We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another great holiday at Tropicana!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yet another great holiday at Tropicana!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Tropicana in June for our 3rd visit (last visit was 4 years ago) and wondered why we had waited so long to go back. It was like being welcomed back into the family. Yunis and all the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We had a studio apartment (bedroom, kitchen etc in one room) with twin beds, which was overlooking the pool and had a balcony with seating, which was perfect for us. We stay up fairly late, if you want a quieter room then suggest you request it, as rooms overlooking the pool also overlook the bar which plays music. Turkish night was great value, with your choice of BBQ chicken, meatballs, fish (or a mixture of all of them if you want) salad, rice, bread etc. and belly dancing as entertainment, would recommend it. We went to the Turkish bath next door during our stay and had a face mask, Turkish bath with exfoliation and massage all for about £20 (took 1.25 hours) so great value. Restaurants are only a few minutes walk from the hotel with Minstrel being our favourite. Food on site at the hotel is good too and with the new restaurant seating above the bar, you can look out over Gumbet bay, there is no better view whilst having dinner and watching the sun set. We can't wait to go back and are already making plans for next year for a long hen weekend. Can't recommend Tropicana enough for a fun, relaxing, sun filled holiday with staff who make you feel welcome and like you are at home (a sunny one).

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool and bar are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gems78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    116
    45
    17
    5
See reviews for
242
232
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from the Tropicana. We selected it because of the good reviews and it was the most attractive place we have stayed in Turkey in over 30 years of visiting. That said, there is no entertainment for young families and music starts blaring full volume around 6.00 until 2.00. Our apartment was big, fine for a family of four and the staff were very helpful. One tip to offer guests - if you put food and drink on your room number, keep a record of what you have and how much you owe, we were overcharged by nearly £13 because of a mistake, and we were not the only ones. Our Thomas Cook rep told us on arrival that Gumbet was a total dump and she was right, a nasty cheap version of Blacpool. Bodrum however is a delight and well worth a visit or two, or three. We would go back, but stay in an apartment near to Bodrum next time.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the back, away from the pool or the bar. Ground floor is better too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFamilyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the 5th time we have stayed at the Tropicana and we will definatley be returning. By far the best location and service in Gumbet, staff make everyone feel welcome and as we have previously stayed here before they greet you like old friends. Regards the previous reviews comments on the BBQ night we were also there and the food served was BBQ meats (chicken, steak and meatballs) and there was a huge variety of salads, mezzie, potatoes and also fresh fruit. There were no hidden extras, the cost was £10 and you could get extra helpings of the salads etc. Entertainmemt was also provided, belly dancer and break dance show. The staff definatley make this hotel, Yunis, Romeo, deniz, ican, Hassan, Gary Barlow and everyone else, we take 4 holidays a year and the Tropicana is the one hotel we return to time after time as their customer service cannot be beaten!!
Mike & Suzanne

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie-mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned from our second stay at the tropicana beach and ,again, we have had a brilliant time.Nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff.Any problems,however minor,were quickly resolved.Met some brilliant people and will definitely return next year for reunions.Thanks to all the staff who work really hard,special thanks to yunis,ahmet,garip,hasan,romeo,baris and murat[looks after the people on the beach brilliantly].Thanks again.
Paul,Lorraine and Elle Mackenzie.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

still a good hotel,, been 3 times,theres,a lot been going a lot longer,bit of a click,,lol,,,most of the bar boys ect are new,,but romeo,still at the back of the bar,doing a good job,,thay got another guy going a Rambo,he is good fun,he thinks he is elvis, the old one,lol,,got the long floppy side burns,,and a young pretty boy doing the new up stairs rest,ect ,he likes to wiggle a lot,,lol,,but he is fun,there, doing good food ,we had a steak it was ok 30 lira each,norm,ish price for a steak now in gumbet,,and its nice and cool up there, and there still doing the Turkish/night 30 lira each, the norm beer price 9 lira a pint,and 7 lira a half,and,happy hour one a week 10,pm to 11p, the/b/dance act is good and free,,theres mister bendy /and the fire man still at it,,lol,
the rooms,,if near the pool can be very bang bang at night,from the bar,,ok if you like it till 3 am 4 am,,,but no probs, yunis the very nice manager will change your room to one at the back if wanting,not to much bang bang,from the bar,no probs for some,,pends on age I think,,lol,
the beach in front of the hotel,,,murat ,is still doing the sunbeds ect, more happy when the pretty girls are there,lol,,,a lot of people not stopping at the hotel use the beds but that seams,,norm, the,food, chicken wrap10 lira,,meat wrap 12 lira thay come with a few chip ect,and fill you up there a good bye,,the pizza,we got the mix pizza to share,its good,plenty on it ,15 lira and a plate of chips 7 lira,to share at ,plenty for 2 people,,and we got a bacon sandwich think its was 12 lira,,but it was in a nice big fresh bread roll with 2 slices of,good bacon toms,ect very filling its big,,lol,,, so all in all, a good stay,,will be back next season before we go on to kusadasi.,

Room Tip: room round the back,ish,,if not wanting the bar bang bang till late
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EnglandBazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say! The apartments were ok, the cleaners were rubbish, bar star ignorant, if you go b&b there is only omelettes on the menu( if you want an English breakfast you have to pay extra) we were charged an extra 20 lira for the kids to have fresh orange juice with their breakfast, they do not tell you this when you order.
The local area is full of stray dogs, there is also dog mess on the beach along with lots of litter.
What I can say is I've to other parts of Turkey and they were fine, but this area is a total dump, just avoid this area and go somewhere else

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicanabeach, Manager at Tropicana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guests
First of all thank you very much for your review and also thank you very much to let me expalain the situation.
As you should understand us that ıts not easy to make happy everybody but please be sure we try to make with our best and we work very hard for that.
Thats true in all around the Turkey is you go to hotel on B&B base, they serve you Turksıh Breakfast. But we wanted to make more choice for our guests thats why we prepare B&B menü which is inluded many kinds of omlet , toast , sanswiches and also fruit plate...
And thats true ıf our guests want Full English Breakfast instead of Turkısh Breakfast they should pay the differenceses which is less then £ 1 .
And also If you order something different then menu , you should have to accept pay extra , its everwhere else same. Not just in our hotel.
In fact everythings is very clear , we give more choice to our guets instead of only one choice.

Thank you very much for inform us about cleaning the room. I did noticed and I will I will get extra care about that.

Kindly regards

Yunis Deniz

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A fantastic 3* hotel. This is clean basic accommodation, but the staff make it something far more special. They are helpful, entertaining and fun, and work really hard to make sure you have a great holiday, nothing is too much trouble.
The pool area is clean and always plenty of sunbeds. Basic menu from pool snack bar, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel bar stays open late, with something going on most nights (we recommend Turkish night - great entertainment and food - even for vegetarians).
Although we weren't impressed with the resort of Gumbet (Bodrum is nicer - bus stops outside hotel) we will return to Tropicana Beach as we had such a good time there. Thank you Yunis, Hasan, Garip, Baris, Ahmet and all the guys for a great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.5 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#2 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green House Apart Hotel
0.4 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#7 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Beach Hotel

Property: Tropicana Beach Hotel
Address: Gumbet Mah. Dolgu Mevki Dayilar Sok, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#2 Family Hotel in Gumbet
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tropicana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Beach Gumbet
Hotel Tropicana Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing