We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
41
18
16
13
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
18
16
13
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Good: 

Majority of the staff are friendly , Ali was very helpful and made sure any problems we had were sorted out.
Location very close to strip , 10 mins to the beach 
Pool is not over crowded and plenty of sunbeds
Food in restaurant very nice and reasonably cheap compared to other restaurants 
The weather was fantastic it was very hot ( around 48 degrees), although great we did find it difficult to sun bathe in and do things as it was just so hot. 

Bad: 

No toilet roll provided by the hotel you have to purchase your own ( tip: we took toilet roll from the bars and restaurants and put it in our bags).
Our room was not cleaned once in the week, all they did was make the bed once and took the bin away twice.
The room itself was actually filthy, there were marks all over the walls, dirt on all the surfaces and mould everywhere in the bathroom. 
The towels are supposed to be changed every three days ( which personally i think is inadequate anyway) ours were changed once, and they only brought back one large towel and one hand towel when there were 3 of us staying in the apartment. 
The man that we nick named ' the letch' , he try's to get you in the restaurant to eat at the arya. He hassled us lots throughout the day around the pool and had a go at us for eating at other places and that we should eat there. 
The price of air conditioning at the hotel is very high, so much that we couldn't afford it between us.
Many of the restaurants, shops and the hotel wanted paying in British pounds, I have been to Turkey twice before and it seems to have got really bad in regards to wanting English money all the time. For example we went to one restaurant called the royal, he told us the meals were 8.90 each which we thought was great as it was cheap, when we we presented with the bill , we found that the 8.90 was actually in pounds giving us a massive bill in lira . When we challenged the waiter he said he told us which he didn't, we argued further and we told him we only had 60 lira when the bill was 110 lira, we paid him that and left. 
Quite a few of the restaurants we went to did not have prices on the menus, it was like they made up as they went a long. 
Our rep was called Aykut ( English name James) he was totally useless and was basically out for money. We booked a boat trip and he completely ripped us off,  they give you a free moonlight boat trip as a thanks for booking with them, and he tried his best not to persuade us to go, and then didn't even give us the proper details so we couldn't even go, and we had no way of contacting him. 
The boat trip we went on , was supposed to be all inclusive and stopped at 5 different bays and islands. We stopped at one island and the rest of the stops were near hills and mountains and all you could do was jump off and swim for half an hour which got very boring after the fourth time. The boat was completely packed and there was no room, it wasn't fully  all inclusive we could only have water, soft drinks and a small lunch. Huge waste of 75 lira each. 
There are lots of Mosquitos so make sure you have a good spray or cream etc. 

Make sure you haggle everything and try and get a deal, whether it's in a restaurant, bar or shop. We managed to get some good deals when we said we would go somewhere else. For example: we got free garlic bread, free pint of soft drinks for each of us alongside our main meal which made the bill only 54 lira instead of 85 lira. 

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

we arrived at the Arya checked in was taken to our room the Poeple help carry oyr bags very helpful also alli the bar man is fantastic can not do enough for you i have stayed here before and had a great time then this is why we choose to come back here the rooms were basic but had a great large fridge with large ice box great for selg catering rooms kept clean towels changed daily but i must say the bedding could have been changed more often but never mind we didnt sleep in then for long as we wasnt coming in until 5.30 am lol . the food in the Arya was great but little more cost to some other bars but is nice food pool lovely just right and the sunbeds lovely to have a comfatable custion to lay on doesnt get to crowded its just right , your close to the beach , shop & hair salon tattoo place next door , close to the bars must say visit leos bar fantastic guys and great food , Mymoon brill place sunday roast amazing great guys great nights and only two bars away from ARYA , one bar away there Dajevu (fun pub) love it the dancers are just the best fewwwwwwwww you need the menu to keep you cool when ypou see them dance lol there such a lovely group make you welcome join you in with everything fish bowls great just love it in here its a must if you go to gumbet .. good english food try smileys grill and sues place its just perfect me my 3 sisters has a ball on this holiday can not wait till next june an we will be staying back at the Arya its a great little place and worth the cost dont be put off by some reviews try it for yourselfs hope this helps just one more thing we also suffer from walking difficulties and the Arya is just perfect all on the flat and near to everything defo recomend xxx

Room Tip: self catering rooms you get lots space the b& b are very small but like we say you only sleep in them your on holidays x
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

just got back 2 weeks at this hotel, we got a really good room overlooking the pool and bar area was excellent. Hassan the barman was so good at his job did everything made us feel so welcome. The hotel is small and friendly and we like this. I was a bit concerned about all the bites everyone seemed to have including myself and my husband been going to gumbet for 9 years and never been bit. The rooms were clean the bathroom could do with an update and you shouldnt have to ask for clean towels and bed linen and toilet rolls which had to do all the time. The restuarant kept on at you to eat there all the time people tried to avoid them by using other door, we did try breakfast there the first morning and wouldnt have this again. They talked us into having a meal and I was recomended the beef stroganoff this was the best meal i actually had in gumbet was so good. The pool area is great nice and quite and everbody friendly around the pool. It would be so easy to make this hotel a great small and friendly hotel with just a few improvements. All in all though had a great holiday cant wait to go back to Gumbet next year.

Room Tip: C4 overlooking pool and bar area
Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lynne169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

stayed here for a wek self catering wiv 2 kids 7 11 firstly no cooker how can it b selfcaterin wiv nothin to cook on big fridge tho nd left my tins on balconie to get hot nd hot it was noisy at nite as near d pubs nice 10 a person half for children buffet nite food lush near beach nd all shops cheap for food nd lollys bout 30 p good for kids as mine eat lots of lollies cleaner came in once not so good but still had nice stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommyluvscaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

just back from a week in the arya appts, i have mixed reviews.....pool area lovely, plenty sunbeds and very pleasant and relaxing, rooms are basic which is what we expected but no towel or linen change is unacceptable, also bins were never emptied in rooms. staff were brilliant if you ate or drank in bar/restaurant, but if u didnt you were blanked next day which is so unprofessional, the pressure was so bad we went out and came back in via back entrance to avoid confrontation. Saying all this we did have a lovely holiday, we ate in restaurant once and it cannot be faulted.....best beef stroganoff ever tasted!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suetailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews