We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff!”
Review of Hotel Serpina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Serpina
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Gumbet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff!”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

An absolutely brilliant holiday. Ali Boss and his team are more than friendly, they welcome you into their family and treat all guests new and old exactly the same. Mustafa and Ilhan are always on hand to bring drinks and snacks, or even to move your sunbed for you. The turkish night is a must event to attend as it will make your holiday complete, Ali Chef puts on a massive spread and all the staff provide some classic entertainment. Make sure you get up and join in. Gumbet itself is a very nice town and not too far from Bodram. The beaches arent the best but the bars along there are very good value. In terms of days out, you have to go on a relaxing boat trip, all inclusive drink and food with a number of stops along the way. All in all, a truly fantastic holiday in a brilliant hotel. One i would definitely recommend and one i will be revisiting.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feathers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    96
    36
    21
    17
See reviews for
82
232
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

After reading the reviews b4 we went I was quite worried about goin to this hotel. But that soon changed the minute we arrived the receptionist was lovely even tho sje didn't speak much english she tried and was really polite. The room was spotless n a reasonable size we had a nice pool view which was lovely lit up at night ( room 112 defo recomend it ) the 1st day we spent by the pool at the hotel was lovely, pools very very clean with nice flowers n sun beds and umbrellas, staff couldn't do enough for u so helpful. After that we barely left the hotel the staff are brilliant and made my holiday the best iv had! We had a laugh all day. We came really friendly with them especially yildo the barman n chef ali both lovely ppl. Chef ali is amazing cook food was always great never had a bad meal. Turkish night is a must had so much fun dancing n singing with the staff and other guests. By the end of the week we were really friendly with the staff and other guest. They make u feel so welcome n every1 talked to every1. Wen reading the reviews we thought we wouldn't b goin out the hotel every night but we didn't we went out 1 night n that was with some of the staff after they finished. Wen we left they carried r cases out n every single 1 of the staffed come out n waved goodbye. By the far the best holiday iv ever had, don't understand how ppl can give this hotel a bad review its a 3 star but defo deserves a 4! Will b goin bk very soon :) x

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chloeneate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accrington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

the serpina is a nice clean hotel.my wife and i stayed bed and breakfast.the breakfast was varied and quite good,the staff friendly but the management very money minded.only one gripe the hotel was very noisy at nightime.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m_brooks812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

If you are looking for a small, friendly, and clean hotel, within easy reach of all the livelier parts of Gumbet & Bodrum, but without the noise and hassle, then this is the place. It is a 10 minute walk into Gumbet Bar street, and a 10 minute bus ride into Bodrum harbour (it costs 3 turkish lira, and picks up right outside the serpina). There are numerous shops close by, and a superb restaurant (The Columbia Steak House) on its doorstep. The beach is a short walk away, if you prefer a livelier day, but around the hotels pool it is quiet, relaxed, with lots of sunbeds and shades. (just returned, it was 103 in the shade by mid-morning most days, so shade is a must). The staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble. They will have a chat and a laugh and a joke, but not to the point of being a pain. Once a week (wednesday) the staff led by "Boss Ali" put on a show for the guests, it is a buffet of Turkish delights, then a barbeque of turkish kebaps (turkish spelling) which is delicious, this is then followed by dancing and music, with professionals and guests all joining together to have a fabulous night. The atmosphere gets you, and even though I don't dance usually, I was up and doing a traditional jig around the pool with several others. Great fun and not to be missed if you choose here. It is hard to find fault with the Serpina, but if you wanted to split hairs, try requesting a room with a pool view as i did hear a couple say their view from their balcony was overlooking the back of nearby buildings. If you do book here, don't miss the Columbia Steak House which is almost next door, the food is fabulous, and the staff were fantastic. This was our first time in Turkey, so didn't know what to expect. Our expectations were totally fulfilled, the resort is beautiful (walk up to the windmills on the hillside, you will see what we mean), the staff are superb, the restaurants around are brilliant, the location is spot on, and we are already trying to book again for September to go back.

Room Tip: request a pool view they seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adyp209970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Have just returned from another lovely holiday in Turkey, this time Gumbet. If you are looking for a good standard 3 star hotel, this is it. Its a small family run hotel and the service is excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful and you are not pressured to buy drinks etc from the hotel. As regular Turkey visitors, this hotel is one of the nicest we have stayed at. The rooms are basic and comfortable and the cleanliness is extremely good. We stayed bed and breakfast which is the usual continental buffet style, once a week they do delicious omelettes and another day pancakes. We dont usually eat at the hotels, but the other guests who were half board said the food was good. If you can go half board when booking it is worth it as you always have the choice whether to eat there. If we had flown out from Luton instead of Gatwick and had half board the weeks holiday would have cost less than we paid for our bed and breakfast, so shop around with flights etc. We used Thomson and cannot fault the flight and accommodation choice we made.

We paid 30 lira each (approx £11.00 each) to go to the Turkish night (renamed family night) and it is well worth it We sat and chatted with other guests and it was really nice, we watched the belly dancer, followed by the folk dancers and Boss Ali did a welcome speech and explained the history of his family night and a little about the Turkish culture, it was informative and interesting and everyone had a lovely time. We had a Turkish buffet for starters (plenty of choice and food and it was very good), followed by a barbecue by Chef Ali. Plenty of food for everyone. The drinks are extra and as you would expect drinks in hotels are more expensive than the regular bars and restaurants but again not extortionate. A pint of draft beer is about 6 lira (£2.20). We paid up each day at reception for any extra drinks or other snacks we had. This way you can budget better and no unexpected bills at the end of the holiday. There are price lists on the menus so you can keep tab of what you spend or you just ask. Most of the staff speak good English and the hotel owner Boss Ali speaks better than we do !!! Special mention to Mustafa and Aloor who work tirelessly and are very friendly. The hotels ethos is to make sure all guests are happy and we were. The hotel pool area is lovely with plenty of comfy sun loungers and chill out chairs. At night time it is all lit up and very pretty, there are lovely colourful flowers around and it is a nice quiet, peaceful hotel. It is situated a short walk from the beach and the local restaurants nearby are friendly and very reasonably priced, The Columbia, Family Door and The Mistral on the beach offer either 20% off your total bill or a free large bottle of wine with your meal. We had two Turkish Pizzas in the Columbia, with a bottle of wine, 2 large draft beers, Cherry Pie and Ice cream and a banana split for 50 lira (£18 - £9 each). In nearly all restaurants they also bring you complimentary bread and complimentary apple tea or coffee after your meal. Tipping is at your discretion - we used to leave between 2 and 5 lira (less than £2 maximum) There are plenty of restaurants and bars and if we had been there longer than a week, we would have tried more.

Gumbet is a lovely pretty resort, it was very hot when we were there and there were a lot of mosguitos, so do use repellant, we didnt and had lots of bites. We also did not pay for air conditioning our hotel room, which was about 60 lira (£20) for the week, next time we would pay this as it got very hot, very quickly and although we had the balcony door open at night time this could be why we got bitten more. The beach sun loungers are all free to use, they all belong the bar nearest them, so you will have to eat/drink from that particular beach bar. You dont have to eat, as we didnt often have lunch but for 2 burgers, chips and 2 beers it cost about £10 for lunch time. Once again the prices are not bad. My partner passed out in the Soho bar next to the Magnifique and the staff could not have been more attentive and caring to him, they got a nurse within minutes to check him over, it was just too much sun, too little water, so after a rest, some water, a lollipop and some salty Turkish drink, he was on his feet and we were able to go back to the beach. This cost us nothing at all, just a sense of how kind the people are.

We got a dolmas into Bodrum, 3 lira each from outside the hotel, where you have a castle, harbour and hundreds of shops in the bazaar street, this is very busy but fun, worth a visit. We also went to the market at Turgetreis, worth doing on your own, just get a dolmus into Bodrum, then get another to Turgetreis 5 lira each, it drops you right outside the market and you just get a return bus when you are finished, very simple to do. Haggle all you like on the market, you will get bargains and you will not pay a lot, they expect you to haggle. We also went to the beach side at Turgetreis which was lovely and are considering going there for a holiday another time. We have been to Olu Deniz, Icemeler (near Dalaman), Kusadasi and now Gumbet, all have been equally good.

There is plenty going on for all ages, a new water park has opened in Gumbet, we didnt go this time, Bar Street for the youngsters in Gumbet comes alive at night time and we went to the Dreamgirls show. Well worth it, very funny, drinks are expensive but its a great fun night out for adults. The cast are all from West Yorkshire and the audience mostly English, so we got the humour very well. They take the mick out of the audience but this all adds to the fun.

If you have never been to Turkey before do go, yes you get stopped at every bar, restaurant and shop to go in, but you just say "no", ignore and walk on or stop for a chat, once you have eaten or drank at a bar/restaurant they no longer stop you, but dont be afraid the Turkish people are very friendly and we saw no trouble anywhere, you feel very safe and you can wander around at any time of day or night, the last dolmas from Bodrum is a 5.00am in the morning. We all work hard for our money so if you are looking for a cheap holiday in the sun then go any of the resorts mentioned above and stay at a lovely little hotel like the Serpina. Happy holidays. Karina and Bruce

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed in the hotel between the 9-15th of June with a friend, upon arrival at the hotel we were met by Adam, although he couldnt speak much English he was a lovely guy and always wanted to help. The check in process was long but we managed.

Upon arrival at the room my first impression was not great, the bathroom was full of pubic hair along with a open drainage basin. The room looked tired and very basic (something of which i was expecting.) As I got into bed on the first night there was a distinct buzzing noise, this was the noise of around 15-20 flies in the bathroom all migrating around the open drainage system, at this we went to reception and asked to change rooms but nothing else was available so we had to make do for the time being.

The next day we met the manager Ali, Ali seemed a lovely guy at first but after the second day his attitude soon changed towards me and my friend for a unknown reason making me question his manaement skills.

Following the experience of the first night our situation got worse when I woke up at 3am to find 8 cockroaches crawling in and out of the drainage system (which was open in our bathroom) so yet again I went to reception and complained, this is where I felt really insulted as the receptionist gave me a piece of paper and said 'put them out of the window' instead of coming to help me I had to do it myself.

So yet again Ali was the first port of call the next morning, as he was the manager. Ali sent for the cleaner to clean our room to try and sort the situation out. The room was cleaned but there seemed to be a different issue again on the third night, this time it was beetles! By this time I had enough and went to the local shop to buy bug spray. (Something of which i should not of had to do) and yet again the hotel was not helpful in giving me any money towards the spray.

As we sourced where the bugs were coming from I covered the drainage hole up, but the cleaner decided to move the vover i used... This meant that more bugs came into my room, therefore leaving me actually feeling sickened by the experience.

The breakfasts at the hotel were poor with a coice of Cornflakes, Toast or Cheese but the nearest restaraunt is Cozy Cottage to the right of the hotel (up the hill) where a full english can be bought for £1.25.

By the last day I couldnt wait to leave the establishment and return back home, the experience of the key mebers of staff being unhelpfull, the safe not working with a faulty air conditioning unit, bugs and awkward night sleeps as I didnt want to be swamped by bugs was enough to put me off going back to the Serpina Hotel.

If you are given room 304 then I would demand a change or move hotels as the room is riden with bugs from the open drainage basin.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 304 as it is full of bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jesseannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have just returned from our third visit to Gumbet and Hotel Serpina. The hotel is spotlessly clean and bed linen and towels are changed regularly. The pool area is very nice and kept very clean and tidy with free sun loungers and umbrellas. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the Turkish night, the selection and amount of food to choose from was amazing. There was a belly dancer, turkish dancers, plus party piece and music by the staff. This hotel is ideally located - on a side street, a couple of minutes walk from the beach and from the Bar Street area. The Columbia resturant on the same street as the hotel is the best in Gumbet, other good restaurants are Windy Bay, Mistral Bay and Angel - all of which are along the beach front, Annalivia (Irish owned) in Bar Street area is also very good. On our three visits to Gumbet the food has been really good and very cheap everywhere. We would definitely recommend Hotel Serpina and Gumbet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 100 in Gumbet
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#4 of 100 in Gumbet
1,416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#10 of 100 in Gumbet
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Green House Apart Hotel
Green House Apart Hotel
#3 of 100 in Gumbet
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#6 of 100 in Gumbet
1,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#14 of 100 in Gumbet
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serpina

Property: Hotel Serpina
Address: Mister Hadi Sok. No. 1, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gumbet
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serpina 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Serpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serpina Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing