We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday at Hotel Serpina”
Review of Hotel Serpina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Serpina
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have just returned from our third visit to Gumbet and Hotel Serpina. The hotel is spotlessly clean and bed linen and towels are changed regularly. The pool area is very nice and kept very clean and tidy with free sun loungers and umbrellas. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the Turkish night, the selection and amount of food to choose from was amazing. There was a belly dancer, turkish dancers, plus party piece and music by the staff. This hotel is ideally located - on a side street, a couple of minutes walk from the beach and from the Bar Street area. The Columbia resturant on the same street as the hotel is the best in Gumbet, other good restaurants are Windy Bay, Mistral Bay and Angel - all of which are along the beach front, Annalivia (Irish owned) in Bar Street area is also very good. On our three visits to Gumbet the food has been really good and very cheap everywhere. We would definitely recommend Hotel Serpina and Gumbet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

I was a little worried when I read some of the bad reviews but really shouldn't have bothered!! The hotel is not a 5 star hotel but you know this when booking. Our room was basic but very clean and plenty big enough. The pool area is lovely and always kept very clean. I have read lots of reviews on here and can only guess that the bad ones are from people who have never been to turkey before. The staff are all so lovely and very friendly - they can't do enough to make your stay perfect. We ate lunch here most days and the food was lovely - never had any problems with our bills which we paid daily. Breakfast is basic - cereal, toast, cheese, cold meat etc but nice and you can eat as much as you like. Not too sure what people are complaining about! Do they expect a full English every day in a Turkish hotel?! Saying that...you can order English breakfasts but this isn't included in the bed and breakfast.

Our favourite restaurant was definitely Casablanca - the staff were all so friendly and the food was gorgeous - amazing cocktails too! A few of our other favourites include family door, aloha, lotus and red dragon.

Definitely a good place to stay whilst in Gumbet and in the prefect location. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosied2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

What a lovely hotel! Don't think we've ever met such friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make our holiday memorable. Everyone treated like family members! Boss Ali and his team made everyone so welcome. Hotel basic but very clean, good food provided by Chef Ali and his team. We had a lovely air-conditioned room (paid for locally) on 1st floor overlooking the lovely clean pool and had requested a safety deposit box which we got (again paid locally). Some rooms have these in the Reception area. By our first morning, nearly all the staff knew our first names. Breakfast was served upstairs outside on the balcony in lovely sunshine from 8:00 to 10:00 am with Elo (sorry if I've mis-spelt this) and Mustaffa being in attendance each morning to make sure we had everything. We settled up our daily bill at the end of each day or beginnng of next - much better to keep a handle on what was spent that way. Absolutely no problems with bills etc. The Turkish night was lovely. Boss Ali very passionate about Turkish culture spent a few moments talking to us about this, the evening then started with Chef Ali stoking up the BBQ for some traditional Turkish food (very tasty) - all the waiting staff being very attentive to the guests' needs. Belly dancing next, traditional Turkish music played on traditional instruments by Boss Ali and his 2 friends. A group of traditional Turkish dancers was next then the waiters and staff took over, dancing us all around the pool and back. Tried plenty of the the restaurants in Gumbet and Bodrum, but 2 stood out for food and service - Anna Livia opposite the Windmill - the wide range of food was so tasty, attentive service, pleasant waiters and nothing was too much to ask. The second restaurant was just yards away from the Serpina and that was the Columbia. Huge portions of food, specialising in mouth watering steaks, but chicken, turkish, fish etc etc all on menu and washed down with free bottle of wine for each table! Absolutely no room for pud! Again, couldn't fault the service - all done with a smile. Perhaps one downside was the beach. Very narrow, full of sunbeds and service provided by the many bars along the prom. Too busy for us so stuck to poolside. At the end of our holiday, all the staff come out to take you to your coach, hugs and waving you off. We've stopped in some bigger hotels around the world, but never have we been made to feel more welcome and join in the family. It was amazing and a massive thank you to you all. Boss Ali, you should be very proud of your family hotel and team. A great 10/10 - Mary and Mark :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel staff at the serpina were very friendly and could not do enough for you it was my birthday while i was there my niece had organised a cake for me and the owner would not take payment for it, the rooms were clean and comfortable linen changed regular and the pool area clean also the pool was checked daily, we ate most lunchtimes in the hotel and we always got good value for money , all the staff work very hard, turkish night is a must every one gets involved and its a good way to meet other guests also the hotel is situated away from bar street my favourite place to eat was the columbia just down the sreet from the hotel there steaks take a lot of beating we did try others but kept going back there all in all the hotel was what you paid for clean comfortable friendly and we will be going back next year ,

Room Tip: away from bar area with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Let me just say this first ...god knows where mary g stayed but it certainly wasnt the Serpina we know and love ! for a start i dont know why people come abroad and then expect it to be exactly like it wud be at home or like a 5* hotel when u've booked into a 3* ... but hey everyones entitled to their opinion and i certainly have a very contrasting one when it comes to this little gem
You can not fault this hotel ,ok its not a 5* but u do know this at the time of booking altho the service is ! You CANNOT deny that the staff make u feel welcome right away ...there was a party of 8 of us and the day after we arrived they knew all our names and room numbers and couldnt do enough for us throughout our stay ! .... the hotel is very comfortable and our room was spotless with towel and bedding change most days thanks to the great maid service , and we often came bk to our room to find petals on our beds and the towels arranged ! . there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere round the pool with the waiters popping out at regular intervals to see if they can get u anything and have a chat / laugh . And after returning from our evening meal out ( we were bed & breakfast) we always had a warm welcome and a drink waiting for us ...along with the great friends we made there during our stay . while we were there it was one member of our parties birthday and they made such a fuss and even brought a cake out to the pool and all the staff sang happy birthday , they wouldn't even take any money for the cake ityself ! I would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for a family feel hotel with exceptional staff .The Turkish night is a must , great food , atmosphere , show and dancing , great way to make friends too with fellow guests.
The area itself is great with plenty of bars and restaurants on your doorstep but not close enough to cause a problem noise wise . By far the best restaurant just out the front and to the left of Serpina was THE COLOMBIA prime steak house !! we ate there several times , other favourites worth a try were Analivia , Red dragon & Jacks place . This was our first time to turkey and big inpersonal 1000 room 5* hotels are not our thing , we much prefer little gems like the serpina !
Finally a big shout out to the guys who made our stay enjoyable .... Ali boss , Ali chef , Yildo , Mustafa, ILo , Engin & Uma x

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanne y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is A great hotel with great service from the manager Ali to every member of staff including Ilhan who reilly looked after us for the week also bar staff eugine and chef Ali who was always on hand to ensure you enjoyed your meals the staff ensured that everybody in enjoyed there holiday real family run feeling about the place rooms serviced daily to a high standard food great and resonable price close to beach and centre

Room Tip: second floor with pool view excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

just back from an amazing week in the Serpina Holtel in Gumbet. As it was our first time in Turkey, me and my boyfriend really had no idea what to expect. All i can say was amazing! From the minute we got through the door of the hotel, we felt at home. The staff could not do enough for us! Our room was spotless and spacious and had a fantstic view of the pool. The food was fab thanks to Ali chef. The waiters are all lovely and will do anything for you. I got sunburnt after a boat trip and they brought me natural yoghurt to my room for me. How sweet!! Yildo behind the bar makes amazing cocktails. Turkish night is a must for anyone staying here! fantastic night. Its like a big family wedding! Also made some great friends with other guests staying in the hotel. I really cant say enough about this hotel and will be recommending it to all our friends, and we will definately be back. Thanks again to all the staff at the Serpina for a great week. Elaine and Don

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#12 of 101 in Gumbet
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
1,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serpina

Address: Mister Hadi Sok. No. 1, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gumbet
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gumbet
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range: £20 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serpina 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Serpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serpina Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing