms on if they had late flights, some areas were not very clean, no females worked in the hotel even all the cleaners were men we had a couple of teenage girls with us and they found this a bit uncomfortable allthough there were no problems the food at breafast was ok but you can find a lot better and a bit cheaper for lunch and tea all around the area
Good points
the pool bar was good mainly due to the barman Memehet
It's located next to the beach

In all not rearly suited to young families or older couples parts of the hotel can be very noisy at night until around 430am due to it's central location


The location on the beach is very good

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sayers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I dont useally write reviews to places iv been to before and normally dont follow review sites like this, however i feel that the Hotel should have a fair review. Me and my boyfriend have just returned from Hotel Baba where we stayed for 9 nights. On arrival early sunday morning we pulled up outside the Hotel, to Clubs and bars opposite in full swing still at 3 in the morning, the music was quite loud and there was lots of people, i instantly thought what have i booked here. However after being dealt with by reception and shown to our room, we was both suprised that we couldnt hear any noise from the bars and clubs outside which was brilliant. A little tip i took with me from reading previous reviews on here came in handy by lifting the air con flap to press 'test run' really does work and makes the rooms so much comfortable.and chilled ......Plus Free!! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was clean and tidy ..... i didnt expect 5* rooms as i hadnt paid to spend the whole holiday in my room. it was clean and tidy to lay our heads down. The location to the beach is perfect... couldnt ask for it to be any closer unless my bed was put on it. The beach is ideal and close to the hotel for snacks and drinks. As we stayed half board we ate at the Hotel most nights, the food isnt the best and could be presented more attractivley but was ediable and we never went hungry or was ill. We cant complain about the holiday we had a great time and left feeling chilled and relaxed. For the money we paid Hotel Baba is value for money and would reccomend it especially if you like partying as its so close to clubs and bars but also if you want to just relax by the beachfront. We would reccommend going on the Boat Trip around the Island which is run by the Hotel and very enjoyable day!

Please dont read the bad reviews .. People dont pay to spend a holiday in a bedroom or bathroom.

A great holiday was had by us.... Try the Baba Hotel and see for yourself!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucy_jay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.1 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#10 of 101 in Gumbet
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green House Apart Hotel
Green House Apart Hotel
#1 of 101 in Gumbet
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#12 of 101 in Gumbet
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#4 of 101 in Gumbet
1,541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baba Hotel

Address: Gumbet Mah. Ayaz Cad No:8, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range: £12 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Baba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing