We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Sun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sun Club
Ranked #70 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I would recommend this hotel to someone looking for a comfortable good value A/I holiday. Although not quite a 4 star hotel, it certainly comes close.

Situated right on the beach, you can enjoy a meal in the restaurant or a beer in the bar and then take four or five steps to your (free!) sun bed on the beach. At the back of the Sunclub is Gumbet’s ‘Bar street’ which is a great night out (try 20s bar or X bar). It can be a bit noisy but the rooms nearer the beach are fairly quiet.

Hotels across Europe could learn a lot from the staff at Sun club (although I suspect this is par of the course for Turkey). The staff were all 100% committed to running a tight ship. Rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard, all empty plates/glasses were taken away instantly (unheard of in some A/I hotels). Most of the staff were very friendly and always able to offer advice or friendly banter in impeccable English.

We paid £330 each for one week A/I in May 2010. I found this to be of good value. The food and drink is decent (Local Pide - Pizza/nan is delicious), although we ate out a few times to try more of the local cuisine.

Negative:
As the previous reviewer (great value, BUT) mentions, customers on the pre-paid A/I tariff do get treated differently e.g. need to go through to the pool bar for drinks and not able to get the food from the a la carte menu (unless paid for).

All in all I would probably return to the Sun Club if offered the same price. This is due to the hotels location and the professionalism of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu-Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sun Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

Just come back from the Sun Club with my wife, we did have a great 10 days break at a very good price, BUT, and this is a big BUT, before you decide to book for yourself, I feel that I need to point out a few things;
Firstly, this is basically a great little Hotel right on the beach and close to all amenities in the town, what more could you ask for?
The management at this Hotel really needs to decide whether it is ‘All Inclusive’ and to stop treating it’s pre-paid guests with indifference!
If you are staying on the ‘All Inclusive’ tariff you get what it says on the label, a basic if small room, meals which are basic and just about adequate, a very basic selection of drinks that regularly ran dry and that’s about it (oh yes, the pool is great, the beach is clean and tidy and pizza in the afternoon is worth looking forward to)
If you are prepared to ‘splash out’ and pay top Lira for the ‘walk in’ prices for food and drink the attitude of the management changes from indifference to being treated like Royalty. On the other hand if you have the audacity to complain, you will be escorted from the premises! Yes, we did actually see this happen!
The super friendly staff were wonderful, so much so that after our first week they were all fired, to be replaced by the most miserable but subservient bunch, ready at the beck and call to the most arrogant management I have ever come across!
Regarding the position of the Hotel, it is right on the edge of the town which although convenient, has it’s drawbacks and since the opening of the open air ‘Mood Bar’ right opposite the entrance, do NOT expect to get any sleep at all between Midnight and about 4 in the morning and remember to take sticky tape to hold any breakables down while this is going on.
By the way ALL of the streets in Gumbet are being torn up at the moment!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onslow60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

To the couple from Billingham, are you sure you stayed in the same Sun Club hotel as us, if you did you would have noted we did complain along with several other guest who were staying, and for this we were humiliated in front of all hotel guests and diners and asked to leave by the hotel owner. We were transferred to another hotel which was of a better standard. We were at the sun club for two weeks, from 30th - 12th May. in the first week 5 staff were fired, and more taken on who could not speak any english.
The music was exxtremely lound and could be heard in the hotel room with the patio doors closed and the air con on. This went on till 4 o'clock every night/morning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank karstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Me and my boyfriend have just come back today from Sunclub Bodrum where we stayed for 1 week all inclusive.

The rooms:
Are big enough sized, we were given 3 single beds, dressing table, wardrobe and a decent sized bathroom with as powerfull shower.
The room was clean an the maid couldnt have been better! The only slight problem wih the room was the size of the balcony and the lead to plug the fridge in was too short to reach any sockets.

The Location:
The hotel is right on the beach and has its own private area with loungers and a ew tables. It was never that busy but the season was just beggining whe we went.
The only problem people might have is the enterance/ front of hotel is across the road from bars/pubs which play music up until5/6am. We however could never hear the music from our room unless the balcony door was open.
But you do get alot of drunk people right outside the hotel
We also choose a bad time t visit as all the roads are being dug up around Bodrum/Gumbet area so there is road works and lots of roads blocked off.
However from around the pool/beach you would never know there was drilling etc. going on.

All Inclusive:
If I had to complain this is why, The food and all drinks are obviously included in our stay but the coke/lemonade was all poured from bottles which were kept on top of bar and rarley cole insted of being from gun/pump. The beer was on tap and selected spirits were available.
The food was very basic and repetative and if you have kids i would reccommend taking extra money to purshase them something to eat as the food isnt kid or english friendly.
Everynight we had chicken and alot of the time the food didnt really go together. They would be chicken but not alot to eat with it. There was often plain rice, potatoe wedges and rarley chips or potatoes. Everynight there was salad, bread and cheese.
We did eat at the hotel most nights as you won't starve!

Lunch served 12.30 - 2 is pretty much exactly the same as evening meal.

Breakfast is eggs or eggs! But we didnt really have a problem with this.
You can have boiled eggs or the chef will make you a fresh omelette with cheese/ tomatoes.

Snacks are served 3 - 5pm usually pizza which is made fresh or burger.

Pool/ Services:
As we went when we did May 7th - 14th it was very quiet and there was never no more that 6 people around the pool!
The sun loungers are not plastic and are very comfy and it is a very smart and clean area.
There was a turkish bath area, jacuzzi, sauna put didnt seem be up and running during out stay.


Service:
The waiters were very polite and on the ball, mainly becasue there was more staff than guests but again prob because of season. The manager and owner did hang around the bar alot whih i can imagine is off putting for the staff but there was no complaints.

As the Sunclub bar was on seafront it was open to public, once the bar filled up with PAYING guests they did focus alot more attention on them!


I have no problems at all and as the location was superb I would definately go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rls6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Not 5 stars but then again it doesn't say it is .... unlike some in Turky. I would say that by english standards it is a good 3 star plus. What is 5 star about the place is the loction, fantastic. Close to everything and bang on the beach. Your all inclusive is fine for the price. Dont expect lots of choice of alcolhol, if that what your after then pay more and stay elswhere. The food was lovely, but i love foreign food< there was always something that you would like though. I really enjoyed my stay at the sun club and will defo reurn again.... as long as the price stays resonable. The beach was great fun and shallow for ages, so very good for children. The pool was lovely and nice a quiet. none of that bang bang music ....... very peacefull. Standard rooms are ..... standard. Family suites are very modern and roomy with seperate bedroom, Plasma tv, but do cost a lot more. I loved it and would say to anyone to go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debradee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turkey9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
8.2 mi away
Yelken Mandalinci SPA & Wellness Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#10 of 101 in Gumbet
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shark Club
Shark Club
#8 of 101 in Gumbet
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ayaz Aqua
Ayaz Aqua
#13 of 101 in Gumbet
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#7 of 101 in Gumbet
1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodrum Nova Suites Hotel -All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Club

Address: Ayaz Cad. No:6, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sun Club 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing