We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Thank you Grand Newport!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Newport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Newport Hotel
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Gumbet
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thank you Grand Newport!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

I won't lie, I was nervous about this holiday before we travelled having never experienced an all inclusive "fun in the sun" holiday. However, Grand Newport and all the staff there really helped to make this one of the most enjoyable holidays I've ever had. We went mid-late October which is very end of season so the hotel was a bit quiet, but that actually added to it feeling like a secluded little spot on the hill to relax in the sun. I doubt there is a better view from any hotel in the Bodrum region which really made for lovely evenings chilling with a wine or an Efes (even the one day of bad rain was amazing as you could see these incredible thunder storms over the bay).

I was very impressed with the range, quantity and quality of food. I wasn't the only person regularly going up for seconds and the waiting staff were very friendly and attentive. Not looking forward to trying to compete with my cooking at home...

The pool area was really nice (bit chilly!) and had a really nice relaxing vibe to it. Probably more lively in the main season but the little jetty/beach at the bottom of the hill is perfect for a lazy lounge in the sun.

Overall great place to stay, great connections to Bodrum or Bitez Beach (downtown Gumbet wasn't really our cup of tea), and finally a big shout out to GiGi, the DJ and all the staff. You guys were great - many thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you don't like steps, make sure you get a room closer to reception. Views from rooms are hit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    72
    55
    48
    50
See reviews for
88
132
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We had a wonderful week in Turkey at The Grand Newport hotel. The service was fantastic, with all the hotel staff being very nice and friendly. We went just after the peak season which was perfect as the hotel was only 1/3 full so it wasn't too busy, there was plenty of sun loungers and tables at dinner available.

The value was excellent as we went for the all inclusive with food and drink provided from 7am to 11pm. Alcohol was a selection of local beer, wine, brandy, a few spirits, soft drinks and hot drinks. The food was very good, freshly made and tasty with a wide selection of breads and salad, there was around 6-8 hot plates where you just helped yourself and some nice desserts. The only two issues we had was they wanted to charge to use the safe in the room, and for towels for the pool. There was free Wi-Fi which was a bonus although this only works close to reception.

The hotel and rooms were clean and tidy, with beds and towels changed regularly, the pool was clean with the area around the pool cleaned before the tables were set out for each meal. The rooms were quite spacious with a large bed, tv (BBC World and a music channel for us brits), mini bar, small table and chairs, wardrobe, and a nice bathroom.

The location was great, it's situated on top of a hill with amazing views towards Gumbet (an area of Bodrum), you can catch the local bus which ran all hours and only cost £1 each to take to you Gumbet and then onto Bodrum which is the main town. A nice alternative was that you could also take a 5 minute stroll down the other side of the hill to Bitez which is a smaller area with a nicer beach and lots of restaurants. It's well worth a walk for the amazing sunsets we saw, and make sure you stop in at Central Beach Bar (the first bar at the bottom of the hill) as the cocktails are cheap and much better than the other bars in Bitez.

Overall I highly recommend The Grand Newport as spending a week in the area which we went on a couple of trips and picked up various people including the airport transfers, The Grand Newport seemed to be up there with some of the best in Bodrum, especially the view!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top of the stairs, numbers 300 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darrenackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had a extraordinary vacation, I was very pleased with the staff and with view. Thanks to animation team, evenings on the terrace were very nice, dancing, singing and having fun.
I'm happy to confess that I learned a Turkish traditional dance "damat halayi" and I"m going to show it to my friends. I also want to thanks to the manager of the hotel, one night I missed my dinner, because I was in a trip, but he asked the people in the kitchen to brig us some food. Iknow that there are fixed times for the meals, but I was very glad to see they make exceptions in this hotel if needed.
I"m glad I choose Turkey and Grand Newport, definitely worth it.
I recommand this hotel, if I had to choose again, I choose Grand Newport.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feraru s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had a really nice time at this hotel. The view is stunning, worth the effort of all the steps. The rooms are spacious and very clean with a hot power shower, tv and mini fridge, and large twin beds which were so comfortable.It is situated in a quiet area, very relaxing.There are a couple of beaches with bars nearby that have live music each night, or jump on the bus to either gumbet or bodrum, or have a relaxing night at the hotel.
The animation team, GG and Ahmed the DJ were good company,even though the hotel was half empty [which we liked] they worked hard to keep us happy. We especially enjoyed the chillout music, many thanks Ahmed for the cd, love it!!
Thanks to all the staff,especially the clumsy barman who dropped countless glasses,very funny, and a very special thankyou to Zeki for making our holiday so enjoyable.
We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again next time we are in Turkey.

Room Tip: "We would pay extra next time for a sea view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Excellent team, animation, restaurant, perfect. Good music all the day, excellent restaurant.
Black point for the clearing in the room. During all our holidays impossible to have sheet in our bed the right size...the sheet were too little for the size of the bed. Except that, room was Nice with a ici patio.
You ave to be able to go up and down in the stairs...This hotel is a concept with...stairs....but .for people with special needs there are equipements. And you have to know that WIFI is just a aimable in the lobby.
We had the best Holidays ever. Thank you to all the team. We can't wait for next year. We Will come back. This Time of the year - end of september seems really a good time. There wasn't a lot of people. We rest a lot, at the swimming pool. We went at thé beach too, you have shunt le all the day for everywhere, beach or town, or night club.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2PEICanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

The location of this hotel is lovely - Bitez to the front is a real gem whilst the rear looks over Gumbet and Bodrum bays. On entering the reception, lounge and bar are all very plush as is the inside of the hotel generally. The food is fresh and plentiful and is mainly caters for the vast majority of guests who are Turkish, and compared to some other hotels, very good. The bar, restaurant and reception staff along with the animation team (GG and the DJ) work hard to make guests feel welcome. Sadly the same cannot be said for the chambermaids. They do not change the bed linen or towels frequently enough. We did see a notice stating they would be changed 3 times weekly, not the case, nor was the bathroom cleaned. The bedlinen is strange to northern Europeans - consisting of a sheet across the bed which fails to cover feet or shoulders, so that you spend much of the night wrestling with it. However I have to say that when we complained to the reception about anything, the matter was rectified immediately. There are loads of steps, as many as 109 to some of the rooms. All activities are centred around the patio and pool area and whilst the animation team tried hard to please people it would have been nice to have had outside evening entertainment. One point worth noting is that there are no towels provided for sunloungers, so take your own. I agree with the previous reviewer about the music, but we did notice that it did change as the age and nationality profile of the guests changed. But loud house music in the middle of the day when you are trying to read a novel is not what people go on holiday for. Anyone going there - do take the walk down the hill to Bitez, its very pretty and relaxing.

Room Tip: if you have mobility problems, advise the hotel in advance. The reception staff do try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmii_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel was exceptional, it was our first family holiday, me, my partner and 1 children. they catered for everyone. The animation team were fantastic, the hotel staff were amazing and very friendly. The food was great .. Everything is kept so clean. The entertainment at night was great . The pool was fab especially having a kids pool. We will definatley be returning. We had nothing at all to complain about. A massive thank you to Grand Newport Hotel for making our first holiday away so special. I would recommend this place to anyone of any age.

Room Tip: If you get a suit with a balcony looking out over the sea the view is beautiful. Definitly something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.6 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 97 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 97 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#9 of 97 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#12 of 97 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gumbet Cove Hotel
Gumbet Cove Hotel
#29 of 97 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Newport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Newport Hotel

Property: Grand Newport Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Cad No:83 Bodrum Merkez, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#11 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Newport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Grand Newport Gumbet
Grand Newport Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing