We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all inclusive value for young people”
Review of Magnific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnific Hotel
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not all inclusive value for young people”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Where to start, I stayed at magnific hotel for a week in the middle of June with my girlfriend and 2 other couples.

Upon arrival reception staff were fairly unhelpful and uninviting, it seemed a lot of trouble for them to help you although a man did carry our bags to the rooms which we were very grateful for.

Rooms were basic, but very clean and cleaners came daily. Fridge was minimally stocked and wasn't replenished throughout the week. Bathroom was too basic but did the job, was nice to have a wooden balcony to sit on in the afternoon.

The pool was beautiful, clean and looked especially good in the evening. Entertainment was mediocre but staff did well to get the guests involved.

The food was good, plenty of selection both hot and cold, was not a fan of the desserts finding them bland despite a huge selection. Ice-cream was good and brought out twice a day for an hour but would have liked it to have been available more. The snack bar was open most of the day which was great.

The worst- the bar
Grew increasingly irritated with the bar and the bar staff. Particularly memet who was miserable and rude, also pouring a dribble of alcohol into each tiny glass and then getting visibly annoyed when asking for another 5 minutes later. If you don't want people to keep coming up for drinks give them a decent sized glass and measure of alcohol. The manager was stood around the bar a couple of hours before close and at 11.50 one evening I heard him tell a man that he couldn't have anymore drinks because the bar was closed even though there was 10 minutes. Bang on 12 they shut the bar immedietly and wouldn't serve anyone who had already been waiting beforehand.

The music from the clubs and bars is very loud, luckily I am a heavy sleeper but others would be kept awake, definitely unsuitable for older couples.

Overall hotel magnific is fairly good value for money but the bar and reception staff definitely need to crack a smile to customers as they come across as very rude. Though the restaurant men were very kind and polite. I'm not sure if I would stay at this hotel again due to the reasons listed. I hope you found this review helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    322
    148
    92
    91
See reviews for
270
370
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Elcin at reception is excellent and very helpful and has great english and is very accomodating and I would highly recommend her. Both Mehmet the gardeners are very courteous and helpful also. The bar staff are disinterested in their job. Have been going for ten years and will return again mainly due to Elcin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HOC500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Just arrived back from a week at the Magnific. Weather as usual for Turkey was excellent and Turkish outside of the hotel very friendly and welcoming.
Location
Very central to Gumbet nightlife, restaurants and shops. Also close enough to get a cheap taxi to Bodrum if you want a different scene. The beach is a step out of the hotels back entrance. The beach is nice and the sea is very refreshing (I don't normally like the sea) but this was nice and clean and sand banks meaning you can walk out a fair distance before having to swim. Airport transfer after all drop offs about an hour max.

Rooms
Very very basic. TV is from the 90's, only 1 plug socket in the room without having to unplug the fridge and TV. Balcony is very small. Although the bed was very low of the ground it was extremely comfortable and hard to get out of in the mornings. Aircon was fine although didn't work when we got there at 4am in the morning but a trip to reception and someone fixed it within 5 minutes.
Wardrobe was strange as dresses or t-shirts didn't seem to fit in properly (hard to explain why).
The safe I thnk with it being an all inclusive should come FOC but its 2€ a day although isn't alot of money it's quite annoying. Mini bar had no alcoholic drinks it like we have had in previous all incl. had 3 cans of coke,fanta,sprite 1 of each and 2 bottles of water and wasn't replenished until the day we left after we had payed €30 to late check out until 6pm.
You could hear music and we were close to the bars but wasn't too loud over the aircon and we were expecting alot noisier to be honest.

Bar/restaurant
Food was average and pretty repetitive, depending on time was also cold. We ended up eating out 4 times over the 7 nights. (A very good meal can be had for £30 with drinks) try the Royal and China Town and Sohos next to the hotel on the beach. Breakfast wasn't amazing but maybe I am comparing this to others I have been in that have been a lot nicer. Lunch was ok I just ate from the snack bar area a burger and nuggets and some pizza is fine.
There are supposedly 2 bars but why anyone would get drinks from the reception bar is beyond me as there is nowhere comfortable to sit and it's warm and didn't seem to be many options to drink. So the pool bar was the main bar by day and night. Only 2 barmen at most at any time this was ok most of the time but having 1 or 2 more on at night would be good. Not a lot of options to drink. But i did like them having Lipton ice tea on tap. Glasses were very small and filled with ice. Vodka seemed weak and they were not very generous with portion size unlike most hotels I have been to.

Pool
Decent size pool and interesting form to swim around. Never too busy in the pool and always able to get a bed. Although we did get up earlier to make sure we got a parasol. Music was loud around the pool and by the end of the week was sick of hearing Shewolf, thrift shop and gangnam style. But not too bothered as I zoned out or put headphones in.

Activities
Sinan the activities manager made a point of coming to talk to me and the girlfriend (Mark and Liz) if you are reading Sinan. Activities were water polo, darts, table tennis and aqua aerobics (although not many if any participated in the aqua aerobics). I didn't participate in the activities as I was there to relax however I could have easily got involved. Also they invited us out to go to the bars and clubs with them.

Not many English in the hotel as we found out Thomas Cook only have about 10 rooms which isn't a lot considering the size of the hotel.
Honest opinion I wouldn't go back to this hotel and would either go to the Royal Asarlik (by recommendation) or the Salmakis resort and spa in Bodrum (5 minute taxi to Gumbet) this is fom personal experience.

Room Tip: Not sure what was "superior" about our room which we payed extra for as it looked the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAB2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed in Magnific in late June 2013 and enjoyed it a lot!
1. rooms - are quite basic, basic wardbrode, shower, etc - usually something does not work - either air con or keys (steel) or key card, etc, so this is not a hotel for people staying in their rooms. Reception staff does not really speak English (maybe 1 person is fluent, others little communicative) - not keen to listen to you.
2. Pool - great!! well-maintained pool area - plenty of sunbeds (all day long, in sun, in shadow as you like, no need to get up early to reserve one), due to its layout families with children stay on one side (small pool), nice shape of pool making it pleasant to swim, sit aside or walk along. animation team with Sinan in charge of entertainment doing great job - sport activities during day - morning and afternoon and every night show - turkish night or magic show, dance show - they are open but polite (no noisy and annoying like in other hotels), they talk to everybody if welcome. Also they organise every night going out to Bar Street although it is just 5 min walk, the animation team makes sure everyone gets there, stays and comes back safely and they stayed with guests all night (in other hotels they just take people there and leave them), once a week go out to Halikarnass in Bodrum (quite exclusive as for holidays destination) and Catamaran (quite expensive) - well-organised by Sinan, who ensures guests enjoy the nights. they speak English well (best in the hotel?)That's why it is a great hotel for young people, also singles.
3. Beach - same as pool - no problem with sunbeds, not that narrow as you can expect, good place to get into and swim in the sea.
4. All Inclusive - good quality and tasty food, available all day long, no empty plates during lunch or dinner in the restaurant just filled in immediately, not boring at all, sometimes quite spicy. just pool bar staff a bit rude at times.
5. Town - good if you have already been in Turkey and do not want any more of all the shops, hassle etc - there are only a few shops and restaurants, but many discos on Bar Street.

to sum up - excellent place if you are looking for: swimming pool, beach and nightlife.

Room Tip: getting good room as lottery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

A great hotel with the first class location!!! If you are young, like to be out, do not care too much, because of the noise, that place is for you!!!
Well placed for the beach and all that Bodrum has to offfer. Nothing seemed too much trouble to all the staff especially those in reception...
Lots of young people there as well as couples of all ages)))I think, that we will book it again for Aug 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

perfect hotel for a family, safe and located near the beach. But there is some noise from all the bars nearby.. all in all, it has a nice swimming pool, good enough food, average service but nice and friendly staff, but the best is the Hamam, the Spa and Massage. I got a fantastic massage from Mr. Idris, worth trying.

Room Tip: ask for room near the poolside, away from the partystreet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Venus_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely location is really good,food was good, staff very friendly all except the bar man memmet he was rude by the end of our holiday we didn't want to go to the bar I don't know what this guys problem was, as we wasn't the only people to be complaing about him ,everyone we spoke to had a problem with him, he would only half fill a small glass for you and was miserable and very rude. All the other bar staff were lovely especially the girl who worked in the mornings,this is such a shame as apart from memmet letting this lovely hotel down we had a lovely time the soho bar next door is great lovely lads we had a good laugh on karaoke don't let the bar man put you off if he is rude just go to reception and complain.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.5 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#7 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#8 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnific Hotel

Property: Magnific Hotel
Address: Zengin Huseyin Sokak, No 15, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#15 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnific All-Inclusive is set among landscaped gardens which lead down to the pool, bar and restaurant area, and from here you are just steps away from Gumbet’s beach. Be sure to take advantage of the complimentary sunbeds and umbrellas for hotel guests. The rooms are contemporary in style, and the All Inclusive package offers a visit to one of the a la carte restaurants during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnific Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing