We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Rosa”
Review of Hotel La Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 31 March 2009

For a three star hotel it is a fantastic place for couples, the staff are great, the location of the hotel at first glance is not so good being quite far back in the resort and up a hill but it is just off the main road giving access to all the public transport you would ever need, we used this to our advantage and were able to visit all over the peninsula, we went b&b which was fine but we used the hotel restaurant for dinner quite often as their menu was great as was the food. La Rosa is a lovely little hotel with a nice clean and fresh feel, a spotless pool and an excellent bar, would I go back or recommend it to a friend YES

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flagstare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2008

Hotel La Rosa ... Ok ... here goes ... on arrival at the hotel (grumpy after a 10 hour delay) we were pleasantly surprised, the whole appearance of the hotel was very very nice and we found the reception staff equally friendly and helpful, it was only 7.00 am in the morning, however we were shown to our room immediately and without any hassle.

The room, well this was slightly disappointing, it was clean enough I suppose, although the blankets covering the sheets had some rather suspicious looking marks on them and under the beds could have done with a good clean! Overall the room was rather small, but hey you’re only sleeping, showering and getting ready there, so it wasn’t a big deal, we just removed the blankets!

There also seemed to be a problem with the water, in that some days there wasn’t any! A trip down to reception and 40 minutes later the water was fixed, not so good if your in a hurry though – i.e. going on a boat trip and getting picked up at a certain time!

The location of the hotel we found quite handy, it’s a bit out of the way, probably 10 minutes or so walk (15 in heels) to Gumbet’s infamous Bar Street, however the hotel is situated just of the main Gumbet to Bodrum motorway, granted you have to climb a rather steep hill to get to the motorway, but it’s very convenient, as the dolmuses pass every other minute and give you a “wee toot” to see if you want them to stop, its 2 Lira into Bodrum Central (Bus Station).

Also just a 5 minute walk down the motorway (on the pavement of course) is a Shopping Mall ... a proper Shopping Mall ... its called The Oasis Shopping Mall ... here you will find proper shops, with genuine products ... and everything has a price tag ... so no haggling! As a shop-alcoholic, I found the Oasis very good, it had a range of designer boutiques and also middle of the range priced shops too ... we went the last 2 weeks in September and as the end of season was fast approaching, most of the shops had there sales on, I got quite a few bargains.

The grounds surrounding the La Rosa are quite stunning, day and night. To the front there are lovely landscaped gardens and around the pool area there are water fountains and wishing wells, it’s really well thought out, there are also giant bean bags as well as the traditional sun loungers ... the bean bags are so comfy!

The bar area is just as nice, it has a very traditional yet modern feel about it. Although I will say the pricing is exceptionally high! 10 Lira for a Bacardi & Coke ... so depending on the rate that’s almost £5 for a single shot of Bacardi and a dash of coke!

And beware, the bar area has no till, everything you order is added to your tab, you can pay your tab daily, but check that the items on your tab actually belong to you. Once on our tab we had someone else’s dinner added to our bill, it was quickly resolved though.

The cleaner came everyday, and everyday she gave my husband a new Turkish word to learn ... Morababa ... hello – I think! She was very nice. 2 mornings I wasn’t feeling well and said not to bother cleaning our room as I was still in bed, when she saw us later that day she came and asked if I was ok ... she was really friendly, although some days I wondered what she had actually done!

A draw back of the La Rosa is the Mosque, which is located right next to La Rosa ... it was nearing the end of Ramadan and at approx 6 every morning (Sunrise) the men are called to prayer ... they are called several times during the day also, which wasn’t a problem, but the early morning call got a bit of a pain ... bring earplugs ... I did, it didn’t bother me, I slept right through it, but my husband was woken most days.

The Hotel offers a set menu every evening ... this cost 18 Lira, and includes Bruschetta, Soup, a main meal ... maybe chicken cordon bleu or a beef casserole etc, a Turkish Dessert and either a Turkish Tea or an Apple Tea ... go for the Apple Tea ... trust me! We ate at the hotel 3 nights out of 14, the food was very nice, and the wine – Aspendos (35 liras a bottle) was also very nice. (although you could buy this in a supermarket for 5 Lira)

We ate at the pool most days, (the chip butties are ace – its like a half a loaf of bread stuffed with a load of chips) but just down the road from the La Rosa (on the opposite side) is a lovely little bakers, which sells mini pizza and cheese pasties etc, plus lots of little cakes and at a fraction of the price the hotel charges. Although you’re not allowed to bring food or drink into the hotel, this is strictly prohibited. Just eat your goodies on the way back up to the hotel ... that what we did! Although we brought bottles of water in, not in full view, but not totally hidden either and nothing was said ...

Moving on to Gumbet itself! Oh dear ... there is only so many times you can say No Thank You without losing your temper ... it’s a nightmare, so much for the Turkish Government cracking down on this! That just wasn’t the case at all. And if you say no thank you and you are clear annoyed by there constant pressure to get you in their shop/ bar / restaurant, they turn rather nasty.

Our saving grace was a lovely restaurant called Annalivia ... its not a restaurant you would normally walk past as its around a corner a little bit, but we were recommended this by a couple we met at the La Rosa. In the main Bar Street in Gumbet, you will find the Windmill Bar/Restaurant and directly opposite (180 degrees) you will find the Annalivia, its next to Murphy’s Irish Bar. They also run a free taxi service from your hotel to the restaurant. The food is amazing, the best we found by far, in both Gumbet & Bodrum, I would definitely recommend the Annalivia.

Bodrum is a nicer resort than Gumbet ... the shopping is better and so are the bars ... there is a lovely cantina place, recommended by The Rough Guide ... I'm not sure what its called, but its the kinda of place you happen to stumble across ... its up an alley on the opposite side of the road from a clothing shop called Ambar, just about 2 or 3 minutes walk down from the bus station ...

Overall, we had a good holiday, the weather was great, the hotel was great, the food, well, we’ve had better. Would we go back? Probably not, Turkey is not “Cheap as Chips” anymore, £4.50 for a half pint of Cider, sorry ... that’s outrageous in comparison to what we pay here - £1.30 approx ... I just wouldn’t pay it, Turkey is very expensive now and everyone we met said the same, there is no need for them to be charging these prices, and they’ll just end up ruining it for themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasarami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Arrived at hotel around about midnight. Check in was smooth, had to leave passport til the next day. Paid for aircon, £3.00 per day and also safety deposit box, about £20 for the week, can't quite remember. The bar was still open but didn't have that great a choice and no beer on draft only cans or bottles which were overpriced.

To give an idea on an average day late on in the season the bar alone averaged 1200 lira per day approx £600.00. Their prices are hiked up but it is a pleasant place to sit and enjoy a few all the same.

Our room was 209 right in the corner of the main building. The room wasn't too clean as in the skirting boards were dirty and under the bed hadn't seen a brush and pan for a while. The bedding was clean as were the towels although there were some dubious stains on them.
Speaking of towels they are only changed on a Mon and Thur. We arrived on the Mon and they thought it was acceptable to only give us clean towels once on the Thur. I complained and got clean ones finally on the Monday we left! Not too nice.

The water pressure was pittiful in the shower and a few mornings there wasn't enough pressure to flush the toilet. The water was cold after 7pm too.

The restaurant in the hotel served nice food and the two waiters were good. Again, priced slightly adventurously but if you can't be bothered to go out its the price you pay.

The resort of Gumbet is a 15 min walk down a steep hill for half of it. Its rather dark and secluded at night so we took a taxi back on an evening, cost about 10 lira (5 quid).

We weren't that impressed with the resort, bit dated and would be better if there was a bit more authenticity about it, very much geared to the Brittish pub crawl market.

We kept our room on until 8pm the day we left. Word of warning, pass the additional charge of £15.00 in sterling rather than in lira, in lira it works out as 37.50 which is about £18.00...

Don't exchabge money at the hotel. Go into the shops in the main resort and change it there, most of them do not charge commission.

If anyone has any questions I'd be glad to help. Please email me.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukx0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Firstly I must say that some people seem to lose sight of how much we actually pay for hotels abroad. We booked two weeks before departure and paid £95 each half board for the week. Thats £13 per night dinner bed and breakfast!! Okay the breakfast was the same every morning and certainly wasn't a full english but if you wanted that, the restaurants in Gumbet offered it for around £3. The evening meal was adequate and for the price was really good.

Hotel room was basic but clean and the shower was powerfull and there was never a problem with hot water (not that you would have wanted hot water with temperatures in the 40's!!). The pool area was particularly nice and very well maintained, the lounging cushions come highly recommended. As for the prices at the bar, well yes you could get cheaper in Gumbet but a large beer was about £2 so still quite a bit cheaper than in the UK.

Gumbet itself is definately for the younger crowd but as the hotel is set around 10 minutes walk from the centre there isn't any problem with the noise. For the people complaining about the hill on the way back to the hotel, you're on holiday so either take your time or get a taxi!!!

The hotel is certainly one for families or couples.

For the money I doubt you would find a better place in Gumbet. If you want 5 star luxury you don't pay £13 a night!!!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creepycrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

My boyfriend and I had a really great time in our two week stay in the La Rosa Hotel in Gumbet! The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel was always spotless. There was a lovely pool area with plenty of sun loungers and cushions (no queuing at 3 in the morning to put the towels out!). The food was great too and not too pricey compared to restaurants on bar street.

It's about 10 mins walk away from the main bar street area of Gumbet so we were far enough away to be out of the noise of the bars and restaurants but close enough to walk in for a meal and some drinks in the evening. It was at the top of a steep hill though! But you can get a taxi into bar street for about 5 Lira (£2) and there's a button to call a taxi in the entrance to the hotel, a taxi arrives in about 5 mins. It's a great place if your looking for a family holiday or in a couple. Special thanks to Alison and Harry for their advise! Don't book trips through the rep, pricey!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pickleCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

My friend and I chose this hotel based on the good reviews we'd seen on this site. We needed a hotel in Gumbet as were visiting my sister who is working there for the summer, and wanted somewhere that was slightly away from the main bars (we're obviously getting old!) The hotel was very nice, rooms basic but clean, and ours was a decent size. Air con was about £3 per day which we paid at the start and was essentially particularly if you go in August like we did as it's one of the hottest months. The pool was lovely and clean and the bar area nice. We only had breakfast there as chose to eat in the town each night with my sister; breakfast was basic but adequate. As other reviews state, it is up a hill and a 10-15 walk from town but this didn't bother us at all as we liked the walk and enjoy the exercise. If you wanted though you can get a cab which we did do once or twice after a couple of drinks (!) and this cost us 5 lira. Only criticism of hotel is that they told us off for bringing our own water into the pool area, but I must admit we did carry on doing it anyway and snuck it in in our bags - I could get a 1.5 litre bottle in the nearby shop for the same price they charged for a little 0.5 one at the bar. I drink a lot of water and even more so in the heat, so I wasn't going to let them tell me I couldn't I'm afraid!
Overall though lovely holiday and would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ali_cat26UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

my girlfriend and me noted this place on this site so tried it.the reviews were right its a smashing hotel.being a smallish place it is well managed and personal.the place is neat and tidy with a very polite and freindly staff team.
i got talking to the 2 owners too who are always hanging around and dining there.
you have to pay 3 qiud as night for the air can which is vital in these basic but clean rooms.i recommend the half board as its about 40 quid a week extra but a fine food yet limited in variety,but still,a 5 course a la carte menu.
the pool area is great,spacious,clean,classy.i did complain about the loud throbbing rap music which was annoying and it was sorted.seems the bar man got a bit carried away and forgot the punters .
a good hotel for couples.a bit out of the way but a 15 min walk is no problem.
keep a check of what you buy from the bar etc though as you settle up at reception the next day and sometimes get it wrong(mistake i hope !)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank theDukeStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.7 mi away
Serhan Hotel
Serhan Hotel
#28 of 101 in Gumbet
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ozukara Apartments
Ozukara Apartments
#33 of 101 in Gumbet
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 101 in Gumbet
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bagevleri
Hotel Bagevleri
#8 of 101 in Gumbet
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nagi Beach Hotel
Nagi Beach Hotel
#13 of 101 in Gumbet
337 reviews
1 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa

Address: Mujde sokak No 41 | Gümbet/Bodrum, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range: £19 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa is built in the style of a traditional Turkish inn or'caravansaray'.No detail has been overlooked to make your stay memorable,peaceful und relaxing,right down to scent of flowers awaiting you in your tastefully decorated room.For romantic fine dining we have Domenico Albano's Ristorante Italiano inside our hotel.Hotel La Rosa is a calm and quiet oasis near the centre of Bodrum yet the entertainment and fun for which the town is famous is only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing