We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rixos Premium Bodrum
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Torba
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in the first week of August. We found the service excellent, the beach team found us a sun bed on a very crowded beach. The guys on the golf carts very friendly and seemed to enjoy delivering people to their doors. We had bed and breakfast room only, the price was reasonable for high season for a luxury hotel. The breakfast was again 4 out of 5, they could put more organisation into the breakfast area to make things more naturally laid out, like having bread and jam together etc. The beach was very nice and private, probably the best in bodrum area. However the hotel should remove some cabanas and put more sunbeds in.

My main complaint would be the alcohol prices are expensive, 20TL for bottle of efes, it is 7 in istanbul, we can not stand being ripped off. It it was 10 I would buy more!

Overall pleasant stay, the beach

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AyJay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosPremiumBodrum, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Premium Bodrum, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Wishing you a great day from Rixos Premium Bodrum. I am very happy to hear you had a very good time with us. I hope to host you again in your next visit.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    239
    143
    73
    60
See reviews for
712
415
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Price to quality it was our worst stay ever. The rooms are tiny, decorated as if it is a business hotel with dark colors. Very small beach, makes you feel that you are in public beach not in a premium hotel. The sea starts to gets dirty in the morning around 11 am with bubbles which make you think that you are swimming in ??? The food is ordinary with limited choices, breakfast :breads are not baked fresh and orange juice is terrible. Deserts certainly not tasty. The white wine served during meals is warmer as the weather. The pool water is also not fresh , activities are limited, a la carte restaurants are not included in the enormous price you pay for your hotel. And if you are thirsty and have some water during the day, you need to pay 2$ for a Small bottle of water. Don't waste your money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sibelius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosPremiumBodrum, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Premium Bodrum, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Wishing you a great day from Rixos Premium Bodrum. Your opinion is very important to us to improve our services. We appreciate your recommendation. But, it is also very upsetting that you were not satisfied with anything about the hotel. The sea gets dirty regarding the side of the wind, as you may know all kind of disposal is permitted only if the distance from the nearest land is more than 12 nautical miles. We try our best to clean it with housekeeping team, we do not let anyone to throw any disposal to our coast. Rixos Premium Bodrum does not serve in all inclusive concept since 2011, A la carte restaurants and any extra beverage is not included the price. But, there is % 25 discount on all A la Carte restaurants and also happy hour with % 50 discount everyday. It is never our intention to create problems, we would like to apologize for the unsatisfied parts of your stay.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Let me tell you this first, stay away from this place if you want a decent vacation with your hard earned cash. The Management is absolutely clueless about how to manage this place. Customer Service is awful! We had 3 rooms for about a week early Aug. My brother's room - his bed - was completely covered with ANTS two nights in a row. Third night his room was changed to another building and some Baklava was sent to him as complements (free at the buffet with meal :) My sister's room had a leak from upstairs in the middle of the night. We talked to a so called Manager who turned out to be not fluent in Turkish and English. I don't know what he spoke? He took some notes and did nothing. One of the rooms were charged 51 Turkish Liras for a boat ride that never took place. Once complained, it was reimbursed, no apologies though. My sister wanted to extend her stay one more night, and it was okayed by the front desk. Her last day she got notified to vacate the room. The answer was we could not get a hold off you! - really - no phone call, no text, no email - perhaps a note at the room? Nothing!!! Needless to say a complete disappointment!

Internet is not free and extremely expensive. You must buy your alcoholic drinks outside of meals. Beer and Wine served with meals are Awful! If you need to drink water between the meals, it's $5 Turkish Liras. If you want a decent cocktail it is $25 Turkish Liras and up. If you go to your room before 12 midnight you cannot sleep and the reason is horrible and loud music played at one of the bars. No entertainment at all. One night of some dance event and that was it. Buffet style food was beyond bad. Same stuff over and over again. Perhaps, the meat and veggies served were the lowest quality they could buy.

It's sad that how pictures could be deceiving!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d50dslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosPremiumBodrum, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Premium Bodrum, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry for the inconviences you experiences during your stay. Due to the our hotel being located in the middle of a garden, we do experince on occassion ants in some rooms. On this particuler occasion you did not allow us to extermınate that day. You also did not accept the room change until the next day. Since you requested the extention the day before you were to check out, we were unable to accomadate you. We are sorry for the confusion that the stuff said that they could extand it when the hotel had no rooms available. We are also sorry that they could not reach you sooner on the same night. Knowing how unsatisfied you were with the hotel and the guest service we wish we could have extended your stay. As for the boat trip,which has nothing to do with the hotel, we were happy to hear you recieved a refund. The travel agency which you booked your stay should have informed you of the hotel concept ; such as : this is not an all inclusive hotel, extra drinks are chargable and internet is not free.The reason we offered the baklava to all three rooms was because you did not accept the free A la Carte meal offered to the guest which had the ants in the room. We also offered free late check out. We are very upset that you dıdn't fınd any of our offers acceptable or worth mentioning.
It is sad that how reviews can be deceiving ...
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Türkiye
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The location is really great, has a private beach surrounded by trees. It is a big facility with 3-5 alacarte restaurants, turkish bath, sauna, steam room, indoor - outdoor swimming pools etc. Everything seems okay but the performance/price ratio is low!
1. Rixos is a well known, one of the biggest, famous and expensive hotel chain of Turkey. So, if you prefer to go one of the Rixos it means you want to pay some more for a better service and interest. If they serve almost the same meals everyday there should be something wrong with it!
2. If they lost your car keys, and couldnt fine for a day at least you expect a little favor from such hotel like Rixos, but they did not...
These are the positive and negative issues about the Rixos Bodrum...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baybaycuneyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosPremiumBodrum, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Premium Bodrum, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Wishing you a great day from Rixos Premium Bodrum.Although, were happy to read that you did have positive experience, we were also sadden to hear negative experiences. We offer open buffet with variety of food. We also offer concept nights three days a week that features diffent type of food. If we had known you prefer something different we would have been to accomadated you.
Please do not hesitate to inform us of any special request you may have in your future stays with Rixos.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capelle aan den IJssel, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We go back to the Rixos in Bodrum in september for the 2nd time this year and the 4th time within 3 years.. We like the hotel so much because of it's high standard of services. The hotel is very good sun-situated. You can stay on the beach until 19.00 hrs., very nice. So we can recommend this hotel and we promise you will have an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingeborg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosPremiumBodrum, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Premium Bodrum, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Wishing you a great day from Rixos Premium Bodrum. We are very happy to hear that your vacation was satisfied enough with Rixos standards.
Looking forward to host you again in another vacation plan.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

First of all the location of the hotel is close to the airport as well as Bodrum downtown. This made it easy for us to travel to downtown Bodrum. The dolmus (buses) leave every 30 Minutes infront of the hotel for 3TL till 5am in the morning.
The hotel was very clean, check-in was smooth and everything looked new (especially our room). We stayed in room 4809, unfortunately there is no view from the balcony to the beach- there are too many trees blocking the amazing view. The cleaning lady was extremely polite and did a great job.
The food was very satisfying- the large variety made it easy to choose something different every day. We also did not encounter any difficulties finding a nice table to eat (during breakfast, lunch & dinner). However, I must mention that many of the waiters were not professional- They were all too hectic, it seemed like that there was no clear organization/ coordination among the waiters in terms of which waiter is looking after which table. When we were asked for our drinks or when we ordered something extra we had to wait a long time. The most annoying fact was that the nice ambiance was every night disturbed by some waiter breaking glasses, plates etc. Better coordination and organization would make it easier for the waiters and improve service quality simultaneously.
The pool was very clean and the activities revolving around the pool were well planned and entertaining. The kids usually prefer the pool area and spend their afternoons joining some sort of activity.
The beach is also nice, however, I must say that there are nicer beaches in Bodrum area. Especially in the afternoon the are many waves and the water is not as clean. In addition one disappointing experience at the iskele (port) on the beach was the fact that there was never space available and always the same guests had occupied the iskele as early as 8am in the morning. Every morning we tried to get a free spot at the iskele and surprisingly were told from the people who work at the bar that other guests arrive at 7am and reserve their space by putting their towels. Nevertheless, it was always the same people at the iskele and hard for us to believe that the same 20 individuals put their towels there around 7am. It was quite disappointing to hear that some of the guests tip the people at the iskele extra money to arrange a free spot. This makes it unfair for the other guests and does not follow the Rixos standards.

Finally, my last complaint would be about the shuttle service. We had to wait on average 20 minutes for the shuttle to take us from one place to another. More shuttles also for hotel guests living in the rooms and not only guests who live at the villas would be appropriate.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is very clean, staff is helpful and polite, the room architecture and interior design is almost like a boutique hotel. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laraoz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosPremiumBodrum, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Premium Bodrum, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Wishing you a great day from Rixos Premium Bodrum. I appreciate your honest review, I find it very fair. But, still I apologize for the unsatisfied parts, every opinion is important. It is good to know you find everything you need. We also wish that you definetely come back.
Looking forward to host you again in another vacation plan.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

first of all, I would like to highlight that not everything was bad, but anyway...
rooms are very expensive in comparison with other hotel experience, conditions are not very good. we paid almost 1000$!!! for family room per night, but conditions could be much and much better. photos available. restaurants? nothing to memory or excellent. shops on the territory? don't visit them if you have no Lira, but euro or $. expensive prices increase at least to 15-20% more. beach is small and if you come a bit late then you can not find bed-stone and umbrella. service? could be much better. free water is limited and very late delivery on request. you feel yourself on permanent "push up pressure" to spend your own money. if you pay, facilitate, then everything is OK. i have no problem with tips, but when you almost openly pushing to do so, then it is not good. internet? TERRIBLE, not free and very expensive. porter service? if you see my expensive bags and luggage and damages on them then you understand the level of the service. and it happened exactly in the hotel and some time even on my presence with further apologies, like nothing happened (???!!!). first and last visit. too much other places to select.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RixosPremiumBodrum, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Premium Bodrum, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Wishing you a great weekend from Rixos Premium Bodrum. I hope you had a safe and enjoyable journey back home. Your honest opinion is very important to us, because this is the best way to improve our services. First of all , I would like to apologize unsatisfied parts of your stay. We do not own any shop on Rixos territory, beginning of the year we just rent the shops, as far as I know they use both Turkish Lira and Euro, don't misunderstand me but it is optional to purchase form the shops within the hotel. But, still I will definetely check again with the shop owners. Actually, you are definetely right about the subeds, we have enough sunbed but unfortunatelly most of the guests reserve more than they need. Now, we are collecting the towels staying on the sunbed and not getting used. Every season, we renovate the hotel rooms and the hotel areas, I saw the photos you shared and spots on the door, but being honest it is not good the paint them in high season. We offer free internet for 20 minutes everyday, there is no sign in any web page or travel agency says we offer free internet,we don't have a free internet service, this information must given to you during your reservation, in such a big resort we do a good job with internet speed and quality. Ones again, regarding the luggage problem I would like to apologize, this issue did not reach to me.
Every guest is important, so you are. Looking forward to host you again in another vacation plan.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torba
1.4 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#5 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sarpedor Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
#1 of 8 in Guvercinlik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara
Hotel Samara
#4 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
4.8 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Bodrum Turkbuku Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Premium Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Premium Bodrum

Property: Rixos Premium Bodrum
Address: Torba Mahallesi, Heredot Bulvari, No. 15 | Bodrum, Mugla, Turkey, Torba 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torba
#3 Spa Hotel in Torba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Premium Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum Rixos Premium will provide the highest level of guest satisfaction and above the expectations of our guests will continue to live in a vacation.Our guests experience all the delights of international cuisine a la carte in restaurants, The body which is necessary for your health, including health and beautyproducts you can find everything in the Spa Center. 1 Indoor swimming pool, 2 outdoor pool area, kids club, water sports, diving school and lebanese-stylenightclub and restaurant.In case of need, medical consultant with the 24-hours clinical services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixos Premium Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Premium Bodrum Hotel Bodrum
Bodrum Rixos Hotel
Rixos Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing