We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sun Club
Ranked #75 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Plus, we had to pay an additional £200 for alternative accommodationAfter booking a romantic couples retreat in a near by hotel, we were shocked to find ourselves at the hands of SunClub. Upon arrival, our luggage was lost! The receptionist spoke only broken English and proved to be of no use what so ever. We were eventually shown to a room which can only be described as being big enough to swing a cat around. There was visible mould along the coving, as well as the shower unit, and the balcony itself was severely cracked, thus limiting us to the bedroom. The hot water was intermittent and the tv itself only housed 1 English channel. To top it off, the music from the night clubs blared until 4am every morning! It felt like student accommodation. Had we have opted for a 16-25s holiday, I'm sure the SunClubs location would have sufficed. However, we did not! So as you can appreciate, it was deemed intolerable! The food itself was satisfactory, if like myself, you don't mind eating cold pasta or plain rice every day. However a cockroach was found in the home made soup, and as mentioned in a previous review, stray cats did roam freely within the dining area. Overall, our experience of this particular hotel was awful. I feel our honeymoon was ruined by the time spent at this zoo! We couldn't leave the hotel fast enough, but by doing so incurred a further charge of £200 for alternative accommodation! This hotel NEEDS to be shut down!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel-louize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    56
    42
    36
    99
See reviews for
89
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have returned from our holiday to Turkey, We stayed in this hotel 4 nights before they could find us alternative accommodation. I don't know were to start to explain how bad our 4 days were! Do not take children to this hotel! We arrived at 2am to reception and were not shown to our room, the noise level from the night club next door was unreal. The night club was open until 4am every night! We were in room 319 and the noise was a joke! The same few songs were played on repeat everynight!! We had no sleep at all, and at 10am they had music around the pool that was as loud as the nightclub and that went on till 11pm, there was no getting away from it. We were ignored at the bar everytime we tried getting drinks, yet Turkish people were getting served. AT first we thought the service was good in the restaurant, then we soon relised it was because they didn't have enough plates or glasses for the 15 guests that were staying there. The plates were always dirty and just cleaned under cold water with no cleaning products. The staff then also were always begging for tips and refusing us food and drink until we gave tips. The food was always taken up two hours before it opened and was stone cold and covered in flies. The food was recycled from other meals. We ate there twice and found a cockroach one day and flies in our soup the next. The restaurant was filled with stray cats that jumped up on tables and near the food. The private beach was absolutely disgusting, the sunbeds were all ripped and broken, the sand was covered in beer bottles, fag butts and dirty nappies that had been ripped apart by stray dogs. The swimming pool was ok, but the tiles all round the edge were chipped and broken, we cut our feet a number of times. There was smashed glasses all down the side of what they called the kids pool which was a small dipping pool. We had an ok room, but no hot water and when we rang reception they hung the phone up on us. So for 4 days we couldn't have a shower. The four days we spent there were horrific. This place seriously needs shutting down! Please don't take your family here it will ruin your holiday and waste your money. Even worse it could make you seriously ill!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyacarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gumbet hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newcastle
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a 'girls' week away 16th Sept 2013
Great central location, at the bottom of bar street, on the beach. Great pool, we managed to get 14 sunbeds every day. Free sunbeds on beach and very close to the AI bar.
Rooms were spacious with clean sheets, clean towels and air conditioning.
NOW for the negatives.
Not aimed at the English, mostly full of Russians (who were nice but spoke no English)
The hotel is a bit 'tired', rooms cleaned every day but not too well! (very honest staff though, twice i left my purse in the room, and once we left the safe wide open!! did not take anything!
Staff do not speak much English.
The food; fine if you enjoy soups, salad and fresh bread. They have loads of fresh salads and Turkish food, but everything was COLD. even the 'freshly cooked' pasta dishes, chicken and the chips!
snacks by the pool were ok, drinks very poor but for the price it was ok.
You hear the noise from bar street til about 4 every night, so better just to stay out and enjoy it.
Loads of good bars, shops and restaurants close by. Food is so cheap to eat out (£11 for a massive T bone steak)
It's great as a base and is cheap.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy! one of our party wasn't happy with her room and they changed it no bother t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have just returned from a weeks Holiday in this Hotel 15th Sept - 24th Sept 13 (a group of 14 ladies), and overall we all enjoyed the Hotel.
The location of this Hotel is great if you enjoy Nightlife as it is directly at the bottom of Bar Street and is very noisy until 4am, so not a location for families.
The pool area is clean and we never had any trouble getting a sunbed. The Hotel also backs directly onto the Beach which is fantastic.
The rooms are spacious and the cleaners did a wonderful job ours was cleaned daily.
The only BIG negative about this Hotel was the Food, having been to Turkey many times I know that as they cater to different nationalities the food can seem strange, (ie Cold cauli and broccoli covered in Mayo - for the russians), but although there was a reasonable range of food the BIG Problem was it was only luke warm which can cause problems with germs. Therefore we ended up eating out every evening and just had soups and salad for lunch. We did bring this to the attention of the Hotel Management and they have said that they are to get a new catering team in for next years season, so hopefully with this food problem sorted this will be a great little hotel.
Chester who was the animation team for this hotel was fantastic he really made our holiday. There were alot of Russians and Turkish in this hotel, we were just about the only english but he made sure we all had a mixture of music and we even got up and learned some turkish and russian dances. He and all the other staff work long and hard to make our holiday enjoyable.
Gumbet itself is a great resort it has lots of Bars, Shops and restaurants all within a nice walking distance. We had some lovely meals out in Caspers Bar just opposite hotel a full english breakfast was only 5TL and a great evening meal at Divers, the food is very good value.
Jill Dodds
Newcastle

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy but take ear plugs and you will be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel mid of july.We arrived too early for check -in,but didn't matter, really,coz we still could have our breakfast ,which was followed by chilling in the swimming pool(which is big and clean enough),while our room was cleaned(btw,as there were no standard room available,administration kindly provided us with nice family room).
All the staff were friendly and helpful,exempt for our tour guide,but he has nothing to do with the Hotel itself! Room was cleaned everyday.We had problem with lights ones,but it was fixed the same day!
Food was... it was fine,not much meat,but lots of nice vegetable salads,fish,chicken ,there was quite a verity of dishes,so we were never left hungry.
Hotel is right next to the sea,so you can choose,whether u want to stay at the pool ,or grab urself a beer and move to the beach.
I've read the last few reviews and was a bit surprised.Don't you people check the location of the hotel u are going to?If you are writing the reviews on Tripadvisor,so u must normally read all the details about hotels you are planning to book?It is no surprise that is is noisy,as it's mentioned everywhere that the hotel is located on a Bar street. We knew exactly where we were going,and that was the reason why we booked this hotel.We spent the most unforgettable 10 days of our summer and wouldn't change a thing!
For those who complains about noise and make bad rating of this hotel just because of it,I would reccomend to use the advantages of Tripadvisor,not only to criticize,but do a little homework and read all the descriptions and the reviews of the place u are going next!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank noodle191619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We did a lot of research before settling on this hotel as a lot of them stated that they were unsuitable for people in wheelchairs or that hey had a lot of steps. As my wife has problems with stairs and steep slopes this was a major factor for us, therefore as this hotel was on the fact we were lead to believe the hotel was on the level. This to an extent was correct but not wholly accurate. I will come to this in a minute.
We arrived at the hotel about 2.30 in the morning but then had to wail for 30 minutes for the desk clerk to turn up. While he was supposed to be dealing with us he kept sorting out queries with other guests while seemingly ignoring us. Eventually we got booked in and after a further wait someone came to show us to our room, he led us out of the side door then problems started arising , we we were expected to go down a long flight of steps, I immediately enquired after the lift only to be told there wasnt one. due to my wifes condition she is almost blind at night with no night vision. not a brilliant start, eventually she was led back outside on to then road and down a fairly steep path to the vehicle entrance which happened to be on the same level as the accommodation.Our accommodation was on the ground floor with no steps to get to it which is what we asked for a gold star for that.However another nasty shock waited for us the following morning when we discovered the dining room was upmore stairs. the landscaped effect of the stairs meant uneven surface low walls and no hand rails.things then started getting better as we discovered more seps to the rear with proper seps and a good hand rail.

All the meals were good depending on your taste as a place with an international guest I would have expected a wider range of dishes. If you like a Mediterranean type of menu you wont be dissapointed but for those who do not like olives or dressing made from it you were stuck to mainly eggs and toast, incidentally the bread was delicious. The other meals followed in a similar vain but with chicken, lamb and fish making a daily presence.
The accommodation was basic but pleasant, with the air conditioning unit being invaluable (incedently in our case it was operated by a remote hand control unit). a lovely powerful shower and room fridge. At the poolside bar it took a short while to make the attendants that we would like some milk for our tea english style not black and sweet as the turks drink it.. At this the bar tender went to the kitchens to get some milk returning with a carton which he then kept in his fridge for us (and any one else who would like some). In previous reviews comments have been made to the noise as there are at least two night clubs within 25 yards of the main entrance what would you expect.the only time it affected us is when the noise stopped at approx 4 in the morning the sudden quietness woke us but then we quickly drifted back to sleep again. the staff were always friendly and helpful when asked.the place was always being cleaned and even in town there were hardly any rubbish to been seen.By the end of the week my wifes confidence on the stairs had increased slightly but it still took her a while to climb. So if you cannot manage more that 25 stairs then sadly you ought to look at another hotel. As a final point of interest though there was an outside lift but it wasnt working in fact i don't think it had worked for a couple of years since it was overgrown with vegetation.
The cautionary tale about accessibility is so that others dont get caught out like we did. but overall we really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davy645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

When 1st arrived 2wks ago took ages to get our rooms x3 it was close to midnight n we were tired.next day came down to pool ok but most of the people were very ignorant especially the staff not all but majority!! As we were all- inclusive there was a wide range of food but they don't cater for English,I don't mind trying but it was awfull at times.we went out for a few meals ( fantastic) the Turkish people outside on bar street n the restuarants brilliant. Finally we got the impression that they don't want us Brits in there complex,n to top it all we couldn't keep any of the rooms on.there is another family here at the hotel n they hate it. My advice is stay clear of this place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.2 mi away
Shark Club
Shark Club
#5 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
8.3 mi away
Yelken Mandalinci SPA & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#14 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Best Life Hotel
The Best Life Hotel
#20 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Club

Property: Hotel Sun Club
Address: Ayaz Cad. No:6, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sun Club 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing