We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Lovely Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gumbet Cove Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gumbet Cove Hotel
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed here again for the third time for one week from 20th September and had a great stay.

Please don't believe the dreadful negative reviews for this hotel, as far as I'm concerned they are rubbish.

We stayed in a superior room and were very comfortable. The receptionist Fatih is extremely helpful, if you need anything all you have to do is ask and it will be taken care of immediately. In all our years staying here we have never needed to use the safety deposit boxes as the staff are 100% honest and trustworthy. The owners are really nice people and yes they do speak English and are lovely to have a conversation with. The breakfasts are typically Turkish as previously mentioned but if you want a full fry up you can have one at a very reasonable price. We ate in the hotel a few times and picked from the menu and the food was lovely. The beach bar is fun and in the height of the summer stays open till 4:00am if you want to stay that long. A few steps from the beach bar is the nice and quiet and secluded beach with plenty of sunloungers.

As we were only staying on week in September we only ventured into Bodrum once although in May we visited it practically every night. The Gumbet Cove Hotel is in an ideal location, far enough from the noise of Bar Street (which really isn't that noisy) but near enough for all the restaurants, bars and shops. The waiters in the bars are nice and friendly and they work really hard to make sure you have fun on your holiday.

On this holiday we took sterling currency as we were getting a better exchange rate at the banks of 2.35TL to the pound. Yes, Turkey is getting a little bit dearer than, for example 10-15 years ago, but it is still great value for money, where else can you get a starter, a main course and a bottle of wine for 2 people for approx £25, the food is fabulous with very large portions. The wine in restaurants is dearer now but it's the price we would pay in a supermarket at home. Beer is 5TL which is just over £2 sterling, in our local at home beer costs approx £4 so it's still cheaper. If you drink spirits you will get half a glass full with not a lot of room to put the mixer, I've no idea how much this costs as I drank wine all through the holiday.

If I had my way I would stay at this hotel every year but Turkey is a very big country and there is lots to explore, but who knows, next year we'll probably end up at the Gumbet Cove at some point.

Thank you Gumbet Cove for making us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Artemisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    52
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
32
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Just returned from a week at the Gumbet Cove. Stayed on a bed & breakfast basis in a superior room. Accomodation very good for Turkish standards. Hotel in a magical location backing onto the beach. Found it easier to access other areas of Gumbet by walking along the beach front. Booked a trip to Kos from Bodrum but very disappointed by the amount of time wasted queuing to get through customs 4 times which wasted lots of time and spoilt the day. Found out later that its much better to go from Turgutries but I would'nt bother booking the trip again and wouldn't recommend it. Would recommend having an evening meal at the Columbia restaurant and an english breakfast at the Parrot bar. This was our second visit to Gumbet and would strongly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Enjoyed the resort, yes they do hassle you, but that is their job, JASMIN GARDENS fantasic food, lovely staff, especially Ahmed. Indianna tours did a great job, with plenty of good information all round. Gumbet Cove.. breakfast basic, same every day, but okay. Our room was basic,probably expected, but not very clean, towels and bedding not changed as stated in room booklet, something to be desired. Pool itself lovely, got badly cut around edges, very sharp, with damaged edges, glad we didn't have children with us. Not recommended for any problems with access.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justus39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

we arrived late due to flight delays we were escorted to our room by very freindly and helpfull staff Our room was basic as expected 3 beds clean and overlooking the beach with sea view as promised room 121 we stayed for 7 nights we bought to air con and safe cost 100 L for the week we had probs with the air con at first as the overflow came back in our room instead of flowing outside but we went straight to reception and they sent someone straight away and it was sorted had no further problems. breakfast were as previous reviews and plentyful staff were always helpfull and freindly. the beach bar was only steps away and served the same food during the day as the restarant did in the day in the evening the main restarant also did fantastic steaks we ate there twice and on the time it was our 4th wedding annervary, they made a special table for us overlooking the beech and made it a special night to remember. we found all the areas to be clean the beach was close and pleanty of sun beds if you went to the beach the sunbeds were free and each bar came round to serve food and drinks with no preasure we favered the Baccardi bar free pool table good food english breakfast for 8L with drinks freindly staff good cocktails, effs beer everywhere we went was 5L average meal you in gumert with free mezza free wine or 15% off the bill was about 25L each but that was from a very filling good meal.
Gumbut and Bodrum is very hilly so we were lucky as our hotel wasnt to far from to main town down hill going and a cab for about 7L comming back,the bars and shops do pester you to come and look, we went somewhere diffrerent every night apart from our reastarant twice we deffo reccommend this hotel and resort just remember its not 5* but it shoud be more than 2* DO BUY ANYTHING IN THE AIRPORT ON THE WAY HOME COFFEE 10L COKE 10L BURGER AND CHIPS 34L

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khewettsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

A few people we met at the hotel told us to watch out for the fairies at the hotel as things seemed to vanish from your room. Reported to manager but they were not believed so a few off us left small selections of coins to see if we could tice the fairy out - - - and the fairy came but not when we were around.
The guessed thought they could be trusted but obviously they cant

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nefatiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Our 3rd time staying at this hotel. Previous visits were 09/2007 and 09/2008. This year they have digital safes in the rooms at a cost of 5TL per day. Air conditioning is 10TL per day. We had two rooms close to each other and the AC worked well in both rooms. We only use the hotel as a base so don't worry about the lack of entertainment in the evening - it's just a short walk along the beach where you can get all the entertainment you want. Rooms were cleaned every day - beds made and floor mopped. Rooms are a little tired but the beds (2 singles) are comfy enough.
We always paid the bar bill in cash as I don't like surprises when I check out. I only paid 100TL when Ieft after 7 days which was 70 for the AC and 35 for the safe, so was undercharged by 5TL. The breakfast is quite basic but they have cereal, tea, coffee, tomato, feta cheese, olives, salami, bread, butter, honey, jam which was pretty good and the staff always ensured that empty plates were taken away immediately. Breakfast is taken in a circular wooden structure about 15 metres in diameter which is only 25 metres from the beach with fantastic views. The pool is 20 metres long and you have to be a little careful as the edges are just beginning to crumble in places and one of out party cut his foot.
There is never a problem getting a sun lounger whatever time of the day you want one. I don't think there were ever more than 20 people at the pool at any one time and there must have always been at least 5-10 free sun loungers.
The hotel is quite pretty with bougainvillea covering many buildings.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzer-Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Firstly I must say regarding reports that the owners are grumpy is so unfair they were to us an English family very helpful and interesting family they even offered us transport to the medical centre& pharmacy. The family do live in the hotel and eat in the restaurant with all the guest breakfast, lunch, and evening meal. Hussein the owner is very laid back and will listen to any comments or queries you may have just speak to him he won’t bite you. Yes the breakfast served is a Turkish one you are in Turkey! They will if you ask cook you fried or scrambled eggs at no cost, and for a small charge a full English breakfast.
The staff from reception, night security, bar, are all very polite & helpful, there is free wifi in the reception if you want it. The pool is very clean and plenty of sun beds no need to get up at 4am to get one, there are also sun beds placed around the gardens, and on the beach. The restaurant offers a good selection of food cooked very nicely and at a very competitively price. The drinks are priced the same if not cheaper than most bars 5tl a large bottle of beer some bars in Gumbet are 7tl.If you want the night life this is only a 5min walk away to the bar streets and shops
The rooms are clean and basic and the apartments are of a very good size the air-conditioning is priced the same as all the hotels, in August it was 29deg at 22.30 so you will need it. The beach bar is situated away from the rooms so you will not be disturbed by any music.
The only thing we can criticize the hotel on is the lack of entertainment at night; because the hotel is situated near the end of the cove you do not get a lot of passing people so cant people watch. There was a Turkish night but could do with moor things happening, Hussein said he will look at this for next year. Our opinion of this hotel is it should be a 3+ rated hotel and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_and_Joanne_Cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bronze Hotel
Bronze Hotel
#10 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ayaz Aqua
Ayaz Aqua
#17 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anil Hotel
Anil Hotel
#47 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#12 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumbet Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbet Cove Hotel

Property: Gumbet Cove Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Cad. M.Kasif Ertekin Sk. No 4, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gumbet Cove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Gumbet Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing