We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Archbolds from Newcastle” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sami Plaza Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gumbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sami Plaza Hotel
Ranked #61 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Archbolds from Newcastle”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

location was OK, local people were lovely,hotel staff were really good but did not seem to cater for english speaking guests,food very poor,room we were allocated was not the room we were shown by travel agent,it was quite dangerous for a small child,the 8 tiled steps up to the room were constantly wet with water dripping from above,wires hanging all over apartment and rear balcony and front porch,electrical sockets hanging out of walls.We asked for a childs play area i do not think 2 small swings cover that request.Pools are not suitable for small children.Tea making facilities would be beneficial .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    37
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

On arrival at 11pm we were taken to our room 435. The man at reception took one of our luggage up two flight of stairs(no lifts), and we struggled with the rest. We asked if we could have a sandwich made, as we missed dinner. The man made excuses that the restaurant was closed and he could not do anything for us. We unpacked and was going to go out but had problem locking the door. Phoned reception, and he told us to press button from inside. This did not resolve it. We phoned him again and he come up to show us tthe way to lock it. Press button on inside the, slam door to lock it. Rooms were clean with plenty of wardrobe space, air condition unit, a very old tiny 15" tv. Air conditioning only works with patio door closed, which led to a balcony with two chairs and a table.
After a sleeples second night, we asked to change room. There is a massive water tank next to the room. The sound of the water pump and the water trickling all night long was very annoying.
The girl at reception was very good with us, and we swapped room within a couple of hours, a few doors down the corridors. Room 439 was much better with only a few youngsters coming home in the early hours of the morning being loud.
The breakfast food was quite good, with freshly cooked omelette or fried eggs, cereals ham cheese and other continental food.
Evening meal choice of at least two hot cooked meats with salads, fresh fruit and very sticky cakes. On average the food was good. No drinks available with evening meal. Not even a botle of water.You have to buy them. The hotel is right on the corner of the busy main road, with shops, bars, and only five minutes walk to the beach. The pool is good with plenty of sunbeds. You can leave your towels overnight and nobody seem to mind.There are some good very relaxing hammocks.
The area is lively, when shopping be prepared to barter.The beach is pebbly,narrow, and overcrowded. Free sunbeds everywhere if you buy a drink from the bar that looks after them.

Room Tip: Avoid room 435
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bouler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Sami Plaza has its moments as being a brilliant place to stay. Unfortunately those moments can sometimes be forgotten when you are presented with a number of troubles you may encounter.

Upon our arrival at Sami Plaza we were shown to our room to which (from what we can gather from previous reviews) is the basement room/the the caretakers room. It is a small shack at the side of the pool and provides absolutely no sunlight. To stay in this room would mean having to wear wet shorts for the complete stay of your holiday. After being extremely unimpressed with the room we asked if we could be moved but we were told we had to wait until the next day (acceptable if we were told the truth about their not being any available rooms at the time).

This whole situation could have been resolved much better but unfortunately the receptionist at Sami Plaza was extremely useless. He had no interest in taking any time to resolve our issue and therefore meant we had to stay in the room for 2 nights and asked about a new room on about 5 different occasions to no real response.

Apart from the first 2 nights debacle, our stay improved considerably. The food was very nice (we stayed half board) and the staff who worked in the bar/restaurant were extremely nice and helpful.
Our new room was on a high floor and gave us a nice view of the pool down below. The pool itself was beautiful and we always managed to secure sun beds when ever we decided to stay around the pool area.
The hotel is a couple of minutes walk away from the beach front and also from some of the best restaurants in Gumbet.

Overall, Sami Plaza is a very good hotel that could be great but falls short IMO. If not for the issues we had with the reception staff members our stay could have been improved greatly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just returned from the Sami Plaza this morning, andd I must say I was delighted. Although on arrival the hotel had only just opened and the room was very dirty, but as soon as we brought this to there attention, this room was cleaned immaculately. The pool area was very clean as was the restaurant. Food was great, not once did we have a problem, and I will add the we are both very particular about all of the above. Location is great also, 3 minutes walk to the beach, plenty of bars and shops available. Although this is a 10 minute walk to bar street we were not disturb by any noise. The staff, Fahti - barman, great to talk to, Osman waiter friendly and always smiling. Oktay Manager was fun and friendly. We would most definately go back, and thinking of returning in September. The only negative was the bar was closed on arrival at 3.00 am and we needed a drink, after the long journey, would be good if they supplied water in the room. We travelled with Thomas Cook.... Never again, I believe they are trying to save money by putting you on a large coach from the airport then stopping and putting you on feeder buses, there excuse was large coach are unablt to travel through the streets!!! Rubbish there were plenty of other companys travelling throught the streets in large coaches. This made the journey tiring and labourous. Definately would not do this with young children or elderly. Just around the corner of the hotel is Exen Travel fanastic boat trips also. We went on all inclusive for £18.00, the boat held 24 passengers and 24 beds> Food was fab, staff really friendly and were happy to wait on you for drinks.
Hope this helps and happy holidays

Room Tip: Quieter on beach side. All have great large balconys too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skymadd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Great stay at the Sami Plaza, Right next door to the bars and restaurant, and just round the corner from the sea front. Rooms are a good size, and the pool and pool area was always kept clean and tidy. However the do go self catering, as the food they serve isn't the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Good hotel, excellent customer service, Nice clean rooms, fair Turkish breakfast. Unseasonal heavy rain caused our room to flood but within minutes staff came and moved our baggage. Right in the heart of the resort but not over powered by the noise of nearby bars. The Dolmush stops right outside, making it easy to access the rest of the penisular. An excellent English breakfast to be had at the Parrot just across the road from reception. There is an excellent Steak .resturant right next door which is good value for money.

Room Tip: pick a room at reception leval nearest the beach side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaystant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Booked a late holiday here for last week in July for €420 flights & b&b great valu, great location, probably the best we could have stayed in for the price!
It couldn't be closer to the beach & has a really nice sea breeze but no access which is great cause it feels so much safer than the other beach access ones.
Breakfast was continental but the omelette bar was great and very filling.
This is a party town so the strip is very busy at night but me and the GF didn't mind that + the hotel is 5 mins from the strip so safe & quiet.
Bodrem was 5 mins in a taxi and is like peurto banus in turkey we went in twice over the week.
Also ate in annalivias & divers twice nothing else is even close to these for quality food

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dblennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.4 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#12 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.7 mi away
WOW Bodrum Resort
WOW Bodrum Resort
#4 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Karya Beach Hotel
Karya Beach Hotel
#78 of 98 in Gumbet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sami Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sami Plaza Hotel

Property: Sami Plaza Hotel
Address: Mister Hadi Street 22, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Sami Plaza Gumbet
Hotel Sami Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing