We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Update” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acelya, Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acelya, Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Ortakent
birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Annual Update”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

Well what can I say after reading the last review written on 15 September! Here is my updated review for a hotel that we visit every year for the last 7 years. A hotel is what you make it and from reading the new reviews I can agree with the beds being hard and hot water running out. The thing is that every body showers at the same time. I had no problem with hot water at 7pm which is still early in the evening seeing that we were never in bed before 2am. We stay in what us regulars call the cupboard but if you are not happy Dursun will show you other larger rooms if they are available. I must stress that this is a family run hotel and a room is what you sleep in. Most of the entertainment is outside of the room. We watched the owner and his staff preparing olives for next year. He serves us with drinks and waited on us a dinner time. He eats with his guests at breakfast lunch and dinner. You wouldn't recognise him as he dresses down. As for food I would recommend booking B+B and then when you arrive ask to be upgraded to half board when you fancy a hotel meal. We sampled chicken shish kebabs, grilled fish, meatballs, borek, lentil soup but if it doesn't take your fancy go into the kitchen and ask the chef for something else. Turkish food is simple and not spicy and like all places is effected by the credit crunch. I can say hand on heart the I was never hungry. As repeat visitors we look forward to what is wrong in the room this year. We have had fuses blow, a leaky tap and a bedside unit fall off the wall and each has been dealt with in a typical turkish manner......nothing is too much trouble and will be dealt with eventually. You have to bear in mind that this is again a 2 star hotel and basic. There are no cockroaches or bed bugs. OK so the pillows are hard and the sheety quilty thing a bit scratchy but we asked for a softer pillow and it was too warm for the sheet. We did not use aircon so this may have made a difference. When the temperature dropped we were supplied with a thicker softer quilt.
As far as the bar goes yes the music was club like but I blame that on the tastes of the younger staff who are planning on going back to Marmaris next year. We just asked them to change it ,again no problems there. Prices are increasing slightly but on average an Effes costs 4 lira along the sea front anyway.

Nikkis Bistro is fab and is well worth a visit for a great coffee. Eren their 14 year old son is a budding hotelier and has a lovely smile and gives exceptional customer service through his fathers training. Nikki also offers reflexology sessions at times to suit you. Look out for Celebi who during the summer holidays does a spot of Karaoke Turkish style at the weekends ( it not like in the UK). We forgot our airport lunch whilst saying our goodbyes which was a shame as it looked scrummy and better than anything the airport can provide. A can of beer there costs 15 lira!!!

Read the reviews.....if you are a like minded person you will enjoy it as much as us regulars some of which stay for a month at a time and now book direct with Dursun. If you want more go to the Lighthouse further up the beach instead.

We have met friends both English and Turkish over the years so the hotel must be doing something right for us all to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallpacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    30
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Just returned from Acelya and a little confused as to the highrating on Trip Advisor. Was expecting great things but have returned a little disappointed. Room was basic as expected but also very 'worn' yes it was clean but it was VERY small, a bit 'cell like'. We had a nice view of the sea but unfortunately only one person could sit and look at the view at a time. We had no hot water for a shower most nights, eventually discovered you had to have a shower by 5.30 the latest if you wanted anything other than ice cold. We had a 'smell' in the bathroom, reported it to the cleaner and she pushed the toilet brush against a pipe that was leaking to direct it to the drain? ?The hairdryer did not work and the beds were very hard and only covered with a bedspread ( no top sheet, this may sound petty but if you have been in the sun all day, it is very uncomfortable to have a scratchy bedspread as your only cover!)
We were half board and the bfast was as expected, olives, tomatoes which were the best tomatoes I have ever had, cheese, eggs and bread ( bread was lovely and fresh)
But dinner was uninspiring, under seasoned and bland, soup, meatballs/chicken and melon or salad, every day.
Bar service was very good but prices were on a par with UK if not a bit more but you did get large measures if drinking spirits.
We met loads of lovely people and lots of them are returners to the hotel which we found strange but each to their own and we did not question their choices. I would not return however, Ortakent is ok, pretty but a bit run down in parts, people were very friendly, hotel is in a great location on beach but it is a 2star hotel and you get what you would expect at a 2star hotel. Overall it worked out quite expensive and we will probably go back to Eygpt or Carribean where standard is a bit higher and we could get an All Inclusive deal for the price of a half board 2 star hotel ( after buying lunch and drinks for a week)
I really wanted to love this hotel as I had read such good reviews, but unfortunately in my opinion it does not deserve current rating. Overall Average..sorry

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juboWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leics
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

just returned from a 2 week stay at acelya hotel and the reviews we had read on here were honest and represented the place perfectly.we arrived at midnight and were shown to our room and the staff kept bar open for us, drinks were fairly priced and measures of vodka were huge! the rooms are very basic but fine to sleep and shower in, the cleaning lady fatimer (sorry if my spelling incorrect) was an absolute diamond, british industry would love this kinda lady let me tell you, she never stopped working, with a smile and a song aswell! if the pillows break your head tell her and she will supply a nice soft one for you. beds and towels changed daily or every other day. the hotel deffinately caters more for the turkish clientel and i have to say that on occassions we felt like second class citizens when it came to service, however i am not complaining cos on the whole they were very good, we did the ephasus trip, it was brill but so hot, take as much water as you can carry, guide was excellent (tanju) and our coach driver was the best i have ever had, very safe and sensible, we did the dalyan discovery too, mud baths were a laugh, turtle beach fantastic i recommend you make the effort.Bodrum castle well worth a visit at only 10 lira entrance was great if you love historical things. viras for the best steak we have ever tasted and proper chips like your mum makes, that alone worth going back for. We struggled to change our travellers cheques, post office in bodrum said they didnt do it although we were told they did,. the money bureaus say no commision but charge you a wopping 5%. our advice would be to take lira and guard your money well! the resort has a bylaw which has the music turned off on the bars at midnight and if you looking for lots of brit pub type places forget it, very turkish orientated which means that its a laid back quiet resort. the bus station right out back of hotel and only 3.10 lira into bodrum and they run till bout 4 in the morning so night out in bodrum not a problem, avoid 5 till 6 pm tho or journey goes from 20 mins to about an hour and no air con on dolmus so not a recommended experience. we went with thomson/first choice and word of warning bout rep, lovely girl but dizzy as anything, check and double check any bookings for trips, and dont rely on any advice as despite being turkish she really is quite clueless! Also believe it about the airport on way home, we got bottle of jack daniels (1 Litre) also bottle vodka and 200 fags from duty free for same price they charged us for 1 coke 1 coffee 1 plate chips and a sandwich in their cafe. Take the pack lunch from shop by bus station!!!! we wish we had. Weather was so hot wasnt prepared for how it would nearly kill me tho my partner seemed to suffer it well, but all in all had a great time, not overcrowded, stones throw to beach and sea, no mozzies, no cock roaches, bar music bit annoying but not enough to make me nuts, and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzeLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

I booked this hotel based on the reviews I'd read. I can honestly say that it's one of the best places I've been for years. The rooms booked through travel agencies will be small and basic, but ample sized wardrobes and bathroom. You can hire a fridge for £2 a day and air con for the same price ( or haggle a bit), we got air con. fridge and safe deposit for 37Lira for the week. The food at the Aceyla ( pronounced Acheyla) is ok, nothing fancy but does the job. Veras is definatley worth a visit, fab food and atmosphere. But all along the front there are places to eat and drink, fab fish restaurant towards the dock area where in the morning you can watch the Turkish excersising on the apparatus.
We had been told that the hotel had new staff, and apart from telling Alex ( young barman) to turn it down during the afternoon ( he likes club music) we found them polite and helpfull. Not all speak good English so an effort goes a long way, but you can make yourself understood. Spirits are roughly what you would pay here, but have a laugh with the staff and the measures are huge. Efes beer is about 4lira and we did not notice anyone being charged differently while we were there. You can run a tab up, so keep a note on what you've had. For a Huge bacardi and coke and 1 beer it was around 18lira. Change your money at Bodrum Post office, it's only 20 mins from the Hotel and Dolmus are right at the back so it's so easy to get around and see lots of places.
The position of the hotel is fab, pool is great and you can look out to the sea from it, never crowded while we were there. The sea is as clear as anything, but it is very stoney, and the pebbles and stones go far out to sea, so you need jellies on your feet, but the beach is sandy. You can see fish everywhere while swimming. The restaurant has sea view and so does the bar terrace. We are definately going back for a second go, we loved the place, the people and have never felt so relaxed. Wonderfull.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CURLYTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

What a great holiday. It was our 21st visit to Turkey and the first to the Acelya and Ortatent/Yashi but one of the best holidays we have had for a long time, The hotel is clean comfortable and staff exceptionally friendly and in a great position on the sea front.. Dursun and his family made us very welcome and the staff (some new it seems) looked after us very well including Villie and Michael. We certainly did not have any of the problems others seemed to have with them and feel that some of the so called regulars forget that we have all have different expectations and needs of holidays and need to live and let live.

We stayed bed and breakfast and ate out at other restaurants including Viras and Jimmys but our best experience was at the Manolya the next to last restaurant before the pier. There the head waiter set us a lovely table, talked us through the menu and even gave us samples of the mezes before we chose and a free Turkish pudding.. The fish restaurant at the end was very busy and appeared to be full of locals but we had an unfortunate experience where we came away hungry. All restaurants were very reasonable and because this is a Turkish resort there was no hassle and it was very laid back. We could also recommend a traditional Turkish restaurant, which begins with s just down the promenade from the hotel which sold pide, Turkish type pizza and Turkish pancakes freshly made in front of you, great for lunch and a different dinner. The Nikolz Bistro Bar was good for coffee, cakes and evening digestives but makes a great pack up for the airport, a half baguette of your choice, a salad and water for 14TL, we were the envy of the airport where burger and chips with a coke was £10!

Do try to have a Turkish bath and pampering at the Sardinya hotel 50 metres down the prom, great value and a great experience and we had the full works, including suana, turkish bath with soap massage, oil massage and face mask.

Because we had been to Turkey many times we decided to go to Kos on the ferry for a day. The Euro-zone is exorbitant. £22 for 4 ice creams for example and the whole day out including a light lunch cost us £125. An enjoyable day but not cheap!. We calculated that prices in Kos were at least twice as much as in our resort.

Did we enjoy it? Very much and like many other people who have put reviews we will be going back. In fact we booked our flight for September 2010 within 48 hours of our return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We have been to this hotel several times and this last time things have changed, the new staff were asking for drinks, tea shirts and ice creams, this would not have happened before and the pool bar guy played dance music very loudly and when asked to turn it down took the first opportunity to put it back up. The hotel is a lovely place and a great location, if you get a decent sized room its a bonus because some are small. Its always very clean. It has an overage client age in the 50s-60s and i know that many were upset by the noise going on at night

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We have just returned from the Acelya Hotel in Yashi Beach/Ortakent, and i firstly want to say a huge thank-you to Durson and his family for making us feel s welcome and doing everthing they could to make our stay perfect.
Well what can i say... we arrived at night and the coachtoppe at a liitle bus stop with smallparade of beach shops their was also a bit of a dirt track outside... please please dont be put off, this is just the back of the hotel and nothing to worry about... So when we turned the corned of the smll shops we were amazed to see a beutiful promanade and bay with lights glittereing and couples strolling.. we then saw our hotel and thought how cute is this little place... its just like the photo's but better in real life as everthing is within stggering distance!!
We checked in no proble i asked for pol view if an left and thats what we got, we thought there would be no time for food as it was late but the waiters and staff said 'no problem' sit have a drink and we will do wat ever you like!! now ive been to 4-5 stars and they have said kitchen now closed, so how nice was that!!.
The hotel is basic as in accomadation but as long as your not a moany minny youll be fine... because it make up fo it in location, view, and hospatality.....
Please if your retired or a couple looking for a relaxed holiday no loud bar strips this is your place....
By the way i also proposed to my girlfriend here because i thought it was one of the most stunning litle place we have been too, and we've done carribean.....

Paul
Worthing West Sussex

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauli_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortakent hotels
0.0 mi away
Viras Hotel - Restaurant
Viras Hotel - Restaurant
#7 of 29 in Ortakent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dilekagaci Hotel
Dilekagaci Hotel
#11 of 29 in Ortakent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#5 of 29 in Ortakent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Temenos Hotel
Temenos Hotel
#9 of 29 in Ortakent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
Lighthouse Beach Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ortakent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
smartline Petunya Beach
smartline Petunya Beach
#3 of 29 in Ortakent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acelya, Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acelya, Hotel

Property: Acelya, Hotel
Address: Yahsi Mah. Yali Cad. No: 54, Ortakent, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ortakent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Acelya, Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acelya Hotel Ortakent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing