We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
167
48
12
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
48
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneilson resortend of the seasonspecial thanksseen better daysevery mealbodrumidrisfortnightbarman
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This is a review of the Neilson holiday that we took in October at the seaside hotel but it is somewhat academic as it is closing now. It is more to do with the fact that I was disappointed with the room. I have always had a good experience on a Neilson holiday and would rate everything about them 9/10 including the room, the view from the room, and being able to sit and enjoy some peace and quiet on the balcony. Unfortunately it was not the case this time. Everything else about the holiday was fabulous as always but sadly we had a room facing onto building works with an incredibly noise going on all day and dust flying everywhere. They have offered £150 off our next holiday which I don't think is much. That's £50 each as there were three of us. I usually like to sit on the balcony and read or have a coffee which would have been impossible. Very disappointed Neilson! I am slightly wary now of such a thing happening again at another one of your resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This was our first Neilson holiday and we throughly enjoyed the 2 week experience.

The rooms were very clean, basic but comfortable and included a small flat screen TV (News channels only), fridge and a decent shower/wash room. The rooms were tended every day with clean towels when needed. The room also had air conditioning.

The food was very good, plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch or dinner and the quality was excellent, they also catered for those who requested dietary needs. The service was really good, attentive and friendly. The food isn't Mitcheln star but wholesome and of good value. I recommend the local red wine!

There is plenty on offer at the resort, windsurfing, sailing, Stand Up Paddle Boarding and Kayaks were all available on the beach, wakeboarding and skiing available too. Instruction was available if needed, whether in a group or solo, top effort from the Neilson staff.

Tennis, what can I say, just the 1 court but every effort from Cameron the coach, top job and very patience indeed, throughly enjoyed my 2 week tennis fix :)

I cannot comment on the child care but it appeared and looked very well organised and my other half used the Spa 3 times, so that must have been pretty good!

Overall a great experience, the Neilson staff were top notch and the Turkish staff were excellent, reception, housekeeping, bar and restaurant/chefs all very friendly. The evening socials were very good also, although we didn't win anything on quiz night!

I only have 2 negitives if you can call them such; the outside areas within the complex could have been slightly tidier but perhaps as we were the last visitors this has been overlooked and the other point is I thought the bar prices were a little expensive.

I would recommend Neilson for your summer holiday if you wish to have activities, all was very well organised and the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Tennis started early, avoid sleeping next to the tennis court!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank camplike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic last week at Ortakent. Fabulous weather, Neilson staff, new friends made. Thank you to all Neilson Turkish and British staff for making this a week to remember. A great holiday for solos, couples and families who like activity holidays. Although this was the last Season at Seaside there are lots more Neilson Beach plus resorts to try. We look forward to exploring them.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Well, what a nice small and friendly Club nicely located close to Yahşi resort with it's small shops and restaurants and still with a Turkish atmosphere rather than international tourist. Such a shame Neilson are abandoning at end of the season.

The Club has good local transport links with dolmuş frequently passing the hotel entrance with possibilities of visiting other towns on the pensinsular and Bodrum city. It was quite humbling on the dolmuş to be offered seats by beaming late teen females - a long time since seeing this level of courtesy in England. In fact the Turks in general always seem very courteous, polite, friendly and happy.
Such a shame that our UK press has painted such a poor picture this year influencing Brits to stay away from Turkey. They have had a tough tourist season.

The Beach Team were very impressive. Very helpful when needed but otherwise letting you get on with it. Good to see experienced Turks included in the Team. Hope they are offered jobs elsewhere with Neilson next season.

The sailing kit was still in fairly good shape considering end of season. Wind conditions were nice and being generally offshore meant for flatish sea enabling good speeds. Enjoyed the Dart cats. Nice large sailing area.

Good to see the hotel manager and his wife again after first meeting them at Sunsail Javelin many years before.

Reception staff cheerful and helpful.

Also a pleasant surprise to see the chef from Sunsail Marmaris of around 20 years ago looking after the restaurant.
Food was excellent and the best of Neilson Clubs experienced so far.

The Turkish restaurant staff were very attentive friendly and helpful.

Dining experience was OK but the servery a bit like a farmyard with a herd of cows grazing from plates or even direct from containers roaming around seemingly oblivious to others. How did this behaviour enter our culture?

One nice bonus of Neilson Clubs is that there are so few smokers - obviously a healthy bunch of folk!

In general children were well behaved apart from one gang of kids. The ringleader as good as gold when in sight of his mum but hyper when out of view. Rampaging around the accommodation block corridors. Seemingly trying to wreck toys in the toddlers play area. Moving large potted plants around to inappropriate areas of the site. Apparently disturbing guests in other rooms late into the evening. Absolutely no parental supervision. Maybe Neilson need to rethink on this. Possibly locate all families with kids in one block? Not giving kids rooms far away from their parent's room? Maybe putting kids in room above their parent's room so parents can hear what they are up to?

In general accommodation fairly quite apart from one individual who sounded as if wearing wooden clogs clomping around the room and corridors. Maybe hadn't been on holiday before to this type of hotel with solid tiled floors?

Surprising to see several people using the swimming pool to freshen up their kit coming straight from windsurfing and jumping in with buoyancy aids and wetsuits on. Also folk rinsing out their clothes in the pool. Wouldn't like to think what reaction the hygiene concious Germans would have to this!

OK, so a few niggles but apart from that it was a very enjoyable holiday and I would readily return there.
Hopefully Neilson will have a rethink and open again next season.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

All of the above topped off with such a great team of British and Turkish staff looking after us. A great place for independent children having their own social life with the great kids and teens staff leaders.

Room Tip: Some rooms are overlooked so for privacy curtains have to be closed in day. Resort buildings are a bit dated
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeybarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews