We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldnt go back”
Review of Gumbet Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gumbet Cove Hotel
Ranked #31 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Wouldn’t go back to gumbet cove, the rooms were very basic and unclean. Arrived to a smelly damp room with foot prints on the walls and a soaking wet bathroom floor, the toilet and sink were hanging from the wall and the shower door was broken and mouldy. The sea view balcony we paid extra for was a joke and pointless as it was also covered in water dripping from the 2 air conditioning boxes that were on the wall there was no table or chairs and was just big enough for 2 people to stand on. One of the lights was broken and the key was often difficult to use, the beds were okay and the maid did come in everyday and usually gave us clean towels. The bathroom drains stunk the room out for are entire stay but we didn’t upgrade as we didn’t want to give the hotel owners more money! There does however seem to be much nicer rooms in the hotel but you only get these if you are a friend of the hotel owners.
The pool and pool bar was clean and the food was nice not many sun loungers though so didn’t always manage to get one, The owners often sat in the pool bar and stared at you though. The beach bar was also fine and good for sitting in at night and for having a break from the sun during the day, the surrounding gardens were also nice. Most of the staff were friendly however they went in moods if you ate out or in your room and if you didn’t go to their Turkish night.
When we left they attempted to get more money for us by charging us for a bill they’d made up, we didn’t pay. I have been to a few places in gumbet and gumbet cove hotel is the worst I’ve stayed in, wouldn’t go back and if you get room 119 you are very unlucky.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodiebrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

Stayed 5-12 july. We've never been to Turkey before. We usually stay 4/5* but after reading reviews on here, thought we'd give it a go as a 'cheap getaway'. We had a great holiday. We upgraded our room as the first one didn't have a great position and had single beds. Our upgraded room overlooked the pool. It was basic but was really nice. Just two gripes. Toilet was stained so we bought some bleach and it was like new! Bed sheets/pillows were crisp and clean but just had a top cover which was like a table cloth??? But we got used to it! (we like our home comforts and cleanliness and I honestly felt happy with our room) Paid extra for air con and safe. Hotel was very safe, smoothly run, and respectable. The staff are all friendly and go out of their way to say hello and make you feel welcome. We stayed B&B. Typical Turkish breakfast of bread, boiled eggs,cheese, olives, meat, tomatoes,cucumber, cereal, jam, honey. Tea and coffee,juice. Nice and clean with good service. Owner and family ate there every day with guests. He didn't smile much but was friendly if you approached him! We had breakfast a few times across main rd from front of hotel at 'Bronze Corner' We're not the 'Britts Abroad' type, but they did a perfect English breakfast for 5tl (£2) Went there couple times for a steak and it was amazing. About £12 for T-bone/fillet steak. Delicious, and great service. We ate quite a few times at Gumbet Cove Hotel too, we think their food was better than most places we tried. Kebabs, Spaghetti Carbonarra, pizzas.... all freshly cooked and not expensive.Idris was the loveliest waiter, and we are now email friends! Not sure the choice if you are half board is great .Soft drinks weren't expensive at hotel/pool bar, but we found alcohol drinks were expensive and cheap brands. That was the case everywhere. Spent many an early evening chilled on the been bags in the garden drinking our 'duty free' : ) Up the rd is Bar St where all the madness is at night. Not really our scene but we did go a couple of nights and had a laugh. You do get hassled a bit to go in the bars/restaurants/shops. The resort is closed in winter so you realise their trade season is short and they are just trying to earn a living. You just have to say a polite ' no thankyou' and they are polite back. The Turkish were lovely people. Bought some nice bits silver jewellery and blag watches! Loads of tat in the shops and crap 'designer' bags. Didn't waste much time shopping. Easy to jump on a bus to Bodrum. £1 each. Bodrum has the most beautiful Marina with fantastic yachts. Lovely restaurants and shops. All lit up beautifully at night. Never once felt unsafe. Lazed on our beach every single day. Didnt bother with a boat trip as they looked a bit crowded to us. Hired a little boat on beach front. £40 hour for 4. Went to a little cove along bay. Water was turqoise like Carribean.Wish we'd taken it out for longer and snorkelled. Also went on water sport ride. Sat on a 'sofa' being pulled along by speedboat! Thought we were gonna die and screamed all way, was sooo funny. Well, I've gone on a bit long, but want to say we had a brilliant time, met some lovely friends, and would not hesitate to go back. Give it a go. x

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TREnRICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

A small hotel at the quiet end of Gumbet. Great location and a layout which runs down a slope through the spotlessly clean pool and restaurant to the gardens then beach bar and private beach. Super staff for whom nothing is too much trouble --- the iced coffees are to-die-for.
On the negative side, the rooms are basic and could do with an upgrade (promised!) and the family who own the hotel are ever-present but make no effort to engage with guests.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soopersweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My boyfriend and i have just come back from gumbet. We spent 10 days here but felt that a week here is definately long enough. We had a self catering apartment. It cost 150 tl for air con and safe. Room was spacious but not very clean. Toilet was very noisy after flushing and shower was hard to keep temperature due to turning either burning hot or freezing cold so becareful! Pool area was nice. Restaurant food wasnt very nice so advise to eat along beach front for decent food recommend angel. Beach wasnt very good very shingley and sea was stoney and very cold! People at hotel were very pushy about booking a table to eat there and making you join there turkish night we told them no and they carried on every day! At the moment LIBRO TOURS are running out of this hotel DON'T book any trips with these people they are CONS they are double the price of other independant tour companys and then when you try to get your money back you wont see your rep again beware! This was are 1st time in turkey and wouldnt return it is expensive you cant walk past a restaurant or shop without being hassled. We came away for a relaxing holiday but was very glad to come home!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triedandtested10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

My wife and I have spent a very enjoyable ten nights at the Gumbet Cove Hotel in late June. Like just about everyone else on this forum, I was searching the reviews before making the booking to ensure it was what we truly wanted.
I can now fully understand the number of positive reviews this small family run hotel has received. I booked the room through [------] and paid £208 for ten nights half board.
I reckoned at that price if the food wasn’t up to much, then we could always eat out.
In fact the food wasn’t bad! The buffet breakfast had the usual offering of tomato, cucumber, yellow cheese, a salty sheep cheese, olives (which were not very good) and slices of a Turkish processed salami style sausage. There were also cereal, plenty of fresh bread, butter and jam. A coffee machine dispensed coffee with or without milk. Turkish black tea was also available.
The fresh orange juice dispenser turned out to be merely orange squash, which was a bit of a shame really! But I’m not complaining, given the price I paid.
The meals in the evening were tasty, and during the ten nights we were there, never had the same meal twice. My wife and I agreed, the best dinner we had was the chicken with potato and carrot poached in a stock. But the highlight of each evening was the selection of Meze dishes. These were a true touch of authentic Turkey, especially the Okra Meze. A soup was also available each evening but always needed a great deal of seasoning.
The hotel is small, just 38 rooms in all, and that is partly why I booked it. I wanted to sample the cosy intimate ambience of a family run establishment, instead of the much larger hotels nearby.
The owner family dined in the large open-air restaurant every night and whilst we acknowledged each other, the dialogue was a bit limited. Just how many times can you say hello, how are you, good evening, in Turkish and generate a conversation?
The room we were in was the basic standard room, which consisted of two single beds and a shower room. It was clean, but the toilet could have done with a good bleaching, if you get my drift! There was always plenty of hot water for showers whilst the towels were changed every three days, along with the bed sheets. There are superior rooms and self-catering apartments on site and if we were to return would certainly consider upgrading to one of these.
The weather during the first couple days was hot, peaking at 42°C, which made the pool even more inviting. Both the pool and beach bar were very pleasant places to be. The personal and attentive service of the two head waiters, Norman and Idris, was second to none. Both enjoyed practising their English whilst helping me get my Turkish pronunciations right.
One of the highlights of our holiday was the boat trips on “Ozz Life”. This small Gulet can be booked through “For Get Me Not” agency, in a side street not far from the beach. A fantastic day out and worth every penny! So good, went out a second time!
As we were in Gumbet whilst England were struggling to find form at the World Cup, we needed to find a bar to watch and cheer on our team. There were plenty to choose from, but our favourite, which also had the lowest priced beer in town, 2.5TL a pint, was Mandarin Garden. Hasan and his team are great characters and always ready for a bit of banter! Thanks Hasan for a great holiday! Also worth a mention is the Bacardi Beach Bar. Just walk through the hotel gardens to the beach, turn right, past the boat yard, and the BBB is on your left. Bobby the barman is another of life’s great treasures!
So, how do I rate the Gumbet Cove Hotel? If you’re seeking a low cost budget hotel which is honest to itself and delivers more than it’s two star accreditaion, then this is the place for you. If you’re expecting the standards of a five star hotel, then best forget it.
Proof of the pudding – would I come back? Honestly, yes!
One final tip. Bring sterling and just a little Turkish Lira with you. The exchange rate in Turkey is far better than in the UK and you can exchange money just about everywhere, bars, restaurants and money exchange offices.
I hope this has helped and have a great holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forestofbere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

hi just got back from this hotel last week 25/6/10,we were on h/b do not do this you get one choice of meal if you dont like it thats tough and no choice at all for chidren.The hotel was ok nice beach bar but very basic also dont let any one tell you turkey is cheap,small plate of chips £3.00 local vodka/coke £6.00 local beer £2.80.meal were expensipe and gumbet in places looks like war zone,if it was uk no one would go or live there. hotel....6 food.....3 room.......4 resort......5 out of 10 have been to turkey 7 times over the last 12 year and all they do now is try to rip you off thanks billy

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill17Whitehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

You could not get nearer the sea, great views, close to all ameneties, water sports, shops, dolmus. Far enough away from nightlife that it never disturbs. Though it's only a 5 minute walk along the beach. Very quiet hotel which we prefer. Nice pool for all ages.
We love it, and it suits our low budget. Fatih and all the staff are very helpful.
Rooms are basic with balcony, clean, hot water etc. all we need.
There's no evening bar, which I think would be a popular attraction.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFF088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.4 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
57.2 mi away
Bodrum Nova Suites Hotel -All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
WOW Bodrum Resort
WOW Bodrum Resort
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#25 of 101 in Gumbet
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 101 in Gumbet
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumbet Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbet Cove Hotel

Address: Adnan Menderes Cad. M.Kasif Ertekin Sk. No 4, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range: £18 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gumbet Cove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gumbet Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing