We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location on beach front, great for a weeks break.”
Review of Acelya, Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acelya, Hotel
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Ortakent
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Fantastic clean basic hotel, on beach front, quiet resort for couples. Great for a weeks break. friendly hotel staff. Bar open late. Bodrum nearby, get to by bus. Bitez next resort along. Restaurants in resort sit you on beach to have evening meals. Very relaxed place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Steve-Woodlaithes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel has a perfect location on the sea front. The rooms are very compact but have all you need and are kept very clean. It was perfectly acceptable as a 2 star and for the price paid. The staff are polite and efficient and Ziya the barman is a star. We really enjoyed our 2 weeks because of the relaxed atmosphere and the fantastic sea. The sea is amazingly clear and calm and perfect for swimming , it is the reason why the village is popular with Turks. The beach and sea bed is rocky so beach shoes may be helpful and it isn't the kind of sea for playing around in.
Although we were on B&B we ate at the hotel a number of times and it was a good standard. In particular at lunch they had traditional Turkish daily specials but you need to ask for them or just go into the kitchen to have a look. They assume the Brits wouldn't like them and don't automatically offer them. My only quibble was that there weren't enough rubbish bins on the beach and so there were too many cigarette ends .

The hotel and village would not suit those who want lots of facilities or an exciting night life. The hotel and village have a good mixture of Turks and foreigners. In the beginning of October it is the end of the season so very peaceful , whilst July and August would be much busier. All in all a perfect relaxtion holiday.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jools58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at the Acelya Hotel for 2 weeks at the end of Sept. Weather was fabulous, people were lovely and the resort was very peaceful. The hotel rooms are incredibly small and basic - not too much of a problem I guess, but its definitely only worthy of its 2 star rating. The beds are VERY hard and the sheets/blankets aren't particularly inviting. the rooms are clean and tidy but the decor/towels/linen etc are all a bit tired.
The hotel and resort are very "Turkish", which is no bad thing. There are very few English establishments and therefore not too many "Brits abroad"....
Lots of people have mentioned Ziya the barman and we would wholeheartedly agree, he's absolutely smashing! There are lots of "regulars" at the hotel, but we found that they are mainly retired folk. Perhaps there are some younger guests earlier in the year, but it did seem quite an "old" clientelle" to us (and we're no spring chickens!).
Not sure that we'll be returning in the near future, but we'll certainly consider staying for 1 week when we're a little older...

Room Tip: If possible, request a room in the newer block as these seem to be more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KitbagRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

It is our second visit to the little piece of paradise. Don't want to shout out to loud because others may cotton on to this little gem. Hotel is about 45 mins from Bodrum airport and is after the towns of Bodrum and Gumbet. The location is ideal for families as the hotel is right by the beach and it is pedestrianized. The promenade leads to many restaurants and small shops, by night it comes alive with holiday makers out for an evening stroll. If you are looking for night life, this is not the place for you. However there are buses to Bodrum on a regular basis and the Dolmas stop is situated at the back of the hotel.

The breakfast is a traditional Turkish feast, you can however ask for your bread to be toasted. The staff are only to happy to help. The evening meals are traditional Turkish cuisine which as a family we love. There is also an a-la-carte menu for those who book bed and breakfast.
The rooms are compact with beds, wardobes, draws a vanity unit and television. The shower room is clean and tidy with toilet and wash hand basin. There is always plenty of hot water.We had a fridge in our room which costs £2.00 a day and is ideal for water and milk and snacks if you have a family.

A shout out to Ziya the bar manager, he is the jewel in the crown. My children adore him, nothing is too much trouble. The other staff at the hotel are fantastic with my family and make us feel at home. Families from Istanbul travel to the hotel for their annual holiday and I am pleased to say they remembered us when we arrived. This just adds to the ambiance of a wonderful holiday. I would highly recommend this place to families who wish to have quality family time, away from the hustle and bustle of all inclusives !!

Our Tour Rep Cath was always there to help and with her help we recovered my son's iPod which was left on the bus during our transfer to the hotel the day after we arrived. Cath is worth seeing she has lived in Turkey for several years and has all the knowledge you need to have a fun filled holiday without the hard sell.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stonebecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks and came home just 3 days ago. The hotel was situated in a wonderful place, a pedestrianised area in front of the hotel by the beach, so no traffic noise or pollution. If you are infirm or have small children this is the place for you. Everything is at hand, shops, supermarkets (well the small kind), restaurants etc are all so close, and the bus station is behind the hotel which means it's dead easy to travel around.

The staff are great and very friendly but the bar manager, Ziya, is an absolute godsend to the hotel. His cheerful demeanor is wonderful. He's whizzing around doing all sorts and yet manages to make you feel so special.

Yes the rooms are small as are the balconies, but as sue_tony444 says, who spends much time there anyway?

It says a lot for this hotel, that its patrons are re-visitors. My daughter and I are intending on returning again next year. I highly recommend this hotel for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Clean, towels and bedlinen changed on a regular basis. We had bed and breakfast which was the same each morning. Friendly the place to be for a relaxing holiday, but bus rides to take you to Bodrum for busier nights. Ziya is tops and the man to ask for anything, such linguistic skills. There are lots of shops and restaurants close by. Loved it. Jenny

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tigger190355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed at Acelya at the end of June 2012 for a week with a friend, Accomodation was of good standards, very clean and our room of a good size. our room contained 3 single beds, draws, wardrobe and dresser with mirror and Air con unit on wall. Bathroom clean with Shower, toilet and sink with a good supply of hot water. There was also a small room attached to the back of ours which had a cot, at the front we had a nice sized balcony with seating,

The hotel is small and situated in the most amazing position overlooking the aegean with Kos in the distance. Sitting by the bar we were able to fully enjoy the sights of the hotel pool and restraunt, the walk way along the seafront and the beautiful turkish riveria. the pool was clean and inviting and normally got a sunbed without getting up too early. We stayed Bed and Breakfast which was the usual Turkish breakfast which there was always plenty of. Others stayed halfboard and enjoyed their set menu meals each evening.
Ziya the barman was always so helpfull, spoke excellent english and couldnt do enough to help, including reserving front row tables for football and ordering turkish food they didnt serve at Acelya from another hotel especially for me.

Yahsi Ortakent is a quiet seafront town with a choice of a few bars and restraunts along the sea front, and there is water sports available on the beach, ideal location for those who want total peace and relaxation. we didnt wonder out of the resort ourselves as the relaxing atmosphere was almost too addictive and we managed to buy gifts in the few shops available, others from the hotel went off with ease on the buses to Gumbet and other local towns. the resort is prodominently turkish holiday makers, with a few brits and other nationalities, weekends were always a bit busier with turkish families coming to the beach for the day however we never felt overcrowded.

would highly reccomend this resort and hotel to those looking for a taste of Turkey in a lovely peacefull enviroment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emu699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortakent hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#5 of 31 in Ortakent
82 reviews
0 mi away
Dilekagaci Hotel
Dilekagaci Hotel
#9 of 31 in Ortakent
28 reviews
0 mi away
smartline Petunya Beach
smartline Petunya Beach
#4 of 31 in Ortakent
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cocos The Club
Cocos The Club
#1 of 31 in Ortakent
535 reviews
0 mi away
Lugga Beach Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Kefi Beach & Suites
Kefi Beach & Suites
#5 of 17 in Ortakent
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acelya, Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acelya, Hotel

Address: Yahsi Mah. Yali Cad. No: 54, Ortakent, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ortakent
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Acelya, Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acelya Hotel Ortakent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing