We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baba Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ayaz Hotel(Gumbet)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkim Ayaz Hotel(Bodrum City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sun Club(Bodrum City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
145
100
63
36
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
100
63
36
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripbeach frontdisco barturkeylove gumbetgreat holidaybar next doorbar staffcleaned every dayboiled eggsnight lifelovely poolsalamiideal locationhotel barhalf boardground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel in june and can say its a good hotel. We arrived at half past two in the morning and after reading reviews we werent expecting much. When we got of the bus bar street was booming which made us smile after coning to gumbet for a number of years this was the first time back in three years.
The staff are pleasant and carried our bags to our room and checked everything was ok. Considering it was half past two we just wanted to go for a walk.
We were slightly concered about the noise but it did not bother us during the holiday the only thing that did was we had no balcony. However after speaking to our rep at the meeting we were told we could move at dinner time the next day.
They did what they could to help but in the end we didnt want to waste a day moving as we were only there a week. As we know gumbet very well and have friends over there we love the area and going as just mum and daughter we did not feel in any danger at all.
As we only got breakfast in the hotel the fruit they have was enough for my breakfast.
We wasnt planning on using the hotel much throuhtout the week but we used the pool and the beach everyday except when on the boat trip which was excellent. We booked the boat through harry who is based in the hotel and it was great, we have been on a number of different trips throughout the years.
Overall it was a great holiday with my mum and when only using the room to get changed and sleep when getting in at three in the morning.
Made some good friends in the different bars such as atlantis, aloha and others and it was great seeing old friends who work on the mistral and jacks place.
Would recommend to anyone and wish I was returning this year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just returned from two weeks at Baba hotel. Had a fabulous time in Gumbet and the hotel is a really good base. If you are wanting somewhere quiet then this hotel is definiftely not for you but if you are ok with some noise then you will be fine. The staff are really good and come round the pool through the day so you can order drinks or food, also if you like a bit of karaoke, the bar is very lively and worth a visit on an evening. The room, in all honesty, could have done with an update but like i said you get what you pay for and for somewhere to just sleep and get ready it is fine. The beds are very comfortable and it is cheap to get the aircon, which i would recommend. We booked a boat trip through Harry who is the nicest bloke you would wish to meet. It was a fab day, all inclusive for only £17, which is fab. We will be booking with Harry again next year for definate, he's fab (if Harry reads this,Cara n Mike, Jack Daniels :-)
I would definitely recommend this hotel, its right in the middle of all the bars, pubs and clubs and loads of fantastic restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room if booking through the hotel, there will be less noise on an evening.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed at the Baba hotel with my partner in June 2013. I was slightly apprehensive after reading mixed reviews online, but I couldn't have been happier with the hotel and the services.

We arrived at about 2 a.m, and were greeted by friendly staff who offered us air con and a safe which was 80TL for the week.. Not too bad. We were room 208, which was on the second floor overlooking the pool and it was brilliant - very modern and clean with a comfortable double bed and a large walk in shower. The floor was mopped everyday and sheets changed regularly. The only slight disappointment was the size of the balcony... It wasn't big enough for a table and chairs so there was no way of sitting out on it in the evenings.. But the bar was a great place to be so it was okay.

We visited the hotel bar every evening after going out for a meal... And we loved it. The waiters and bar staff were so friendly and always happy.. They took time to talk to us and get to know us and did their best to make sure we were always okay. The bar has karaoke at night which was a lot of fun and there was a mix of music playing getting people up dancing... Including the waiters who taught us Turkish dancing and always included everyone. My partner and I liked to drink cocktails in the evenings which weren't too expensive 12-13L which works out to be about £4 .

During the day time we liked to stay by the pool which was always very clean.. And the bar waiters often came around to offer drinks and food throughout the day. With the hotel being right on the beach, there were free sunbeds available also which was brilliant. I would definitely recommend going on a boat trip if possible... It's such a relaxing day and going with Harry from hotel Baba for 50 TL (£17) - lunch and drinks included - is great value for money.

I'm a fussy eater and so was nervous about the food... However many of the restaurants served a mixture of english and turkish dishes. A friend had recommended us to try the 'amphora kebab' which we tried in a few restaurants but our favourite was the 'Cute Casper' restaurant which was just opposite the main entrance of the hotel. We enjoyed it so much we returned for a second night.

Overall I couldn't be happier with my holiday experience... Even though the hotel is right in the centre of town we were never kept awake or woken up by noise.. And the location was ideal. We are already planning to return next year!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have the best view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we got to the Baba hotel as we have stayed in Gumbet for the last 9 years and have never really been that impressed with the hotels.
The reception was efficient and polite, our room (103) was basic but had all we needed, a small TV with BBC news, air conditioning (which they try and make you pay for but just press the button under the flap) a really nicely decorated bathroom with a fantastically powerful shower and a lovely little balcony to sit on in the late afternoon.
We love Gumbet as we have made friends there over the years and usually eat in the same restaurants, try Columbia for great steaks, both the Red Dragon and China Town serve both brilliant Chinese and Indian curries, Denny's on the beach is lovely for easy food like spaghetti or pizza on an evening.
As usual our evenings consisted of eating and then drinking the night away in Sami Beach Bar, we go there as there is nightly entertainment, the Mongolian show is absolutely brilliant and the waiting staff are the best, (big shout out to Kadir and Selchuk)
If you fancy a treat go to The No Name Bar for a Caramello, a cocktail of Bailey's, Kahluha, Ice cream and vodka (to die for).
The only thing that was a let down for us was our flights, the evening we landed and got to the hotel at about 2.30am and we were picked up on the final day at 10.30pm, after leaving the room at 12 mid day we were given another room (grotty) but ok just to shower in. Why are the flights for Turkey so horrible????

Room Tip: any of the 100 numbers, ours was ground floor, next to the pool- no 103
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarknUsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday in Gumbet staying at the Baba Hotel with my partner. After reading the mixed reviews on trip advisor we were very optimistic! We arrived about 11pm, staff on reception were friendly, welcoming, helpful and English speaking. We accepted the offer of air-con and a room safe on arrival - both definite must haves at 80TL for the week! We were shown to our room by a lovely young man.

We were in room 209 which was on the second floor and was above the pool. It was absolutely brilliant! The room was exceptionally clean, very modern and a decent size. It had a double bed fitted with fresh white bed linen. There was a flat screen TV attached to the wall at the end of the bed. There was a 2 seater sofa which was comfortable and a table which were both very useful. There was also a large dressing table and mirror, and a large wardrobe which contained a fridge and the room safe. The bathroom was also exceptionally clean with a large sink area and mirror, toilet and large walk in shower - all white, clean and modern. Body, hand towels and a bath mat were provided. The balcony was a decent size and had plenty of hanging room for towels etc and had a lovely view of the pool and sea. As we arrived at night time the noise of bars was loud, however with the door and windows shut we couldn't hear a peep and were able to sleep fantastically.

The room was cleaned to an exceptional standard every day, and every other day both the bed sheets and towels were changed. The standard of the room and cleanliness couldn't be faulted.

Breakfast was served between 8 and 10 each morning. There was a large selection of foods - bread (both white and brown) which could be eaten fresh or toasted, cereals, eggs, hams, cheeses, fresh fruit, jams, butters, honey, tea, coffee and juice. All of this was regularly topped up by staff. There was always plenty of tables either inside or out.

The staff and the Baba Hotel were amazing. At all times they ensured you were happy and satisfied. There were on the ball and you were never left waiting for drinks, menus or food. Throughout the day they wandered around the pool and beach asking if people wanted anything to drink or eat and if so brought it too you. This was lovely - laying by the pool or beach which a cold beverage! They literally waited on you hand and foot. They all spoke good English and were incredibly helpful.

The pool area was lovely - both the pool and the surrounding area was very clean at all times. There were plenty of sun loungers which were very comfortable and also plenty of umbrellas if you wanted one.

The hotel had its own section of beach which also had plenty of sun loungers on which were also very comfortable. The beach itself was very clean and the sea lovely to swim in.

On the last day we were asked to be out of the room by 12 noon, however we were not leaving until half 6. We told reception this and they said we could either keep our room open till then or be moved into another room from 12 till we left. Our room was being used at 2 so we were moved to another room up near reception. We only needed the room to store our luggage and have a shower in before we left so we weren't fussed about the standard. This room was very grotty and not a patch on the room we stayed in. Both I and my partner said that if we had been put in this room originally we would of complained. I therefore understand why there has been bad reviews as not all of the rooms are of the same standard.

Overall our stay was excellent at the Baba hotel and couldn't be faulted, it was much, much better than we expected! However I think the overall verdict is that if you have a room either on the ground floor or second floor that is by the side of the pool and has a pool view you are in for a good holiday with a nice and modern room, but if your in one of the back rooms or one near reception the rooms are in definite need of updating!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the pool with on the ground or second floor!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews