We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our end of season break”
Review of Kervansaray Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kervansaray Resort
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Torba
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The location of the hotel is beautiful, with far-reaching views over the bay & islands. We were upgraded to sea view hotel rooms on arrival instead of the garden view bungalows we had booked. This turned out to be a huge bonus as some bungalows are a great distance from the main part of the hotel, with steep, uneven paths. The rooms are of a generous size & clean, however the mini bar was not stocked throughout the week as indicated in booking information.
We travelled with two teenagers who were very happy with the amenities on offer, and had no complaints.They soon met others of a similar age with whom they bonded, and we barely saw them. I can understand how parents with younger children were disatisfied as there were safety issues due to the multi-level hotel, with dangerous stairwells. Also much of what had been sold to people when booking was not available - ice creams, mini club for kids, poolside activities, evening entertainment (unless you wanted bingo & karaoke - which was a bit like Butlins).
The pontoon decking at the sea front was very relaxing. We spent many hours watching the world go by, and the girls enjoyed the water sports available there. You could get a hand line & fish from the deck, catching various types of fish.
The choice of food was excellent, although as it was the final week all was served in the large restaurant only. It was too cold in the evenings for al fresco eating. I must admit that some of the staff were quite sullen, so if I had to criticise it would be that more staff training would be beneficial. I certainly disagree with others who say that you must tip to get any form of service. We had drinks service at the table most days, but even if they did not come over it was literally 10 feet to walk to the restaurant bar yourself - even on holiday that's not too much to ask! Perhaps the other guests need to be friendly to the staff - if you are prepared to give a smile you get one in return.
The lobby bar admittedly was becoming quite an issue towards the end of the week, with staff missing for long periods, but other guests stepped in as makeshift bar staff - problem solved!
There was a great camaraderie between many guests as the week progressed - Barry & wife from Kent were great fun.
The spa services were superb. We each had very relaxing massages & facials, and the girls used the gym too. We did have to help ourselves to pool towels on some occasions as we are early risers & towels were not available before 9am.
We definitely recommend exploring independently. It's much cheaper & you get to see what you want, not what your tour operator makes most profit from. The dolmus (minibus) stops every 10-15 mins outside the front gate & for only 3 lira each takes you into Bodrum bus station in the centre of town. It is easy to hop on others, clearly colour coded & with destination signs, if you want to go further afield. The market is great for a bit of friendly banter & haggling for genuine fakes! The castle is well worth a visit with breathtaking views across the town, harbour & marina. We also chartered a stunning traditional wooden gulet to take us on a trip with snorkelling in a pretty lagoon. It was very reasonable - as it was a spontaneous booking they provided swimwear, the ice cream boat visited & we also enjoyed apple tea with the crew.
Our girls will want us to give a special mention to the animation team, especially Renato, who helped make their holiday special.
All in all we had a great end of season break, weather was good every day, and we felt refreshed.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms often have a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for choosing Kervansaray Bodrum among endless choices and sharing your precious opinions about our hotel with us.

We're pleased to see that the hotel service met your your expectations in general.
Besides,the points you underlined about the missing points are taken meticuluosly on board by our Management Team.

Hopefully, we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,685 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

I will not go into too much detail, albeit to say that the holiday did exactly what I wanted to do. Came at the end of season to have a break from a hectic year and all I wanted to do was to chill out.

During the last week everything seas being compacted in to the centre of the hotel. The gusts were being reduced every day as their holiday came town end and for us lucky ones left found that this lovely hotel was ours to freely use.

The food was lovely in the buffet restaurant, there was no loud music anywhere and there was no towels on the sun loungers at 8 am in the morning. The staff were great and the whole experience did everything I hoped and more.

If I was looking for an exciting loud experience I would have been disappointed, but seen as i was looking for a chilled out experience, this hit the slots.

Thanks for everything

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davetr1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your contribution and objective review.

It's pleasing to see your overall satisfaction with the hotel quality .

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

arrived 24th oct
room for four booked
no got a travel cot for a seven year old that was soiled
waited for a bed then it was broken then got a clean one and old one dumped at door for 7 nights good start
no kids club
no friendly staff apart from life guard
the staff looked miserable tired and when tipped no manners
was not clean and lots of safety issues
chairs stacked high fell on girls
thompson sold us a hol that was untrue with the amenities that were not on offer
feel mislead
wont be going with t again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Please give us some more details about your accommodation and the negative points you faced with as a result of misleading.
If you wouldn't mind,please give us the opportunity of evaluating the service quality and informations shared with the travel agencies . Here is a contact e-mail: grdirector@kervansarayhotels.com

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Ok, we booked through Thompson, who should have fore warned us that tipping is obligatory if you want to get anything near what is a 5* service from the staff. This is where it get silly – Thompson cannot bill this as an All-Inclusive because the whole point of AI is that you can leave your wallet behind and don’t have to constantly carry money.

We were very slow to cotton on to this, but actually tested it on the last day. Throughout the holiday, the waiter would come and ask you what drink you wanted at dinner and lunch. He/she would bring it and then you were never offered another one. At other 5* the minute the staff notice your glass getting empty, they should re-fill it or at least offer you another……not here….UNLESS you pull out a tip and then suddenly the waiter cannot do enough for you…As soon as we tipped on the last day, our waiter offered another drink, nothing was too much trouble, and he actually smiled!!

There were only a very small proportion of waiters that are friendly – about 2 of the male waiters and the (only) female waitress who serve drinks and clear away. The others never smiled or said anything. Speed of service depended on how full the restaurant was – one evening we had to order our drinks twice from 2 different waiters, as the first one took our order, went off and totally forgot about it as he seemed more intent on chatting up the single lady sitting behind us – bringing her drinks, smiling and lighting her cigarettes. One evening things were so bad, people were actually going up to the bar and ordering their own drinks. We weren’t the only guests who got fed up with waiting. One night we didn’t get our wine until we were on our dessert…not good enough.

It was the same with the room – first day, we came back to a full minibar, nicely cleaned room. Thereafter (as we didn’t tip on a daily basis) the service got worse and worse. No coffee, no toilet paper replaced, no minibar, and stained sheets which looked like red wine stains and lipstick prominently to see. Another time, we came back (after a very hot day’s excursion) to find the cleaner had turned the heat on full blast (on 32 degrees) and the room was unbearable and stifling. We had fully intended to leave the cleaner a very good tip on the last day, as is the custom in Europe, but again this seemed to be ‘wrong’ and we felt like we were being ‘punnished’.

Thompson – you MUST make your guests aware that if they want 5* service, they NEED to tip!! It was both unsettling and horrible, coming back to the room in the evening not knowing if you would even have any toilet paper or water to drink and what other thing the Cleaner would have done to ‘punish you’. It felt like a daily battle, because the worse the service got, the less inclined we felt to give a tip. All I can say is that the previous reviewer was either extremely lucky to get good service or else they tipped. I must mention here that we were staying in the bungalow not the main hotel, so maybe there is better service in the hotel.

We got so fed up by the third day we complained to the Manager, who did not apologise, seemed totally unconcerned – we suspected that he might actually tells his staff to only do a good job if they get a tip - we were left drinks and toilet paper outside the room in the evening, but the following day it was back to the usual ‘non-service’. We just gave up after this….
We stayed at a similar AI 5* in Rhodes and did not find this to be the case there. The staff could not do enough for you, were efficient, friendly and hard-working, and the room was cleaned to a spotless condition. If this hotel wants to remain competitive, it must change its standards, or else people will go elsewhere. Tipping should not be in order to secure good service as seems to be the case in this hotel, but rather to thank the person for their good service. The Manager needs to address this issue urgently, as it is things like this which will prevent us coming back to this hotel. Please note also that half the staff cannot speak good English/pretend not to understand it until you tip, lol, and you will be frustrated at trying to make yourself understood sometimes.

This was after having had no air con all week either - it just didn’t work. This was after the fiasco of when we arrived we had to be moved from our original room as the aircon didn’t work there either! In fact, after arriving at 2am, having to wait for 2 engineers to try to fix it when you are exhausted after a day’s travelling and just want to go to bed - was not a good start to the holiday. Then being moved to another room without the balcony we had paid for, which we demanded to be remedied, and then to our final room, we finally got to bed 2 hours after our initial arrival. And this was after tipping the bell boy! Finding the air con did not work in the third room either the next morning was a bit much….However, we tried not to let this spoil our holiday….

It is clear that the Turks staying at the hotel get preferential service as noted by other reviewers – it is blatent and they don’t even try to hide it – we were told that this is because the English are ‘too polite’ and don’t make a fuss, whereas the Turks are more demanding and as a result, the waiters are ‘scared’ of them and give better service! Again, the Manager needs to remedy this as the hotel is taking our hard-earned money – also we didn’t see the Turks tipping either. One night we were eating outside and were actually asked to move tables mid-meal, so that 2 elderly Turkish men could sit on the table we had vacated and smoke right next to us as their wives did not want them to smoke at their table! Unbelievable. But it was ok for us as Europeans to move and accommodate them. It made for a very unpleasant meal for us as non-smokers.

However......
The view from the hotel is stunning, the hotel itself is clean and having access to drinks 24 hours (alcoholic plus coffees, herbal teas etc) was lovely. The cocktails were AI and very strong, which was a nice touch.
The view is stunning and the hotel grounds are expansive and beautifully laid out on 3 levels – there are alcove where you can sit and watch the sea, and the swimming pool is a good size. I must add here, that the bar staff were far more friendly than the waiters, they would actually have a laugh with you, especially the guy in the Vitamin Bar, swim up bar and also the 24hour bar. Hence they all got tips before we left. The Life Guard who supervises the Slide in the smaller pool was great fun and good with the kids too – he tries to get everyone involved.

We actually found the food very good, fresh and varied, when we arrived there was cooking out doors (delicious flatbreads/burgers/kebabs etc) but halfway through our week this stopped we assumed due to the weather. We did enjoy the food despite this and enjoyed trying all the Turkish options also. We also appreciated the live Turkish band who played down by the pool bar – although the music wasn’t particularly to our liking, we enjoyed experiencing a different culture and the band were very accomplished musicians.

I agree with a previous reviewer, one day it rained and the dining room resembled bedlam – screaming children (the family next to us actually held their toddler on the table and ‘walked’ him across the tablecloth in his shoes) – Maybe there are different customs in Turkey, but the tablecloth was NOT changed before the next people sat down...

This bedlam continued in the upstairs 24 hour bar and the ‘internet area’ lounge above, – children running riot and screeching well until midnight, most unsupervised, the parents no where to be seen. With the thumping ‘music’ on the lower floor and screeching which echoed round with the high ceilings, it was extremely unpleasant. We saw children running down the ‘up’ escalator and hanging over the sides which could have been very dangerous. There were lots of tired babies/ toddlers, high on the sugary desserts – we saw someone with a baby still sitting at the bar at 11.30pm. All this while trying to use the hotel free wi-fi which is woefully inadequate for all the rooms (and is obvious that people are downloading lots of stuff), and frustratingly slow, if it worked at all. One night we were told there was no free wi-fi by the Manager “because of the rain…”

Went to book our free a la carte meal (you had to go between ten and 12) waited and waited from half past ten only to be told she was 'having breakfast'! After waiting over half hour before she ‘deigned’ to come in (no apology for not being there when she was supposed to be), she looked at us as if we were something she had stepped in and was abrupt and unfriendly. So much for ‘Client Services’! After all this, we were told that the restaurant we wanted was ‘fully booked’, so as one of the previous reviewers stated, we didn’t get to use our A’la carte meal. All that was left was the Turkish restaurant. As we could eat Turkish in the buffet this seemed pointless.

Another tip for the Manager – PLEASE remove the ‘funeral dirge’ at mealtimes – it was always the same 3 depressing songs on a loop which made us expect to see a funeral procession pass the dining room window – not what you want to hear when you are on holiday!

In terms of excursions, we had a day trip to Kos, booked through Thompsons who organise taking you to the ferry and picking you up again afterwards. Highly recommend it, the locals are friendly and many speak good English. Lots of archaeology to be seen and small trains which give you a 'tour of the city'. Takes 20 mins and costs 5e for two people.
Also highly recommend the 'battlements' walk. Costs about 3e and you get lovely views of the harbour. We had a lovely lunch at Sunrise cafe and pizzeria on the harbour front. Try the traditional Greek Gyros meal, tasty and plenty of it. Very reasonable prices and friendly owners who are very grateful for your custom.
Public toilets cost 50c. The one on the harbour is worth going to alone to see the lovely way the lady in charge has 'personalised' it! The other great thing is that there is free wi-fi all over Kos town which makes it very easy to find out what is there to see.

Also highly recommend a day trip to Ephesus, but be warned that you will only get around 2.5 hours actually there, the rest of it is taken up with a tour round a jewellery factory which they force you to walk through in order to use their toilet. Do not book with Bodrum Excursions.com. We got a dirty, tatty and unsafe bus which had obviously not been cleaned for a long time, the tour guide was good but this did not really make up for it – or the mediocre meal at lunch which was included in the price. You could have optional breakfast, but as this was at a roadside petrol station with a strong smell of petrol and also urine, we decided to pass on this one.

All in all, lovely hotel and setting, but we will not be returning due to the attitude of the staff and the unfair tipping culture…we will be staying a stone’s throw away in Kos, where our custom seems actually to have been appreciated. This hotel is a gem and could be so much better with a bit of staff training and ensuring that the guests all get treated with equal respect, friendliness and service, regardless of tipping or not.

Room Tip: Make sure you tip on a daily basis if you want mini bar re-stocked, toilet paper and coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank qwertyu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear our valued guest,

Firstly, we'd like to thank you for your interest in Kervansaray Bodrum and for giving a feedback about your stay.
Please be sure about the fact that all your comments are taken in consideration by relating departments, but just for information we'd like to mention you about our main operation routine and some of hotel procedures:

Tip is like all of the hotels never obligatory for taking service. If the service you expected stayed below your expectations, we'd like to kindly apologize from you and other guests. As you can appreciate according to the hotel's occupancy some of the areas can be over occupied and so the service speed can decrease. Sorry again if we could not come up to your expectations.

On the other hand, with reference to a la carte restaurant usage, after some guest reviews unfortunately we spotted that there is a misunderstanding about the booking rules:
-A la carte booking is made one day advance from the Guest Relations Desk between 09:30 - 12:30
-A la carte restaurant reservations are taken over always according to the restaurant capacity and availability
-Group reservations can not be afforded if the reservation wasn't made before for a special organization (Special Company Meetings pre-reserved with meeting rooms and private dinner area etc.)
-Free a la carte booking can be provided only once a week (minimum 7 nights accommodation is required)

In addition to all those infos, we'd like to notice you that all the other critisms you underlined such as minibar service, music in the restaurant, AC efficiency are re-evaluated in detail and are going to be certainly improved if necessary.
Thanks again for giving us the chance of re-checking our operation routine.

Hopefully, we welcome you again next year and have the opportunity to change your mind about some hotel services.

Kindest regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We booked this holiday quite late on, it was the best value on booking... We read some reviews before we went and thought OMG!!!! What are we going to???? We arrived in the early hours and were shattered, so we were relieved when we were taken to our bungalow on a golf cart very quickly to enable us to get some rest. We were really worried to see the room from previous reviews but it was beautiful, very bright & clean. Thank god!!! said me and the hubby. From then on the holiday was "absolutely fantastic", we've had the best time ever. We travelled as a family of four, us and our boys aged 13 and 7, for 11 nights. The food was endless, if my 7 year old was happy with it, the fussiest eater ever then it must have been good. We've had fantastic weather, most days over 30 deg. We had couple of stormy days but it was October after all and it didn't spoil things as the indoor pool and jacuzzi were a god send. Some bar staff could have been a bit more friendly but most staff were happy to help at anytime. Pools were clean but freezing, we got in but soon got out. The slide pool was great, we had loads if fun with other families trying to do the biggest splash. Thanks to all the families, you know who you are lol. We could have stayed a lot longer but unfortunately it has to end. Thank you kervansaray bodrum for an amazing holiday, we will return for definite.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Sharon,

We'd like to thank you sincerely for sharing your opinions about your holiday experience in Kervansaray.
We're glad to see your overall satisfaction with the hotel service.


Hopefully, we have the chance of welcoming you again in the near future.

Many greetings and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

1- food and drinks are the lowest quality.
2- service is bad. Minibar was never restocked unless we telephoned the reception once or twice.
3- although they sat the hotel is renovated, it is not true. The sheets were ripped, curtains dirty.
4- The elevator from the bungalow level to the pool was not working. Imagine climbing up and down the stairs with a 15 kilo-child in your arms several times a day. The elevator to the beach did not work when it rained. Someone should have considered putting a sign, in case some people decided to take it up to the restaurant level after taking a walk to the beach.
All in all, do not go there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear our valued guest,

Primarily, we'd like to thank you very much for choosing Kervansaray and for sharing your opinions via e-mail as well.
All your criticisms mentioned above and in your e-mail have already been taken on board by our Senior Management and till the beginning of the 2014 summer season some of your demands underlined in your mail and review will be added to our anticipated improvement list.

Many thanks again for giving us the chance of re-checking our routine operation.

We hope to welcome you again in our resort and provide you better holiday memories and positive impressions about our hotel.

For further questions, suggestions or requests, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here with my partner from 30th sep for 2 weeks and it was great. It was very clean rooms were huge and the location was stunning. All the staff were friendly and very helpful especially Ferhat who made the holiday that bit better he knew our names and knew our drinks and went that little bit extra to make sure we had a great time.The only reason i am giving this 4 is because of couple small things.... the restaurants (Chinese Italian) were not available to us after being told we could eat there one night for free. When the hotel got quiet they cut the buffet down and the open air disco was closed because they said it was to cold even tho it was 25C all thru the night. Apart from that it was an awesome holiday and recommend going to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Danny,

Thank you for sharing your opinions about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
It's pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All of your feedbacks are taken meticuluosly on board and evaluated by our Management Team.

Hopefully, we can welcome you again in the near future.

Thank you for giving time to review our hotel, again,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torba
0.5 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
1.8 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 24 in Torba
2,057 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samara
Hotel Samara
#5 of 24 in Torba
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Janna Bodrum
Janna Bodrum
#1 of 24 in Torba
329 reviews
5.2 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
937 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bodrum by Paramount Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kervansaray Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kervansaray Resort

Address: Zeytinlikahve Mevkii, Torba 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Torba
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torba
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torba
Hotel Class:5 star — Kervansaray Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kervansaray Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kervansaray Hotel Bodrum
Kervansaray Resort Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing