We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unable to provide basic requirements...like hot water !!!”
Review of Club Aqua Ortakent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Aqua Ortakent
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Ortakent
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We have just come back from the Club Aqua Hotel (former Magic route) and have had an 'interesting' experience. From day one we had problems getting basic reqirements such a towel each, it took two days and asking 4 different members of staff, room had no hot water, although it reached tepid for two out the seven days. No mini fridge as promised, when we asked we were told it wasnt working, we had to point out there wasnt one in the room !!! The air con needed a remote which took a few days to appear, some rooms it didnt work at all. The room was also not the cleanest, with limited furniture, the wardrobe didnt open properly as the wood had rotted at the bottom from water from the 'shower' leaking under the bathroom door and warping it. We also had only two hangers between two of us. The bathroom was not clean with a brown stained toilet bowl and a shower tray surrounded by curtians that leaked (COLD!!) water everywhere.

We struggled with bedding finding it difficult to get a sheet for each of the beds, when we finally got one the cleaners took it away the next day, though they never changed the bed ! They kept taking sheets and towel and bathmats, and not replacing though oddly enough we couldn't ever see any signs of actual cleaning!!
Adverised as having a gym, it didnt...

Food was basic, and repeatative with limited choice, though we were lucky as people there the week beforehand advised us there had been no hot food the previous week. We should have had afternoon snacks, these never materialised. The basic often ran out of wine, vodka, and certain soft drinks. No fruit juices at breakfast, though they did start to add a few extras towards the end of our stay (i've never been so excited to see cornflakes !!) but it was eratic and what was there on day was not often not the next.

There was limited entertainment at night, and a limited seating area..no seperate area for dining/drinks so it was difficult to get a seat.

The pool was over chlorined several times which lead to stinging eyes, though again we were advised that it had been browm the previous week. There was also not enough sunbeds, after getting up at 7,45 to get the last two beds we moved to the beach after that! Also the sides of the pool had gaps in the gratings which a few people had slipped in/on and was a bit of a death trap.

We ended up eating out 4/7 nights and spent two days at the beach also having our lunch out...which kind disputed the point of all inclusive.

The hotel bar/resturant staff were lovely and very keen to help and we couldnt fault them however we found the front desk staff useless, and unable to assist us at all and fed usexcuse after excuse. Our Rep (Hotels 4 you) were also useless.

If you have booked and are reading this, the service did seem to be slowly improving towards the end of our stay, however if you do need to eat out and get away from the hotel, take a walk up to Vira's fab service, lovely food and reasonable prices. You can also use there beach area and sunbeds during the day for free.

We did book this expecting a cheap and cheerful break, however they really really couldnt even get the basics right and was certianly not the 4* it was advertised as.....and I've come back with the flu from a week of cold showers!!

Also do not purchase any beverages from bodrum airport....£15 for two small bottles, a can of fanta and a tiny coffee...total rip off.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tones02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

We arrived at our hotel at 2am, Was told our rooms were not ready and we had to wait half hour!!! Was offered no drink/food and also there was no information on meal times, entertainment plans or general heatlh and safety around the pool.

We finally got shown to our room and to our amusement we had two single beds!!! Maybe not having the same surname meant we weren't allowed to share the same bed. The bathrooom had no shower door/curtain and it wasn't the most cleanist i've seen before but we were happy to have a independant air con unit in our room, which meant we got to control the temperature and not the hotel. When we woke in the morning, the view from our balcony was very picturesque! Looking over the pool.

Then we went down for lunch!!! The food in the hotel was NOT well supplied. Anything that you found to be nice, once it was gone IT WAS GONE. Chocolate cake was put out on the last two meals i was there. There was 10 slices and it was gone within two people as they stocked their plates that high. We asked if there was any more to come and got told, NO MORE-You too greedy. I hadn't even got one slice!
We ended up eating out two nights just so we had something substantial inside us for our journey home!

The area around the pool was adequate, although you did have to fight for beds and parasols as there isn't alot of shaded areas and it can get very hot.
We were saying the whole week that if it weren't for the pool then the hotel would be a total washout but unfortunately on the last day we woke to find the pool was green.
This was 'SUPPOSEDLY' Due to cleaning but we guessed someone had put too much chemicals in it!

The entertainment!! I've been in that trade and believe me, i'd love to have a job at that hotel. You sit at a computer and press a few buttons!! Luxury. Not very fun for any holiday makers looking for a few games, quizzes etc!! DO NOT TAKE Children here, they will be very bored.

All in all our trip wasn't very plesant, but we did have a giggle with fellow english tourists as we all felt the same!! I don't think i've ever spoken to as many people on holiday before. It did spoil our first ever trip out to Turkey and people were telling us not to use the experience against the country but to be honest we won't be rushing back. There is nicer countries closer to home.

But honestly if you are going to book a hoiliday to turkey go through a travel agents 'Shop' then you will see what you are getting! If they offer you this hotel say NOOOOOOOOOOO.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaggy_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

The title of my review says it all, this is the worst most shocking hotel that I have EVER had the DISPLEASURE of staying in, I was conned by the company who swore that my hotel wasn't the MAGIC ROUTE it currently trades under the name CLUA AQUA based in ORTAKENT so when booking please be aware of this ............

After reading many quite frankly horrific reviews on this site I stated many times to the agency I booked through that i didn't want to be booked into this hotel, so was HORRIFIED when on landing in Bodrum and ONLY because the coach driver didnt know where club aqua was that it was revealed i had actually been booked in to magic route... even the coach driver looked horrified, for me that spoke volumes.

Our holiday was all inclusive but that didnt stop them charging us for 2 rounds of drinks, In the week we were there the cooker broke, and we lost basic ammenities electric and water on 3 seperate occasions through the week for 2/3 hours each time.
The food was unidentifyable to say the least and the indentifyable food was limited (one night we got chicken and burgers). Once the food that had been served had gone there wasn't anymore, there was no choice of food, no ice-cream etc. The hotel consistantly ran out of the basics milk, soft drinks and even beer. We ended up living on a staple diet of feta cheese, tomatos and bread when we stayed in the hotel, because were the only things that were edible. There was a salad bar which was suprisingly okish but there wasnt much to go with it. We even caught a member of staff filling a drinks machine with tap water via a hosepipe DISGUSTING considering we were advised NOT to drink the tap water on the coach as it was deemed unsafe. The rooms were okish but the photos gave it too much credit and the general cleaning wasnt up to scratch the floors were dirty etc..... during our stay the shower regurgatated dirty brown stagnant water so I had to bleach it before I could even have a shower.
The stairs leading from the bedrooms were cracked, chipped and dangerous.The grasses where overgrown and there were dishes left in the bushes. I found a bottle of bleach left randomly in a corridor with the lid pierced so it could just be squirted as and when nessacery, there was also no markings around the pool which i considered dangerous because the shallow end was quite deep. T.e hotel is based minutes away from a mosque which starts daily prayer meetings from 4am and is repeated consistantly throughout the day and its pretty loud. The gym that is based within the hotel does not exist and the "ENTERTAINMENT" was a laptop with a speaker attached THIS IS NOT WHAT I CONSIDER ENTERTAINMENT it would be more entertaining to atch paint dry!!!! The staff are mostly rude, unhelpful and ignorant.

I would highly recommend a week in a bangkok jail as oppose to a week in this hell-hole. I wouldnt recommend this hotel to someone I didnt like anymore than I would let my dog be treated in this apalling manor.

THE BEST PART OF THIS HOLIDAY WAS THE 4 HOUR DELAY WE ENDURED ON OUR WAY BACK TO THE UK BECAUSE AT LEAST THE SANDWICH THEY GAVE US WAS THE BEST MEAL WE HAD ALL WEEK. SO IF YOUR CONSIDERING THIS HOTEL THE GREATEST ADVICE I CAN GIVE YOU IS STAY AWAY AND WATCH FOR IT ON HOLIDAYS FROM HELL ITS BOUND TO BE ON THERE SOONER OR LATER LOL, IF YOU DECIDE TO GO ANYWAY I HOPE YOU HAVE A BETTER EXPERIANCE THAN MINE :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellunsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

To start off we had what we went away for SUN/POOL.
POOL AREA:- Good enough pool area, the patio needed a good jet wash and they should clean the tables at night.
FOOD:-
Breakfast- Sausage(saveloy) runny scrambled egg and boiled eggs
Lunch:- Salad, kebab meat(different shape every day) rice or pasta
Tea:- Salad, fish when it run out it was KEBAB MEAT(different shapes again)
Pudding:- biscuit that tasted like they had been put in the deep fat fryer.
Snack was 3.30-4.00 guess what KEBAB MEAT in a bun like burgers and horrible chips!!
That was the only food during the day no ice creams or anything!!!!!
ENTERTAINMENT:- NOTHING!!!!! You had the laptop playing music out of big speakers during day and night.
ROOMS:- as long as you have the sheets on you will not see the stained beds! floors needed and good scrub as you got out the shower you put your flip flops on otherwise you would have to wash your feet again as they were filthy! My sister bought some bleach and bleach her bathroom as she had a 3 year old with her.
we had freezing cold showers for the first week then one night we had the shower running for about 10 minutes as it warmed up a little bit if you kept it running and my boyfriend went to get in it and the bottom of the shower was brown water so it had come through my shower i will leave it to you what you thought it was. They were good they did turn the water off for an hour and got it sorted but then the next day it was coming out of my tap in the sink. The receptionist was very good but when i told him about my tap he was very rude and didn't want to know so he lost all my respect for him.
WAITERS:- There are 2 lovely ladies there that are waiter and they will do anything for you they were treated like slaves they were not just waiters they were everything!! one day the beer barrel needed changing and one of the men went to get them to bring the barrel round and she was walking with it on her shoulder whilst the men watched her whilst doing nothing which was a DISGRACE.
DRINKS:- bar was 11am-11pm but after 11pm you could not get soft drinks either only WATER!
It said there was a fitness centre/playground/games room/dart board/ kids club haha that is a joke nothing like that at AQUA CLUB ORTAKENT.
There were a few English at this hotel but the rest were rude people they would push in for the food they do not care that you have just been standing there waiting for 10 minutes. There were lots of men sitting around doing nothing looked like managers sons they did not even smile they were very rude and arrogant intimidating and they would make sure they got there food first before the holiday maker!!!
We went te relax and sun and thats what we got it was better because there were 8 of use so we kept each other entertained but im pleased it was a bigger group other wise we would of been so bored.
There people getting dropped of to this hotel and demanding to leave.
Everybody has there own opinions and my opinion is this is a 2star and i would never ever go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tonidawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Beware. It's not a 3 star hotel! It has only got local permission to use 3 star sign. Do not be fooled by your travel agent as I was. It's close to the beach, has nice swimming pool, has good connection with the city (it's in Ortakent properly, not in Bodrum)end. Rooms are dirty, there's no restaurant just dining room, it's close to the beach not at, there's no other activities except swimming pool (quite nice supprisedly). I've spent nice my time, because of I've only slept there. However the staff is very nice (Thank's Ramadan!) and quite helpful.Will not come back there, not only that I've overpaid (Check twice when go with "JetTouristic from Poland). Neglected rooms are not you are awaiting at the vacation time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brykant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2005

After 14hrs of travel we arrived at hotel at 4.00am and found ther were no facilities to get a drink or anything, reception staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. On being shown to our room we found it was directly above parking bays and looked out onto a road, not a pool view has online brochure states. The road was very noisy all night with traffic sounding horns on approaching bend. Dogs barked all night and at 5.30 each morning prayers over load speakers came from the mosque which was only about 10 metres away. After trying to sleep for a few hours we gave up and went down to breakfast and to look around the hotel, WELL i could go on in great lengths from here but i will try and make things short and honest.
Room: noisy,not to clean, in bad repair with holes in walls and bare electric wires, bathroom was dirty, had to hold shower head in hand to shower as wall fitting was broken.
HOTEL FURNISHINGS: old tatty and torn.
SUN LOUNGES/PLASTIC CHAIRS: very few and most were broken
FACILITIES: only one toilet on complex which was out side, all others were either none exsistant or broken.
RESTAURANT: only one with minimal seating inside other seating outside hence outside restaurant.
FOOD: bad{and i eat anything} only one choice of main meal,minimal ammount given,same thing for two weeks, coffee/tea was outside and milk was in a water jug not refridgerated and was often off or curdled due to being in the sun.
BAR: only 1 bar the american bar that was set on a windy corner outside and next to smelly toilets. Only 1 drink at a time was allowed and you could not get another drink if you still had some in your glass,{thats if the staff wanted to serve you}
SNACK BAR:none
MIDNIGHT SOUP: none
SANDWICHES: none
ENTERTAINMENT: domestic stereo{ that played about 3 of the staffs favourite record over and over} wired to a large speaker that sat on a chair with wire laying across paths. Belly dancer? 1 night {more exotic than belly}
POOL: not good for younger kids about 4'6" at shallow end and kids pool was only like a paddling pool 10" deep big enough for about 5/6 babies
STAFF: very unfriendly, very unhelpful.
REP: not interested, uncontactable
SURROUNDING AREA: dirty,few shops,lots of hotels, nothing catering for English, no live entertainment.

Magic Route is all inclusive but more like BBE, restaurant and bar were often late opening but very strict on closing. Needed to buy meals out has food was bad. There is nothing for the kids. In all it has been the worst place i have stayed tried to be positive and make the most of things but staff made you feel like you should not be there.Lack of sleep was taking it's toll when 10 nights into our holiday we got a room change {4 nights of things being a little quiter} I would not recommend this hotel for the young/families/ English or anyone else for that matter. IF you are going to Magic Route i hope you enjoy it and find things different .

7  Thank ladyk557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hampshire England
112
Reviewed 22 August 2005

On arrival at the hotel, at 4am resort representative asked if there was any water for us guest to drink as we had been travelling all day with out anything and they only had hot water on offer. when given our hotel room we discovered there was only 2 beds when there were 3 of us and i had paid 3 adult prices for the room and to temporarily accommodate my son they gave us a rusty old camp bed for him to sleep on and had to wait the next day for the bed which we had to argue for, rep was very unhelpful and was more interested in selling excursions than looking after the guests. faculties shown on offer on there online brochure is false as half of them either did not exist or were very tacky. ( things that did not exist satellite, no massage, no basketball courts, no out door restaurant only 1 restaurant in complex and no snack bar!) food on offer at restaurants was very poor and minimal amount was given, the American bar was allocated next to toilets that seemed to have sewage problems!
Things that were available but were not up to scratch i.e. table tennis table was broken, 70% of chairs to sit on also broken, 231 rooms and only apporx 40 sunbeds, and some broken and dangerous.
our holiday to this hotel was an all inclusive being English we go on holiday to enjoy our drink and food but at the bars it was one glass one drink and you were not able to get a drink for i.e. wife/husband or children as you had to go individually, it felt as if we were back in school having to que one by one to get a drink and some one was always walking around making sure everyone only had one drink each, we felt like we had put on a diet!
surrounding facilities like the beach was filthy and bars were not accommodating to other nationalities.
the only thing that we can say positive about this holiday was the town of gumbet which is recommended as there was more on offer in entertainment wise.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortakent hotels
0 mi away
Cocos The Club
Cocos The Club
#1 of 31 in Ortakent
535 reviews
0 mi away
Petunya Beach Resort
Petunya Beach Resort
#4 of 31 in Ortakent
1,366 reviews
0 mi away
Lugga Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Temenos Hotel
Temenos Hotel
#6 of 31 in Ortakent
63 reviews
0 mi away
Eris Hotel
Eris Hotel
#15 of 31 in Ortakent
33 reviews
0 mi away
Kefi Beach & Suites
Kefi Beach & Suites
#5 of 17 in Ortakent
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Aqua Ortakent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Aqua Ortakent

Address: Deniz Cad.No:49 Yahsi Ortakent, Ortakent, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Ortakent
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Ortakent
Price Range: £94 - £849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Aqua Ortakent 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Club Aqua Ortakent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Aqua Ortakent Hotel Ortakent
Magic Route Bodrum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing