We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gumbet Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gumbet Cove Hotel
Ranked #28 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We are so pleased with ourselves to have found this hidden gem of a hotel in busy Gumbet. This beautiful family run hotel is excellent value,great location and extremely well run. We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely little quiet hotel.

Gumbet is extremely busy and very commercialised, so it was lovely to be able to get up in the morning in our hotel with the birds chirping and the sea lapping against the shore. We would have hated to stay in many of the other large, all inclusive, noisy hotels around Gumbet, especially those in Bar Street.

The hotel is family run and it was great to see the family having their meals in the dinning room with their guests and all the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The gardens very relaxing with their loungers and large cushions, with a great view of the sporting activities in the Cove. We adored being able to take our morning coffee with us from the dinning room down onto the gardens to look out over the sea and watch the boats go out. The chill out cafe area on the beach is a great way to unwind in between swimming and relaxing on your lounger.

The pictures on the website to be honest do not do it enough justice, it is even nicer when you get there.

Take some water shoes for the beach at it is a bit stoney as you get into the water, but the beautiful sand under your feet and loads of fishes swimming around you. A tip would be to book your boat trip through the guys with the stand on the beach so you end up with a trip on the yacht which can hold up to 25 people, rather than a huge boat carrying 80+ making the day (we heard) very unconfortable. The guys on our boat were brilliant, bent over backwards to help us and it was really exciting when they put their snorkle and flippers on and went and caught octopus for their supper.

We can highly recommend eating at the hotel, as the food was lovely and they even gave away free meze and garlic bread as starters. Their pricing was good as well. To be honest the rest of the so called restaurants in Gumbet were a bit of a let down, so stick with the hotel would be our advice. The only good restaurant around was Saray Zetas which is not far from the hotel and it is a place that the Turks go to as well. Highly recommended.

All in all, 10 out of 10 for the hotel. Gumbet itself is a bit commercialised. We took a trip to a quiet little village Gumusuluk (not sure if that spelling is right) which was so peaceful and beautiful. We had a superb freshly caught fish lunch overlooking the sea - well worth a visit.

We loved our two day trip to Ephesus and Pamulkale (again not sure on the spelling) and would recommend them to anybody that hasn't been.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank penndav09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    52
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
32
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

Just arrived back from Gumbet Cove hotel this is a family run hotel with a lot of customer care.The location of the hotel is excellent as it sits in the bay. My husband and i were halfboard, breakfast consisted of cheese ,olives bread, honey fruit and so on all fresh.
The evening meal meze,soup. main meal selection of fresh fruits or cold puddings all with a turkish flavour delicious.The accomodation very clean and staff very good a special mention for Fatih on reception who always had a smile on his face and was the font of all knowledge he was a little gem cok tesekkur ederim.
You are with in a few minutes walking distance of the shops and bars.Just outside of the hotel at the top of the road you can catch a Dolmus they are every 3mins just stick your hand out and they will pick you up, there is also a taxi rank there too.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone hope to see you next year sometime thankyou all. Sandra & Peter O'malley.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank omall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

two weeks was not long enough,hotel basic (5* basic) stiuated on the beach-only left the hotel twice, staff brillant, friendly, helpful and entertaining, food basic but eatable,but could eat of another menu (chips/burgers/pizzas)some night entertainment but overall a quite hotel,booking to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIPROARINGPOTTERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw, scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

Lovely cooling breeze and temperatures in the 80's certainly helped, the hotel was just perfect for us and we stayed bed and breakfast but quite happy to have the occasional lunches and one dinner at the hotel. The choices in Gumbet for entertainment and meals was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzyrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Although this is in a beautiful location the food is awful and the management are antisocial the shower was never cleaned during our stay and the general cleanliness leave a lot to be desired.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We spent 2 weeks at Gumbet Cove Hotel. It is situated in a lovely position overlooking the beach, with access via steps and through the Beach Bar.
We had a budget room, which was simply furnished but comfortable, we had to ask for 2 chairs for the room,which was no problem. We did'nt have a balcony,just french doors looking out to the pool. The outdoor restaurant was ideal, and the buffet breakfast and evening meal was sufficient. The beach was kept tidy , although it was rather stony to get into the sea. It took about 10 minutes to walk into the town, which was very lively.
The Hotel staff were all very nice and helpful, especially Mehmet (waiter) and Murat (barman at Beach bar). All in all the Hotel and surrounding area were pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Just returned from our first experience of Turkey and the Gumbet Cove was an excellent choice. A first rate hotel in a beatiful location, away from the hussle of gumbet town. Staff very friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for you, especially "crazy waiter" Mehmet! Plenty of space and always sunbeds available. The rooms are basic but clean with a tv and a fridge. the air conditioning is a must and is worth every penny (about £30 for the week). Breakfast is simple eggs, cold meats, cheese, bread etc and the meals we ate in the hotel were excellent and good value.
Tips:
1) Don't book trips through the tour rep, shop around you will get them much cheaper.
2) Do not buy food at Bodrum airport - 5€ for a can of coke, 13€ for the equivelent of a 'Happy Meal', a comlpete rip-off.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrajanemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.3 mi away
Anil Hotel
Anil Hotel
#47 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Hotel
Royal Palm Beach Hotel
#27 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bronze Hotel
Bronze Hotel
#10 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayaz Aqua
Ayaz Aqua
#17 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bagevleri
Hotel Bagevleri
#7 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumbet Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbet Cove Hotel

Property: Gumbet Cove Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Cad. M.Kasif Ertekin Sk. No 4, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gumbet Cove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gumbet Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing