We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Ayaz Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ayaz Aqua
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Gumbet
england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Stayed at this hotel and had a blinding time. Staff all friendly and only a short walk in to the main strip of Gumbet. Not much else to say, apart from nice well kept room and tidy complex would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    71
    32
    27
    28
See reviews for
81
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2009

so we stayed at this hotel for a week all inclusive, there was 4 of us 2 in our twenties and 2 older. Firstly dont expect to stay in the hotel, ourselves and 4 other couples all got taken to apartments down the road although nearer the beach they were just appartments and to get drinks or food you had a 5 minute walk to the main hotel. Our apartments were basic and plenty good enough maybe little on small side.

The main hotel was an ok standard with 2 down sides one being the lack of english and the second being the food. The hotel was all polish who were very rude and arrogant and the food well most things were cold and the choice was not great pretty much the same every night, i am not fussy however for breakfast the only things i ate were dry stale bread roles and jam. If this was a self catering hotel i would have been happy but for all inclusive and what we payed it wasnt brilliant. The drinks you were given either alcoholic or non were in glasses not much bigger than the size of a shot glass!

The hotel staff were freindly if not a bit too freindly to girls our age. The hotels locations was very close to beach and if you were to walk 10 mins along beach you will reach the main area with all the shops bars and resturants you can imagine. Night life is brilliant however we had to get taxi from hotel to the main street bar street.

My advice dont go to this hotel unless you get a cheap all inclusive deal and could therefore afford to eat out once fed up of the food!! Turkey overall is a lovely country one of the nicest i have been to and would reccomend to anyone to go. The trips we went on were all brilliant and couldnt fault them., oh except one the turkish theme night that was the worst thing i have ever experienced it was in a run down shabby well i dont know what kind of building it was with scruffy men serving you, it was all a little strange. I shall definately come back to turkey but not to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luc213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This was me and my boyfriends first holiday together, we have never been to Turkey before and are aged 18 and 19.

The hotel is surrounded by nice flowers that make it very inviting, the reception area is very spacious. There is also a pool table next to reception. The whole hotel is decorated to a very good standard and the dining area is outdoors with a big wooden roof that provides shade and gives the area a nice atmosphere. To get to most of the rooms you have to cross over little bridges which are very charming. The pool is very long and wide in some places. There is plenty of space to swim or play and a good size for swimming lengths. The shallowest part of the pool is 1.25 meters. Most of the pool is 1.5 meters. This wouldn’t be great for children but there is a small kid’s pool just next to the main pool. There’s also a small children’s play area with a slide and swings etc. Sunbeds are provided free of charge and most have cushions that are really comfortable. To get the Sunbeds next to the pool you have to be up early although there are plenty and we never couldn’t get a bed. As well as sunbeds there are also swing seats which are nice to sit on in the evening. Also next to the pool is a ping pong table.

The rooms are furnished better than average. We had a double room, beds were comfy, only problem was thin pillows. Other furniture included a sofa bed, armchair, table, dresser, fridge, sink, mirror, cupboard, bedside tables and drawers. Hangers were provided in the cupboard which were very handy and we had ample space for our clothes. In the room we had a painting of a winter scene which seemed strange. The walls were painted light pink and it was nice and big. The bathroom was very clean and well decorated with all your usual amenities. Only problem is the shower pressure is a bit variable. We had a top floor room with a balcony and sea view. On the balcony we had loads of space and a table and chairs which made it a lovely place to sit at night, one evening we even saw fireworks. The air conditioning was really needed as the weather was scorching. This was free, and really good it came with a remote to change settings and is honestly the best air conditioning I’ve experienced abroad as it actually worked and the settings could be changed at night so it wasn’t too loud.

Staff could speak enough English to get by. Those in the reception areas are significantly better English speakers than the bar staff and love to have a chat. We didn’t encounter any problems with staff and they were all really nice. Turkish people love the English and go out of their way to ensure you’re happy.

All inclusive consists of Breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks. Breakfast had the things you’d expect such as cereals, boiled eggs and toast. On top of this each day they would do a couple of extras such as cheese on toast, sausage in sauce, fried egg and pancakes. Lunch and dinner followed similar formats with soup and bread being available as well as a selection of hot and cold foods then a dessert table. The food was cooked to a very high standard and was delicious. As picky eaters we both found plenty to eat and enjoyed every meal. There was a great variety of food each day and the menu didn’t often repeat. The staff are also fast to clear tables. Everyday a huge cake is baked for lunch and dinner and each day there would be a special dish that the chef would be cooking such as kebab and churros. The selection of drinks was sufficient and there are self service drink dispensers available all day. It never took long to get a drink, bar staff were efficient. Spirits and beer seemed of a lower alcoholic content than local bars but they’re free and did the job.

The hotel provides entertainment a couple of nights a week including Turkish night and a show. Turkish night was very entertaining and included a raffle (I won a ring). On our first week the show was Caribbean dancers, the second was Chinese martial arts. Both were a good experience.
The location was great for the beach, only a minutes’ walk away. We recommend Gumbet Beach Resort Hotel Bar just as your turn the corner, staff are lovely, the pier is great and they make up random drink offers so drinks are always good value. The beach is sandy and very long, be careful if you walk all the way down because you have to walk back again and it gets tiring. There are plenty of shops nearby and the main bar street is only a steady ten minutes walk away. Transfer from Bodrum airport was less than an hour and not too unpleasant.

One excursion to highly recommend is the boat trip. We booked with Indiana travel agency that’s on bar street and had a great time. The owner of the boat also has a restaurant, uncle festers. He is crazy and one of the nicest people I have ever met. When we booked this we got a free Turkish bath which was also great and were glad we tried it.

The only problem with the whole holiday was the other guests in the hotel. English people are definitely in the minority and this was my first experience of polish people who I found were extremely rude and ignorant. The benefit of this is they don’t speak English, so you can moan about them while they’re stood in front of you in the food queue and they’re none the wiser. An example is some young polish guests waking us up at 4:30 am drinking and being noisy on their balcony below us. However when we mentioned this to reception they assured us if the problem reoccurred this would be sorted, fortunately they left the next day.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to everyone. We didn’t want to leave and are planning on returning on our next holiday. Ignore the bad reviews it’s a great place with many plus points.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurenNStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Just returned from Ayaz with my husband and 2 12 years old daughters, and can honestly say that we could not fault the hotel staff or food.
However we booked the hotel after reading the reviews and was therefore disapointed that their was only 1 other English family, and their was only entertainment on 2 nights. If we had checked with the tour operator I am sure we would have been advised that this Hotel changed ownership., and was now mostly Polish guests.

Their is so much to do in Gumbet that this really didnt matter as we were out and about most days.

We could of eaten 5 times a day with breakfast ,snacks(chips chicken steaks)Lunch (salad and prob something chef cooked of bbq)snacks again, tea biscuits, and then diner which again was salad and BBQ.If you dont like bbq and salad dont go abroad. Unlimited drinks until 11pm. In my opinion the alcohol choice was limited only wine Vodka beers and soft drinks.)

The room was cleaned every day , and were not sure how many times they cleaned the sheets but seemed like every other day.clean towels every day.

The staff were all friendly and would chat, and when we saw them on the beach they would play with the children.

The shop owners do harrass you but YOU are in Turkey and this is how they make their living, just be polite make friends with them and they soon learn to leave you alone, just shaking you're hand when you pass.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — No other English children
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rixy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
googlybear199
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

My Boyfriend and I Booked Ayaz Aqua studio's back in 2006, and was highly suprised when we arrived!!

It was Rated as 3 star hotel, which fair reasonable, and we were very happy with our stay!

On arrival we were suprised to pay at reception 60euro's to pay for the air con, which wasn't stated on booking, but the appartments made up for that, and we were so pleased that we paid it!

The pool was quirlky and run in a wavy line along the front of the apartments, which meant that you crossed over little wooden bridges to get to them, it was always clean and was a welcoming refreshment in the very hot sun!!! The lilo's around the pool were minimal, so we were usually left with the ones at the back, but didn't mind to much.

The Room's were basic but catered for all you needed with a kitchen sink, clean fridge, bath, shower, 2 single beds pushed together, sofa bed and table. We had a beautiful terrace, which was supprisingly secluded considering we were 3 steps away from the pool and were on looked by bathers. But the Ivy over hung perfectly and was great!! The terrace had a table and Chairs too. They were cleaned Daily and fresh sheets were provided ever couple of days. The cleaner on our last day even picked flower buds and placed them in a heart shape on our bed - although i think it was to get a tip! lol.

The beach was a stones through away which was megga handy and we were also able to safely strole along it at night as there were security gaurds manning the beach - Ideal for romantic stroles!! It was a shingle beach, which made us miss the comfort of sand, but it wasn't a massive issue.

The Town was a 15 minute walk away, and housed all that you needed for a good night out! From, pubs to clubs, Bar's to cafe's, Restaurants and snack bars. It even has Burger King! lol There was also pleanty of shops, and great prices! Be picked up some bargains!

We hired a Moped for 3 days, which i would recommend at your own risk as people drive like maniac's, but we had no issues and we were able to find some lovely little local secluded spots, which we loved! It even saved us some money to visit places like the Waterparks etc as we had our own tranport. Bodrum is not too far away which has los of local transport to get you there, so is worth a look!

Being Blonde, it did attract the local men's attention, which from time to time became a little intimidating, but to be honest as long as you are prepared for it, you will be fine!!

Ayaz Aqua Studio's was great, and i would recommend it too Couples and families!

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly, Great Location. Great Weather
  • Disliked — Variety with food.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank googlybear199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry, N.Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Just back from a week i gumbet staying in the ayaz aqua. We flew with onur airlines and that was the first problem, the airplane was so small and squashed there was no Tv or even headphones for music, the staff only came out with the trolleys for 20 mins twice inside 4 hours, they stood in behind curtains at the front of the plane the rest of the time and didn't allow passengers to use toilets at front so instead had to go up the back of plane.

We then got on a minibus fro what was suppose to be 40 mins transfer time instead was 1hr 40 mins.

At arriving at hotel frist impressions where great lovelly pool and great location right beside beach, however it was surrounding by flowers and shubbery, which didn't help the hayfever. we also got bit severall times walking threw the shubbery every nite to get to bar street, so take plenty of bite creams.

We then went down for breakfast that mornin and was all salads cheese and breads, no cereals or fry.

then we had snacks which as far as we where aware it was to be chips burgers toasties etc.. but no snacks or should i say snack was chips and toast with salami.

then for lunch and dinner it was the same salad stuff with spicy sausage meatballs and barley which i thought was rice but nope. also some coloured stuff which looked like pasta, and bbq'd fish. and other funny stuff which i wasn willing to try. We asked for chips and they said no they where only avaliable at snack times.

so the food was just a no go for us.

The staff where great very friendly and helpfull.

THe hotel was clean clean towels every day however sheets weren't changed we had to ask for them to be changed after 3 nights.

The hotel was m,ainly all dutch germans, french or spanish. there was only one other english speaking couple other than ourselves. it wasn't very child friendly either, as the other hotels all seemed to have big water slides etc..

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liannemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We stayed at this hotel in June 2007. Overall we had a great time. My boyfriend & I stayed for 2 weeks at the ayaz aqua which we chose for the price (last minute bargain). We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. I think this hotel is rated a 3 star which is fair. Basic but clean - towels/sheets changed daily. Apartment itself was clean enough. Our self catering facilities were virtually non existant but we did not intend on any cooking so it didn't affect us.

The food at the hotel bar is fine for the price, edible but not fantastic!! Staff are really friendly - JD & Ahmed are lots of fun. Hotel has a great location - 2 minutes to beach and 5-10 minutes to the shops/clubs/bars. It also has an amazing pool with free loungers which we never had a problem getting.

You do have to pay extra for air con on arrival - we didn't pay at first but needed it for the second week - you can tell it works!! You can also pay for saftey deposit box.

I would recommend this hotel for people on a budget looking for a fun holiday. We made some great friends while there.

I would recommend this hotel and if going back to gumbet would certainly consider gpoing back to these apartments.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowkiss84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.1 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#7 of 100 in Gumbet
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 100 in Gumbet
1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 100 in Gumbet
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riva Bodrum Resort
Riva Bodrum Resort
#6 of 100 in Gumbet
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#17 of 100 in Gumbet
872 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 100 in Gumbet
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayaz Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayaz Aqua

Property: Ayaz Aqua
Address: Asarlik Mevkii Pershane Yani, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayaz Aqua 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Ayaz Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayaz Aqua Apartments Gumbet
Ayaz Aqua Apartments Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing