We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“est holiday since Cornwall 68”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ortakent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Neilson Seaside Beachclub
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Ortakent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We've been back a couple of weeks now but still telling all our friends they must go to this resort!! Everything from the food through the equipment, the tuition and the service is fantastic. No matter how useless you are at water skiing, (and believe me you couldn't be worse than me), Joe and Tulula will tell you you're doing great and 'just have another try - it's sure to be perfect next time'.
When I had left my driving licence in the safe, and hadn't even noticed I didn't have it, Paddy (the resort big cheese), phoned me in Britain to say he would forward it on. How great is that for service!
We are just waiting for the booking to open to rebook for next year. (Sorry Joe and Tulula).

Room Tip: We had the junior suite that was great and had fantastic sea views. The only tiny hitch was that alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 25Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just got back from a week at the Seaside. This was our second Neilson holiday. The staff were so helpful, especially the beach team, they couldn't do enought to help you - they would get everything out for you and put everything away and wouldn't let us help even though we tried! We spent the morning doing beginners windsurfing with Emma and Sulliman who were fab. There is always a safety boat out so when you drift too far from the beach as a beginner, they are always keeping an eye on you to bring you back in. You are free to take the equipment out to practice when you are not in lessons and the people in the safety boat will still give you help and tips where you are going wrong!

There seemed to be plenty of equipment for the number of guests in resort (it was nearly full with 120 people when I think it can take 128 when full). They guarantee you two waterskiing or wakeboarding tows per week but we got four without any problems. They also made it clear that if you didn't manage to get on the course you really wanted to do that week you should just tell them and they will put on extra, so you don't have to panic to sign up to get on everything at the start of the week.

There is a nice grassed area next to the beach for sunbathing from where you can see people sailing. There were enough sunloungers for everyone. The rooms were absolutely fine. Simple but very clean with lovely bathrooms and a small balcony with somewhere to dry clothes.

It is a short (5-10min) walk to the nearest village where there are a a decent number of restaurants and shops or you can get the dolmus bus (about £1.30 each way) to Bodrum which takes about 30mins and are about every 10mins from right outside the hotel.

One gripe was the bar prices - a bit steep - normal price you would expect to pay in the UK on a night out, but it is cheaper in the village. The other is that there is not that much going on in the evening other than the odd night. Everything seems to stop at 6pm. It would have been nice to have a bit more going on in the evenings, though this isn't unique to the Seaside but rather all Neilson resorts and perhaps something they need to work on in our opinion.

If you do go we highly recommend a restaurant called Eyba (which is easily missed as its the opposite way to the village). Turn left outside the hotel and then right when you hit the canal. Walk along the canal until it ends and it is on the left. All the tables are outside set under the orange trees with lights hanging from them and they bring each table a little BBQ where you can cook the food yourself or they will do it for you. Everyone said the wine there was excellent, though we didn't try it. It makes for a lovely meal and there are lots of Turkish people eating there rather than just tourists - just wear some insect repellant as there are a few mozzies about.

We found the food to be great at the hotel, and the waiting staff were very friendly and helpful.

We read about the noise from the mosque before we went and you can only hear it if you really try hard. It didn't bother us and we had a room on the side facing towards it.

All in all, the resort is small which makes it really friendly with plently of equipment to go around with a village nearby and Bodrum an easy bus ride away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CazLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have been to this Neilson amongst others a good few times over the years, it really has upped its game , with a recent refit, rooms and restaurant, the tuition is second to none, great kit, fab food, Paddy and Simon deserve a medal..thanks to all the staff for another really great time..steep bar prices are off putting thou !?..thanks Stew n Jess

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harry359gn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned from a week at the Seaside in Ortakent - our first Neilson holiday, and can honestly say it was absolutely fantastic (aside from the flight, which I won't go into!). The hotel was lovely, simple but very comfortable and clean. The food (served by a team of ninja waiters who are on hand to pour you a drink before you've even had chance to see your glass is empty) was outstanding and far exceeded our expectations of what it would be like. There was an excellent variety of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the restaurant was kept clean and the tables laid well at each sitting, plus the view of the beach! The rooms, restaurant, bar and beach are all very close together and so it doesn't feel like you are just stuck in a big resort.
We had a go at all activities, and the wind pretty much did what was expected of it each day which allowed for an early morning bike ride, or beginner windsurfing course after breakfast, followed by a wake board/ water ski tow before lunch, then after a bit of sunbathing the wind picked up and I could practice the windsurfing tips I'd learnt in the morning, whilst my husband nipped off to windy corner for some more extreme action! If you get bored of this (which you won't!) there are plenty of other things to have a go at - sailing, kayaking or SUP. All just there waiting for you play with, and set up within seconds by a helpful member of the beach team - amazing!!
We left Seaside on the 2 non inclusive nights, venturing into Bodrum for some genuine fakes on the first night and walked along to Yashi on the second - both great nights and found some lovely places to eat at the recommendation of Neilson staff.
Overall the resort is such a friendly place and nothing is too much trouble for anyone there. We had a brilliant time and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We were upstairs near the tennis court - think we had a more private balcony than some of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

stayed 5th May for 1 week, The weather was mostly nice and hot, but my goodness there is such a chilly wind in the evenings. You could tell the guests that had been here previously...they all had warm clothes with them .Loads of water activities, if you want to use them with plenty experienced staff to show you how. The rooms are lovely and clean, with a huge fantastic shower.The food was the best I have had to date,,,,so much choice, and the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when I set the toaster on fire...oops.There are 2 large dogs in the hotel, but they are super friendly, and don't bother you unless you call them over. The dolmus bus is cheap and takes you from outside the hotel right to the bus station in the centre of Bodrum, runs every 10 mins or so. Found a free trip whilst in Bodrum, down at the end of the harbour, was very interesting. Downside was they dropped you off at the Bodrum gold centre, but there was no pressure to buy, and buses in carpark to take you back into town. All in all was a great holiday and would definitely go back. A bit noisy with the Mosque nearby in the early hours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renfreweac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from two weeks in Ortakent. This was our fourth visit and it didn't disappoint. Neilson holidays suit us perfectly as there is so much to do and the staff encourage participitation at all levels. We met up with friends from a previous holiday and took younger members of our family and we all had a brilliant holiday.
The Hotel is great, rooms are comfortable and very clean. We needed the duvets in the first week. The restaurant food was delicious and there is a huge variety to choose from. Plenty of croissants and turkish pastries and eggs cooked to demand however you want them.
The bar staff are delightful and I can highly recommend the cocktails at Happy Hour ~ perfect after an afternoon on the water.
The active team staff are are the stars of Neilson holidays. They obviously select well and keep them motivated as nothing is too much trouble. No matter that you request a dingy that they've just de-rigged, it is prepared again for you in an instant with a smile. The equipment is all in fantastic condition and looked after by the team. Their tuition is superb and they are so encouraging. How they seem to remember most of the guests name is amazing. As a family I think we made full use of everything on offer and that makes the price of the holiday a bargain.
My only complaint is the flight with Thomas Cook. Seats are far too close together and we had a long wait for baggage at Gatwick but that was the airports fault.
It was a great holiday and we'll most certainly return.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are less private as people walk past and can see in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had the first week of the season here in April which was great. The hotel is super, rooms are very basic but adequately comfortable. The best part about this place is that everything is so close as it is so small - fall out of your room onto the beach then back to the bar - what could be better? Additionally what really made the holiday for us was the staff - they were all brilliant, happy, helpful and genuinely interested in making sure we had a great time - nothing was too much trouble.

A couple of things could have made the holiday better still. The food we felt was not as good as our previous Neilson holiday in Sivota - for breakfast exactly the same fruit was rolled out every morning and other food choice was limited - obviously no bacon but also no porridge, no poached or fried eggs, no pots of yoghurt (there was yoghurt in large dishes but it was horrible), no skimmed milk, no croissants. That said the omelettes freshly cooked were a big hit with all of our family and the coffee was fab. We felt the rest of the food was ok and seemed to improve dramatically as the week went on so perhaps a few teething problems that were ironed out as we went along,

My only other gripe is that the beds were not made up with the duvets when we arrived - we had to hunt for these in the wardrobe on our first night - not too much of a problem but it annoyed me as it was freezing at night and I couldn't understand why anyone would not want them at that time of year so why not put them out?

As for the early morning alarm calls that a previous reviewer commented on I have to say we only heard them one morning when I woke up for a call of nature - otherwise I slept like a log!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelneedtoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortakent hotels
1.6 mi away
Cocos The Club
Cocos The Club
#1 of 31 in Ortakent
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Side Beach Club
Sea Side Beach Club
#17 of 31 in Ortakent
8 reviews
1.1 mi away
Temenos Hotel
Temenos Hotel
#7 of 31 in Ortakent
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lugga Beach Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#5 of 31 in Ortakent
82 reviews
0 mi away
Dilekagaci Hotel
Dilekagaci Hotel
#10 of 31 in Ortakent
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Seaside Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Seaside Beachclub

Address: Yalisi Bagarasi Mevkii | Ortakent, Ortakent 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ortakent
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ortakent
Number of rooms: 234
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Ortakent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing