We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall very good - Could be better.”
Review of Sami Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sami Plaza Hotel
Ranked #59 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall very good - Could be better.”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Sami Plaza has its moments as being a brilliant place to stay. Unfortunately those moments can sometimes be forgotten when you are presented with a number of troubles you may encounter.

Upon our arrival at Sami Plaza we were shown to our room to which (from what we can gather from previous reviews) is the basement room/the the caretakers room. It is a small shack at the side of the pool and provides absolutely no sunlight. To stay in this room would mean having to wear wet shorts for the complete stay of your holiday. After being extremely unimpressed with the room we asked if we could be moved but we were told we had to wait until the next day (acceptable if we were told the truth about their not being any available rooms at the time).

This whole situation could have been resolved much better but unfortunately the receptionist at Sami Plaza was extremely useless. He had no interest in taking any time to resolve our issue and therefore meant we had to stay in the room for 2 nights and asked about a new room on about 5 different occasions to no real response.

Apart from the first 2 nights debacle, our stay improved considerably. The food was very nice (we stayed half board) and the staff who worked in the bar/restaurant were extremely nice and helpful.
Our new room was on a high floor and gave us a nice view of the pool down below. The pool itself was beautiful and we always managed to secure sun beds when ever we decided to stay around the pool area.
The hotel is a couple of minutes walk away from the beach front and also from some of the best restaurants in Gumbet.

Overall, Sami Plaza is a very good hotel that could be great but falls short IMO. If not for the issues we had with the reception staff members our stay could have been improved greatly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    37
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just returned from the Sami Plaza this morning, andd I must say I was delighted. Although on arrival the hotel had only just opened and the room was very dirty, but as soon as we brought this to there attention, this room was cleaned immaculately. The pool area was very clean as was the restaurant. Food was great, not once did we have a problem, and I will add the we are both very particular about all of the above. Location is great also, 3 minutes walk to the beach, plenty of bars and shops available. Although this is a 10 minute walk to bar street we were not disturb by any noise. The staff, Fahti - barman, great to talk to, Osman waiter friendly and always smiling. Oktay Manager was fun and friendly. We would most definately go back, and thinking of returning in September. The only negative was the bar was closed on arrival at 3.00 am and we needed a drink, after the long journey, would be good if they supplied water in the room. We travelled with Thomas Cook.... Never again, I believe they are trying to save money by putting you on a large coach from the airport then stopping and putting you on feeder buses, there excuse was large coach are unablt to travel through the streets!!! Rubbish there were plenty of other companys travelling throught the streets in large coaches. This made the journey tiring and labourous. Definately would not do this with young children or elderly. Just around the corner of the hotel is Exen Travel fanastic boat trips also. We went on all inclusive for £18.00, the boat held 24 passengers and 24 beds> Food was fab, staff really friendly and were happy to wait on you for drinks.
Hope this helps and happy holidays

Room Tip: Quieter on beach side. All have great large balconys too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skymadd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Great stay at the Sami Plaza, Right next door to the bars and restaurant, and just round the corner from the sea front. Rooms are a good size, and the pool and pool area was always kept clean and tidy. However the do go self catering, as the food they serve isn't the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Good hotel, excellent customer service, Nice clean rooms, fair Turkish breakfast. Unseasonal heavy rain caused our room to flood but within minutes staff came and moved our baggage. Right in the heart of the resort but not over powered by the noise of nearby bars. The Dolmush stops right outside, making it easy to access the rest of the penisular. An excellent English breakfast to be had at the Parrot just across the road from reception. There is an excellent Steak .resturant right next door which is good value for money.

Room Tip: pick a room at reception leval nearest the beach side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaystant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Booked a late holiday here for last week in July for €420 flights & b&b great valu, great location, probably the best we could have stayed in for the price!
It couldn't be closer to the beach & has a really nice sea breeze but no access which is great cause it feels so much safer than the other beach access ones.
Breakfast was continental but the omelette bar was great and very filling.
This is a party town so the strip is very busy at night but me and the GF didn't mind that + the hotel is 5 mins from the strip so safe & quiet.
Bodrem was 5 mins in a taxi and is like peurto banus in turkey we went in twice over the week.
Also ate in annalivias & divers twice nothing else is even close to these for quality food

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dblennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here for two weeks 29th August-12th September 2011. The hotel is centrally located in Gumbet, shops are literally outside the hotel and it's two minutes from the beach although the beach is shingled so don't be expecting a golden sand beach. The staff of the hotel are so nice at the hotel, especially Oktay, he does what he can to make your experience even more pleasant. There are sun loungers and hammocks(which i loved) by the pool which can be accessed as it is quite a small hotel. The rooms are large we had three single beds in ours with plenty of space, and large balcony. The only complaint is the wifi signal didn't reach certain parts of the hotel including our apartment but i could access it on the first hammock so it wasn't too bad. The maids were round nearly every day with clean towels which is more than enough. There's free air conditioning in the rooms which was good because it was so hot. We stayed bed and breakfast and have no complaints regarding the food, people must remember they are not at home they are in a different country so if you expect kellogs cereal for breakfast best stay at home. The hotel has an excellent restaurant which offers discount to guests for dinner, and the food is excellent we ate at the hotel restaurant a number of times during our stay and we were given free starters and desserts and we were felt guilty leaving anything on our plates. The portions are huge so be prepared to gain weight. This was our first trip to Turkey and I have to admit I was'nt sure what to expect but now we are planning on going back. For the people saying about it being noisy, if you had a room in an apartment you could shut your door and not hear anything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielJarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The layout of the Hotel was very nice. You should take plenty of hygienic wipes with you as the surfaces of everything never seem to get cleaned.I never once saw the Pool area being cleaned, Not one of the reviews I read about this Hotel mentioned the noise. It was awful.The Hotel is close to many late bars & disco's that start thier music at 10.p.m. and do not stop until 3 a.m. in the morning.There was a constant boom boom in your ears making it impossible to sleep. Just as you thought you would drop off (at last) then you get the high heels clipity clop going past your door. I have holidayed in many Turkish resorts before but this Gumbet was not nice.We were fed up telling the men to keep their hands to themselvesI certainly would not let any Daughter of mine go there with out me.

Room Tip: I can tell you the room not to choose,thats the one's that are wooden sheds near the pool area.T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateM1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.1 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#17 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Club
Hotel Sun Club
#75 of 99 in Gumbet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#2 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sami Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sami Plaza Hotel

Property: Sami Plaza Hotel
Address: Mister Hadi Street 22, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sami Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sami Plaza Gumbet
Hotel Sami Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing