We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For your own safety read on”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gizem Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gizem Apartments
Ranked #88 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For your own safety read on”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

In general the apartments are filthy.
Within the mouldy rotten bathrooms you have a shower tray which takes over an hour to drain once filled, so after one person has had a shower the bathroom floods, and the toilet has never seen any form of bleach or cleaner since the day it was installed.
The so called kitchen area is not fit for purpose and I would certainly not attempt to cook in it until it had been decontaminated.
I travelled with a party of 18 people. Between our party we had 5 apartments, and each was the same, proving mine was definatley not a one off. I had to ask for my bedding to be changed after 6 days and was met with a grunt, almost as if I had asked for something out of the ordinary.
The most worrying part of these apartments was the attitude and behaivour of the manager 'Archie'.
From what I have witnessed myself and been told from other guests, Archie is only happy when he is making money from unsuspecting people and he will achieve this, even if it means going to extreme lengths to rip you off. Archie is threatening, rude, aggressive and violent. Below is a list of incidents which occured whilst I was at the apartments.
* Within your apartment their are two lists (I have attached photographs) stating you have to pay for any missing, damaged or dirty items. My apartment had 2 missing items from the kitchen which I informed Archie about shortly after my arrival, he then assured me these when be replaced the next day, this never happened. You will be charged for any dirty towels, this includes, towels you use to mop up the water with from your leaking shower, towels or bedding which may have the reamins of sun cream on after showering or towels which are given to you already dirty. I spent my holiday worrying about whether my children had dirty feet or would sweat out sun cream in the night and dirty the bedding.

*Two females and their children were thrown out into the street after refusing to pay £26:00 for dirty towels. Archie had been into their room whilst they were out, packed their suitcases and taken their passports and would not return them until they paid. Archie was very aggressive, shouting and swearing at the pair and eventually other guests had to step in and help them. Only when the pair began to ring the police, did Archie give them their belongings back, but then threw them out of the apartments. Many guests were frightened by this experience.

*Another family were charged £25:00 for dirty towels and were asked to pay on a credit card. Archie then told them that the transaction had failed and they would have to reapeat the process, when they asked to see evidence of the failed transaction, Archie again became agressive. Once the situation had been resolved, Archie made the family sign a declaration stating they would not write about their experience on any review pages.

*When I arrived at the apartments the pool table was free to use, it then went to 1TL, then a few days later 2TL, obviously Archie had realised the children were using it often. After an arguement with my friend over her 11 year old son playing pool, Archie declared the pool table was for over 18's only.

*Originally one of the party I had travelled with booked my airport transfers directly with Archie, but after finding a better deal we cancelled them. On my arrival Archie asked me to pay £60:00. He claimed he did not know my transfer had been cancelled and he had to pay the £60:00, so I had to pay him. My friend then brought up the email cancelling the transfers on the computer, Archie claimed he did not recieve this email. Archie said the only way we would not have to pay the £60:00 was for all 18 people in our party to eat at his restaurant and spend the night at his bar. To avoid anymore confrontation, we agreed to this, obviously spending far more than £60:00.

*The internet that is available for guests at a payable rate, is turned off half way through your session. Any attempt to argue your point that you have paid, is met with an un-interested Archie.

*I walked through the bar area with soft drinks and crisps for my children, and was questioned over why I had not purchased them from the bar, I tried to explain that the apartments were self catering and that I was able to take items from the shop up to my room, but was told in future to purchase them from the bar.

In every bar or restaurant we visited, the staff always asked if you were enjoying your holiday and where you were staying. When you said you were staying at Gizem apartments, the locals told you to be very wary of Archie, due to his behaivour. One even told us how Archie had held a gun to a guests head over dirty linen. Locals claimed Gizem apartments were ruining the reputuation of Armulutan.

I did not save up my money all year to go on holiday to met with this outrageous behaviour.

For your own sanity DO NOT BOOK THESE APARTMENTS !!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    3
    4
    7
    25
See reviews for
19
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

I stand by everything the clients in the above/below reviews say re the "Gizem" and it's manager Archie/Sharon. We like you work hard for our money and wish to spend it in clean surroundings, we are entitled to a safe and happy enviorment, we should receive at least a basic good value for money holiday - but we did not! The Gizem's manager "Archie" failed to fill his side of the contract, he has fallen way short of our expectations! He treats people as if they are beneath is shoe, I know the Gizem was at the lower end of the spectrum but, clients are still entitled to clean appts, and they should always be treated with respect. "Archie/Sharon" are both obsessed with charges for this and that, everyone who was on holiday at th time we were there said they would all write reviews on as many websites as possible to make people aware of this hell hole! book somewhere else! if you want value an basic cleanlyness!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank September007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gumbet hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Archie the manager threw me, my sister and two young children on to the street after having to pay £26.00 for clean towels which hadn't been changed for nine days, the whole apartment was never cleaned,!!! My sister videod me paying the £26.00 as proof of me paying and was told to put her camera off or he would stick it up her xxxx. The video will be put on you tube under Gizem apartments if you want to view it!! We came back from an evening out to find our room ransacked and our cases missing. It was an absolute disgrace!! Please don't go, book somewhere else. The manager Archie is rumoured a gun which he aparently held to a tourists head last year. many of the locals said this stoy was true!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine_suggitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Arrıved at our orıgınal destınatıon(destıny apartments) whıch we booked 12 months ago. When the rep left owner came over and ınformed us that they were overbooked and SHE had sorted ıt for us to stay at her frıends apartments called GIZEM. We were not happy but as we were unable to get hold of a rep we felt we had no choıce but to go there. On arrıval they dıdnt look too bad, wıth a nıce bıg pool and surroundıng area. However on seeıng our room ıt was a dıfferent matter. FILTHY ıs the only word to descrıbe the condıtıon of the rooms. Dead flees on beds and floor and sheets and towels dırty and staıned. The kıtchen and bathroom were not fıt for purpose. We wıtnessed the unhappy staff cleanıng bar and pool area wıth the dırtıest mop ı have ever seen! We were also wıtness to several heated arguments between guests and manager who was wantıng to charge extorsıonate amounts for towels and sheets that could not be cleaned properly due to holıdaymakers dırtyıng them! One party of 2 gırls were refusıng to pay the €80 he was wantıng to charge them so when they went out he went to theır room packed theır bags and threw them out. When they returned and other guests trıed to help the young gırls the manager became very aggressıve and polıce were called. All the guests we spoke to were wantıng to be moved to other accomadatıon and nobody felt safe there. Luckıly holıdays 4 u acted very quıckly when they learned of our sıtuatıon and moved us wıthın the hour to more suıtable accomadatıon. I would not reccomend you waste your money goıng to these apts and would also be very wary of also bookıng Destıny apartments just ıncase you to are moved to theır so called frıends apartments.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mothermakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Arrived at Gizzem apartments on the 18th July to be welcomed by archie and his wife , well if you can call it a welcome ! they didnt even have a room for us when we got there, we had to wait 8 hours for a room! bareing in mind we had traveled all through the day and was shattered, we didnt get our room till 3 in the morning. For the whole two weeks of our stay we didnt have any clean bedding , not once did the maid even clean the floor , the most she would do was clean your bins and that was it! By the way make sure you lock everything up in your suitcase many guests had stuff go missing and a couple we new had some earings stolen. What made this place worse was the staff especially archie! they were rude and unwelcomming. We always go self catering so we can go out on a night and do what we like :) but if you choose not to eat here the staff basically disown you and make your holiday as difficult as possible, it took me three days to get a pillow changed! They tend to make up a lot of rules as they go along to get more money out of you! as much as we hated these apartments we love marmaris and will go back to there again , just never staying at gizzem!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dah_nye_ale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

This hotel is the worst hotel ive ever stayed in. We payed to have air conditioning however they turned the electricity of at night which is unbelievable. The towels and bed sheets we were given were poor make, dirty and stained. The hotel owner and his wife were no help to us and were really rude and generally horrible people. when it came to leaving we had little money left on us and he charged us for having dirty towels, which where given to us dirty and we had cleaned them. The manager wouldn't let us go until we payed the money, which we didn't have, he wouldn't let us get on to the coach that took us to the airport. Eventually we could go but he had to pay for a taxi to the aiport, this was a really bad experience and the whole holiday was a nightmare, i wouldnt recommend this hotel to any, i wouldn;t even reccommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellor-1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

i went in a group of 5 girls. when we first arrived at 6am we were not shown to our rooms so we found them ourselves. our passports were kept in a open pigeon hole and could easily have been snatched by a passer by. we loved exploring the town and so at night we prefered to walk to local bars and eat at nearby restaurants, the manager did not like that we didn't spend money in his bar which we had to walk past to leave. We were coming back in one night and the manager said to us over the microphone infront of many guests 'I hope you girls do not come back to Turkey'. To end the holiday he tried to charge us for the towels which had got durty after being used all week and not being changed. We disagreed with him and left. When we came to get our coach 20mins early we found out that it had arrived much early than expected, the manager lied to the driver and told him that we had made our own way to the airport! as a group of 21year old girls we were very scared at the thought of not being able to get home!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.1 mi away
Ketenci Hotel
Ketenci Hotel
#95 of 234 in Marmaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candan Beach Hotel
Candan Beach Hotel
#92 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Selen
Hotel Selen
#182 of 234 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tekin Apartments
Tekin Apartments
#48 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Palmea
Hotel Palmea
#58 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunprime Beachfront Hotel
Sunprime Beachfront Hotel
#41 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gizem Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gizem Apartments

Property: Gizem Apartments
Address: Kemal Seyfettin Elgin BulvarI No 8/1, Gumbet 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Gizem Apartments Gumbet
Gizem Apartments Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing