We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Serhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serhan Hotel
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

To put my review in perspective - deducting the cost of the flight, this hotel, half board, costs much the same per week as it costs to pitch our touring caravan for the week in the UK without food/cleaner/pool etc etc!! It's a basic, budget hotel and our expectations were at that level, we don't choose to pay the higher rates for the more upmarket ones.

We got off to a bit of a disappointing start when we arrived late evening to be told the hotel had been overbooked and we were to stay in the next door hotel for one night only. We had travelled all day, are not spring chickens, were tired, hungry and a tad peed off and didn't want to waste our holiday time moving about. We booked this holiday almost a year in advance giving them plenty of notice that we were coming!! We didn't want to rummage through all our luggage finding toiletries and clothes to go out that night, only to have to spend the next day bundling them all up again to move back, We protested until the Manager appeared and, whilst I'm not sure what went on behind the scenes, a room was finally vacated, cleaned and made available to us within an hour. We were offered free drinks at the bar whilst we waited.

Once this was behind us the rest of our stay was lovely and despite our initial complaint, the staff were completely courteous and helpful to us thereafter. Our room was bright, spacious, had a comfy king size bed, clean linen every three days, small balcony (which is usual in Gumbet, we only dry our washing on them). Bathroom was spacious, hot showers any time of day, liquid soap provided on the sink and in the shower. No sink plug, often the case in Turkey, I always carry a universal one. The shower head also had an adequate wall holder so the portable one I also carry with us was not needed.

Breakfast 8am - 10am was mainly Turkish with the addition of omelettes and breakfast cereals, fruit squash and English and Turkish tea and coffee. Dinner was 8pm - 10pm and whilst this was adequate and edible, it was a little limited in choice. But, as I said above, no less than expected for what we paid. The dining area is clean and the staff quickly cleared tables. If you prefer, you can also buy food from the hotel menu, but we didn't try this.

The staff were polite, helpful and professional at all times.

The pool area is a little tight in terms of space but, whilst we were there, I think everyone who wanted to use a sunbed got one.

Air conditioning, very necessary at this time of year, was 15TL per day which does put up the cost a bit (I think it's a sliding scale over the season). We had it on every minute that we were in the room.

We used a safety deposit safe situated next to reception and dual key controlled. It was 50TL for the two weeks.

The cleaning staff did a good job each day and cleaned our room in the afternoon so never disturbed us if we felt like a morning lie in after a late night!

For us, the hotel was in an ideal location - close to the beach and all the evening action! At night, there is some noise from Bar Street which didn't stop us from sleeping. However, if you want complete silence at night, this maybe wouldn't be an ideal choice for you. Central Gumbet is loud and lively at night.

We only had one small concern and that was the practice of the staff offering to put ordered drinks onto a room number tab to pay later. We didn't use this facility and paid for drinks as we had them. When we checked out the staff presented a bill for just one glass of coke - 5 lira -which we definitely hadn't had. They 'checked it out' and cancelled it without any fuss. However, what if someone had put a shedload of drinks on our room number?? How would we prove we hadn't had them?? I would keep a daily check on this in future rather than wait to see what was presented at checkout time.

This is a small, friendly hotel and, in my opinion, represents good value for what we paid. I'd definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone with similar holiday requirements to us.

Room Tip: We had room 206, up one flight of stairs. It was absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bringmesunshine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    80
    43
    32
    15
See reviews for
37
105
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

myself and my partner stayed at the serhan in aug 2011, we only stayred a week but wish it was longer on reflection. the only downside was upon arrival (after a 3 hr delay) was our first room was small and grimey, spoke to the rep and was given a lovely quiet room. staff were excellent, the food was simple but tasty and it was in a fabulous location for the beach but just far enough away from the mental that is bar street lol. to sum up it was that good we go again on 23/07/2012 and this time my prtners 15 yr old son will be joining us for what we hope will be another fab holiday? top tip.... if you are a couple check out the sunset cruise.... BRILLIANT AND ROMANTIC!

Room Tip: 202, quiet and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

It was the evening of Englands first game in the European Championship so we asked if we could leave our bags in the reception and go and watch the game the reception staff said no problem and they would take them to our rooms and we would be taken to them after the gaame finished which we thought was a nice start to our stay.When we were shown our room it was nice and spacious with a fair sized bathroom. We went for the B&B option for this holiday and it was a typical Turkish breakfast of eggs cheeses and meats with tomato and cucumber.Some staff were more helpful than others but I think this was due to inexperience and the language barrier. Due to a freakish heatwave for the time of year it was extremely hot and muggy even in the late evening and later in the night so I paid £35 for a weeks hire of air-con, problem was though it wasn't working right and was just a fan I reported the fault the next morning after a poor nights sleep due to it being so hot to be told it would be fixed that day. This went on for 4 days me reporting that it wasn't working and the manager saying it will be fixed that day, after 4 nights without a good nights sleep it felt like I hadn't been on holiday at all but the manager did say if it couldn't be fixed we would be compensated for the 4 days it was broken and we would be moved and he was true to his word and the holiday ended well.The hotel seems far enough away from the night life so it's not too noisy but within walking distance to bars and restaurants but it was so loud that you needed your windows closed at night to block out the noise that did go on until 05:00 most mornings. The beach is literally 5 mins away which was good because the pool area wasn't that big and the photo in the brochure made it look bigger than it was.

Room Tip: go for higher floor rooms because people sat out round the pool area until very late drinking and ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We booked this hotel on the internet for seven days,half board.The pictures on the internet look lovely,but the hotel is pretty basic.On arrival we went to the room,opened the door and a terrible smell hit us - like very bad drains,which made me feel ill!We went on that day to speak with the manager,he assured us that he would have it checked out.True to his word he had someone check but they didn't seem to think there was a problem, so we had to stay that night in the room that smelt like something I would not like to mention here... but you get the idea I'm sure!After spending the night in this room I felt even worse so we went back to the manager who had his man check the room again, this time finding that the drains were indeed blocked, meaning my husband and I spent the night inhaling other peoples faeces!They apologised and fixed the problem.
The rooms were clean and tidy, however there were no included 'perks' e.g. A fridge, and the air conditioning could only be put on for a daily charge of 13 Lyra.No bath, and just a shower cubicle which was tiny.A larger person (not meaning obese) would have a hard job of getting into it.
The food was very basic,basically one set meal and salad, so far from a wide variety.Out of seven nights we ate out for three to escape the food.
The staff,however, are a credit to the hotel and are very friendly,with good customer service skills.
Would I go again? No, and I would not recommend this hotel to friends, family or passing strangers.
If you find yourself in the local town, Gumbet, I can highly recommend a great little jewellery shop 'Castle Jewellery',who have some lovely gifts and were refreshing in their approach as they weren't pushy, as a great many of the local shop owners are.
I left from Liverpool Airport and stayed in May 2012.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Had a great holiday here, small hotel but clean and friendly
location great for beach and nightlife. would stay here again

Room Tip: room 307 has a good view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Got back on tuesday 24th of april...was away from the 19th-24th 2012....The staff at Serhan were absolutely fabulous, felt very much welcomed and looked after, very hospitable. Rooms were cleaned everyday, you definitely get what you pay for, meets its 3*'s. Literally a 30 second walk from the beach, locals were very welcoming and friendly.

We stayed at the Serhan on a B&B basis, breakfast was same everyday, however the meals we did have were fab.

You can hear the music during the night as its a walk away from Bar street, however it didnt keep us up..locality wise..its not far from Bodrum, about 15 mins on a Dolmush...Quite a few restaurants available next to Serhan if you're not upto staying in.. Defo recommend Serhan if you're looking for a cheap and chirpy get away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sayma04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed at the Serhan on a B&B basis in Sept 2011. The hotel itself is really nice, friendly staff and meets all you're needs for a 3*. It's in a great location, about 100m from the beach and about a 5 min walk to all the bars and restaurants. It seems to be able to cater for all ages there as there was a good mix of people.

The breakfast is a buffet style and is the same every day. Bread, cheese, tomato, meats, hard boiled egg and omelette. It was more than enough for us but they will do a cooked breakfast at a charge. We ate out most nights but used the hotel restaurant on our last night. We both had steaks and they we fantastic. Would highly recommend them!

The room we had was a bit dated but was perfectly adequate for two people. The balcony was just about big enough for two chairs but we only ever used it to dry things on. It was a bit noisy at night, as you can hear the music from the nearby bars. It was never that noisy though to keep us awake and you can pay for the air con if you wanted to close the windows.

All in all, it's good value for money, very clean, good friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bagevleri
Hotel Bagevleri
#7 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#12 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bronze Hotel
Bronze Hotel
#10 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green House Apart Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Best Life Hotel
The Best Life Hotel
#20 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ali Baba Hotel
Ali Baba Hotel
#18 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serhan Hotel

Property: Serhan Hotel
Address: Plaj Sokak 22, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serhan Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing