We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unpleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Ranked #64 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Having stayed in the hotel for 7 days experinced the worse holiday of our entire life. The first day the entertainment guys forced us to buy trips and tour tickets. When we said we dont want to buy any, then they turned nasty and grumpy against us until the end of the holiday. When we asked for the hotel manager we were never able to reach him. The reception was a bunch of hopless people. Mangement was terrible. The so called breakfast? No way!. We had to go out every single day both for dining and beach! Terrible !!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I just come home from this vacation :(( I wish I had a more time off but I had a great time . The staff where wonderful they couldn't do enough to help especially Mr.Goran . You can see the sea from some rooms and can feel the fresh air :) The hotel was lovely and clean. The food was so delicious. Finally, Mr.Goran he has a such a sense of humor and always big smile on his face, helpful all the time.I do not know how many times I asked questions and he never said NO or I do not know. He gave me all the answers and the directions that I needed that moment. He know all Bodrum and which place needs to go or not, which club or bar or etc. I m sending to him five stars and thanks. :))

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesArena, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Royal Arena Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing the nice and extensive review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed it all and would definitely would love to welcome you again during the season also, so that you can have a taste of all our offerings.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you like a lot of NOISE this is an ideal hotel. It was the worst 5* hotel holiday we ever had.

HOTEL: Not a lot of space around the swimming pool and a lot of noise (DJ, animation team). The food was very nice but the waiters are unexperienced and there is a lack of supervision, same for the (pool) bar.

Some details: rusty dustbin in our room (5* hotel?), mirror and glass from shower not cleaned well upon arrival and during our stay (11 days!), bad coffee, no or only one or two kinds of brown bread, beer served in soft drink glasses because not enough beer glasses, once even in plastic soft drink glasses (at an evening party!), sunbeds: nice design but not comfortable.

BEACH: Very nice beach. Free service from and to hotel, but last service back to the hotel was at 17.15 hours (so we walked back in the evening). Food: choice between (bad!) burgers, spaghetti with cream, "pide" (pita bread) and green salad. Same menu every day. Free drinks (alcoholic drinks not included) only until 17.00 hours (All inclusive???). Bad service: waiters forget drinks and food orders, happened almost every day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LucBuseyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel last week and returned home today. I think other people must have stayed at a different hotel! The hotel is a Turkish 5*, if you've been to Turkey before you will understand that they're ratings are not the same as ours. I would say it's more an English 4* only due to a few minor things. We have stayed in Turkey twice before and thought we were booking a 4* only to turn up to horrific hotels not worthy of any stars so this hotel was a pleasant surprise. We made sure we booked a sea view room and it said this on our booking confirmation. When we arrived at 2am we were welcomed and shown to our sea view room, no hassle at all. I think people book 'promo rooms' or they don't specify. We paid an extra £280 for our sea view room when we booked it so it's quite annoying that people are complaining about paying £100 for a room upgrade; count yourselves lucky, you saved yourself money! We had a terrace leading from our room that we shared with about 6 other rooms and a private bit with chairs and table and a sun lounger. The view was amazing! You will not find a hotel with a better view in gumbet or bodrum! The room was lovely and very clean, a lot more modern that MANY other hotels in Turkey and the surrounding area. There was a few things you could pick with the bathroom such as a few marks around the bath but I was happy with having a HUGE bath tub and a shower. The wifi worked perfectly fine in our room, on the terrace and in reception. I don't see why other people are complaining. It is a bit slow but I used it for what's app and it worked perfectly fine. I don't see why people would want to spend their holiday on their phone anyway? There aren't enough sun beds around the pool and the staff should clear the tables away in the day to allow more room for sun beds, however the pool area and the pool itself was lovely and again THE VIEW IS AMAZING. There are always people cleaning around the pool area and sweeping away the water and also round reception and the front of the hotel. We used the spa pool a few times and although it is VERY cold it was always empty and it's refreshing in the heat. I had a massage and the girl was very good. My boyfriend had his hair cut in the hairdressers and the man who did it did a good job too. The reception is amazing and again THE VIEW!! We found all the staff to be lovely and polite except for the bar staff. I think it's something to do I with them working ALL DAY in the heat, however you pay to stay there they should be more polite. There was music being played around the pool all day but we did not find it to be too loud as others have stated. We did not have any problems with staff not understanding us, they all speak reasonable English. We learnt a few phrases in Turkish, such as thank you, and it is really appreciated. They're usually very surprised you know Turkish so that says a lot! The staff in the lobby and the lobby bar are very nice and especially the girl who works in the lobby bar (didn't catch her name). We only ate at the hotel twice as we had took money to eat out. They're are so many cheap and very nice restaurants to eat at in turkey that it's a waste to eat in the hotel all the time. If you don't take a lot of spending money you won't have trouble eating as there is food all day. After lunch they serve burgers straight from the BBQ and Turkish pizza freshly made in front of you which was very nice. We ate lunch one day which wasn't very nice, however my boyfriend had dinner there from the BBQ and the meat smelt and looked amazing and he said it was very nice. Don't expect English food, you're not in England. If your not fussy you will always find something to eat. The staff in the restaurant are lovely and serve you water as soon as you sit down and bring you your drinks. I haven't had this before in an all inclusive hotel. If you are polite to the staff they will be polite back. The all inclusive stops at 11 however we have not stayed in any all inclusive hotel that serves food and alcohol 24 hours a day so didn't see this as a problem. It does state this when you book the hotel so I don't see why people are surprised. This is the only hotel I've stayed in also were you can visit the beach and use your all inclusive there. The hotel shuttle runs every hour to the beach and it's 5 minutes down the road. One thing I would say is do not go on the bar crawl. We paid 10 lira each and as soon as we got there we did not see mr google again. We left and did our own thing and got a taxi back. I'd say head down to bar street and visit the bars yourself and spend 15 lira getting a taxi back at the end of the night. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. Without a doubt it is Turkish 5* and I'd say in England it would be a 4*. Be polite to the staff and they will do the same and make sure you're booking says sea view room and ask for a high floor (4 or 5) when you check in. A few small things you could pick at but what's the point, your on holiday! Go and look at some of the other hotels and you'll appreciate this hotel a whole lot more! There are things people don't mention that make this hotel a good one such as no noise in the rooms from the hallways or other rooms, very, very clean, always someone cleaning around the pool and reception areas and we never ran out of hot water. There is also 24 hour room service and two bottles of water a day left for you. The hotel provides shaving kits, slippers, dressing gowns among many other things. The staff in the restaurant serve you water right away and bring you your drinks. Come here and do not expect the ritz and you will love it.

Room Tip: Make sure your booking says sea view room and ask for floor 4 or 5 and you won't be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaunieShoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesArena, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Royal Arena Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing the nice and extensive review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed it all and would definitely would love to welcome you again during the season also, so that you can have a taste of all our offerings.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First of all, the hotel has a wonderful wiev. You can see the sea and some islands ftom the balcony and around the pool. Different and good food, besides the animation team was amazing... Especially Tansel, Fatih and the others. İ reccommend this hotel to eveyone...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayjaytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesArena, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Royal Arena Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing the nice and extensive review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed it all and would definitely would love to welcome you again during the season also, so that you can have a taste of all our offerings.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Please ignore all the bad reviews for this hotel. We came back to the UK two days ago. Our holiday was for 11 nights and 12 days and it was amazing. We arrived to the hotel around 14pm, tired and hungry. Unfotunately we were late for lunch. Despite that after one hour, they delivered some fruits in our room for free. Everything was pefrect such as food(fresh and delicious), different range of dishes and sweets.The manager of the restaurant was always around just to make sure everyone is happy and served in a proper way. The staff I have no words to describe their kindness and friendly atitude. Animation team were making us smile and laugh all the time, you can not get bored at all. Every single day they are with you with different ideas, games and entertainment for the day and the night. About rooms I can only say one thing, clean and quite. Every day they are cleaning. There are some good facilities like gym, indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The view from the reception is breath taking. I fell in love with it. Could stay hours just staring at the sea. There is a shisha place around the pool as well. The only and one negative thing was the internet. You can have it only in the reception area and around the pool, but not inside in your room. Thanks a lot for the perfect holiday - Mr Osman, Ayse (receptionist), Baris (receptionist), Abdullah bey (restaurant manager), animation team (Serdar, Chris, Mr Google, Fatih, Tan, Bahar), pool bar - Yunus, Rahim, Ali and Gokhan. Thanks again. Emi and Meka (London).

Room Tip: It depends on the person. We prefered dark room with no balcony and sea view as this is a holiday an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmiMeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesArena, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Royal Arena Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your nice experience with us. It always puts a smile on the faces of our whole team, once we read nice comments and find out that we have met your expectations.
We hope to see you again in the near future,
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

this hotel is not 5*i would not even rate it 3 .On arrival we were allocated room so small we could not open balcony door .On checking bathroom the bath panel was so high (not walkin shower as in pictures) i would not have been able to use when i complained they said they could supply a stool (health and safety nil)how safe is that? when i said our room would have to be changed the night reception manager was not happy said he was contacting our supplier and we were out of the hotel !! (nice eh where do you go at 3 in morning with a 7 year old child)he did eventually gave us a disabled room no balcony and bathroom absolutely stank for 5 hours .Could not sleep decided to get a coffee in restaurant at 7 and to my disgust the sparrows were in restaurant eating breakfast rolls (hygenic not!!!) when i said to waiter his response was the birds were Cheeky!!! obviously no worries about carrying any disease then.WE did get a room change eventually on the monday arrived Thursday as we were only there for a week and wasted a lot of time at reception,please save money and book elsewhere

Room Tip: sea view room only make sure you have a balcony as not all rooms do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.5 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#24 of 101 in Gumbet
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Hotel
Royal Palm Beach Hotel
#22 of 101 in Gumbet
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Azka Otel
Azka Otel
#19 of 97 in Bodrum City
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Arena Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Arena Resort & Spa

Address: Asarlik Mekvii No:73, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range: £44 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Arena Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Arena Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing