We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little hotel”
Review of Hotel La Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great little hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just returned from a 12 night stay at La Rosa,it was perfect.
Couldn't fault the staff or accomodation.Having read some of the reviews i really dont know what people expect,I think that some must just be professional moaners.
We stayed bed abd breakfast which was turkish breakfast and totally acceptable,we also had somes lunches which were fine,if anything they were too big.
Regarding comments of not being able to eat and drink own items around pool area,who would take own things into a bar restaurant back home!
The manager was a very friendly guy and always had time for a chat and also the receptionist.
Please don't be put off by the negative comments, this really is a lovely little hotel just far enough away from the busy bar street of Gumbet to have the best of both worlds.
We travelled independently ,but the Thomas Cook rep Sophie was more than helpful and informative about the local area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 931julieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    75
    31
    19
    27
See reviews for
54
92
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week with 3 young children on a bed and breakfast basis. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here. We were lucky enough to stay in the 2 bedroom villa which was spacious and clean and perfect for us and our children and came equipped with cooking facilities and a fridge if we needed to cook for ourselves. I do know that some of the other rooms are quite a squeeze but if your just using your room as a base then i guess that shouldnt be an issue. Although not unusual to turkey be prepared to have to pay for simple things like air conditioning at £4 per night. Most of the staff were friendly and always willing to help - nothing was too much trouble and the maids were in every day to clean and make beds. We were bed and breakfast and I have to say not very good at all especially if you have kids - bread and boiled eggs with salad every day does get a bit boring - some fresh fruit and yoghurt could have helped. We never ate any of the meals so I can't comment on the standard of lunch or dinner but we did sample some of the snack menu and although basic It was tasty enough. You can't please everyone all of the time some people we spoke to enjoyed their meals and some didn't - it all depends on your taste so if you don't mind basic you will be fine. The pool was pretty and clean and the kids loved it - the staff are particularly good with children and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A friend and I have just returned from a week's fun in the sun in Gumbet, booked through Thomas Cook. We stayed at the Hotel La Rosa and genuinely can't fault it. It was a bit of a dander away from the town centre and beach, we didn't mind this however as it meant you could choose to be away from the nightlife if you wanted. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was always clean, with a warm family vibe to it. The dining area was outside on the terrace and actually quite beautiful, the pool was great with a handy bar just beside it. Our room was quite small but had exactly everything we needed and if you spend all your holiday stuck in your hotel then you should probably re-define your idea of a good time. Our Thomas Cook rep Sophie really made out week. She was friendly, fun and gave us lots of tips and suggestions for trips etc.. which we were able to book through her which was handy. Highly recommended apart from some of the restaurant/shop workers who tended to be a bit creepy! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a week last June. On arrival we were greater by Dennis very polite and helpful we were given directions to our room which was just above reception so not to far to walk. On entering the room I must say we were slightly disappointed. Room was small for 3 of us and very tired. Walls in desperate need of a lick of paint, also balcony was not big enough to use. Bathroom adequate small old tv and furniture minimal and old. However this didn't really matter to much as we didn't intend to spend anytime in our room other than to sleep.

The pool area is lovely and cleaned regularly. The only problem with the pool area is the terrible loud music played by the bar staff. Really really bad. The loud music also goes on till the early hours of the morning which kept us awake most evenings. Also you are not aloud to take any food or drink to the pool area. So you have to purchase the very overpriced drinks and food they serve. There isn't any lager on tap so they serve it from cans which are often warm. We often asked them to put them in the freezer before we ordered.

Breakfast consists of cheese bread hotdog sausages cheap tasting cereal cheap juice and coffee.
Anything ordered for lunch seemed to be swimming in grease.

Although the room food and drinks were not up to scratch the service was very good, our rooms were cleaned regularly and the hotel itself is very pretty, with just a few adjustments I think this hotel could be great.

The hotel is 20 mins walk downhill from the centre of gumbet and I am so glad we were not staying in the centre. Very very loud but good fun great for people watching and clubbing. The walk home is uphill but taxi are reasonably priced.

Air con is charged daily and you have to pay from start of the week for the whole week expensive and is rubbish.

We eat out most evenings and found all the restaurants to be great and good value.
We also went on several boat trips which were fab and drinks and food were included.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you don't like walking. Do stay here if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roch6039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Well I really enjoyed staying in this hotel as we made a lot of new friends thanks to it. It is a very modern/beautiful hotel and I could not argue with how nice the receptionist's and manager was to us.The drink prices are overrated and if you walk just up the road there is a mini sok market and same with down the hill, which is 10x cheaper than the hotel but you have to watch as they give you the 'evil eyes' if you walk in with food and drink. The rep is a disgrace she talked about everyone and when you had a problem she wouldn't do anything about it and made a fuss, hence the reason why we also bought our trips down by the beach. The pool is really small but is kept clean and tidy by a very nice man who also cares for the turtles out front. There is no lift so you might have a slight problem if you have walking difficulties or small children with buggies. Air con is over-priced but you need to have it as its like a desert at night time and you sweat like mad, along with the internet which you have to pay 10 lira for each night. If you walk 10 minutes down the hill and keep on youre right you'll find all the nightlife in Gumbet but be prepared as they will do anything to have you in their shop/bar. The entertainment at night was rubbish unless you made it good which all of us did at the time as we where all up on the bar singing and dancing. The manager and everyone where really lovely just sometimes the young ones can be a bit "too friendly" The towels smelled like wotsits when we got clean ones and seemed as if the maids only put flowers on them was to hide the smell and also the fact they only changed the towels 2 times a week. If you didn't like the set menu you could always ask the lovely receptionist if you could change it and he would do so nicely to something you may like. I really liked the peace and quiet the hotel had to offer and I would stay there again as me my mum and brother did enjoy it.

Room Tip: if you have small children with buggies, walking difficulties or issues with walking, prefer to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at La Rosa in mid-June for six nights.

We read the reviews on here before we left and went out with a pretty open mind.

Upon arrival, we were asked to leave our passports at the desk for checking and we were then shown to our room.

The room was extremely basic; no fridge or kettle etc .

We went back to the reception to retrieve our passports and requested air-con as the room was stifling. We had read on here previously that there was a charge for it and so it wasn't too much of a shock.

One of the staff came up five minutes after we had requested it to ask if it was working, and we thought it was as it was whirring away.

Your room key is attached to a keycard, which operates the power in the room thus running the air-con.

We left to go check out the hotel grounds, only to realise that you have to take the keycard out of the electronic box inside the door which obviously powers the air-con. The door key and keycard are attached using a keyring which is soldered so you cannot separate them.

So, instead of your room being nice and cool when you get back from being out, the room is like a sauna.

Our first night, the air-con was whirring but probably cooled the room by a matter of degrees; it was barely noticeable.

Further more, the unit, which was above the headboard of all places, started dripping in the night!

We ended up sleeping the other end of the bed as it didn't seem overly hygienic! We told reception that the air-con was poor several times and nothing was done about it.

Due to the room being so hot, we didn't sleep well at all during our stay. It was in the thirties the week we were there and there was just no escaping the heat (fine in the day, but not at night when you've been charged for air-con)!

The room we had seemed fairly clean, although the floor was dusty, and stayed dusty all week.

The grounds are actually quite nice. The pool is small but seemed adequate for the amount of guests and there is a bar and lounging areas outside.

We had breakfast every morning, which was continental. We stuck to ham and cheese rolls and chocolate cereal. They had fruit juice on offer, which tasted like powdered energy drink; bitter and pretty tasteless and the coffee wasn't that great either.

The evening meals were pretty basic too. Bruschetta was the starter every day (i guess bruschetta is just bruschetta, you can't mess that up) and this was followed by a soup, main and desert. All was edible, but please don't go expecting gourmet food. ALL drinks were added to your bill as extras.

We had drinks at the bar of an evening a couple of nights which seemed quite dear (the norm at hotels) and, unlike other guests we have read about, we don't think we were overcharged once. We kept a tab of what we were drinking and it was always bang on.

One night, it was particularly hot and we wanted an early night. We 'sneaked' in a bottle of water and a few tins of beer (food and drink bought outside premises is frowned upon) and i went to the bar to request some ice. The barman said it was against policy to give us any ice!!? Ridiculous!

Other than that, the staff were very friendly. We never had any run-ins with any of them and all are very polite.

We read that there was a Mosque close by and it went off several times a day, which you get used to quite quickly.

We only spent one morning at the hotel and we got quite bored so spent most of our time at either Gumbet or Bodrum beach.

Gumbet is a good 10-15 minute stroll and Bodrum is a short bus journey away (about 15 minutes on a Dolmus, which is three Lira each way).

Gumbet is a bit of a party town - there's a strip lined with bars and lots of restaurants and shops selling fake bags, sunglasses and watches etc. I do recommend having a turkish shave (there are several barbers along the strip). We also recommend Alora Beach during the day - the food was good, they played music all day and the sun-loungers were comfy.

Bodrum is a bit more reserved and has a very picturesque marina area, castle and, again, plenty of restaurants and your fake shops.

We spent two days in Bodrum at a place called 'Cafe Delmar' which is a bar that opens out onto the sea. They play chill-out all day, the sea is crystal clear and the food and drinks are great.

La Rosa is situated in a residential area up a hill, so take that on board if you're not willing or unable to walk up it. We walked as it proved to be good exercise!

All in all, the hotel could do with some work, fixing the air-con units and perhaps brushing up on their culinary skills!

We just wanted some sun, sea and a rest and, granted, we got that.

It was a last minute booking and we didn't pay a great deal for the holiday and so i can't grumble too much, but we certainly won't be coming back to La Rosa unless it improves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

got back from a 10 day holiday a week or so ago and really want to go back! the hotel was lovely, very relaxing, in a good location with bars and restaurants only a ten minute walk away but far enough so its not too noisy. all the staff were very friendly and would go out of their way to make you comfortable. the staff also made the effort to engage with you and ensure you were happy and having a good time. the outside area near the bar was comfortable and relaxing, and music was played throughout the day. the room that we staying in was a family room, very cosy, clean and the maids changed the sheets and towels every other day (cleaned everyday). paid for aircon which was worth it so the room didnt get too hot. it had a good shower, television which had an english channel and a fridge. all in all, i loved every minute of the holiday and didnt want to come home! the hotel made it that much better too. all the staff were very warm and welcoming, especially the bar staff who would have a laugh and joke with you and make sure you had everything you needed. cant wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: if theres a few of you, try get a family room, will all be together and theres plenty of room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jarra
Hotel Jarra
#45 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#12 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casablanca Hotel
Casablanca Hotel
#58 of 99 in Gumbet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Riva Bodrum Resort
Riva Bodrum Resort
#6 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ayaz Aqua
Ayaz Aqua
#15 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Paloma Apartments
Club Paloma Apartments
#18 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa

Property: Hotel La Rosa
Address: Mujde sokak No 41 | Gümbet/Bodrum, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa is built in the style of a traditional Turkish inn or'caravansaray'.No detail has been overlooked to make your stay memorable,peaceful und relaxing,right down to scent of flowers awaiting you in your tastefully decorated room.For romantic fine dining we have Domenico Albano's Ristorante Italiano inside our hotel.Hotel La Rosa is a calm and quiet oasis near the centre of Bodrum yet the entertainment and fun for which the town is famous is only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing