We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the 5* Hotel we expected.”
Review of Isis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isis Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the 5* Hotel we expected.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 11pm and at first glance the hotel gave a good impression. When checking in we asked if we had a balcony/sea view as requested when making the booking to which the answer was yes. We asked if there was a safe in the room and was told we had to pay 3 Euros a day if we wanted to use it, so we did. We were then left waiting at reception whilst the lady made some calls and tapped away at the computer and after 15 minutes we were unsure what we were waiting for as nobody had said anything to us. Eventually someone came and took our bags to lead us to our room and activate our safe. At this point no one had seemed very friendly or welcoming.

When seeing our room we were very disappointed as the room was of a very basic standard. When booking our holiday we actually paid for an upgraded room (and requested a sea view/balcony) which was not the case. We were given the most basic room possible, with a balcony surrounded by many other balconies and some dead plants. (We could of held hands if we all stood out on our balcony it was the close, so no privacy what so ever, and certainly no view!)

We bought this issue up with reception who claimed they had no record of an upgraded room and said there is nothing they can do to help us. We explained that the quality of the room was poor and we were not happy but again no one had anything to say, except come back tomorrow. So we did, and even spoke to the manager who was also very unhelpful/cold towards us and said they cannot give us any other room as they were full. We even offered to pay for the upgraded room and would claim the money back through our travel agent at home but it did not matter to them, as they were not prepared to change our room. After speaking to a few other English couples a few days later we found out they had the same problem and after kicking up a fuss they were given a lovely spacious room – so there was definitely other rooms available.

Overall the hotels itself has great potential, the pool was great, beach was lovely and food was very nice. The service and hospitality is what let the hotel down, and was certainly not what you would expect from booking a 5* hotel. Many of the staff did not look like they wanted to be there, barely managed to greet you with a smile, and could not understand nor talk much English.

We had a problem one afternoon when needing to get my phone out of the safe, as the safe said our Rent had ended. We called reception from our room and explained the situation and after being transferred to different members of staff trying to understand us they said they would send someone right away. After 3 more Phone calls, and 2 trips back down the 100 steps to reception someone eventually came and helped us after 1 hour. We did not even get a ‘Sorry for your wait’ and nobody on reception was helpful at all which was very infuriating.
The service in the A La Carte Turkish restaurant was appalling as we were not offered any drinks for the first 15 minutes, and even when asking for water and the wine list we waited at least 25 minutes and our main course was already on the table. (The waiter did not understand ‘water’ or ‘wine’ and had to get someone else over) The food was ok.

The Italian restaurant was much better, and the Chinese was great, there service was fabulous and food was lovely. The buffet restaurant had a variety of food which was also great but not enough seating for everyone – it was sometimes difficult to find a clean table at Lunchtime and in the evening unless you got there as soon as it opened.

The drinks were ok, but no menu of any description to see what they have on offer and poorly speaking English bar staff which sometimes made it difficult to order a drink or find out what they have available.

The Lobby bar was lovely; the pianist was great and it had overall nice atmosphere. The Tumba Tumba Bar was good, especially when there was a live band playing in the evenings. The bar staff there were the most helpful out of all other bars and made us some nice cocktails.
Gumbet itself is full of bars, clubs and cheap shops and far from a remote picturesque town. It wasn’t really what we expected from our relaxing break.

Overall, it was ok but we expected more from our holiday. The overall friendliness and customer service of many staff members was lacking which is what ruined our experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Club Rooms are very basic, ask for a room in the hotel. Get up early for a good sunbed location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isis H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Isis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Jodie,
We would like to thank you for your comments we shared with us. Your information will be taken into consideration the quality standards requirement. We will be pleased to welcome you again with the quality of service and concept contents renewed every year.K.Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    128
    113
    69
    99
See reviews for
258
213
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Had a week in June .Id been b4 in October but this time it was very busy. Hotel was great everywhere you go it seems to be uphill or lots of steps. This is just a small inconvenienceĺ when everywhere else is wonderful. The whole area seems to have hotels like this built on tiers.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stemaystep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isis H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Isis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear stemaystep,
We would like to thank you for your comments we shared with us. Your information will be taken into consideration the quality standards requirement. We will be pleased to welcome you again with the quality of service and concept contents renewed every year.K.Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having read previous reviews - some good some bad- we arrived at 3am with bated breath
and were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our room - 5 minutes walk away from reception through the grounds and up a number of steps. The room was a bit disappointing although it was clean but smelt musty. From the balcony we could shake hands with both neighbours either side (no privacy there) . The safe cost was €3 per day. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels occasionally changed.
The buffet restaurant food was plentiful and fresh with lots of fruit and there was something for everybody in the selection. Outside the buffet you could also have pizzas, burgers, kebabs.
Some people say the staff were not friendly but to us they always had a smile. Perhaps the tables could have been cleaned and cleared a little quicker from the previous occupants.
Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
We didn't use the pool but saw that it was a very nice one. The beach was not big but adequate, but was spoilt by the DJ playing over loud night club music in the early afternoon
The animation team were first class BUT in the evening during "show time" outside, the spotlight was on the audience from any angle you sat and was blinding. it should have been on the act not us.. my wife had a headache from this and we mentioned it a few times and were told that it was being looked into but by the time we left the hotel it was still in the wrong position. However the shows were all first class 5 star acts and well worth seeing without a doubt...
The hotel has many other good points e.g. the ice cream,/coffee bar and the piano lounge - but to highlight key points: Its a hotel not for old /or disabled people due to the many steps and steep inclines. Also, the vehicle to take you to the top of the extremely unwalkable steep hill to catch the local bus could be every 10 minutes not every half hour. All in all.. its a good hotel and we would return..
If you have children, there is a lady in the miniclub called Fatma who deserves a special mention as she is very capable, reliable and really friendly .she made us very welcome and became a friend to us during our stay
I also had a haircut in the hotel by Frank who gave me one of the best haircuts ever so guys

Room Tip: sea view = noise back view = more steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isis H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Isis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Mr Steve,
We would like to thank you for your comments we shared with us. Your information will be taken into consideration the quality standards requirement. We will be pleased to welcome you again with the quality of service and concept contents renewed every year.K.Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went for a week in May,1st impression great location on beach. The hotel is ok, you will have a nice time in the sun. Its not great & there are many things we could find fault with. The week we was there the water ran out at the beach bar had to go to hotel bar, the vodka was infact rum, when we asked again for a vodka we was told by lady at bar in Isis, vodka is rum?? By the end of the week vodka had appeared. Then water wasnt available at the beach bar only in hotel bar, diet coke wasnt available only normal coke. The snack bar only had burgers, nothing else available on the menu, when we ordered one the burger rolls had run out they served it in 2 slices of white bread.! At dinner, if you did not go early the desserts all went & nothignelse was available. Towards the end of the week, no watermelon at breakfast. Maybe it was just the week we went but the hotel didnt seem to have catered for the amount of guests there. Also make sure u get a room safe as people we had met there had items stolen from their rooms, we luckily did get the safe. My daughter & her 12year old friend loved it though, wifi is available in hotel reception. If you want trips walk short distance into town they are a third cheaper in price than at hotel. Also, only entertainment on 1 night in the hotel during our stay & if you try the a la carte restaurants, you are charged for the drinks even water. I would recommend the fish restaurant. The beach & pool areas v nice.

Room Tip: I requested a seperate childrens bedroom on my booking form & it was provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brayella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsisManagementTeam, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Isis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing the Isis Hotel & SPA.
It was our plesure to welcome you at our hotel of Isis . Thank you for your valuable feedback. All guest reviews are important to our hotel management team of Isis for improvement our hotel service quality and the guests satisfaction. We would be honored to have you in our hotel once again, for the enjoyable holiday us a team of Isis Hotel & SPA Management Team.

Kind regards,
Isis Hotel & SPA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is defiantly not 5* especially the rooms. I went with 3 girlfriends and we booked two twin standard rooms. We arrived at midnight and was taken to our rooms where we were put in rooms with double beds and the rooms smelt of mould and were not clean. We then got moved to two twin room which were the same mouldy and dirty. In total we moved three times and still the rooms we ended up in were mouldy and dirty. Reception were very unhelpful and unsympathetic and refused to upgrade us. I will say that the next day we saw head of guest relations Ergun and he did move us very quickly and was very helpful during our stay there and was very friendly but the standards of room was still extremely poor. On our last couple of days we also found ant nests in our rooms. There our some pluses to this hotel, the pool was lovely and clean but if you want a sunbed you need to get up very early. The resorts private beach gave it the wow factor. Beach and decking very clean and water was very clear, plenty of sunbeds. The beach bar was a big plus, had some good entertainment. The beach bar staff very friendly, especially Omit who spoke very good English and made great cocktails. The buffet was edible and had a lot of choose, but the Al carte restaurants we tried were lovely, food all fresh, defiantly try the Italian and Chinese, food was amazing and great views. The resort is filled with a lot of very rude foreigners that walk into you, push in front of you and just generally lack manners. They make the English look very good and pilote. We did have a great week in the end, but we will not be returning to this resort.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsisManagementTeam, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Isis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing the Isis Hotel & SPA.
It was our plesure to welcome you at our hotel of Isis . Thank you for your valuable feedback. All guest reviews are important to our hotel management team of Isis for improvement our hotel service quality and the guests satisfaction. We would be honored to have you in our hotel once again, for the enjoyable holiday us a team of Isis Hotel & SPA Management Team.

Kind regards,
Isis Hotel & SPA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotell was first class but it was very hilly my room was up 4 flights of steps and at 65 I found younger below the fridge was always warm got fed up telling them when they came to look just kept turninig the dial up and down as we did but on the whol it was nice in the complex nothing was to much trouble pleanty of choice in the food and drink in this all inclusive hotel

Room Tip: Take your own tea bags as the tea is yuk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isis H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Isis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Mrs. Jennifer,
We would like to thank you for your comments we shared with us. Your information will be taken into consideration the quality standards requirement. We will be pleased to welcome you again with the quality of service and concept contents renewed every year.K.Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It was relly good. everything was perfect. all of the staff was doing great and some of them did their best, such as housekeeping lady and entertainment team.
Food was very good and had any kind you ask for.
Beach was clean and we had a lot of sunbeds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_arsalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isis H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Isis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your comments we shared with us. We will be pleased to welcome you again with the quality of service and concept contents renewed every year.K.Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#8 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#2 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#10 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isis Hotel

Property: Isis Hotel
Address: Gumbet Mah. Turkuaz Sok. No: 8/10, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Isis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gümbet, the most loved bay by fresh breezes...Isis, is a flawless host located just on the end of the magical slope descending towards its heart from the best place of Gümbet, owing its inspiration to the smiling faces of people when saying “Aegean"...A tempting queen extending over to the sea with its sandy beach, crystal pool and flora kept like a treasury within...Isis, who was a goddess once upon a time extending over to Egypt and protecting the Aegean fishermen, now names after a heaven where beautiful moments are experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isis Hotel And Spa
Isis Club Hotel
Isis Hotel Bodrum
Isis Club Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing