We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ali Baba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ali Baba Hotel
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Would definitely return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have just returned from a week at Ali baba hotel with my fiancé. We had an amazing time!!

The rooms are basic but clean. Our room had 2 single beds, wardrobe, vanity unit and separate toilet. There are mosquito nets on the window which I thought was a great idea. Air conditioning is available at an extra charge. We paid without hesitation as it was uncomfortably warm! The shower is not the best, there's not a lot of pressure and the temperature is unpredictable. If there's a knack to it we didn't have it!! We had to ask the maid to give us clean towels a couple of times. There is no fridge in the room but ice cold drinks can be purchased at the bar until late.

The staff at the hotel are all very warm and welcoming, particularly Seb, who will help with any problems you may have and Antonio the barman, who is a good laugh and has good local knowledge.

We found the pool area very relaxing, I always managed to find beds together with a parasol (I like a bit of shade) the bar serves snacks and ice cream.

The breakfast consists of a boiled egg, olives, cucumber and tomato. If this is not your thing you can order other breakfast items.

Gumbet is a fantastic resort with something for everyone. The restaurants down at the beach offer reasonably priced meals and it's a great alternative to bar street.

We had a fantastic time at Ali baba hotel and would definitely book there again. It's a budget hotel, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    48
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
22
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
humberside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for a couple of weeks in July.

The breakfast is an egg, some bread and spread; or pay additional for other items. Me and my friends chose to eat out for breakfast as on the far left corner of the beach, two restaurants offered full breakfasts for 4 lira!

The rooms were basic which is expected for the low price, but very clean. Note there isn't a hair dryer provided or a mini fridge, which meant the bottled water we kept purchasing went warm very quick, but you get what you pay for.

Air conditioning is an additional charge which we chose not to pay as it wasn't too hot at night.

The hotel is in a good location, 5 minute walk from beach and around the corner from bar street, where all the livelier night clubs are- drinks are more expensive in these bars though so we would drink in other restaurants/ bars first or in our hotel room. We couldn't hear any of the clubs from the hotel which was great.

The main reason for not a 'very good' rating was the noise within the hotel. Me and my friend were located near the reception on the ground floor so could hear the bar music being played until around 2am, which is no problem if you're part of the party! We also were woken between 5-7am every morning by loud sweeping outside which was very annoying. Our friends room was upstairs and had no noise complaints however.

When we stayed people hogged the loungers early in the morning and wouldn't use them until the afternoon so be aware of that, think it happens most places!

Bottom line we would stay in this hotel again, we loved hanging around the pool in the day, and it was a great location, just a shame we were woken a lot.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are noisier because of the bar and sweeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hol_uk_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Lovely, friendly, family run little hotel. Excellent value for money. Yes rooms are basic, but spotlessly clean and a good size. We were in room 31,it was lovely and quiet. We paid the extra for the air con, as it was really hot.
The staff are lovely and nothing is to much trouble. Antonio the bar man is really helpful and attentative to his customers, book your trips through him to save yourself money.
Pool area was very nice and only 1 occasion when we couldn't get a bed. Snacks were good and reasonably priced as were the drinks.
I can see why people return year after year, I would definitely come back here.
I liked Gumbet,, beach was lovely and sun beds were free, which saves you a fortune compared to Spain. To go in the sea, I wore flip flops as its a bit hard on the feet due pebbles and stones.
Lots of bars and restaurants and nightlife if you want it.
never once ate a meal that I didn't thoroughly enjoy and really cheap.
Mistral bay restaurant on the beach was excellent value for money. 25 lira for a 4 course steak meal (we had T.bone) including a half bottle of wine or a large beer! Casablanca just down the rd from the hotel and Jasmine garden were also really nice, but its a pain trying to get past them as they hassle you to come in all the time, as do most of the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms by the breakfast area are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just got back from Staying here with two friends and the hotel was as expected for the price, basic and clean. The rooms were fine but due to the rooms not having a mini fridge it meant that you could not buy water to leave in their as it would get warm very quickly. On arrival we found that their was an extra cost for air con which was £25 for a week, having spoken to a lady who had just stayed and was waiting to leave we opted against paying this and was fine due to a lovely cool breeze each night. The pool area was great and we enjoyed spending a lot of time there reading!. The staff were all friendly and would deal with any issue that came up. The breakfast was very basic and we often didn't bother and would go elsewhere as it was very cheap to east at the local restaurants. The location was great and very close to the bars and restaurants but just enough distance for it to be quiet. one negative was my friends room was next door to the reception and they would often be awoken by sweeping early in the morning once as early as 5:00am. Would recommend the hotel for people wanting a basic cheap clean hotel that is in a good location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor was quieter than the ground floor, would avoid the room closest to the rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Loved this hotel! Felt very welcome from with the staff especially with barman Antonio who found us great deals on trips which saved us lots of money! Room was lovely and snacks at the bar were nice! Could have done with some fresh juice for breakfast but apart from that no faults!

Would definitely stay there again, short walk to the nightlife but very quiet. Me and my 5 other friends didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

If your looking for budget accommodation in a quiet but convenient location in Gumbet, this could be the one for you. Rooms are very basic but adequate with separate bedroom, hall and bathroom. Would have liked a balcony but for the price you can't argue. The breakfast was not the best but again you get what you pay for. What turns this hotel from 2* to 5* is the staff. It's a family run hotel with friendly staff who can't do enough for you. The clientele was quite mixed with both young and old. The pool area is nice but could probably do with a few more beds at busier times. Snacks available all day and seemed popular but did't try ourselves. Drinks are reasonably priced and served in ice cold glasses which was a nice touch. Plenty of great restaurants close by. Have to say we were impressed with Gumbet as a whole and will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scousemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Good value for money good staff and very friendly rooms basic but very clean places to eat uncle festers jacks place and family doors great for lamb shank hope to be back shortley price for the beer was cheap was paying 4 lira for a large bottle efes but when you hit bar street prices can double or even treble hope to see you soon ashy & Elaine notts

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashymufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.5 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bagevleri
Hotel Bagevleri
#7 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Paloma Apartments
Club Paloma Apartments
#14 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bronze Hotel
Bronze Hotel
#10 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali Baba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali Baba Hotel

Property: Ali Baba Hotel
Address: Lale Sok. No:24 Bodrum Merkez, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gumbet
#5 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ali Baba Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Ali Baba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Baba Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing