We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
167
49
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
49
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneilson resortend of the seasonspecial thanksseen better daysevery mealbodrumidrisfortnightbarman
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned from a week at the Seaside in Ortakent - our first Neilson holiday, and can honestly say it was absolutely fantastic (aside from the flight, which I won't go into!). The hotel was lovely, simple but very comfortable and clean. The food (served by a team of ninja waiters who are on hand to pour you a drink before you've even had chance to see your glass is empty) was outstanding and far exceeded our expectations of what it would be like. There was an excellent variety of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the restaurant was kept clean and the tables laid well at each sitting, plus the view of the beach! The rooms, restaurant, bar and beach are all very close together and so it doesn't feel like you are just stuck in a big resort.
We had a go at all activities, and the wind pretty much did what was expected of it each day which allowed for an early morning bike ride, or beginner windsurfing course after breakfast, followed by a wake board/ water ski tow before lunch, then after a bit of sunbathing the wind picked up and I could practice the windsurfing tips I'd learnt in the morning, whilst my husband nipped off to windy corner for some more extreme action! If you get bored of this (which you won't!) there are plenty of other things to have a go at - sailing, kayaking or SUP. All just there waiting for you play with, and set up within seconds by a helpful member of the beach team - amazing!!
We left Seaside on the 2 non inclusive nights, venturing into Bodrum for some genuine fakes on the first night and walked along to Yashi on the second - both great nights and found some lovely places to eat at the recommendation of Neilson staff.
Overall the resort is such a friendly place and nothing is too much trouble for anyone there. We had a brilliant time and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We were upstairs near the tennis court - think we had a more private balcony than some of the rooms, which was nice but spent such little time in the room I don't think it matters too much!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

stayed 5th May for 1 week, The weather was mostly nice and hot, but my goodness there is such a chilly wind in the evenings. You could tell the guests that had been here previously...they all had warm clothes with them .Loads of water activities, if you want to use them with plenty experienced staff to show you how. The rooms are lovely and clean, with a huge fantastic shower.The food was the best I have had to date,,,,so much choice, and the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when I set the toaster on fire...oops.There are 2 large dogs in the hotel, but they are super friendly, and don't bother you unless you call them over. The dolmus bus is cheap and takes you from outside the hotel right to the bus station in the centre of Bodrum, runs every 10 mins or so. Found a free trip whilst in Bodrum, down at the end of the harbour, was very interesting. Downside was they dropped you off at the Bodrum gold centre, but there was no pressure to buy, and buses in carpark to take you back into town. All in all was a great holiday and would definitely go back. A bit noisy with the Mosque nearby in the early hours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renfreweac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from two weeks in Ortakent. This was our fourth visit and it didn't disappoint. Neilson holidays suit us perfectly as there is so much to do and the staff encourage participitation at all levels. We met up with friends from a previous holiday and took younger members of our family and we all had a brilliant holiday.
The Hotel is great, rooms are comfortable and very clean. We needed the duvets in the first week. The restaurant food was delicious and there is a huge variety to choose from. Plenty of croissants and turkish pastries and eggs cooked to demand however you want them.
The bar staff are delightful and I can highly recommend the cocktails at Happy Hour ~ perfect after an afternoon on the water.
The active team staff are are the stars of Neilson holidays. They obviously select well and keep them motivated as nothing is too much trouble. No matter that you request a dingy that they've just de-rigged, it is prepared again for you in an instant with a smile. The equipment is all in fantastic condition and looked after by the team. Their tuition is superb and they are so encouraging. How they seem to remember most of the guests name is amazing. As a family I think we made full use of everything on offer and that makes the price of the holiday a bargain.
My only complaint is the flight with Thomas Cook. Seats are far too close together and we had a long wait for baggage at Gatwick but that was the airports fault.
It was a great holiday and we'll most certainly return.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are less private as people walk past and can see in.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had the first week of the season here in April which was great. The hotel is super, rooms are very basic but adequately comfortable. The best part about this place is that everything is so close as it is so small - fall out of your room onto the beach then back to the bar - what could be better? Additionally what really made the holiday for us was the staff - they were all brilliant, happy, helpful and genuinely interested in making sure we had a great time - nothing was too much trouble.

A couple of things could have made the holiday better still. The food we felt was not as good as our previous Neilson holiday in Sivota - for breakfast exactly the same fruit was rolled out every morning and other food choice was limited - obviously no bacon but also no porridge, no poached or fried eggs, no pots of yoghurt (there was yoghurt in large dishes but it was horrible), no skimmed milk, no croissants. That said the omelettes freshly cooked were a big hit with all of our family and the coffee was fab. We felt the rest of the food was ok and seemed to improve dramatically as the week went on so perhaps a few teething problems that were ironed out as we went along,

My only other gripe is that the beds were not made up with the duvets when we arrived - we had to hunt for these in the wardrobe on our first night - not too much of a problem but it annoyed me as it was freezing at night and I couldn't understand why anyone would not want them at that time of year so why not put them out?

As for the early morning alarm calls that a previous reviewer commented on I have to say we only heard them one morning when I woke up for a call of nature - otherwise I slept like a log!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelneedtoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went in April and it was very chilly in the evening so take warm clothes and be prepared fro rain. We had to get quilts out to be warm in the room. Would have helped if we had known the air conditioner was a heater too. We love Neilson holidays and had a fabulous time. Cleaners amazing, food and bar excellent ( bar prices same as UK ).
Hotel intimate and just right for us. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews