We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming & excellent location”
Review of Ayaz Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ayaz Aqua
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 25 June 2008

My Boyfriend and I Booked Ayaz Aqua studio's back in 2006, and was highly suprised when we arrived!!

It was Rated as 3 star hotel, which fair reasonable, and we were very happy with our stay!

On arrival we were suprised to pay at reception 60euro's to pay for the air con, which wasn't stated on booking, but the appartments made up for that, and we were so pleased that we paid it!

The pool was quirlky and run in a wavy line along the front of the apartments, which meant that you crossed over little wooden bridges to get to them, it was always clean and was a welcoming refreshment in the very hot sun!!! The lilo's around the pool were minimal, so we were usually left with the ones at the back, but didn't mind to much.

The Room's were basic but catered for all you needed with a kitchen sink, clean fridge, bath, shower, 2 single beds pushed together, sofa bed and table. We had a beautiful terrace, which was supprisingly secluded considering we were 3 steps away from the pool and were on looked by bathers. But the Ivy over hung perfectly and was great!! The terrace had a table and Chairs too. They were cleaned Daily and fresh sheets were provided ever couple of days. The cleaner on our last day even picked flower buds and placed them in a heart shape on our bed - although i think it was to get a tip! lol.

The beach was a stones through away which was megga handy and we were also able to safely strole along it at night as there were security gaurds manning the beach - Ideal for romantic stroles!! It was a shingle beach, which made us miss the comfort of sand, but it wasn't a massive issue.

The Town was a 15 minute walk away, and housed all that you needed for a good night out! From, pubs to clubs, Bar's to cafe's, Restaurants and snack bars. It even has Burger King! lol There was also pleanty of shops, and great prices! Be picked up some bargains!

We hired a Moped for 3 days, which i would recommend at your own risk as people drive like maniac's, but we had no issues and we were able to find some lovely little local secluded spots, which we loved! It even saved us some money to visit places like the Waterparks etc as we had our own tranport. Bodrum is not too far away which has los of local transport to get you there, so is worth a look!

Being Blonde, it did attract the local men's attention, which from time to time became a little intimidating, but to be honest as long as you are prepared for it, you will be fine!!

Ayaz Aqua Studio's was great, and i would recommend it too Couples and families!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank googlybear199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2008

Just back from a week i gumbet staying in the ayaz aqua. We flew with onur airlines and that was the first problem, the airplane was so small and squashed there was no Tv or even headphones for music, the staff only came out with the trolleys for 20 mins twice inside 4 hours, they stood in behind curtains at the front of the plane the rest of the time and didn't allow passengers to use toilets at front so instead had to go up the back of plane.

We then got on a minibus fro what was suppose to be 40 mins transfer time instead was 1hr 40 mins.

At arriving at hotel frist impressions where great lovelly pool and great location right beside beach, however it was surrounding by flowers and shubbery, which didn't help the hayfever. we also got bit severall times walking threw the shubbery every nite to get to bar street, so take plenty of bite creams.

We then went down for breakfast that mornin and was all salads cheese and breads, no cereals or fry.

then we had snacks which as far as we where aware it was to be chips burgers toasties etc.. but no snacks or should i say snack was chips and toast with salami.

then for lunch and dinner it was the same salad stuff with spicy sausage meatballs and barley which i thought was rice but nope. also some coloured stuff which looked like pasta, and bbq'd fish. and other funny stuff which i wasn willing to try. We asked for chips and they said no they where only avaliable at snack times.

so the food was just a no go for us.

The staff where great very friendly and helpfull.

THe hotel was clean clean towels every day however sheets weren't changed we had to ask for them to be changed after 3 nights.

The hotel was m,ainly all dutch germans, french or spanish. there was only one other english speaking couple other than ourselves. it wasn't very child friendly either, as the other hotels all seemed to have big water slides etc..

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank liannemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We stayed at this hotel in June 2007. Overall we had a great time. My boyfriend & I stayed for 2 weeks at the ayaz aqua which we chose for the price (last minute bargain). We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. I think this hotel is rated a 3 star which is fair. Basic but clean - towels/sheets changed daily. Apartment itself was clean enough. Our self catering facilities were virtually non existant but we did not intend on any cooking so it didn't affect us.

The food at the hotel bar is fine for the price, edible but not fantastic!! Staff are really friendly - JD & Ahmed are lots of fun. Hotel has a great location - 2 minutes to beach and 5-10 minutes to the shops/clubs/bars. It also has an amazing pool with free loungers which we never had a problem getting.

You do have to pay extra for air con on arrival - we didn't pay at first but needed it for the second week - you can tell it works!! You can also pay for saftey deposit box.

I would recommend this hotel for people on a budget looking for a fun holiday. We made some great friends while there.

I would recommend this hotel and if going back to gumbet would certainly consider gpoing back to these apartments.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgowkiss84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

Apartment was fine - although quite old and not enough cooking equipment. Staff were ok - but like you to join in and when you don't virtually ignore you. Did have pool competitions with them and they lost.
Beach very close and free sun loungers
Food there not very good - but little cafe on beach great and the Magnific Hotel's food was great and cheap
Would go again but probably not self catering - far too expensive

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieLKnowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We booked this holiday through First Choice BEFORE reading any reviews on the apartements and were really pleased with our choice. However after reading a lot of reviews we went to Gumbet apprehensive about what to expect there and even regretting choosing the Ayaz Aqua................................ how wrong was that!

We arrived in the early hours and were greeted by friendly staff who got us registered in, offered us water and taken our luggage and ourselves to our rooms very efficiently so as to allow us a few hours sleep. So far, better than we expected!

When we were able to focus better after a few hours sleep we had a proper look around the Ayaz Aqua, starting with our room. We were really pleased with the facilities on offer in the room, yes, as several reviews state, the cooking area is basic to say the least, but you know what,,,,it did not matter as Gumbet is so cheap to eat out, why would you cook for yourself? The room was well kept and large, the beds and in particular the sofa were comfy and the bathroom was what you would expect, adequate. so again, better than we expected!

We discovered once we left our room, however, the best feature of the Ayaz Aqua............... is it the stunning pool? Is it the closeness of the beach? ......no, it is the staff!! Everyone from the guy who cleaned our room to the manager were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful, but special praise has to go to the much talked about bar staff, Ahmed and JD. One word sums them up.....entertaining!! Sorry, two words VERY ENTERTAINING!!

Gumbet itself is a pleasant little resort with a huge amount of restaurants and small shops competing so do be prepared for the staff trying to drag you into their establishments but do try a variety of them as they were all pretty good. The other must for your time in Gumbet should be an excursion to the aqua park and a day cruise around the bays.

Now for the negatives......... Be very wary of the excursions being offered to you, not by all the little shops throughout Gumbet but by your holiday company, in our case First Choice! We booked one trip through them (the day cruise), but all the others we did independantly at a fraction of the cost! That is the SAME trips at a fraction of the cost!!!!!!

In summary, we had a great time at the Ayaz Aqua, would highly recommend it and will be going back!

Neil and Emma

1  Thank NeilandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

After our flight had been delayed we got to the resort in the early hours to be met by two staff who took us to our room. They then said that the inside bar was open if we wanted a drink so we went over stright away we all got talking and after a couple of drinks we went to bed. When we got up we where met at the bar by Ahmet and DJ who advised where to go and not to go around town. we soon got to know few of the other people staying and before we could blink it was the night time and the fun started we had fun all night the bar staff where fun and had every one upon there feet.
One night thestaff took us into the town to show us the night life and what a night it was.
the resort is a fun place to go if your looking to keep yourself to yourself then its not the place to go if your up for a great fun time then go here I been twice now and can not wait for next year

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stanfordneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Arrived at Ayaz Aqua late into the night and found that our apt ceiling was leaking onto one of the beds!!! room was clean, tidy and basic, being to tired we thought we'd persevere until the morning, where admitedly we were moved straight away.
The 1st nite we met the legendary JD & Ahmed!!!! crazy 2 for 1 cocktails between 2300-0000 where obviously witching hour kicks in as JD and Ahmed begin to work the crowd. If you are offended easily this aint the place for you alot of swearing!!!.
Fire works were then set off on the bar inches away from customers, then in his wisdom ( obviously not ever having attended any fire training ) JD proceeded to blow the fire work as it shot in the air with an oxygen cylinder, narrowly missing 1 guest as she struggled free from behind her seat to escape being set on fire.
Next day we thought we'd try the food where friendly Ahmed joined us and ate with us, wasnt til we paid for the bill did we realise his food had been placed on our bill, nice one!!!!!
It got better... we returned one night to our room to find the door lock open nothing taken that we noticed, however after having it fixed again the next night same thing returned from a nite out to find the door open!!
Obvioulsy irresistable to some women ( not us) Ahmed thought it amusing to wander into our room uninvited and lie on our beds next to us as we were trying to sleep before we went out. One of my friends was actually forced back down onto the bed as she sat up to protest!!!! Ahmed only realised he was in the wrong when we made our feelings clear, thus saving us the problem of speaking to him for the remainder of the holiday!!
We are crazy and up for a laff anything goes and i can asure you we are open minded people!!! gud job we arent easily offended or intimidated any young girls going here should be very careful. The staff try and attatch themselves to you as soon as you arrive one night we had a member of the reception staff follow us all nite into town, then round the pubs regardless of us telling him not to ( apparently locals cant get into the bars with out us tourists) and finally upon returning to the hotel another member of staff nipped my arm then my face ( this became a regular thing ) and handed me another room key telling me to go and sleep in that room with him. I kindly rejected the offer and made sure our room door was double locked, shame really because the rooms were very hot and it would have been nice to be able to leave the door open.
Gumbet itself lovely place nice beach only 2mins away staff on the beach all lovely.
Dont think we'd go back to Ayaz Aqua again tho and please if you still wanna go after reading this could you make sure the poor chickens have got water.....................

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nortee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.2 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#24 of 101 in Gumbet
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#10 of 101 in Gumbet
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayaz Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayaz Aqua

Address: Asarlik Mevkii Pershane Yani, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range: £35 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayaz Aqua 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ayaz Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayaz Aqua Apartments Gumbet
Ayaz Aqua Apartments Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing