We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holiday ever - DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Eken Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eken Resort Hotel
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Gumbet
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worst holiday ever - DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We decided to have our holiday in Turkey this year and chose our hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews.
We arrived after a painless flight, got our transfer minibus and that's where it all started to go wrong.
Arrived in Gumbet but the driver didn't have a clue where the hotel was - we saw the sign and after having to go round the one-way system again were dropped off at the top of the road and left to walk to the hotel.
Checked in and went to our room - hideous. Old scratched and dirty furniture, only a thin blanket on the bed and the lumpiest pillows you have ever seen. Horrific.
Complained, asked to be moved and for a duvet - given the same thin blanket and the guy that brought it stood and waited for a tip - which he didn't get.
Food - awful. By day 3 I was ill and actually spent 2 days in bed. Hardly ate anything from the hotel for most of the holiday. Same food every day. Plates were whisked away from under your nose, before you'd finished. Only positive about the hotel were the bar staff. They work from morning to night and they work really hard. I don't think the hotel manager is particularly pleasant though - he is usually seen wandering around doing nothing or eating plate after plate of food at mealtimes. Not a friendly man.
Small and very cold pool - not enough sunbeds and the plastic grass around the pool burnt your feet (plastic + 40 degree heat doesn't work).
The beach was 100ft away, covered in fag butts and was never cleaned. You are constantly accosted by the locals who hang around in groups and try to force rotten dying roses and cheap beaded bracelets onto you.
The only place we enjoyed was one of the beach restaurants called Mistral Bay. Great food, great service and we went back 5 times (despite being all inclusive).
If you want to go into town it's 3 mins walk away, then you get constantly hassled by people outside every shop trying to sell you cheap imitation clothes and shoes and perfume - don't buy it, it's water.
If you want a cheap 18-30 holiday to go out clubbing and get wasted every night, don't care where you sleep or the quality of food then this is the place for you.
If you want a comfortable hotel, decent beds, a decent pool, edible food and to not get harassed for money by staff or street sellers as soon as you step outside your room, DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Clarelexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    84
    48
    34
    21
See reviews for
77
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Not the best start to a holiday, certainly not when you arrive late evening!! But after being assured by the Reception Manager - lovely chap named Endin - that we could stay in the Hotel next door, just for the night, "we have room for you tomorrow", and additional bribe of cocktails , me and my bezzy gfriend decided to cut our loses an trust Endin. After all 'next door' was run by uncle/cousin/brother, which seems to be Parr for the course in Turkey - keep it in the family springs to mind!! So following day after breakfast in Eken we had a choice of rooms - 222 Very nice!! I could waffle in great length about room clean/bedding change/towel change, in truth it was daily. There is nothing wrong with the food! I don't go away to eat British brekkies or meat and 2 veg - plenty of choice for breakfast/lunch/evening meal. Don't expect steak and chips very night, but they know a good few chicken recipes!! All the staff are friendly and try hard to do their best. We stayed for a week mid Sept the weather was fantastic sunny every day with a lovely breeze. You make your own entertainment here, there is a good pool area, I never found the shallow end, and the beach is a short schlep in flip flops. Wouldn't give the hotel beach 10/10, down to the smokers I'm afraid but you can walk along the front and go anywhere else the fancy takes you. Gumbet bay/beach is great for people watching. Special mention to Ziya and Selim who work at Eken, Masseuse/Turkish baths and yes they prob charge a bit more than comparable in Gumbet- but we aren't talking a ransom - In my opinion they take more care because trade for them is down largely to recommendations, and they were honestly v v good. If you fancy a boat trip - I'm glad we did thanks again to Ziya for introducing us to Nori - Nori is an agent for Gumbet sailing collective and he sits in a kiosk touting for business right on Eken beach - book with Nori, he will do as he says and look out for you so that on the day you have fun!! Our week shot past, far too quickly!! Would we go again? Yes...in a heartbeat! It wasn't the lap of luxury, but we felt very at home, we were despite initial hitch, very well looked after, the Hotel was spotless, the staff were wonderful. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms near the reception in quiet area. We were on top floor step away from terrace but never had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reebeJeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends for a week 29th Sept to 6th Oct (We are all in our mid 30's).
In all we had a great time & this hotel (minus the quite steep hill) is a great location only 10mins walk into Bar street (But not in heels as i said before there is a steep hill in & out of the hotel) although you can walk the beach way (only 2mins at the back of the hotel).
The hotel was very clean & the staff that we encountered were very friendly & polite.

Upon arriving we found the room quite small in that there wasnt much room between the beds & the tv unit. Also the room seemed quite dark we think maybe lighter furniture & newer lamp shades could help.

We had requested a quiet room but was put in room 333 which is right next to the bar. However this time of the year it wasnt too noisy but high season could be. We aksed the manager Engin Kurtaran to be moved but as the hotel was full he was unable to do so.
We also said that we had paid extra to have a room which slept 3 adults & a child thinking we would get a sofa bed as all rooms have 1 single & 1 double bed. Engin said that they only have 2 rooms different one had a double bed with bunk beds & the other had 1 double and 2 sngle beds and that all rooms were the same price. This issue we will be taking up with Travel Republic whom we booked with and feel had fasely advertised the rooms on their website.

The next day whilst taking a shower the head of the shower came off twice but after speaking with Engin the shower was fixed within 10mins. Then the air conditioning unit started leeking so i took another trip to reception and again this was fixed within 10mins.

On about the 3rd night there was a screeching noise outside on the balcony which turned out to be the large plant against the window but they came and tied it back and the noise was gone. There was also a leak under the sink which once again Engin true to his word had fixed within 10mins. (So if you do stay in this room all faults should now be fixed lol).

Although we had a few problems overall we were extreamly happy with the service we received from Engin & the maintenance staff and could not fault them in any way. Even when we asked for extra pillows thay were brought up right away.

Like others have said the breakfast was the only meal we found not to our taste but for 4 lira and & 2 min walk along the beach we found a full english on offer at the Mistra Bay Prime Steak & Wine House. And the staff there were also very welcoming & friendly.

However the food at both lunch & dinner in the Eken was perfect and we always managed to find something to eat & i would recommend the Pasta at dinner it's lovely. Also the snack bar food was always nice something different every day. Plus there is tea & biscuits & cake late afternoon.

We were out most evenings in Bar Street and found that although we were constantly asked to go into this bar & that and this shop & that we found them all to be pretty friendly really. A note to all girls apparently we all look like Shakira & Jordon lol.

We found shopping locally was just as cheap as the market with hand bags,trainers & Hoodies around £10 - £15. All seemed very well made too. An added note is they accept English pounds and Euros so you have a choice of how to pay.

We found that Bodrum airport was quite expensive so we brought a few snacks before we got there which id recommend if you have kids.

Like i said before all in all we have a great week away and i would return to both Gumbet and the Eken resort. (I agree with past comments though that the Eken should be 3* not 4*)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

just got back from 2 great weeks at the Eken resort hotel.
where to start.

the room was a good size good shower over the bath, Cleaned everyday i think with clean towels and sheets changed 3 times a week

Food if you want a full english dont book you wont get one but what you will get a good selection of fabulous food.

Breakfast always has bolied eggs on some days fried or scrambled as well.some days omelettes made in front of you all manner of cold meats, and olives and cheeses lots of different breads warm croissants, 2 cereals 4 sorts of fruit juices,Yoghurts and fruit Coffee machines tea in pots there's cold water dispensers, and they didnt mod you topping up your water bottles.

Dinner always 2 sorts of meats fresh vegetables chips pizza a vast array of salads and pickles and olives and more

Evening meals 2 meats and always fish, pasta cooked in front of you To be honest there's loads of wonderful food you wont be disappointed

Alchohol.. Start at 10am Vodka Gin Whiskey Raki all good and strong big measures,The cold beer is very nice makes achange at all inclusive white wine okish red not bad They do cocktails for extra and when the bar shuts at midnight you can pay for more and its cheap

Snacks throughout the day pizza chips kebabs hotdogs quite good

The staff are so helpful and friendly always cleaning up

VIP the pool is deep not suitable for young children clean and warm

The beach is across the way 2/3 mins walk free sunbeds.

Entertainment 1 or 2 times a week Turkish nights

I couldnt fault the Hotel and would highly recommend it.

Out and about. Its easy and cheap

Go out the hotel turn left go up the steep hill turn left at The Mexican on the corner glance down the road and at the road junction look on your right you will see a blue sign and a blue post consider it the bus stop. Wait there for a blue mini bus with this on it No1 and BARDAKCI (Bar dachee) itll have Bodrum on it costs 3 lira 1 £ takes 10-15 mins. It drops you off at the bus station. From there you can get everywhere and its cheap The places are on the windows. When you want to come back catch the same bus. because it will drop you off at the mexican or the blue stop tell him Eken anyway. Getting off when the bus turns round on the beach youll know and goes back on the road when you see the medical centre stand up as Ekens around the bend IF YOU GET on a green bus back from Bodrum itll drop you off down town so keep to the blue they run every 10 or 15 mins

We went on a boat trip and the Aqua Park and to KOS we found the cheapest tour place was Queens Travel.. Go through the town up Bar Street and turn left at the OUTBACK Bar down the road on the right ask for Ozscar hes very helpfull. He actually took us round the corner to the cheapest and friendliest bar in the town The Terrace Bar, a Pint of Effes 4 lira it ranges from 4 to 10 llra in the town. Opposite is the cheapest Kebabs 3 lira.

The Eken Resort is one of the best holidays ive had they are so helpfull

theres a baggage room and a room set aside fro a shower for late flights

I think ive covered most things e mail me if you need to know anything

The Oasis shopping centre is massive go round the corner of the blue bus top turn right follow the road till it come to an end at a T junction look across the road you will see the main road steps between shops ahead of you gets you to the main road turn left the walk over will be ahead of you as the Oasis is on the other side of the road.

To get to Bitez Beach this is where you can get on and be dropped off you dont have to go to Bodrum to get to Bitez

Go to Turgretreis Market Via Bodrum the bus drops you off at the market. its very cheap Gumbet is cheaper than Bodrum for shopping and food.

Room Tip: had room 326 handy for the terrace bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank everhopeful82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Pros: The staff was very nice - Yusuf and Kadir especially :) Not all of them speak perfect English, but come on - we did not expect them to be so fluent in EN. The food was great! There was a decent variety, everything fresh and made in the hotel's kitchen. There is a breakfast, late breakfast, noon and then afternoon sweets/hot dogs/burgers... Dinner and then late dinner (soup etc.) Drinks are OK, beer is not the best, but it's OK. It was OK for kids too, as there is a small kid's pool. Most people in the period we have visited were from Germany, UK, Poland. Mostly old couples or young couples with kids - no problems like noise etc. which was good!
The hotel is very near the beach, 30 meters from the small buses that would take you to Bodrum town (3 km away from hotel). Nice location.


Cons: One day the towels were torn - you can tell they have been overused... Must replace the old towels! The staff in the restaurant had pretty nice uniforms, but some of them was torn or with stains - Hotel managers -> definitely give those boys some new decent uniforms, please!!!
One morning the house keepers started cleaning a room at 8:00 am!!! It was a huge noise, it was the room next to us and it was not pleasant at all! Must NOT clean the rooms at all times, also during the afternoon rest... Also, no fruits on breakfast - should have some!
These really small things did not ruin out vacation, but this is only because the pros were so much more than the cons... If we were not so happy with everything else, then the things described above would definitely piss me off. Overall, the hotel must really be ***, not ****. That is mo opinion. It is one perfect *** hotel!

Room Tip: On the first floor the terraces are literally in the garden, so you may expect cats to go into your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalinaKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Came back from the Eken Resort Hotel on Monday night(23rd sept).Stayed for 7 days,good location right by the beach(1 min walk literally),nice pool and decent size for the hotel size.Although if your not 6 ft plus you wont be able to touch the bottom at any point in the pool.But wasn't a problem for me(!!).Good helpful staff especially the older fella on reception who was always so helpful.Even let us have another room key to have a shower just before we got picked up to go home via the airport.The staff are always on the ball,cleaning around the tables at meal times,the rooms were tidy each day we were there.Fresh bedding and always had good attitudes.The manager(Jeff) is always on the ball keeping everything/every staff member in check and making sure everyone is happy and safe.Even when the downstairs bar is closed he served us,even at 4am after we arrived and needed a drink(soft drink honest!).Couldn't do enough for you.The rooms were above average.Everything you would want just to lay your head,with very comfortable beds,we slept like babies each night.If theres one disappointment about this hotel however,its the food and drink.The beer(tuborg) constantly bloated my stomach and after having 7-8 beers in the first few days I didn't bother drinking beer again in the hotel.Also the Fanta orange had the same effect.The vodka was decent so stayed with that! If your after an English breakfast or anything even close you will be very disappointed.Each morning all they had were eggs eggs and 'eggs'.Obviously bread/toast is there but the 'cream' like butter put me off.We ended up having breakfast out for 5 of the 7 days we were there.The mistral bay(next to windy bay) bar just to the right when you turn onto the beach is great for an English breakfast and very very cheap.As our the normal meals.you can get a large beer/soft drink each and have burger and chips each for £3 each! The other meals at the Eken were pretty much what you expect from an all inclusive hotel.Lots of chicken,fish dishes and plenty of rice pasta and salad.meat balls are also on the menu quite a lot.I thought it was decent but my other half is quite a fussy eaten so we again eat out alot down the bars along the beach.Be careful when asked for a Turkish bath.We got charged/ripped off 210 lira(105 each) for a Turkish bath/massage.You can get the same deal anywhere along the beach for 50 lira each(!!!) obviously I found this out after paying so the next day after having our Turkish bath I was quite annoyed especially when the two lads(brothers) asked me for a tip and laughed.I said to them I will give you 50 lira each...too which their eyes lit up.Afterwards I explained to one of the brothers I saw same deal down at the beach for 50 lira each so with us paying 105 each 50 lira of that was their tip :) they were rather annoyed and didn't speak to me for the rest of the holiday! The entertainment was pretty average,they had a Turkish belly dancer on twice(one of which was a man!).Theres plenty of nice places down gumbet beach to eat,we had a few meals at Dennys bar which had very good staff and lovely food.Plenty of tvs to watch the footy too! If your looking for something different get a taxi/bus to bitez beach just around the corner.Its the nicer beach with even nicer bars.You don't seem to get bothered much either.Gumbet beach has a fair few men walking up and down the beach who pester you.Watch out for the men with bracelets and roses.They start asking you were your from,if your having a nice time then say they have a gift for you.Either a rose or bracelet or both.Then ask for a tip! These people are conmen and are constantly out to get money out of your pockets,they got me on the first night,but next 6 nights I wasn't having any of it.You can get alot of cheap deals in gumbet/turkey regarding clothes.Make sure you haggle with the price though,alot of shop keepers will see you coming and start off higher than what their actually worth.Dont pay more than 25-30 lira for 3 t shirts,i managed to get quite a few things for half what they asked me in the first place.Watch out for the aftershaves too,dont pay out even if the shop keeper says their not fake,because they certainly are! Also the sizes of the t shirts are different to the UK so make sure you ask to see them out the packet! All in all it was a very decent holiday.The hotel was really nice and clean with good staff.Slightly disappointing on the food/drink(beer :( ) but still its a nice place.I would give the hotel 7/10 but would of been 9/10 if the beer was decent and didn't make me look 30 stone! Wont be going all inclusive again though to turkey.Self catering for me next year to bitez! Dave.

Room Tip: away from the terrace bar.nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

a fantastic hotel to visit food is excellent, rooms are clean, the restaurant manager ceujef could not have been more helpful he was so impressive going out of his way to make you feel welcome it was like coming home and being welcomed into your long lost family. the food was fresh and tasty every mealtime. the pool area clean and inviting this hotel is fantastic and i would send any member of my family and friends here to guarantee them a good holiday. lots of activities in the surrounding area a perfect location for any age group.

Room Tip: thier is no need to worry about getting a good roomas they are all of the same standard this is exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.5 mi away
Bodrum Nova Suites Hotel -All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
Ayaz Aqua
Ayaz Aqua
#14 of 100 in Gumbet
297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riva Bodrum Resort
Riva Bodrum Resort
#7 of 100 in Gumbet
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Flora
Club Hotel Flora
#32 of 100 in Gumbet
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shark Club
Shark Club
#6 of 100 in Gumbet
680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 100 in Gumbet
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eken Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eken Resort Hotel

Property: Eken Resort Hotel
Address: Osman Nuri Bilgin Cad.1510. Sok. No: 8, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eken Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eken Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eken Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing