We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap hotel, cheap food and cheap tourists.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onura Holiday Village
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Torba
famagusta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel, cheap food and cheap tourists.”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

When I arrived I expected nothing special but the faults are too many. We rented a car and the road to the hotel is extremely dangerous, the security told us that there have been at least 10 accidents in the last 3 months on that turn to the hotel. The location is quite far from the town centre, 10kms. The food was way below par, the lamb tasted like turkey, the food was very high in sodium, the desserts were the worst home made style you can imagine. I am Turkish so I know what a baklava is supposed to be like, nothing like the real thing. Queing up for coke and other cold drinks from the bar was terrible as my food got cold whilst I was waiting so you have to stock up your table with drinks before you get your food. You cant even get tipsy after 10 drinks of beer its so watered down!

The rooms were shabby and the bed mattress was very worn out and I woke up with back pains. No drinks faciltys in the rooms. The slide in the pool was out of bounds.
Very noisy russian tourists which made drunken noises througout the night. The disco didnt close until after 2.00am so had to put up with lots of noise. Wi fi only available in the lobby. Irritating German music after breakfast. Not for brits or older people or people with young children! Having said that Bodrum was not what I expected either but I do recomend the castle. I also recomend the ecconomy massage and scrub which was good value for money, thats the best thing I can say about this hotel.

Oh and on the brocher it said it had a fitness centre, it only had three sit up benches and a broken stationary bike. I was tricked because I wanted a hotel with a fitness centre. So beware!

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank TheWolf76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    67
    43
    21
    26
See reviews for
101
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I stayed at the Onura with my husband and adult daughter for the last week of the season (23-30th Sept) and had a very pleasant holiday overall, considering that we got a very cheap price. We arrived with fairly low expectations considering that there were barely any other reviews to be had anywhere on the internet before we left and we certainly weren’t horrified by what we found. Apart from one other couple we were the only Brits on site (and technically my husband doesn’t count as he’s Irish). Most of the other guests were Russian and the staff told us that they typically only have three or four British parties per season. Nevertheless, we had no trouble being understood and were made to feel very welcome. See end of this review summary list of the good and bad points.

Due (presumably) to some sort of admin error we ended up being the only three guests in the entire hotel on the last day , as it was the final day of the season, which was rather disconcerting. However the staff couldn’t possibly have been more helpful. Rather than the usual buffet meals we were served at our own private table with the chef and several waiters at our disposal! They even kept the bar and the snack bar open just for us. We felt like royalty. On a previous visit to Turkey we had previously stayed at the Ora, next door, when it was run by Barcelo. Now, though, the Onura has taken over the Ora so guests can use the pools and bars from either hotel. The Ora does look like it’s been uninhabited for years but for me that’s actually part of the charm. It reminds me of an ancient Peruvian city that’s been partially reclaimed by the forest. Beauty’s in the eye of the beholder and all that, I suppose.

The killer question is – would we go back there? And the answer is yes. For a simple, cheap bit of sun it’s perfectly acceptable - although if I wanted a really special holiday and was prepared to pay a bit more, I’d probably choose somewhere else.


Good points...

ROOMS: The rooms are in small two-storey blocks and rather than just a bedroom and a shower/loo you also get a little living room so it feels like a mini suite. Each room has a little balcony, a tv (though not much in English), a fridge and safe (have to pay extra).

GARDENS: Beautiful. Unruly but in a clearly well maintained way. Lots of flowers and trees.

POOLS: Altogether there are four main pools, one of which has a small water chute. They’re all fresh water and very clean. There’s plenty of shade from trees and umbrellas for those that prefer not to sit in direct sun.

SEA: Very clear and calm. If you take a bread roll down to the jetty you can feed the fish which come up in huge groups. There’s no beach as such but decking on which there are plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. There are two jettys and it’s very easy to get into the sea via steps (not a ladder, as I’d feared).

STAFF: Generally very friendly. Most spoke adequate English. No problems.

FOOD: Plenty of Turkish style buffet choices. As long as you’re open minded and easy to please (like us) you certainly won’t go hungry. The snack bar is a bit limited though (only burgers and chips).

ANIMALS: Some people see this as a bad point rather than a good one, I know, but there were lots of kittens and a lovely dog that befriended us. The grounds were also home to lots of birds and insects including a lovely pair of blue jays. 


Bad points...

ENTERTAINMENT: Maybe I’m just an old fogey but the music was FAR TOO LOUD. We didn’t take part in any of the entertainment but it was impossible to ignore as the decibel level from our room was huge. We did have rooms directly opposite the speakers though so maybe that wouldn’t have been a problem if we had different rooms.

END-OF-SEASON WIND-DOWN: Staff started to remove loungers, umbrellas etc two days before the end of our holiday. We hadn’t realised it was the end of the season and found this a bit rude.

LOCATION: We chose not to leave the hotel on this occasion (myself and my daugher were using the week to revise for an exam) but if we’d wanted to we would have had to get a bus to anywhere interesting as the hotel is located off a long boring dual carriageway. Once you’re inside the complex you’re not at all aware of this though.

OVERAL CONDITION: Some parts of the hotel do appear to be somewhat run-down. For example the flags on the end of the jetty look like they’ve been savaged by the elements (and hungry seagulls) but we weren’t on holiday to admire the flags so that wasn’t rally a major problem.

PUBLIC LOOS: This was probably the worst part. They tended to be a bit smelly and unpleasant. Fortunately the loo in our room was fine and we were never too far away to nip back and use that one.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soozy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

room basic but clean except for awful carpet and shower door, balcony grimey and foliage overgrown, staff helpful and polite, food not up to much glad we only booked for a week, only nine english people in whole hotel so thought it catered more for other nationalities but had lucky escape being relocated to onura instead of ora next door due to early closure which looked like it had been uninhabitable for years onura more 3 star than 4 but ora more 1 star than 4 star as stated

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staffy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley ,UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This is a pleasant complex of 2 storey blocks of usually 8 rooms rooms ,set in luxuriant and well cared for grounds . A large efficiently run site .BUT.....IT IS NOT IN TORBA ! Torba is c7 km away and involves 2 dolmus rides or taxi at c 10 euros .This was our main gripe because we were sold it as in Torba by Travel Republicl but you are isolated . However ,we had a good week....two weeks would have been too long . Clientele ......... ,mainly Russian and East European some Germans and French , main age range 20 - 35 ,very few children ,handful of over 60's.......We were " the only Brits in the village ! "at one point . Room...... OK ,air con., TV ( BBC News & CNN only ) and fridge , table ..... but no chair ! Small balcony......3 plastic chairs ,thats it ,no room for table........some rooms did have bigger balconies . Linen changed daily ,towels also if rquested . Room clean but basically 2 /3 star level in UK. terms . Staff..... were great , couldn't do enough to help you.....loose on timings of bar and restaurant closure . 2 Large swimming pools and lots of sunbeds to choose from & large water slide and kiddie pools (This was mid Sept and not completely full ,also sister hotel Ora Hotel and Village was closed , might be different in high season but did seem to have a lot of beds ) 2 great swimming pools up at Ora . Small artificial beach and small pier for sea bathing . Food......" Its breakfst Jim ,but not as we know it ! " No concessions to English Breakfast........catered for Eastern and Central Europe ,but you could get freshly cooked omelet or fried egg . Dinner .......huge range of salads and usually two hot meat or fish dishes plus veg.. Had chips just once ! ( Snack bar serves them 12 - 16.00 ) . Also a barbie serving up something different each evening. Puds to die for ! Food very Turkish and eastern . Animation team .......dire ! So bad it was almost good ! The guests who took part were much better . Eastern Europeans have a different take on life and social etiquette compared to the West ,their manners are not like ours so be prepared to be queue- jumped , pushed past in doorways etc........but talk to them and they're just like us .We paid c.£150 pp per wk. all inclusive , then flights on top of that. Would we go again ? Yes ,for acheap one week break.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boz-A-Brit-Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torba hotels
0.0 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
0.0 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#4 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara
Hotel Samara
#5 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Janna Bodrum Boutique & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zeytinada
Hotel Zeytinada
#10 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kervansaray Resort
Kervansaray Resort
#14 of 24 in Torba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onura Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onura Holiday Village

Property: Onura Holiday Village
Address: Torba Mah. Kaynar Mevki Bodrum Merkez, Torba, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Torba
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Torba
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Onura Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Onura Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onura Holiday Village Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing