We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings, but good overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Samara
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Torba
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings, but good overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Samara hotel for a week in June 2014, here are our impressions:

- Food: good but a bit repetitive. Excellent grilled fish. And everything is very clean: not a single stomach issue despite not avoiding "risky" foods.

- Beach: nice but too small for the amount of people and the number of sunbeds. Not enough personal space on the beach. And the swimming area is a bit limited.

- Grounds: absolutely beautiful, the gardeners are doing a great job, and they are kept really clean.

- Rooms: very large beds, averagely confortable. Nice terrace, and very good shower. The rooms are kept very clean.

- Staff: very friendly, most (but not all) of them speak good English or other languages than Turkish.

- Hotel organisation: they could be clearer about activities and the way the resort life is organised, they could give a map of the resort and its surroundings, at times the music is too loud in the pool area, and they could avoid doing noisy gardening activities in the middle of the night.

- Wifi: no wifi in the room, and wifi working (not alway though) in the reception area. There is large room for improvement here.

- Bar: typical all-in, with local (very good) drinks including in the price and imported drinks to be paid extra. Only Nescafe is included, "real" coffee is extra.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrusselsTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    298
    76
    25
    14
See reviews for
342
432
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great place for families with safe and quiet surroundings. Plenty of activities, short bus/taxi ride to Bodrum, very friendly staff, excellent food and large number of bars and cafeterias available. Nice large swimming pool, and clean beach for hotel residents only. Tennis courts usually available. Plenty of water sports alternatives but bring your international wind surfing license, without it you will not get your windsurfing board. Program each night, for kids too. Will definitely return. Recommend you rent car and drive around Bodrum peninsula. Eur 60 for family size car. Or rent a boat and go snorkeling.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ungi1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just come back from spending a week at Samara. A beautiful hotel with only a couple of minor observations that could be improved. First the positive:
Immaculately clean - the rooms are perfectly clean as are the restaurants and kitchens.
The grounds are well tended and planted with a wide variety of flowering shrubs.
Plenty of bars with only an average wait of two minutes to get a drink. Inclusive drinks to 2am which is useful as most other hotels finish at 12am.
Main restaurant food is really good. Wide variety, well presented and extremely tasty. Beef (which melts in the mouth), chicken, fish, imaginatively presented vegetables. Lovely. No complaints.
Water sports on the beach. Free pedallo's, canoes etc. The jet bikes (which are not free) are great fun and pretty quick topping out at about 50mph, which on water is QUICK!
Plenty of sun beds with no need to race down to save. Nice private beech which is sandy. You can also put your beds on the grass which is just a few yards from the beech if you don't like sandy feet....
The health spa is amazing with free use of the gym and inside pool. Massages and beauty treatments have to be paid for but oh my word.....what amazing massages. Wonderful, floating on air afterwards. I had to have another toward the end of the week.
The only real room for improvement is the time they serve dinner. It starts at 7pm and finishes at 9.30pm. That means you have to be off the beach at 7.30 in time to get changed and ready for dinner. The sun is still hot then - if they served dinner till 11pm - you could easily sunbath until 9pm. Still that is the only small 'grumble'.
We shall be going back in October!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank splatthefly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. The hotel staff is very attentive and the service in impeccable. They are constantly cleaning up and checking in. The room was nice and clean and surprisingly quiet (there are lots of animations that sometimes go later into the night). The open buffet is convenient, but the food isn't amazing. In general, Turkish food is fresh and delicious and the buffet left something to be desired. The terrace restaurant is great, though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cydney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a wonderfully comfortable, unassuming beach resort. Not crass or overwhelmingly decorated in gold and glitz. The rooms were spacious, with modern furniture, bathroom and tv. I had the most fantastic week there. The staff was incredible and speak fluent French and many spoke Dutch, as the hotel caters to French, Belgian, and Dutch families. Even though, I went as a single person for rest and relaxation, it was very fun to have the excitement and energy of children around. The food was international, with many Turkish dishes, which was very nice.
The only drawbacks were the spa, which I went to for a traditional Hamman scrub and massage, and for a full-body massage. Unfortunately, it's not very quiet or restful, since there is only one Hamman for both sexes and children are permitted in the spa area. And it's a very rushed atmosphere. Not enough massage staff, so again not really a relaxing experience.
The other drawback was the fact that there was only internet service in a few public areas. No WIFI in the rooms or outside or in many common areas of the hotel. Having WIFI in the rooms, and all over the resort should be standard today.
But, as I say I would go back tomorrow, if I could!

Room Tip: Next time, I will ask for a room not looking the big outdoor lounge area. It's where everyone g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gchrism6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

the hotel was very nice but rather busy food was first class as was the service and was very very clean our stay was spoilt by the awful bedroom that we were given and we paid for an upgrade, the room was small as was the bathroom the bed was rock solid the tv was no larger then 14inches mini bar only had water in it, would stay again but would like to stay in a room like they show on the website.

Room Tip: check first as our room was terrible and we were advised to upgrade to a Bungalow room via booking w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Writing this review whilst relaxing by the pool, couldn't ask for much more from a relaxing holiday. The hotel grounds and rooms are spotless, our room had a large balcony which got the sun in the morning. The staff were very polite and helpful and there was a variety of foods and something to suit everyone. The animation team work extremely hard and make such an effort with everyone, playing games like mini golf and name that tune by the pool. Had a Turkish bath at the spa which is a must and you have to try the cocktails ! As per previous reviews we were the only British people in the hotel but that didn't effect us as the staff spoke enough English to understand and the music/entertainment etc was mixed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clarabell91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torba
0.9 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
0.4 mi away
Sarpedor Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#5 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.2 mi away
Voyage Torba
Voyage Torba
#2 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Blue Dreams
Club Blue Dreams
#7 of 24 in Torba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara

Property: Hotel Samara
Address: Kaynar Mevki Bodrum Merkez, Torba 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torba
#4 Spa Hotel in Torba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torba
#5 Family Hotel in Torba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Samara 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to live out your dream holiday at Hotel Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samara Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing