We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“After the first day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of smartline Petunya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
smartline Petunya Beach
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Ortakent
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“After the first day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Let me start by having the usual room trouble which seems to be a Turkey thing!! We arrived late evening and there was another person with the same surname who seemed to be well catered for both for transfers and hotel room but we were assumed to be the same people!! Having booked two seperate rooms but requested for them to be close we eventually had it rectified the next day. It just means you can't upack and relax. To apologise we were given a weeks free internet.....very useful with a son of 12!
To try and keep it all precise the pros are
The front office reception staff are very friendly and make the place and try very hard to make your holiday good........., well done to them!
The food is good with English style and Turkish, obviously laced with chips, but your choice!
Bedrooms good but a lot of rooms seem to have bunk beds, a bit of a bedroom factory. but good powerful shower, clean towels, soap and made up and swept each day
Beach towels one per person but a charge if you want to replace,.... penny pinching!
Clean communual areas and helpful staff around the pools (1 kiddies, 1 deeper with loud music and pool fun)
The beach is just across the promenade and with sun shades and part of the hotel.
The cons are
Watch the rooms ....complain if not right or your not happy they will do their best to help. They are in blocks and corridors so noisy revellers a nuisance with banging doors and shouting in the early hours . Not the hotels problem but the inconsiderate people staying!
Children pool was somewhat cloudy but bearing in mind peak season etc they tried to keep it safe although I did have an eye problem which was put down to the pool. The other pool was twinkiling clear and not quite so well used
Wi fi charged at approx £25 per week. Ridiculous these days!! Penny pinching.
Safe available in rooms but charged for, why when it's to make valuables secure and once installed they really don't deteriate, small minded and penny pinching!
Doctor but I think his clinical knowledge was very limited, scrapes and scratches ok, but to diagnose an eye infection....beyond him so to hospital
Gym......don't bother packing trainers, it's a heap of junk in a corner never to be used again
Sun beds booked with towels and sometimes not even used during the day....so up early to get the ones you want. why can't hotels tackle this problem?
Food went up to excellent with Ramadam but came down quickly to just ok. water in morning stopped, kebabs at lunch stopped etc etc, small things but noticeable!
Evening entertainment was none existent when we arrived but then a very personable guy appeared to get it all going. The really annoying thing is that they have the floodlights behind the show so it blinds you when you try to watch the show, absolutely stupid place to put it. I did say but nothing happened.
The bars were sometimes slow and with flies and sometimes did not smell to good!! Warm white wine, so ice to cool it etc,
Unfortunately the entrance area to the hotel is not the most sumptious and fairly basic. For a little thought and time the hotel could be transformed for little money. The area to the sea is just rough grass when they could put some interesting planting etc.
General area
Trips are expensive and a distance except boat trips and local things.
Sea was quite cold, why, I don't know but yo get used to it.
The resort is small....not many shops, no Dolmus to adjacent Gumbet and Beliz you have to go to Bodrum to come back out to get anywhere.
Generally a good holiday which was enhanced by Ramadam ending with better service and good floral displays etc but made it very busy, The hotel can do it if they want it's a pity it's not the norm. Travelling and holidaying peak time with the intense heat is not by choice but because of school holidays, why different schools or areas can't spread over a wider summer period is beyond me and most people to reduce the inflated cost, children would benefit from more pleasant weather and better social interaction. The problem has been exaserbated not solved with the governments entrenched view and fines, they need to wake up and manage it!

Room Tip: First floor maybe quieter and not on the main walkways
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamb6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BODRUM_PARK, Ön Büro Müdürü at smartline Petunya Beach, responded to this review, 27 March 2015
Dear "Grahamb6468",

Thank you for taking the time to write a review re your stay with us, it makes us really happy and encourages us to go forward working towaards improving as much as possible to make sure everyone has a great holiday experience, we know holidays are special.With the refurbishment this winter we will continue working to improve our quality and standards, to ensure that customers like yourselves return to visit us.

We really hope you will visit us again and have another great holiday.

Kind Regards,
Fatih Akbaş
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    233
    134
    81
    136
See reviews for
525
251
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from a two week hol at petunya beach htl. Had a lovely time. Just want to reassure anyone who might be worried about some of the reviews on here.
We are a family of 4. Had a room with bunk beds, double and single. The room is fairly small but for all we spent in it,it was fine. TV has 2 English channels.
Food was nice, salads great and then either fish or meat in the eve. We ate lunch at the pool snack bar every day as it was all we needed. Chicken kebab, salad, chips, burgers, rice or cous cous, couldn't complain all. Some days I went to restaurant to get fruit and had that after our lunch( restaurant lunch 1230-230).
Slides were great fun and open 10-12 and 3-5. Tbh that was enough as it was so hot at lunch time we used to go back to the room from1-3. Lifeguard on duty too.
Evening entertainment was ok, Mini disco 830 and then something to watch for an hour or so.
Staff at the bar were so lovely. Always had a smile and drinks were great. Effes was lovely and cold and slush was just what you need in the middle of the day! They work hard.
Lastly, we put towels out by 8am every morning and plenty of beds then with umbrellas. If you need an umbrella make sure you are out by then or you will be in the sun all day!
Please don't worry about staying here, we loved our holiday and I just wish I was back there now!!! Think any negatives on here should have booked into a 5 star!
Enjoy!

Room Tip: We were in 3218 and it was very quiet....prob one of the furthest away but only a min or so walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sharon2914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BODRUM_PARK, Ön Büro Müdürü at smartline Petunya Beach, responded to this review, 27 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback on Tripadvisor. Every positive feedback motivates us more to provide an excellent service to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome.

It would be great to welcome you again at smartline Petunya Beach.

Kind Regards,
Fatih Akbaş
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great britain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

this is based upon my visit on 17th july all inclusive not others or there comments,Took the whole family 7 of us my wife daughter her husband my son and 2 grandchildren so varying in ages. The rooms we were given were 3115 and 7115 in 3115 there were bunks a double and a single not a lot of space but you dont live in your room,not enough wardrobe space for 5 if you had them in there,i did not so i spread our clothes out on the spare bed.The bathroom is fine always hot water and towels but you have to push the staff to change the sheets and towels or they forg et or just dont do it.
My daughter and son in law and grand children had room 7115 a double bed and bunks which were great for a 4 year old and a 10 year old good room spacious but again not enough wardrobe space, haveing looked at the rooms it looks like the tried to get the most out of the hotel as they can but lack in wardrobe space.They do not have any english news channels so no point in asking.
The pools are great for kids with the slides and the kiddies pool is great too,good job the slides were open at certain times with a pool attendant which they needed because it could get out of hand with certain children.
sunbeds can be a nightmare in getting unless you get up at 7am and put your towels out,they have there own part of a beach which gets very conjested as the chairs go right up to the sea and it can be difficult to walk the beach,snorkaling is brilliant and not packed with people the sea is so clean and a lovely shade of blue.
there a an assault course in the sea a little way from the hotel cost about £8 per hour and it is not for the unfit so get some training in now.
along the beach there are a lot of restarants and cafes not cheap but some are very nice, a beer coffee and orange juice is about £8 to £9 i suppose the same as most of europe these days, food is sameish all over turkey but you dont go there for english food if you do dont go you will be waisting your money stay at home.
Now the main thing is the restarant gets very busy and they dont have tables for 8 only 4 unless you go on the roof in the blazeing sun and it was in the 30s when we were there,They lack staff that understand a table needs to be clean before anyone wants to eat at it because they seem to go so slow when a table becomes empty,now i must say that is not all of the staff but you will see for yourself who i mean.
The food well overall it was nice starting with breakfast cerials, coffee, tea not your PG but just as good soft drinks like orange cherry and various other fruit flavours.They have eggs scrammbled fried hard boiled to go with pancakes tomatoes not cooked thats the tomatoes, lots of breads and rolls sausages and sometimes baked beans and the usual continental stye meats etc with cheeses olives and salads and of course fruit.
lunch they have chicken kebab with the usual salads and bread to go and pastas but if you go in the restarant the variaty is much more with pastas macaroni cheese meats etc, it is difficut to tell as they change each lunch time.The evening meal can vary so i wont go into it so much to say that ther is something for everone and the kids will not be dissapointed as they have the usual sweets with ice cream for the kids and i must say i have traveled the world and the ice cream is magic what a lovely creamy texture, Dont be put off by the look of some of the things have a small taster and you will be surprised.
Now for the bar 1 person on all day yes 1 they need at least 2 minimum drinks are not english at all but you will get a lot of spirits in your drink so tell them to stop if you have to,all drinks are in plastic cups for safety.and cocktails after 7pm.
Entertainment well thats for you to decide some i enjoyed some was boreing but this is not 5star so you cannot expect las vegas type shows, the kids disco is repedative but ok

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paully1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BODRUM_PARK, Ön Büro Müdürü at smartline Petunya Beach, responded to this review, 28 March 2015
Dear "paully1",

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel.Your satisfaction is very important to us.
Our experience during your vacation that you would like to state that we are sorry for the problems.

Our management team and associated with unit chiefs have informed staff on the issue for the necessary precautions to be taken and corrections will be made in accordance to that.

We would like to see you here again and make sure that you see how we have taken care of these problems that you experienced during your stay.

For any questions or requests, please contact the below e-mail address:
fa@zeniyaresorts.com

Best Regards.
Fatih Akbas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you can get this hotel for a good price then I would recommend. Don't expect 5 or 4 star cause it is not. The hotel location is by far it's strong point as it is right on the beach,however, the beach is not all sand and is full of small pebbles at the water edge which was very uncomfortable on the feet. The hotel has lots of facilities such as spa, hair salon, photographer, shop, wifi is chargeable but poor, and a doctor is on site which was a great comfort. The two pools were great, one for adults, one for kids with a small baby pool also. The water slides are great but only open for few hours per day which was a let down. A life guard was also on site most of the time. Our room was pretty small with a double, a single and a set of bunk beds. There was air con, a fridge, safety deposit (chargeable) and a TV (Russian channels with one british channel) the bathroom was adequate. One good point was the vinyl floor which was not as slippy for young kids as tiles. Beach towels are provided free but charged if you wanted to have them cleaned. The rooms were cleaned daily. Kids club was advertised but was non existent. A small play park is on site also but was not lite up at night which seemed odd.all exclusive Food and drink was provided from two bars. The pool side and the restaurant. Both bars provided basic drinks only. No option for premium brands. Food was very similar every day catering mostly for the Russian and European guests. Stews, chips, salad, grilled fish, A la carte it is NOT. Don't expect a late night snack as only soup is served at night after the dinner is finished. If you are looking for great food, go to the restaurants nearby and for about 200tl you can have a great meal for four. Entertainment is very poor with 30 mins kids disco followed by poor 2 piece bands. The hotel staff are all very friendly with limited English. The resort is nice with nice bars on the beach and lots of places to eat but was a bit quiet for July and I think the all inclusive hotels are taking there toll on the bars. Prices are similar to what you would pay in UK. You get what you pay for so don't pay over the odds for this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BODRUM_PARK, Ön Büro Müdürü at smartline Petunya Beach, responded to this review, 28 March 2015
Dear "Scott C",

On behalf of the smartline Petunya Beach Team I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us with the wider travelling community here on Trip Advisor.

It is important for us to know how we can improve our services for the future. All comments about rooms are seriously taken into consideration and would like to assure you that your comments will be passed onto the senior management team for consideration. We already have an action plan for our rooms to provide our guests’ satisfaction.

We hope that we do have the chance to welcome you back once again. The doors will always be open and it will be an honour to welcome you once again.

Best regards,

Fatih Akbas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

the food is lovely and accommodation is comfy, the staff are very helpful and polite also entertainment is enjoyable, i would recommend this hotel to everyone as it's full of fun and family friendly. The beach is very close to the resort so no travelling is needed

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I liked the holiday because the staff we're very helpful and the food was nice. Also they had a beach which in the resort so that we didn't then have too travel anywhere. The drinks are very nice and are made very quick.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucieAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned from 7 nights all inclusive at the Petunya Beach, had a fantastic holiday, traveled with four children and my husband, got an interconnecting room with 2 sets of bunk beds in one and a double for us, rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels, Dr on site and Mangers office accessible to anyone, excellent food with lots of variety, great bars with real soft drinks i.e coca cola and fanta, good Alcoholic selection and the lager Effe was always ice cold, the staff were really friendly, the location was perfect with two pools one with great water slides and one for the grown ups, right on the beach and on a strip with lots of lovely restaurants and bars, with shops and locally made gifts. All in all one of the best holidays we have been on went with Jet 2 great flight times and transfers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elelovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortakent
0.0 mi away
Cocos The Club
Cocos The Club
#1 of 29 in Ortakent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 97 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.0 mi away
Temenos Hotel
Temenos Hotel
#9 of 29 in Ortakent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#7 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
5.3 mi away
Asmin Hotel
Asmin Hotel
#17 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#15 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Petunya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Petunya Beach

Property: smartline Petunya Beach
Address: Yahsi Yalisi Ortakent, Ortakent 48400, Turkey (Formerly Petunya Beach Resort)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ortakent
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ortakent
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ortakent
#4 Family Hotel in Ortakent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Petunya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the major refurbishment smartline Petunya Beach has upgraded to 4* and proud to provide you with 4* quality special concept and activities under our new 4* concept.smartline Petunya Beach is situated in awarded Yahşi Beach that is established 18.000 m² without disturbing the nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your smartline Petunya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petunya Beach Hotel Ortakent
Hotel Sardunya And Petunya
Sardunya And Petunya Yaliciftlik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing