We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christine F”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Newport Hotel
Ranked #53 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christine F”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had a really nice time at this hotel. The view is stunning, worth the effort of all the steps. The rooms are spacious and very clean with a hot power shower, tv and mini fridge, and large twin beds which were so comfortable.It is situated in a quiet area, very relaxing.There are a couple of beaches with bars nearby that have live music each night, or jump on the bus to either gumbet or bodrum, or have a relaxing night at the hotel.
The animation team, GG and Ahmed the DJ were good company,even though the hotel was half empty [which we liked] they worked hard to keep us happy. We especially enjoyed the chillout music, many thanks Ahmed for the cd, love it!!
Thanks to all the staff,especially the clumsy barman who dropped countless glasses,very funny, and a very special thankyou to Zeki for making our holiday so enjoyable.
We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again next time we are in Turkey.

Room Tip: "We would pay extra next time for a sea view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    72
    56
    48
    50
See reviews for
89
132
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Excellent team, animation, restaurant, perfect. Good music all the day, excellent restaurant.
Black point for the clearing in the room. During all our holidays impossible to have sheet in our bed the right size...the sheet were too little for the size of the bed. Except that, room was Nice with a ici patio.
You ave to be able to go up and down in the stairs...This hotel is a concept with...stairs....but .for people with special needs there are equipements. And you have to know that WIFI is just a aimable in the lobby.
We had the best Holidays ever. Thank you to all the team. We can't wait for next year. We Will come back. This Time of the year - end of september seems really a good time. There wasn't a lot of people. We rest a lot, at the swimming pool. We went at thé beach too, you have shunt le all the day for everywhere, beach or town, or night club.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2PEICanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The location of this hotel is lovely - Bitez to the front is a real gem whilst the rear looks over Gumbet and Bodrum bays. On entering the reception, lounge and bar are all very plush as is the inside of the hotel generally. The food is fresh and plentiful and is mainly caters for the vast majority of guests who are Turkish, and compared to some other hotels, very good. The bar, restaurant and reception staff along with the animation team (GG and the DJ) work hard to make guests feel welcome. Sadly the same cannot be said for the chambermaids. They do not change the bed linen or towels frequently enough. We did see a notice stating they would be changed 3 times weekly, not the case, nor was the bathroom cleaned. The bedlinen is strange to northern Europeans - consisting of a sheet across the bed which fails to cover feet or shoulders, so that you spend much of the night wrestling with it. However I have to say that when we complained to the reception about anything, the matter was rectified immediately. There are loads of steps, as many as 109 to some of the rooms. All activities are centred around the patio and pool area and whilst the animation team tried hard to please people it would have been nice to have had outside evening entertainment. One point worth noting is that there are no towels provided for sunloungers, so take your own. I agree with the previous reviewer about the music, but we did notice that it did change as the age and nationality profile of the guests changed. But loud house music in the middle of the day when you are trying to read a novel is not what people go on holiday for. Anyone going there - do take the walk down the hill to Bitez, its very pretty and relaxing.

Room Tip: if you have mobility problems, advise the hotel in advance. The reception staff do try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmii_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel was exceptional, it was our first family holiday, me, my partner and 1 children. they catered for everyone. The animation team were fantastic, the hotel staff were amazing and very friendly. The food was great .. Everything is kept so clean. The entertainment at night was great . The pool was fab especially having a kids pool. We will definatley be returning. We had nothing at all to complain about. A massive thank you to Grand Newport Hotel for making our first holiday away so special. I would recommend this place to anyone of any age.

Room Tip: If you get a suit with a balcony looking out over the sea the view is beautiful. Definitly something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel is great if you are 18 - 30 with boom boom boom music all day until midnight . is not suitable for anyone with mobility problems as there are so many steps and no lift you are not near a beach. the hotel on the whole looks good but on closer inspection is need of a refurb the rooms smell damp and beds are in need of replacing, Food is good and plenty of it can eat 24/7 almost if you wished

Room Tip: if you want tii be near a beach don't go here also if you are over 40 please do not go its not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Its best to start by saying ignore all reviews from before around 2011 as the hotel is nothing like this, it has undergone a complete revamp.

Reading the reviews I was wary about the hotel but I can't express how pleasantly surprised I was! My main issue was the cleanliness of the hotel after viewing pictures of damp and dirt however on arrival to the room the floors, bedding, desks and bathroom were all spotless. The bathroom was clearly newly fitted with an amazingly powerful shower (good for the hot skin after a day in the sun).

The tv in the room was good, had BBC news and NBC in english then a variety of other channels in other languages. The bed was large, 2 singles pushed together with a double fitted sheet and cover so plenty of room. Air conditioning worked well however there needed to be a card in the room for it to be activated, this can be mimicked with a gift card or other credit card so that it could be left on during the day.

Another thing I was worried about as the food but again this was brilliant, breakfast had freshly cooked omelettes with cheese, tomato, basil and fresh pepper fillings of your choice as well as a broad selection inside the restaurant.
Lunch was varied with around 8 hot and many more cold dishes to choose from. Tea was my personal favourite with hot grilled food with a constant fresh supply of chips and hot freshly baked pitta breads or thin pizzas.

The staff were amazingly friendly and really made an effort with me and my girlfriend who could only speak English. Their English was good however was limited to what their jobs needed them to know - which again wasn't a problem. This was probably due to the fact that we were the only English couple there for the week, I didn't once hear another conversation in English until we reached the town.

The pool area was a decent size and never seemed too busy - we could happily get a sun lounger with no fuss. The animation team started at around 10.30 with the days itinerary usually including woman's water gymnastics at 11 followed by men's water polo at 12 and again at 4 with table tennis competitions occasionally in between.

The gym area was good with a decent set of free weights, one straight bar with a bench, 4 treadmills and a rowing machine, there is a pool table with is charged at 8TL (€4) per hour.

The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the beach at 10am and 11am then a bus back at 4pm and 5pm. The bus into town stops right outside the hotel and costs 3TL per person. Bare in mind this can only be paid in Turkish lira not euros or sterling. There are 3 supermarkets within walking distance all accepting all currency and having a good supply of stock.

The all inclusive runs from 9am to 11pm meaning unlimited drinks between that time consisting of Pepsi, Pepsi max/light, fanta and sprite as well as fruit juices. And in terms of alcohol there was vodka, gin, raki, brandy, red and white wine and local beer (efes) as well as banana, coconut, almond (amaretto) and mint liquers.

All in all this was a brilliant place to stay and judging by some of the horror stories of staff stealing and brown bed sheets at other local hotels this hotel is definitely brilliant value for money (we paid £350 roughly for a double room for 7 nights all inclusive).

If you're unsure where to stay this definitely gets my recommendation.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews posted on here, my boyfriend and I were a bit dubious before we travelled to Grand Newport, but as we arrived we soon realised there was no need. Despite arriving at 11pm, the reception staff were very friendly and happy to get us to our room promptly. A porter arrived at reception and carried our luggage to our room. We asked him where we could eat as it was late and he kindly explained in English that the restaurant by the reception served soup at 11:30. We tasted the soup, it wasn't boiling hot as Turkish food generally isn't but it was very nice and we went back for more.

One of the main plus points for the holiday was the food. Not once did the food get repetitive, it was varied and plentiful. When the dishes were running low, kitchen staff soon replenished them. Breakfast consisted of dried fruits, cereals, different jams, fresh bread, cold meats and cheese, omelette and pancakes cooked fresh in front of you, and six different hot dishes. Lunch was buffet style with eight cooked dishes, always different, and plentiful salad and many dishes unique to the hotel I've not seen before in any other hotel we've stayed at. There was also lots of fresh fruit (including melon, apples, oranges, peaches, grapes and plums), and Turkish cakes and dessert. The snack bar was open in the day for burgers and chips etc. Dinner was lovely, fresh show cooking included fresh fish and meat, and chicken kebab on "turkish night". There was always chips and rice and again eight different hot dishes and salad. The desserts were always different at night than what they were in the day, as was the fruit. The waiters were very friendly and cleared your plates when you were finished.

With regards to all inclusive, yes it does only include soft drinks, local spirits and liquer and does finish at 11pm but this is the same as every other hotel offering all inclusive. You could also have as many drinks as you wanted from any of the bars and the staff were friendly.

The room was very clean and spacious. We only had to walk down three sets of 10 steps to get to the room which we didn't think was a problem and there was also a mobility aid which was fixed during our stay which could help those not so mobile with the stairs.

The room had air con which was brilliant, a cool minibar which wasn't really cold but we didn't need to use it. The bathroom looked like it had been refurbished as the shower was very nice and very clean. There was also a working hair dryer provided.

The maids cleaned the room every day, our towels were changed everyday except the day before we left And the bed sheets were changed three times in one week. We spoke to the maid and she was very friendly even though she couldn't speak a lot of English.

Pool area was lovely, the sun loungers were cofortable and the pool was of reasonable size and very clean. If you are up early enough you can see the pool being tested for chlorine levels. The animation team were friendly, offering table tennis, water polo and aqua aerobics but weren't pushy. With regards to the loud music, it was played quite loud during the times when the activities were taking place but during lunch and late afternoon it was turned down and it wasn't all that much bother if you didn't pay attention to it. At night there was different entertainment such as Turkish belly dancing, acrobats and then entertainment offered by the hotel.

Overall, the grand Newport is a lovely hotel and I would recommend it mostly to couples and families as the location is very quiet and not close to anything (although the local bus does stop directly outside the hotel taking you into the town within 10mins-great experience). It is a Turkish hotel so things are done differently but it was nothing to worry about and we had a great holiday! Will definitely return to grand Newport if we go back to Bodrum.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.6 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#12 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#2 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#8 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Newport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Newport Hotel

Property: Grand Newport Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Cad No:83 Bodrum Merkez, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Newport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Newport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Newport Gumbet
Grand Newport Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing