We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for an honest review...”
Review of WOW Bodrum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WOW Bodrum Resort
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Time for an honest review...”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I went to the WOW Resort Bodrum with a group of 6, which consisted of 3 couples (one couple in their 50s, one in their teens and one in their 20s).

First of all, having read the reviews about hypodermic needles being found on the beach, let me tell you this is absolute rubbish. The beach is thoroughly cleaned several times a day and I can only imagine it's a bitter competitor leaving these horrible reviews.

ROOMS
The rooms have a shabby-chic feel to them and are nice and clean. They are not the most modern but this wasn't a big problem for us -we spent most of our time at the beach or pool. We asked for 3 double rooms and got 2 doubles and 1 twin. This wasn't much of a problem as the 2 singles were just pushed together to make a double bed, and a small price to pay to have our rooms adjacent to each other. Mini bar was great, sometimes you have to ask for it to be stocked up but this wasn't a problem. Bottle of wine on arrival also. One of the rooms had a stain on the decorative bed cover which was quickly replaced when we mentioned it.

LOCATION
We had rooms at the back of the resort, 7131, 7132 and 7133. Lovely sea view, and it was reassuring to have the security staff at the gates right behind us. There was some warm air being extracted at the back (from the kitchens I imagine), didn't cause any issues whatsoever. The noise levels at night were a bit loud at times, but this was coming from the town center and not the resort. Once the doors were closed and the air con was on you could hardly hear it.

FOOD
We managed to eat at 2 of the 3 a la carte restaurants for evening meals. They were both lovely. All the restaurants are open to snacks or lunch throughout the day also, which is great if you miss the lunch at the buffet. Get up at 9am to book though or you might not get a place. We learnt the hard way!

The quality of the food is great, lots of choice, both for vegan, vegetarian and omnivore. The restaurants cater for both but you have to let them know in advance via customer relations by reception.
The booking system for the a la carte restaurants only allows bookings of up to 4 people. If you have a bigger group you must book through customer relations. This was actually much easier anyway and the staff were very helpful.

DRINKS
None of the drinks were watered down, I don't know why people write this in the reviews, it's utter rubbish. The pepsi is REAL pepsi, and they do diet pepsi too (which was good as one of our party is diabetic). The ice tea is also Lipton and it's lovely cold with ice (they do both peach and lemon). The only complaint with drinks is the cocktails -even though they use proper spirits poured from the bottle (which is great -all inclusives usually use pre-mixed cocktails), they would greatly benefit from some real fruit juice and a bit of fruit chucked in as well. Some of them were still nice though, especially the "watermelon cooler" at the pool bar.

POOLS/BEACH
There are two pools. The main pool, which has music and entertainment, as well as access to the pool bar and windmill bar. Nice and lively, great for kids. The relax pool was around the back of the resort, and had no music, with no inflatables etc allowed. We went here several times and it was lovely if you wanted somewhere to chillout without the boom boom of the music. You could only get beer and soft drinks at the bar though, but that's fine. We like beer! Both pools were extremely clean and well looked after.

The beach is a "shingle" beach, but don't let that put you off. There is still plenty of lovely sand for children to build sandcastles, and the only difference is it's a little coarser than your typical golden sand. The first part of the beach is sand all the way out, but the further you go along, the more rockier it gets in the water (this is a great place to go snorkeling. Go under the piers too, lots of beautiful sea life!). The beach is clean. No pestering from anyone trying to sell anything, which is another review I read before I went. Oh apart from one guy who sells sweetcorn on the cob for 4 lira, which were actually very yummy!! No pestering though, he just rolls his little sweetcorn cart up and down every now and then.

SLIDES/WATERSPORTS
The slides are great! The yellow one is best for kids, very gentle. The blue one is good for teens, or adults who want a bit of fun!! We tried the water sport too, we paid £15 each for a go on a round thing that was dragged behind a speedboat (can't remember the name). It was great fun and definitely got our moneys worth!
-Whilst we were there a couple went on the banana boat and fell in. The workers jumped of the piers and swam out to ensure they were alright, even though they were suited up in life jackets. This just shows the level of care of the staff.

We also had a go on the canoes, which are free of charge. They were great and we had a lovely time exploring the bay.

EVENING ENTERTAINMENT
The evening entertainment was lacking some nights. There is an amphitheater where the animation team hosts some shows, which are rubbish (!). Not a problem, pop up to the windmill bar for some good music and a drink. The turkish night at the amphitheater was great though, very proffesional.
Please, go to the BEACH PARTY. It was on our last night and it was so much fun. They have foam on the beach, a fire, food, hotdogs and the bar is open. We danced in the foam and then washed of in the sea, which was still lovely and warm. It was a great night and I'd highly reccomend it. The older couple that was with us (in their 50s) even enjoyed having a few drinks whilst watching everyone in the foam.

SPA
The older people of our party (a couple in their 50s) went for a turkish bath and massage, which cost about £30, but they said it was worth every penny. I do believe that they try to sell you more when you're in there, and you have to be quite firm to tell them you don't want it. Their skin did look amazing when they came out. Turkish bath is best to have on the first day of your holiday.

TOWELS
Don't bring your own beach towel! They give you a towel card which allows you to get clean beach towels every day.

Some people do "reserve" the deck chairs with towels, but if there's no one there just remove the towels and fold them up on the side. That's not the resorts fault, that's just people being ignorant.

TOWN/SHOPPING/MARKET
The Gumbet town has lots of little shops which sell lovely souvenirs and fakes if you're into that. But make sure you barter!! You can get atleast 50% off. They will pester you to come in the shop though!.
We also went to Bodrum for a day and went to the big market there. It's crazy, but definitely an experience. The minibus stops right outside the hotel and costs 3 lira each way per person.


OVERALL
I would give it 5/5 and I think we'll be back. The staff are so friendly and could not do enough to help. The resort is amazingly clean and caters for your every need. It is great for children, teens, young adults and the more mature couple. It is just so easy, you don't have to lift a finger.

Thank you WOW, for a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank AutomaticLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badeoral, Guest Relations Manager at WOW Bodrum Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear our guest,It is a great pleasure for us to hear your wonderful compliments about us. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful holiday at our hotel. I am aware that your comments will be a good motivation for all of us, therefore you can be assured that I will pass your comments to the departments. It will be a great opportunity for us to welcome you back at our hotel. Please feel free to contact me through badeoral@wowbodrum.com for any information and help you require for your future vacations. Kind Regards, Bade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    497
    190
    72
    45
See reviews for
724
805
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just returned from this hotel. This is one of the best we have stayed in,having been to Turkey over 30 times. We really enjoyed our stay. The only downfall were the rooms. They are in desperate need of a refurb. I understand from talking to other guests that some rooms have been done. Ours was very dated and sub-standard for such a nice hotel. Everything else was fantastic--variety of food,friendly staff,cleanliness,drinks options,entertainment team,free air con,free safe,free mini bar filled daily,location was on the edge of Gumbet,which was around 15 walk along the beach. Dolmus or taxi into Bodrum from right outside.

Room Tip: High floor has good sea view. We did not hear any noise coming from Gumbet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happyholidays092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badeoral, Guest Relations Manager at WOW Bodrum Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear our guest, thank you very much for all your nice comments. It is great to hear that you had a memorable holiday. It was a pleasure serving you and will be an honor to welcome you here again. Please do not hesitate to contact me by badeoral@wowbodrum.com for further help for your future vacations. Best regards, Bade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My 10yr old daughter and I have just returned from a 1 week holiday at WOW. We had a fantastic time there!! The service is excellent, I emailed a few weeks before we arrived and asked if it was possible to have a room in a quieter section of the hotel (as we had read reviews that it was a bit noisy in parts) and also if we could have a sea view. They met our request!! Which was fantastic. To be fair I have to agree with other reviews that the rooms are in need of a make over and the cleaning was ok but I had to clean our bathroom a few times because is wasn't as clean as I would like (but that could just be me). There are a lot of different nationalities there so everything is translated into each language, I liked that, it was nice to see so many different cultures. The food was excellent, there was so much to choose from and always somewhere you could eat at any time of the day, the snacks at 5.30pm by the pool went down a storm with my daughter (especially the waffles and chocolate) and the snac tent past the turkish restaurant was a big hit oh and also the patisserie for out afternoon icecream!! ( and i wonder why I have gained weight). The entertainment was good, and the king of wow show was very funny. all in all a brilliant holiday, I highly recommend this hotel for a fun filled week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilli88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badeoral, Guest Relations Manager at WOW Bodrum Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear our guest, It will be our honor to welcome you back at our hotel for another fascinating WOW holiday. I will also like to thank you on behalf of all the staff for your lovely praises, your comments were a great motivation for us. Please feel free to contact me through badeoral@wowbodrum.com for any information or help you require for your future vacations. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards, Bade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at WOW Bodrum for 10 days traveling with Thomas Cook at the end of June. Firstly don't be put off by the bad reviews- you can't please all of the people all of the time!
Check in was very fast and efficient- we even had our bags/cases taken to our room for us.
The rooms were fine, we had seen the pictures so knew what to expect but we did see rooms that looked recently renovated and much better than ours. They were clean an had nearly everything we needed. The mini bar does only have one of each beverage but we went to the relax pool bar and got ourselves a few extra beers to put in the mini bar. The safe is great and free of charge, the shower is great. The only downfall would be the bath needed replacing and there was no iron.
All of the outside areas were spotless, including the beach and the pool, there was a team continuously cleaning these areas.
The food was good in all restaurants, the Turkish being our favourite. We found that some of the people we were speaking to were unaware that you can eat in the la carte restaurants at lunch time (12-4 or 12-5) as many times as you want no booking required! The food in all of the la carte is next to none!
The entertainment was hit and miss, the Sunday night band are worth a watch, they even managed a request for me!
If you want to spend your day relaxing without and hassle then go to the relax pool, plenty of beds and very peaceful.
We went to Gumbet and Bodrum markets, we caught the dolmus in to Bodrum, 3TL and it drops you right in the centre, it's a green mini bus and you just wait outside the hotel, the driver will beep and you jump on. We also went on a Segway tour around Bodrum, 2 and a half hours and it was fantastic! We even went up to the windmills that are visible from the hotel. We enjoyed the water sports on the beach but make sure you bargain Tony down, by a package of 3 it works out much cheaper.
Guest relations are fantastic they were able to answer all of our questions and even provided scales so we could weigh our cases.
We eat at the Shanghai restaurant in town twice, both times we had fantastic meals.
Be careful when shopping as we bought shoes and we've just discovered they've given us 2 left feet! Also if you buy any perfume check they've given you the one that they showed you, they often show you something and put a different product in the bag!
Gumbet is loud of a night but after 2 nights we didn't notice it.
The balcony off the 24 hour bar is a beautiful place to sit of a night.
Overall worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn-419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badeoral, Guest Relations Manager at WOW Bodrum Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear our guest, thank you very much for all your compliments. You can be assured that we will always keep on working hard to deserve those nice words. I will pass your comments to all our staff as this is the greatest motivation for all of us. It was a pleasure and will be an honor to welcome you here for a memorable WOW Bodrum Resort holiday. Please do not hesitate to contact me for further help for your future vacations. Best regards, Bade badeoral@wowbodrum.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has everything, swimming pools - a quiet pool for a relaxing, a general pool for all the family and also a giant pool slide. It has it's own beach area. Food was great. All inclusive makes things so much easier. Spa facilities good also, although beware of them trying to sell you extra treatments during your booked treatment. Staff all really helpful and pleasant. Rooms clean and tidy (although we did have a problem with ants in the bathroom but not a major issue). Make sure you book a room away from the pool area if you want to have some peace in the mornings. The noise from the clubs in Gumbet (which is a short 10-15 min walk from hotel or 5 min taxi ride) can be heard in the distance until about 4am so if you are a light sleeper beware.
Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the pool with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badeoral, Guest Relations Manager at WOW Bodrum Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear our guest, thank you very much for all your great comments about us. It was a pleasure for us to serve you. I will pass your comments to all our staff as there is no greater motivation than your words. It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you here again. Please do not hesitate to contact me by badeoral@wowbodrum.com for further help for your future vacations. Best regards, Bade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have today returned from our third consecutive visit to Bodrum/Gumbet. We travelled with two friends who had not visited this hotel previously.

We originally stayed at the WOW resort in June 2012 with two adult children. It is fair to say we were completely blown away by everything this hotel has to offer for all ages.

In 2013 we were unsuccessful in reserving a booking at this hotel so stayed at a different hotel along the beach, which was not a patch on WOW resort.

So this year we booked early to ensure we were successful in staying at the location.

Since the original stay many areas have been refurbished, which is all very positive.

The hotel is situated in an excellent location to Gumbet. Not too close to nightlife but a pleasant stroll along the beach takes you to shops, bars and restaurants if you wish to venture out.

The quality of food is fantastic. There are four restaurants to chose from plus a cook your own BBQ on the beach in the evening. All food at each restaurant offered numerous choices and caters for all cultures and taste. Food and drink is available pretty much 24/7, with the main lobby bar serving late into the night.

The animation team work hard to entertain guests of all nationalities. There is an ampi-theatre for all evening shows, followed by further entertainment at the Windmill bar.

The positives overall are:
Central location
Private beach
Staff very friendly and helpful
Quality of food
Cleanliness in all locations
On-site spa and hairdressers
Caters for families with kids club and activities (although not experienced first hand)
Short bus ride away from Bodrum for nice marina area

Areas that would benefit from improvements:
Some rooms are tired and dated. Last year 160 rooms were refurbished and we did witness lots of new beds being delivered to many rooms. Bathrooms were tired and dated, although showers were excellent.
Carpet in bedrooms very worn, tiled floors in refurbished rooms looked much better
On-site shop had very rude woman who offended my husband and our friend whom we travelled with.

This hotel is a favourite hotel for our family and I will be looking to book for 2015 bringing our children and grand-children next year.

I personally recommend this hotel to both couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PenelopeRose66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badeoral, Guest Relations Manager at WOW Bodrum Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear our guest, First of all I would like to thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel. Your comments are great motivation for us to do even better, therefore I will pass on your message to all our staff. We will be glad to welcome you back once again at our hotel. Please feel free to contact me for any information you will need for your future vacations. Looking forward to seeing you very soon. Kind Regards, Bade badeoral@wowbodrum.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently stayed at WOW. Overall, the experience was more than satisfactory. Great location, hop on a shuttle bus and you find yourself downtown Bodrum in 20+ minutes. Great food, most of the staff was very friendly-some could smile more! Our room was clean, the furniture was old but in good shape. My only feedback would be around beverages, unfortunately the selection was very poor and the bar staff wasn't knowledgeable. For instance a margarita was only available in the lobby bar and when enjoying the pool, it was super inconvenient to go to the lobby bar-not to mention the need to change due to the dress code.

Special thanks to the entertainment team; they were very professional, friendly and fun. They did an excellent job!!

WIll definitely stay again next year and plan on bringing some friends from Canada.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have better view and privacy in the balcony. It's a big resort, stay cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDNGlobetrotter79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badeoral, Guest Relations Manager at WOW Bodrum Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear our guest,It is a great pleasure for us to hear your wonderful compliments about us. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful holiday at our hotel. I am aware that your comments will be a good motivation for all of us, therefore you can be assured that I will pass your comments to the departments. It will be a great opportunity for us to welcome you back at our hotel. Please feel free to contact me through badeoral@wowbodrum.com for any information and help you require for your vacation next year. Kind Regards, Bade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.3 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 100 in Gumbet
1,668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#13 of 100 in Gumbet
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 100 in Gumbet
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 100 in Gumbet
735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#6 of 100 in Gumbet
189 reviews
11.6 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#2 of 9 in Guvercinlik
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WOW Bodrum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WOW Bodrum Resort

Property: WOW Bodrum Resort
Address: Adnan Menderes Str., Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#6 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — WOW Bodrum Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, located at the famous Gumbet Bay, consists of 496 rooms in total. The lobby of the hotel has the fantastic view of Gumbet Bay. Rooms have either balcony or terrace. Check in time is 14:00 and check out time is 12:00. There is 1 main restaurant (open buffet breakfast, lunch, dinner, midnight & late snacks) and 4 A’la Carte Restaurants: Turkish, Italian, Mediterranean are free of charge and Mangal Park is giving service with extra charge. For every one week stay, guests may use each free a’la carte restaurant once. A’la Carte Restaurants are at service 6 days a week. Dress code is required. Baby corner, diet and vegetarian menu are served at the main restaurant. You can enjoy yourself with our fabulous views at one of our 7 bars. You can join our daily activities such as Aquagym, beach volley, mini football, basketball, darts, jogging,water polo,tennis, bicycle tours,step, aerobic or adapt yourself to the lazy beach life. Cabarets, shows and live music are only some of the night activities. We have watersports for every taste! Catamaran, wind surf, sailing, fishing are only some of them. Come and discover the rest with us… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your WOW Bodrum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wow Resort Bodrum Hotel Gumbet
Wow Bodrum
Bodrum Wow Hotel
Wow Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing