We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4* = 3* Honest review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #77 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“4* = 3* Honest review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Myself and a friend wanted a cheap all inclusive holiday and upon first impressions when we arrieved at 6 am the hotel was nice. Reception area is spacious and very nice but we were then taken to our room, 138, down numerous steps and a steep ramp. When we were shown our room we were impressed as we had 3 bed for 2 of us and the bathroom was spacious. We were supposed to recieve 2 courtesy bottles of water, we had to ask twice for these over the next 48 hours and then only got one bottle. Numerous times over the week we had to ask for our room to be cleaned and clean towels. Our sheets weren't changed over the week but that wasn't really an issue, depsite the bedding not being terribly clean when we arrived!
The food was of average standard. I am vegetarian but it wasn't a problem as there was plenty of salad everyday, although it did get a bit tedious. The pasta, rice and cous cous was never hot, just warm, so I mainly ate chips and salad over the holiday. None of the food made us ill thank goodness. We did eat out a couple times as they all inclusive food did get a little boring. Our drinks didn't appear to be watered down as other people have reported on here and spirits were very genorous. If you ask for a small spirit and mixer the staff will give you that.
The pool area is nice but a little cramped, you can feel as though you are laying on top of complete strangers. In high season I dread to think how cramped it is! Pool was colder than the sea apparently ( I didn't actually venture in). There is an animation team who pester you all day to play games. My friend and I didn't play the games as it's not our scene and this didn't appear to go down too well with the animation team. They got a little narked off with us but we went there to relax, not play darts, table tennis or dive in the pool for spoons. There is music played at the pool practically all day and I have no idea where they get there music from but it is pretty awful cheesy pop music they play, and very loud too.
We met people there who had £15 stolen from their room, when they reported it reception didn't seem overly bothered about it. Staff were friendly in the hotel and spoke very good English.
The hotel has lots of steps so if you have mobility or walking difficulties this is not the place for you.
I am not generally a moany fussy person on holiday but there were numerous little things at Palm Garden which wouldn't make me go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    161
    130
    111
    216
See reviews for
277
181
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

My boyfriend and myself arrived at Palm Garden Hotel at 5am, we were greeted by the reception staff and a porter helped us to our room with our bags. Our room was basic but very clean and spacious. We stayed in room 304 which was right next to the pool, resturant and reception which was perfect.

After reading the reviews before we left for our holiday, we were wondering what to expect as there are a mixture of opinions on this site. However, we had nothing to worry about as this holiday was perfect.

The hotel itself was lovely. The pool was huge, with a waterslide which was loads of fun. There was also another pool 'silence pool' however, we didnt use this pool as we preffered to be next to the music and the pool games and entertainment. The animation staff were very friendly and tried to include everyone in the daily and evening entertainment.

I'm a really fussy eater and didnt expect to like the food and we took extra money expecting to eat out most of the time however, we only ate out once which was on our last night. The food was lovely and plenty of choice. Pancakes and fried eggs were made fresh infront of you for breakfast and turkish pizza was made fresh on an evening. The snacks next to the pool were just burgers and chips however, this was fine to eat during the day if we were a bit peckish.

The staff were lovely and couldn't fault them as they were always happy to help and very polite and friendly.

During our stay we only had 2 issues in our room, this was no hot water when we first arrived and no electricity on the second day however, the technician was there within 5 minutes and sorted the problems strate away.

The hotel location was perfect, right next to the shops and about a 10 minute walk to the beach. The nightlife was also really good, there was a few 'holiday style bars' on the main road near the hotel that had dancers and entertainment which were alot of fun. We recommend Smileys bar as we went there every night for few drinks as it was lots of fun and they work really hard to make sure you enjoy yourself. The main nightlife was just around the corner which had a selection of different bars which were very busy.

There are lots of day trips and excursions available, we recommen d the boat trip as we really enjoyed this. They pick you up from your hotel at 10am and also take you back around 5.30pm. The boat visits 5 locations including camel beach inwhich you can go on a camel ride which was a good experience although the smell wasn't too pleasent :-) Lunch was also incuded and this cost only £8 each was great value for a great day out.

Overall the holiday was great and I would definetely go back! We only paid £380 each for 1 week all inclusive and we got alot more than we expected.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terryturtle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

I had a great time at this hotel! I went with my partner and we had a great romantic holiday. Its right in the centre so if you dont fancy a day in the pool you can walk out of the hotel and heypresto youre on the beach, or if you fancy some nightlife at night bar street is so close and just a bus away from bodrum, 10mins max! There are so many things to do at this hotel, we enjoyed the day entertainment near the pool and evening show by the entertainment team! and also try out the turkish bath and massages they are so relaxing! I had an unforgettable time for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteRose711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington,co durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

me my partner and my 4yr old son had a great room next to pool room 112.pool was clean ,good atmosphere,could get a bit slippery .meals were great,always something tasty and deserts were fantastic!!the staff were very friendly and always made a fuss of our son who enjoyed the familiarity.its in a great location near shops beach,only one complaint there was no entertainment only kids mini disco which started at 9.30 which was on the late side for him plus offset from main building so had to walk back up for drinks up flights of stairs.an allround good holiday experience,will definitley go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milkamaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Poor quality food, large buffet with selection of local insects inhabiting.
Impossible to get a sun lounger after 11am,
Crap Europop music blaring out all day.
Very basic grubby rooms.
Dirty pool.
Dangerous waterslide.
Watered down drinks.
Snack bar only serves burgers- if they don't run out.

The star ratings in Turkey are double what they would receive in the UK.
5 =3
4=2
3= 1

Anyone who thinks this place is 5 * has clearly never stayed in a decent hotel!!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HughJorganLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gumbet hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
South London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

My Partner, i and our 3 girls (6, 3 & 1) arrived at Palm Gardens Gumbet on 11/09/09.
We arrived at 5:30am and was greated by reception staff and sercuity.
On arrival it was pouring down with rain (Turkeys worst in 80yrs), we were shown to room 218 which was down past the pool and down stone steps facing the main road. It seemed daft that we were placed so far away from the main parts of the hotel, but at 5:30am with 3 kids all we wanted to do was sleep!!

The following morning after breakfast (very good selection) we headed up more steps to reception and asked if we could be moved to a more suitible room as we had a pushchair and the steps seemed dangerous. The receptionist said that there was another room availble from 12noon if we wished to view it.
The room was 135 next to the tennis courts just up from the pool. We took it and remained there without fault for the duration of our stay.

The Food was of a good standard and always nicely presented. The deserts were to die for. It was a veried menu of mains fish, chicken or turkish meat balls. The sailads were basic but plenty and a full range of deserts along with fresh fruit.

The pool was a little on the deep side for the childern as they only have a very small section desinged for children but we did not find this a problem as the Girls had armband and rings.
The Water slide was fun if not a little scarey as you fall into one pool then have to make your way down to the main pool. But yet again we had no problems with this and the Girls loved it!!

The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, each block of rooms had there own cleaning team. we did hear from another family that they had had money stolen from their room but they did not have it in a safe at a cost of 3 euros a day and there cleaner was suspended.

The waiting staff were fantastic with the girls and picked them flowers for their hair.
The bar staff were also very good except for one in the sultan bar who seemed a little arragant.

The animation team were putting on events during the day darts, water gymnastics, pool games and water polo. During the evening they would dress up and greet you at the dining hall to tell you of the events thay had on that evening. Mini Disco was a laugh for the kids and gave them something to do.

As for the hotel we found it to be great value for money and would highly recommend to others with familys altho it is set on a hill and the inturnal and exturnal areas are all stone/marble we did not incounter any major problems with the pushchair or children but others may not find it so easy.

We are planing to return to Palm Gardens again next year, as we had such a grat hoilday. we stayed from the 11/09/09 till 25/09/09.

Mandy & Family

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandybxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Arrived at 4am, were taken half a mile up and down dangerous steps without handrails to a spacious family room at the very front of the hotel. We had a few hours sleep and unpacked before we were told that we had been given the wrong room. We were moved to a one bedroom which was close to the pool. Even though this was quarter of the room size we all felt safer and happier there.

On our first visit to the pool we noticed the pool steps were without rails and several people had slipped badly on them. Armed with this information I held onto one of the lions next to the steps and slowly eased myself in ~ even with that precaution I slipped and fell onto the step leaving me with an 8 inch bruise on my bum, the lump of which is yet to fade! I was one of the lucky ones, during our stay a man had to stay in hospital for a night having brain scans due to pool slip. A woman had a broken nose from diving in the pool (there were no signs showing the depth of the water until the day after the accident). Several guests had obviously visited hospital and were bandaged up.

The pool was getting dirtier and dirtier all the time; it wasn't being cleaned or filtered! There were napkins or SOMETHING lying at the bottom of the pool for a few days before our final 2 days when we refused to get in it as it was filthy! Lots of other guests had gotten ear infections.

The whole pool area got more dangerous as the day went on, water was spread on the huge marble flooring and drainage or cleaners were amiss. The majority of people fell at least once during their stay. It serious was lethal.

The slide is damn dangerous! They allow crowds of people to go down at once and it has 3 deep drops going down which is scary for children and poor swimmers especially when there are people landing on top of you. At the very end when you drop into the water there was a hole in the slide which was a hazard as someone could have gotten their foot stuck. This wasn't repaired until our final day.

In fairness nobody should complain about the food. We are adventurous with foods; even the children enjoy trying different cuisine. There was a very good selection but I assume the Turks tend to eat carbohydrates and salad with limited meat, mainly chicken, meatball shapes occasionally there was liver too. We enjoyed the pancakes/fried eggs every few days for breakfast, there was fresh breads and salad etc. Lunches were nice with more than enough variety. Dinners were very good with more variety than lunch, 2 soups, salads, an outside BBQ (chicken/burgers/vegetables), freshly baked pizza/bread, meats (chicken/meatball shapes/liver), chips (which were sometimes cold when they came out of the kitchen - we didn't care as we don't eat them), rice/pasta and 1 or 2
vegetables. The desserts were different and some were very nice. If you want pie and chips go to Tenerife!

All inclusive drinks were a farce, poor gin, vodka or raki or larger. If you prefer cocktails or more alchopop type drinks you've 'had it'. I rarely drink so on holiday I love cocktails but at 10 lira a shot I decided against this. Wine that was served freely at meal times must have been slightly cheaper than vinegar! There was tea/coffee/hot choc on too. Soft drinks were Coke/Fanta/strong cordials of different varieties - the taste changed in different bars too which was worrying! There never seemed to be enough paper cups either!

Snack bar food was only burgers and chips. My children chose not to join the kids club, during the day, it was open so rarely anyway but at night they went to the mini disco for 30 mins, the problem being that it was 4 flights of stairs and a considerable walk away from the bar. There was only ever one bar open at a time so if you or your family wanted refreshment you had to be in the busiest area. The evening bar was always understaffed; it only ever had one barman on so the queues were long!

Don't believe the write up when it says tennis court - yes it is there but you would never dream of using it. They are stuck on desolate land at the side of the hotel and aren't well kept. Our room was right next to it and we didn't see one person using it.

On the plus side reception were friendly even if they laughed a little when you're telling them something serious (this might have been to hide their embarrassment or lack of understanding English), they helped us out on the last day when Bookable Holidays messed our hotel reservation up and we were supposed to leave 28 hrs before our flight.

Don't buy excursions from your rep/hotel; you can get these much cheaper just a short walk into the village. We went to the aqua park (which was fab), the markets which weren't great - we found that we could haggle most things down to the same price a short walk from the hotel. We took a fabulous boat trip that was incredibly cheap and such good fun. We went into town for a Turkish bath at the beginning of our holiday ~ it was lovely and will make our tans last longer!

Having said all of the above, we try to make the best out of every situation and still enjoyed the holiday, laughter is such good medicine!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haltonlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.7 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shark Club
Shark Club
#5 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA
Club Hotel Vela & SPA
#32 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riva Bodrum Resort
Riva Bodrum Resort
#6 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Property: Palm Garden Hotel
Address: Oramiral Kemal Kayacan Cad. No:27, Gumbet 48252, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palm Garden
Palm Garden Gumbet
Iskandil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing