We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accidental treasure...”
Review of Hotel Sun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sun Club
Ranked #75 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Accidental treasure...”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

As mentioned in previous comments, we too were mean't to stay in another hotel but were absolutely thrilled with the Sun Club Hotel, Gumbet. The food was typically Mediterranean buffet with ample variety and thankfully no sign of burger and chips anywhere!!. The staff were friendly and polite and not at all stingy with the alcohol as some all-inclusive deals. We even had all- inclusive on the last day. Entertainment with Sergio was great and very involving. The only thing that spoilt it was the moaning British holiday makers that were trying to compare a cheap holiday to Turkey with a Sandals resort...Seriously!!!. We too had an issue with the noise from the clubs but the hotel moved our room within 1 day without issue. Also the only thing that made us poorly was the vast qualities of alcohol that we had to consume simply to be polite, of course. Would definitely recommend this hotel right on the beach and we will definitely book for next year....

Room Tip: Request pool room eve time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmletHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    56
    42
    37
    99
See reviews for
89
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed all inclusive here end April into may.. The room was small but clean and yes the showers were always cold.. Try showering earlier ;) The pool area was clean although we spent our time on the beach which was a stone throw.. The location was perfect.. Everything at hand.. The staff some helpful some not.. Don't expect much from reception. Their customer service wasn't great.. Entertainment... Well it was all down to one guy Sergio he tried with everyone young & old... Little star.. Friendly .. Lovely to us guests & tried to encourage all of us to join in and have a good time..
Dont be put off.. Although this hotel offers basic food & service.. For £250 I think it exceeded.. Remember you pay for what you get :-) happy holidays

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel all inclusive, though we should not have stayed here, we only found out we was staying here when we got to airport in bodrum. The hotel is very basic, our room was only cleaned properly twice, the food was vile we had to eat out , the staff were ok, some would be helpful, others just did not care or give guests any respect. We spoke to the manager who seemed nice enough though can't say he did much when we did complain. The bathroom was mouldy and dirty - shower was always cold, the beds were ok though I would suggest asking for an extra pillow, however we didn't get much sleep owing to close by clubs and bars music until 4 and sometimes 6am every night. In general - I would not go there for peace and quiet, decent food or all incusive as its money not well spent - the food made me badly twice - in the end we ate at near by hotel baba were there food was great. Shop around and avoid this hotel. Awful place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nottsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gumbet hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I only read reviews after booking my holiday. I was so shocked at the negative feedback that I took extra money out with me -if it was that bad I would certainly prepared to change hotels. What can i say i had a brilliant time; the staff were great- very friendly and helpful; we had quite a large room compared to others; air conditioning (free); rooms cleaned everyday. Meals were served on a roof terrace overlooking the bay-beautiful views. You cannot fault the location right on the beach and if you want to go clubbing then Bar Street is behind. I agree that it can be noisey so try and get a room close to pool and first floor. People have complained about the limited drinks well there is gin, vodka, beer red and white wine. Ok the wine is not to my taste but found the spirits ok. Georgio the entertainer was great fun - tried to engage everyone.The FOOD ok yes -it was a bit repetitive but still lots of choice -just very samey, although they did cook fresh omelettes and pancakes at breakfast on the terrace.

One reviewer even said they did not serve tea or coffee at breakfast which had me looking to buy a kettle before i went - not true you can drink tea or coffee all day long. It's true you get what you pay for but my experience well exceeded the cost of my holiday at £250 all inclusive including flights. If you want 5 star then you will have to pay for it-I'm back in Bodrum in September staying at one or the more upmarket 5* hotels costing me £1500 yes I expect it will be really nice but I am paying for that. Oh and I have travelled far and wide over many years so I do feel justified with my feedback.

Room Tip: Apparently the aparments are good but didn't get to see one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luanna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Paid all inclusive got given our meal if u did not like it u went hungry, staff was rude and offered no service!
Dining room flooded when rained water coming through ceiling! No intertainment got ripped of by the animation guy paid so much to go into bodrum was told it was a big night club with 200 people turned up was only ones there!
Rooms was freezing at night no heating and I returned with a chest infection!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-kattz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Harjinder stayted with my wife and kid

I stayed their for a week and couldn't sleep properly for whole of my stay as the pub near the hotels were too noisy.caertainly not the kind of hotel for the family especially with the kid.

The food on the hotel was very bad and its repeatative all the time , no snacks in between the meals.
Talking about the facilities in the hotel , i would say nothing apart from the pool.No jacuzi no sauna nothing.
It was really badly manage.

The beach is good but shared by most of ths stary dogs their so i would say not heigenic.

Good point , staff was friendly and they did help us during our stay infact changed our room when we complaint about the noise.

Good place for the young ones who likes to party all night , location is also good and you will get basic amenities around the hotel.

Beware !!! don't book any of your tour with your hotel rep's they will charge u a lot.
Here are the latest prices for the various toursrs

Ephesis + Pammukule -> 55 Pounds per person and you can ask the travel agent for a free turkish Bath in it. It includes one night stay in pammukule.

Boat ride (Though not gud) -> you will get it for 11 pounds pp.

Turkish Bath -> -5 pounds PP but its rubbish beleive me and once you go in their they will sell diferent packages their so you will end up paying more.

If u get out of ur hotel and goes to right u will find the travel agent i booked my tour with and it was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose the room near to the pool , they are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harjinder R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottigham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We paid to go to the gumbet holiday beach 4*, we get to the airport to be told your coming sun club "yes pleeze" gets to the hotel with my mum, club accross the road boom boom. I've gone over dancing on the dance floor, got beat up by sum jeoulous cheeky boys. Anyway the room was hald decent apart from mould everywhere, smoke alarms falling of the ceiling, power sockets falling off the wall, the key card working wen it wants. But then morning came, nice pool, half decent food, cold beer, wot more do you want for £180 each. One thing though its never been 4*, never will. The staff (sergio and the manager with the glasses) were awfull, rude, fake, and tolka the rep will try and rob you blind, tried selling my mum a turkish bath for £75, yep 75. Go round the corner and you get it for £10 tops. Also if they ask to take you into reception with no explanation. Don't do it. They beat me up "again" for been to loud. If it would of been peak season, it wouldn't of happened. I got bullied. Other than that get a jeep out, go on a boat trip and embrace the scenery. So for me the best holiday, but deffo the hotel made it the worst. Well english company made it better.

Room Tip: Try and get into the west side, and nearer to the pool its quieter the rooms are massive. But don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.2 mi away
Shark Club
Shark Club
#5 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
8.3 mi away
Yelken Mandalinci SPA & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#17 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Best Life Hotel
The Best Life Hotel
#21 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Club

Property: Hotel Sun Club
Address: Ayaz Cad. No:6, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sun Club 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing