We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality/value rate with a great location”
Review of Gumbet Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gumbet Cove Hotel
Ranked #29 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We loved this hotel more than the expensive, luxury and all inclusive concept hotels that we have stayed before. First, Gümbet region is a young and cheap region in Bodrum. Seriously, everything is sooooo cheap there! There are lots of bars/cafes/restaurants/night clubs around. You can walk around till late safely. We booked a room from this hotel because we wanted a cheap holiday in Bodrum. We were so surprised by the hotel when we thought about the ridiculously cheap rate that we paid. The hotel room was very basic, but good enough for us to spend the night, the bed was small though. Our air conditioning worked well. Our only big problem was the mosquitos but we solved it with mosquito repellents. We had a room with lovely view of the sea and the hotel garden. There was no internet and electric kettle in the room, but we did not care at all since we wanted to use the room just for sleeping. The pool was small, but served us well (although it was high season, we were surprised that there were not many people). The breakfast was nothing exceptional, just basic Turkish breakfast, but this was enough for us as well. If you would like to have more choices or English breakfast, there are lots of places around that are serving those for reasonable prices. The beach was private but very small. Also, it was not a thin sandy beach. Again, we enjoyed it too. We participated to a Turkish night on the beach with a belly dancer and a wide selection of delicious Turkish specialities, which was great! The location of the hotel is great, just 5 minutes walk to the animated area. You can also go everywhere by public transport "dolmus" for very cheap. We booked the hotel on "Travel Republic" and everything went very well. We would return to this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YesimTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

We loved this hotel. We had a lovely room with a four-poster bed and a balcony overlooking the pool. The decoration was Ikea-style, white and airy, and it was very clean. The bathroom was recently renovated. Let's just say I would happily take my mother who is 67 years old and quite fussy to this hotel!

As it was early in the season it was lovely and quiet (but you do get noise from other establishments nearby). The hotel is very well maintained and there were always enough sun loungers both by the pool and on the beach, which is quite small. I can imagine this may be a problem in the high season, but then you could hopefully just walk to the next beach area (there are hotels dotted all along the beachfront with lots of bars and restaurants too and they all have their "own" beach but there is no charge). The hotel also allows taking your bath towel to the beach so there was no fuss about paying extra for beach towels.

I know some people on Tripadvisor have complained about the breakfast which is Turkish-style. This basically means French bread, feta-type cheeses, olives, tomatoes & cucumber and boiled eggs. Cereal is also available, on some mornings they also offered scrambled eggs. Personally I was very happy with the breakfast because it's not unlike what we usually have in Scandinavia. But if you must have an English breakfast, you can have one in many beach restaurants for 10 TRY or in nearby restaurants within easy walking distance towards Gumbet centre. In that case it would be better to book your accommodation without breakfast, if you have that option. My only complaint is that I would have preferred more fresh fruit at breakfast as you would expect in the Mediterranean. Tea-drinkers please notice: there are no tea-making facilities in the rooms.

The guys working in the breakfast area/pool bar were so helpful and respectful, as was the reception guy. We got loads of help from them with directions, prices etc.

There is a free wifi on the beach and by the pool, it worked great.

The location is excellent too: you walk into Gumbet centre in about 5 minutes. The centre is easily walkable as it's quite small but still offers a lot of choice in bars, shops, restaurants etc. The local minibus to Bodrum (where you have a bigger selection of shops, restaurants, big bazaar, great seafront entertainment zone etc) is easy to catch from about 200m outside the hotel. The nearest minimarket is also the same distance - handy for water, crisps etc.

My only complaint about the hotel is the pricing at the beach bar. Cocktails were 15 TRY whereas in most other bars on the beach they were 10 TRY. Lunch was expensive too - 14 TRY for a small sandwich. Next time we will buy our own bread etc. and have a picnic on the balcony...

We loved a couple of local eateries: restaurant Saray Zetas nearby (on the minibus route towards Bodrum) offers lovely meze, real kebab and Turkish pizza "pide". In the Bodrum marina, Körfez is the oldest fish restaurant and offered great seafood and meze. Our tour operator also recommends Shanghai restaurant in Gumbet, about 15 mins from the hotel, but we weren't overly impressed. However, if you're a bigger group and one of you wants Indian, one Chinese, one Turkish and one Mexican food, then this is the place for you.

All in all we loved Gumbet/Bodrum and will return - and it will be to this hotel, definitely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nefernefernefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Small and quiet hotell near Gumbet center. Easy to go everywhere with Dolmus. Beach was clean also. Room were small but there were everything what you needed. The beds were little bit too hard to sleep. Service was always good in the restaurant and also in beach bar. The food were always good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murmeli75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I think people forget how much they pay, we booked direct, transfers were smooth and we were given water on pick up at airport.

service was good, breakfast in the morning was also very good. Lots of selection.
Not far from nightlife down the strip at gumbet, worth a cheap holiday. Rooms are basic but clean. Beanbags down the bottom bar for chilling in evening. All staff were friendly. Good for anyone on a budget :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Great atmosphere, fun hotel to be in! The front desk guy may have the looks of an army officer but is very nice and helpful (Ozgur).
The owners are always present and very responsive to all requests which compensates for the number of stars!
Could do better on the variety of food and wi-fi in rooms

Room Tip: Closer to the beach for wi-fi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent a week at the Gumbet Cove hotel and it wasn't long enough! The hotel is situated in just round the bay which means that it is lovely and quiet but only a short walk from the main town. The food here is fantastic and the service is excellent. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully presented, we are definitely coming back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forbo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The location of hotel is great. It's beside the sea and near by Gumbet centre. A swimming pool and breakfast areas are nicely.The whole staff are very friendly.
Hotel's BBQ night was great, food was excellent and of high quality.
Hotel's beach bar is the best in Gumbet and the beach bar master has a good style/attitude) The place is really homely unlike other beach bar's in Gumbet. Best milk coffee in the hole world.
We recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leenakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.2 mi away
Bodrum Skylife Hotel All Inclusive
0 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#24 of 101 in Gumbet
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumbet Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbet Cove Hotel

Address: Adnan Menderes Cad. M.Kasif Ertekin Sk. No 4, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range: £35 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gumbet Cove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gumbet Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing