We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
41
18
16
13
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
18
16
13
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I traveled to Gumbet with 4 friends (all of us 20) and stayed at Club Arya for two weeks in mid July.
Upon arrival we were greeted by staff who took us to our room, they took us to a ground floor apartment by the pool with one tiny bedroom with 2 uncomfortable looking sofas in the living area. Not sufficient for 5 guests to sleep comfortably. So we immediately asked to be moved, we were taken to another ground floor apartment with 2 bedrooms , 1 bedroom was a double room with a dodgy double bed, it dipped in the middle meaning that your legs were higher then the rest of your body when your were lying down on it. The other bedroom had 2 single beds in , I think the owners of the hotel were quite ambitious trying to fit two single beds and a wardrobe in this room as there was barely enough room to swing a cat. And the last bed (if u can even call it a bed) was located in the kitchen it was a sofa with bars all around it with a pillow and sheet to give it more of a bed feel. I'm not going to moan to much about the bedrooms and sleeping facilities because being on a girls clubbing holiday we wern't really overly bothered about this. All in all the apartment itself was a decent size with a nice little terrace outside , perfect for reading 50 shades on. Air Con is a must! We got air-con and it kept the room a nice temp durring the two weeks of 50 degree heat we endured. Now the shower, was a little bit of an issue, the head of the shower didn't work which resulted in you having to use it like a hose pipe for pretty much all of your showers. The temperature of the water in the shower tended to be quite tempermental aswell, the hot water in each rooms seems to only be sufficient for around an hour between 6:30/7:30pm so get in those showers quick.
The pool area had the potential to be really lovely. The pool is a lovely size and would be fantastic to cool off in, if you are brave enough to endure the murky water (you literally couldn't see your feet on the bottom of the pool) the water was murky for about 10days of our holiday then the pool man obviously decided to do the annual filter of the pool and the water was crystal clear for the last couple days of our holiday. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and the pool area is a sun trap perfect for getting the most out of the sun and your sun tan.
The cleanliness of the rooms was lacking , the maid sometimes gave us sheets with what seemed to be blood on them, when we told her she seemed to take what we told her on board however to only find out later she had just turned the sheet over the other side so you couldn't see the blood. But like I said earlier we were on a girls holiday so cleanliness of the room wasn't really a top priority.
The Food at the club arya bistro was fantastic and excellent value for money, we also used to drink their before heading to bar street and found the prices and quality of the drinks to be really good and an excellent port of call before bar street . Tiger the guy working in the bistro and promoting the restaurant was delightful and really lovely to us throughout our whole holiday, he would go out of his way to advise us on where to go and which places were good. I really liked a traditional turkish brekfast that wasn't on the menu and i told tiger and he offered to make it for me and my friends everyday which was really nice. He also worked at club Pascha in the evenings and would give us discount and free shots when we came in to see him.
The entertainment at club arya.. was some what of a required taste. A snake show? are you kidding me. For me thats a prime way to drive customers a way. I made it my goal of the holiday to avoid the restaurant at all costs on a wednesday night when Esmerelda and her snake were in,much to my friends amusement.
The location of the hotel was absoloutly fantastic , literally 100m from the main clubs on bar street such as X bar and Pascha.
All in all we had a fantastic time in gumbet, and despite some of my negative comments I would probably stay at Arya again, as the issues we faced are deffinately repairable and we paid hardly anything to stay there so can't expect the world, although a warm shower would be nice.
Gumbet is fantasic and i would recommend it to anyone! The windmill restaurant is great aswell as this indian restaurant (i cant remember the name) on top the hill.
GET YOURSELVES TO GUMBET.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 214gex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have been going to Gumbet and Bodrum for 13 years now and this is the very first hotel i was not happy with, i never moan about where i stay as i think you get what you pay for, also we are going to there country so we should respect them and there way of living but this place was a nitemare. The apartment that we had was full of ants all over the bench in the hundreds, bathroom full of mosquitos (i never get bit but did in here) the fridge did not close and to top it off the sink fell off on the 3rd day and it was still off on our last day, after they were told 3 times they came to fix it with a spanner then relised they needed a new one so they said it was on order. The stairs to get in the pool were broke. I never seen the pool get cleaned once and the cleaners came in twice in a week, wherever i stay in turkey the cleaners are in every day i think this is the cause of the ants. We got wrong for taking our own water to the poolside wich i think is a disgrace as we were self catering. Also some regulars here (who seemed to drink from morning until night) broke a glass at the bar where a man cut his foot and they decided to blame my nephew assuming the staff would just believe them as they go there every year they were believed at first until other peopl spoke up and told the truth. never again would i go here but you vcannot fault the staff at all. You ask for a beer and they tell you to go to the bar and get one so the service for turkey is terrible, anywhere else and the service is nothing like it is here, it was shocking. finally the rooms are red hot and the air con is above the door as you go into the room so they do not cool the bedrooms down. I would say do not go here but if you have already booked then just use this as a base and go sit on the beach through the day or go to any other hotel to use there pool and facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slugga1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Room was tiny for 2 girls sharing. Booked a twin room and were given a double. Hotel did not move us when asked. Rooms were never cleaned. Had to ask for the waste paper bin to be emptied. Towels were meant to be changed every 3 days but were not. Had to ask all the time for new ones. Sheets were never changed. Toilet paper is not supplied yet i seen many rooms with some outside their door in the morning. Hotel is used by the locals as a knocking shop with people checking in for a few hours at a time. Harrassed by the restaurant staff everyday at the pool to eat in their restaurant. Air conditioning in hotel rooms shud be free yet we were charged £40 a week.

Ali who works at the pool bar was lovely and really helpful. The restaurants food is really nice and so is george who works in there. Pool is fine with plenty of sun loungers.

I would not recommend this hotel for a B&B stay or stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My sister and i booked into this hotel for a week, we arrived early in the morning and were shown down a dark path to their appartment by two men. The appartment was disgusting and we had to sleep on top of our beach towels! any time we left the appartment we were cornered buy these two sleazy guys we were very frightened . I would go as far to say that this is a very dangerous place for single women or families with daughters to stay in. My sister and i had to go and find another hotel to stay in on our second day it was that bad.

Room Tip: rooms are disgusting
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Good: 

Majority of the staff are friendly , Ali was very helpful and made sure any problems we had were sorted out.
Location very close to strip , 10 mins to the beach 
Pool is not over crowded and plenty of sunbeds
Food in restaurant very nice and reasonably cheap compared to other restaurants 
The weather was fantastic it was very hot ( around 48 degrees), although great we did find it difficult to sun bathe in and do things as it was just so hot. 

Bad: 

No toilet roll provided by the hotel you have to purchase your own ( tip: we took toilet roll from the bars and restaurants and put it in our bags).
Our room was not cleaned once in the week, all they did was make the bed once and took the bin away twice.
The room itself was actually filthy, there were marks all over the walls, dirt on all the surfaces and mould everywhere in the bathroom. 
The towels are supposed to be changed every three days ( which personally i think is inadequate anyway) ours were changed once, and they only brought back one large towel and one hand towel when there were 3 of us staying in the apartment. 
The man that we nick named ' the letch' , he try's to get you in the restaurant to eat at the arya. He hassled us lots throughout the day around the pool and had a go at us for eating at other places and that we should eat there. 
The price of air conditioning at the hotel is very high, so much that we couldn't afford it between us.
Many of the restaurants, shops and the hotel wanted paying in British pounds, I have been to Turkey twice before and it seems to have got really bad in regards to wanting English money all the time. For example we went to one restaurant called the royal, he told us the meals were 8.90 each which we thought was great as it was cheap, when we we presented with the bill , we found that the 8.90 was actually in pounds giving us a massive bill in lira . When we challenged the waiter he said he told us which he didn't, we argued further and we told him we only had 60 lira when the bill was 110 lira, we paid him that and left. 
Quite a few of the restaurants we went to did not have prices on the menus, it was like they made up as they went a long. 
Our rep was called Aykut ( English name James) he was totally useless and was basically out for money. We booked a boat trip and he completely ripped us off,  they give you a free moonlight boat trip as a thanks for booking with them, and he tried his best not to persuade us to go, and then didn't even give us the proper details so we couldn't even go, and we had no way of contacting him. 
The boat trip we went on , was supposed to be all inclusive and stopped at 5 different bays and islands. We stopped at one island and the rest of the stops were near hills and mountains and all you could do was jump off and swim for half an hour which got very boring after the fourth time. The boat was completely packed and there was no room, it wasn't fully  all inclusive we could only have water, soft drinks and a small lunch. Huge waste of 75 lira each. 
There are lots of Mosquitos so make sure you have a good spray or cream etc. 

Make sure you haggle everything and try and get a deal, whether it's in a restaurant, bar or shop. We managed to get some good deals when we said we would go somewhere else. For example: we got free garlic bread, free pint of soft drinks for each of us alongside our main meal which made the bill only 54 lira instead of 85 lira. 

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews