We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location if you aren't too fussy about the room....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siesta Beach Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Siesta Beach Apartments
belfast
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great location if you aren't too fussy about the room....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Arrived the first week of sept to major sunshine and around 32 degrees, with the locals finding it chilly!!
Came into reception and treated by two lads who got us quickly checked in. As I had stayed in Turkey before we got through the drill of paying for safety deposit box and air con very quickly.

We had a room up some stairs and along a lovely pathway full of vines and flowers looking out to the hills. The room itself then was in a little block of about five side by side.......a little terrace in the shade (which was welcome) and shall we say errr basic. Even more basic than the one I had stayed in before....

Living area, fine, sofa thing, small table, dodgy tv with a few channels and a kettle that didn't turn off. Bedroom...two beds, a wardrobe and some drawers. Oh and a window that didn't open, which was actually out to someplace we could never see as when we turned our lights on a light went on out there too. Weird.

Anyways basic it was but we are not there for the room.

Everything super close by. Beach is amazing. Take the bother to walk down abit to were the hammocks are....we had a fabulous lazy day down there, a super lunch, glass of beer and then some glorious waffles with fruit and ice cream from the restaurant behind us....if you get some food or drinks there they do not charge for the hammocks or beds.

Food, well the steaks are amazing. The closer you are to centre of own the more you pay. But we honestly paid the equivalent of £18 for both of us having garlic mushrooms, 10 oz steaks with everything going, melon, coffee, a btl of wine and a beer.....not to shabby.
Best places are The Mistral and Windy Bay. The bars etc along the sea front are nice and quiet but once you go up the side of The Mistral and up into town things get more lively.

Book some trips! Especially water sports.....so so so cheap!! We did parasailing and it was fantastic. Really well run and safe as houses.

Buy your fake goods and pay the REP for extra luggage allowance, it was £15 for an extra 5 kg....well worth it!

The hotel itself was fine, and you can use the place next door the Tropicana which was far better. Nicer pool, more craic at the bar etc. Siesta at night was dead as a door nail which suited us, coming back around 1-2am we didn't have to fight our way back to our room. We didn't eat at the hotel at all.....oh we had one lunch by the pool...it was grand, nothing special but nice service and no drama. Good thing is the siesta has two pools , the roof top one was fab with a nice breeze.

All in all a great week away, cheap as chips and no crowds of looney toons going mad! Lots of kids about and the staff are lovely.

It does what it says on the tin....

Room Tip: If you don't like anything say nicely....get all uppity and you will get nowhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MandyTaylor72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    139
    66
    40
    39
See reviews for
201
119
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very good location, several meters to the beach. Staff is friendly, they speak English, some people knows Russian. I stayed there at the end of season, at 9-15 October, so rooms was very cheap.
Also there where bad things in the hotel. We stayed in first floor, it was located under mountain, so one evening I saw one very big spider in the room, I was very scared. In the bathroom where several problems cabins door worked very hard, and shower was broken. In the beach there are a lot of dogs, and they make some uncomfortably situation, in the evening even thay can be dangerous, they walk with groups.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrashalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Good all round hotel. Stayed in one of the rooms at the back by the top pool - good if you don't want to be kept awake by music from other bar. Pool just outside the door, with quieter bar also serving food. Marvelous view.
Used the hotel Hamam, massage not as good as one in town - but as was one to one could strip down, so had good scrub & well worth it. More relaxing as not loads of people around.
Hotel at end of the road, where bus turns & stops right outside. London Transport could learn something!
Short walk into town & away from the husttle & bustle - feels safe at night even as lone female :0)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Had an amazing time at these apartments. The staff were lovely and the apartments were kept very clean. Lots of entertainment each night. Right on the beach and very close to the town centre. Would definitely go back here if returning to Gumbet!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HyperBunny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed her in September it was lovely place the apartment was very clean it had everything in the kitchen you could want, it was lovely and quiet an suited us to the ground, we went up to the pool at the top bar it had great views of gumbet and staff were lovely, it was a 10 minute walk to the centre of gumbet which was fine. Lunchtime menu was nice but dinner menu I'd recommend to go out and eat wasn't great, well be back to stay there when we go back had a lovely relaxing holiday really enjoy it

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

just come back from a 2 week stay and cant fault the hotel one bit. its a 5 minute walk away the town centre the beach is on the door step. the only thing i could say is that if you like a good nights sleep the music at the bar is rather loud but when i was there it wasnt every night.. even though i didnt spend much time in there only because the party of people i was with was stayin next door and i can still say i had a good time.. the staff are very friendly the rooms are basic but then how long do u really spend in your rooms? so to sum up the last 2 week its been an all round winner.. dont take any negative comments on people just like to have a moan :-)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank kayleigh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

As an older couple and having read earlier TA reviews, we emailed in advance to ask for an apartment near the top (quieter) pool which got a bit of sun in the afternoons. As the coach was approaching the hotel, everyone remarked on the very loud music which could be heard even from inside the coach from about a half mile away. When we actually got out at our hotel, we realised it was coming from our hotel bar. It was deafening. We were tired and ready for bed but when we registered we were given an apartment about 20 metres from the bar and even with every door/window shut it was still deafening. Went back to reception to ask for a change of room, but were told to come back in the morning. We decided to go out for a drink and returned at about 2am. Music still blasting away even though there were only about 4 people at the bar. Eventually switched off around 3.30am and we were finally able to get some sleep. Got down to reception around 9.30am to be met with a queue of people asking for room changes. Got to the front and repeated our request for a quieter room with afternoon sun. Got the quieter room but it got no sun at all. Would have asked for another change but were given the impression that there were none available, However, we realised pretty soon that the hotel was half empty. We also met this couple who were re-allocated a quiet room with sun all day even though they didn't ask for or want the sun and had to sit outside their front door to get some shade. Where's the point in that? After a few days the music seemed to be turned down quite substantially so that it was at least bearable.
The hotel and grounds were really nice and beautifully maintained. The top pool had no music, thank goodness, and was relatively quiet. There were around 50 beds (all beds have cushions) and for the first 10 days there were maybe 15/20 people there. Then a party of 12/15 Dutch people arrived who were extremely noisy. They were in the age range of 50 to 65 so should have known better. That all sounds old-fogeyish but I'm all for people having a good time as long as their enjoyment doesn't spoil other people's. The view from the top pool over the bay was stunning.
We had two cleaners, a man and a woman. Having ascertained that my wife liked to sleep late, they came every morning before she was up and just emptied the toilet bins. I think the apartment was cleaned fully once in the fortnight. In every other hotel we have been to there are door cards which have "Do not disturb/clean the room" None here. We were in Hisaronu ealier this year and the cleaning lady, realising my wife's sleeping pattern did not clean our apartment until the afternoon. These two were just plain lazy.
We had a meal in the hotel and I wasn't very impressed. The food was acceptable but well overpriced compared to most of the restaurants in the centre, which were only a 10 minute walk away along the beach. Apart from the room problem, the reception staff were excellent and always willing to give helpful advice and directions etc.
We have been to Gumbet 10/12 times over the past 11 years and our general impression this time was that the resort had become rather tired and shabby. There were lots of dogs running loose and where there are dogs, there is dog sh**. The beaches and surrounding areas were not cleaned and there were lots of empty water bottles/beer cans and other rubbish blowing around. The paths were mostly brick paving and in need of major repairs. The tourism industry in Turkey has been going for quite some time now and it would seem that none of the tourist income is being used to improve the facilities. The worst/best example is the practice of putting used toilet tissue in a bin. it's disgusting and the authorities should do something about upgrading the drains/sewage system.
Having said all that, we had a marvellous holiday. All the restaurants we used werem of a very high standard. The Mistral and Windy Bay plus Columbia and Parrot serve great food at a decent price - Soup, steak and a free bottle of wine for two for around £20. If pressed for the best, we would probably go for Mistral although Windy Bay did the best Full English and Parrot is perfectly placed to watch the changing shifts i.e. all of us oldies going back to the hotels to sleep while the kids are just coming out to play. One other thing, there are lots of people handing out flyers for restaurants which will pick you up take you to their restaurant and drop you off at your hotel afterwards i.e. Red Dragon. These are fine as long as you understand that the taxi fares are included in the prices of the food which are usually 15-20% higher than the others.
Having been many times before we didn't do any sightseeing this time but the boat trips are a must if you want to top up your tan. You can choose different boats depending if you want a "party/booze cruise" or just a quiet day out.
If you drink vodka or any other spirit get some from the airport on the way out. A 70cl bottle of Smirnoff costs in the region of £23 and the local spirits vary substantially from v. good to downright undrinkable. There are a couple of large supermarkets between Gumbet and Bodrum which you can get to by Dolmus (3TL) although we had to get a taxi back from the one we went to. Still saved money.
To finish, I would thoroughly recommend the Siesta Beach - if you get the right room. For quiet, use the top pool and for sunny balconies ask for 311/2/3/4 (I imagine the same rooms on the ground floor would be the same i.e.211 etc.) which seem to get sun all day. Avoid 334 which has no sun.
We definitely will be not be going back to Gumbet again and will think hard about Turkey itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chog84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green House Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#12 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bagevleri
Hotel Bagevleri
#7 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tosunoglu Apart Otel
Tosunoglu Apart Otel
#18 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Beach Apartments

Property: Siesta Beach Apartments
Address: Degirmenler Alti Dayilar Sk. No:31, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Siesta Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are connected by a draw bridge and walking paths surrounded by beautiful gardens and flowers. All the rooms are creatively designed and decorated. Our extremely elegant rooms are located in a peaceful area of Gumbet. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Gumbet from the restaurant or while swimming in the pool. The exterior of the rooms are built with traditional slate stones, all the rooms are fully equipped to provide our customers with a perfect comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Siesta Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Beach Apartments Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing