We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people in Turkey”
Review of Yahsi Beach

Yahsi Beach
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Ortakent
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely people in Turkey”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very quiet resort but travel to bodrum and Gumbet is easy with lots of entertainment and picturesque well worth it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    98
    33
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little strip”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Is a great little strip to walk along with no stress. Fantastic views across the bay with windsurfers and sailing boats dotted all around

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank supablu1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Empty beach”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Best time of year to visit this area, great weather and empty beaches, with good facilities. No hassle from waiters of restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bearfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The strip is first class, Excellent Beach and full of Shops, Bars Restaurants. Spoilt for choice and the locals are great people and so friendly

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What makes Yahsi Excellent ?”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The area is realy popular with the Turks, we met people who fly down from Istanbul etc.for the weekend. There are a few bars that play loud music but they are in the minority. Be wary of the Guzet Fish restaurant,.. they are like the trade 15 years ago,.... Sharp con artists. Vera's restaurant give you a free Starter,... Puffy Bread and Trimmings,..Olives, Garlic Butter & Chilli Spread. This is totally free & one reason why so many people return there. The Guzet Balik (fish) Restaurant seat you,.. then bring a bottle of water to your table open it and pour,.... all very nice until you get the Bill,... Firstly we were Charged for something we didn't order,..Water,... Secondly the charge was 10 lire,.. this is 800 % what you are charged in the mini market. I was fuming,.. but having had a few beers bit my tongue. A few days later the head man spoke to us asking if we'd enjoyed the meal,... I was polite,... ever so polite and put him in the picture. If we dined again he promised us a surprise,.... The idea that this Sharp Practice was still going on was a disappointment. 99.9% of the Turks we met were Straightforward honest people, go into the markets & expect to haggle,...it's all good fun,... but as others have advised,.. don't haggle a low price then p... the guy off by walking away. As for the beach,.. I live in the south West,... we have sand,.. but we also have a hell of a lot of pebbles. Where Yahsi differs is that the beach is either gritty sand or pebbles depending where you are,.. but then once in the water there are pebbles,.. some quite big,.. but wander out about 12 foot and there is the sand. Beach shoes are sold in the local shops so if you've really soft tootsies then it's easy to buy a pair. Some of the cafes etc are not used to the term English tea,... you may end up with Turkish tea & milk. Personally I like to Eat & Drink local so I was having mugs of black Turkish tea,.... mind you after 2 weeks coming home to poor old PG Tips was a bit of a culture shock,.. so I went out for some Yorkshire tea,.. lol. Back to the area; Yahsi is unspoiled, as yet it seems to be retaining it's simple charm. Change is coming, the new mariner with is 20+ cameras monitoring 24/7 is opposite the new hotel that looks to have more stars than the milkyway,.. nearby a complex of modern housing is being built, all with balconies & sea views. The new roads in this area of Turkey have opened it up to the rest of the country, and in Turkey there is some serious money. I hope they resist the temptation to appeal to the young Stagg & Hen Gangs who have spoiled much of the holiday areas around the world. Aiya Napa in Cypruss,.. a Hell Hole for most of us,.. but go at the end of the season and it's ok especially if you time it for their Culture Week. As stated previously Yahsi isn't for everyone, but get closer to Bodrum & you will find the Water Park & City life. Driving,.. I ride a motorcycle,.. in Cyprus I hired a motorcycle,... in Turkey,... I stuck to the dolmus (Mini bus). I didn't see an accident,..because as in Italy,.. they all drive in the same manner & because they all do the same mad things,..they all miss each other millimeters. Yahsi is famous for it's Fish,... you name it it's here although the mussels are imported,.. because the local water is Too Clean for them !!! Try the local meat dishes,... I found a lot of dishes were over seasoned with salt,.. but that may be because we've cut out salt in much of our food here. Tomatoes,Cucumber, Parsley, Olives Feta Cheese & Salami are not everyones idea of Breakfast,... but try it. We loved it, but I did have a fry-up at the Supermarket on the return home,.. what a mistake, Greasy & Unhealthy. If you want Weymouth, Skeggy or Blackpool you don't need your passport. If you travel abroad, leave the British menu & Arcades behind and get into the local culture. Absorb it & come away Wiser.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yahsi Beach also viewed

Bodrum City, Bodrum
Bodrum City, Bodrum
 
Yalikavak, Bodrum
Bodrum City, Bodrum
 

Been to Yahsi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing