We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay disappointment”
Review of Kervansaray Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kervansaray Resort
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Torba
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2nd stay disappointment”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and really loved it....so we returned June 12th - 20th 2014. Unfortunately it was nothing like the first stay and a real let down. (Sorry for the long review)

The location of the hotel itself is beautiful with great views and beautiful clear sea. There is no beach at this hotel so if that is what you are after you should not pick this hotel.

Right from the start the hotel and it's staff were a let down. We arrived at around 1.30 in the morning....and due to having one man to check us all in and one porter to take the bags to the rooms...check in took 3 1/2 hours!!!!!! There were lots of unhappy people at this point and all the guy on reception seemed to do when there was a complaint...was laugh!! I have never in my life had a check in take this long..it was awful service.

We (two couples) both stayed in bungalow rooms...which were nice and always clean & Air con worked a treat. Nice and close to the restaurant which was a plus as you can have quite a walk if you are placed in a bungalow.

Unfortunately during our stay what seemed like an entire school came to stay at the hotel (children aged between 11-18 I think) as there was a Basketball tournament taking place for two weeks in Bodrum. These kids were rude, messy, loud, and mainly GREEDY!! Each child was taking half a loaf of bread for lunch and there were 100's of them. (We even caught one taking a plate of chips eating a few and then tipping them all back into the tray of food...VILE!!) This was a very bad decision by the hotel to accommodate these children. They took over the pools and restaurant and left pretty much nothing for the rest of the hotel guests.

As a simple eater I was happy with bread, cheese, eggs, pasta, pizza and chips, but the rest of our party who wanted a variety of food and meats the food was really really poor. Things that were out for dinner one night would be there reheated for breakfast the next morning.

You need to get up around 6.30-7am to get a sun lounger at the pool or jetty, any time after this you don't really stand a chance....the pool area is no where near big enough for the number of guests.

One evening we took a trip to Bodrum thanks to the wonderful Andy at Golden Plate restaurant. With a free taxi there, a lovely meal and cocktail and then a browse round the shops and a free taxi home, it was a great night. Thank you Andy....he was one of the nicest people there always happy and chatty. I would def recommend doing this.

Would also like to say that Gozde in the main restaurant was a lovely lovely lady...so polite and always there with a great big smile on her face :) Also Mehmet who does the photography again a great guy who we always had a chat and a laugh with.

There was no air con in the main building so we couldn't drink at the bar inside in the evenings as you would just sit there and sweat!

Due to all the complaints and let downs the hotel did give us our room for an extra 5-6 hours free of charge on the last day before we left, unfortunately this wasn't enough to make up for the poor service so we will not be returning again which I am gutted about as I love the Kervansaray hotels and the bodrum hotel is in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Kimberley,

Many thanks for choosing Kervansaray among endless choices for the second time and sharing your impressions here.
Please be sure that all of the critisms in your review are going to be meticulously examined and inspected by our Management Team and they will be improve in case of necessity.

We're very sorry to see that your last holiday with us could not meet your expectations completely , but we'd like to kindly take this opportunity to improve the details you gave and to assure you a memorable stay for the third time in Kervansaray.

With the wishes of welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    234
    195
    127
    169
See reviews for
568
372
42
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The price is realy good for The sirvice you get The peaple are verry vrandly and you gof good food but you dont have sirvice in The restorand and The wifi is bas The pool and The viiew are verry nicé and The entertainment is good The guest relation team is excellent

Room Tip: Whan you go to bodrum take a lot of money with you ist not but The hotel is good The service is exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis_007567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Dennis,

Many thanks for your very kind review.
We're very pleased to see your overall satisfaction with the hotel service and quality.

Hopefully, we have the chance of welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Kind and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

It's was fair enough, the people are good, the staff are so friendly. They arrange very good trips to tour the city. The food is more than good.
Good view of the sea, a lot of activities in the sea..
Yet, you have extra for the internet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Samed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Samed,

First of all, thank you so much for your very constructive opinions about our hotel and your stay with us.Your opinion matters us.
It's pleasing that you enjoyed your holiday in Kervansaray.
With the wishes of welcoming you again as soon as possible .

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here between the 16th and 26th June 2014, we are both in our early 20s. Upon arrival check in was chaos, but got into our 'bungalow' reasonably quickly.

We will say we got generally unlucky with our booking time, as little did we know there was a a local basketball tournament happening, and the hotel had booked in 300 children from Istanbul all ages around from 8-16 years. This REALLY took the edge off of our holiday. They completely took over the hotel... meal times were like feeding time at the zoo, they were all loud and crazy around the pool, they were rude, pushed in ques and were under no control by the 'adults' (aged 16-18!!!!). We were annoyed at the hotel management for booking them in as we felt it was greed of money, and did not take into consideration other guests.

As the hotel was at its full capacity before the children arrived, it became ridiculously noticeable that the staff just could not cope. They all looked miserable and was working very long shifts, they did not smile, they was not helpful, they looked like it was the end of the world. If you asked them for something they either could not understand what you were saying, or just never returned with the item.

As for the room, it was not quite what we expected when we read about a bungalow in the hills on first choice website! basically just a room, bathroom and balcony with loads of steps around it! we was also still in a block so it wasn't exactly exclusive.

We felt it lacked a small local town or somewhere we could walk to of an evening after dinner - the entertainment in the hotel was poor. One evening they said the entertainment was a 'pool party'.... this being them having on the music by the pool, even though the pool shuts at 8!! We were confused!! If you wanted to go out of an evening it had to be via a dolmus or taxi into Bodrum, next time we would like somewhere we can find some good bars easily. Luckily we made friends with the small amount of English people that were there.

The food was very hit and miss. Some things were nice, others looked naff. We noticed at times the things they had for dinner the night before, such as broccoli and onion rings were reused for breakfast in the morning!!! They also had no bacon, sausages or baked beans for breakfast, which we felt was poor. They did however have a tonne of salad!!

The views around this hotel are absolutely fabulous, the sea, the mountains and the other islands you could see were just breath taking.

Trips: we went to Kos which was lovely, its a must do!! we went to Turgutreis for the markets and got some fake designer bargains! We did the boat trip they sell at the jetty for £30 each... I had a stomach bug whilst there and was unfortunately ill on the boat :( but it would have been a lovely day.

Due to the 300 kids we felt we needed to get out of the hotel as much as possible, we did complain to first choice that we were given no warning of their presence because we would have paid extra to change hotels. First choice shifted all responsibility from themselves onto the hotel... even though they are the PACKAGE holiday providers!!!

Will definitely return to Turkey, but NEVER back to the Kervansaray!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Myself and a frıend stayed at the Kervansaray durıng June 2014. Despıte the extreme temperatures, the hotel dıd ıts best to ensure we were as comfortable as possıble throughout our stay, wıth an excellent aır condıtıonıng facılıty ın our room, however I would suggest that the hotel ınvests ın more aır condıtıonıng ın publıc areas. The staff were very frıendly and helpful, especıally Kubılay from guest relatıons who greeted us wıth a smıle every mornıng. The hotel was spotlessly clean and towels were changed daıly. Fındıng a sun bed by the pool or by the sea was never an ıssue and there was no need to reseve sun beds ın the mornıngs. The only thıng that lets the resort down ıs the food; we found there was lıttle varıety as the majorıty of the food was rather European, however the snack bar offered a much better selectıon durıng the day tıme. Overall we very much enjoyed our holıday at the Kervansaray and would defınıtely look to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58Emily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Emily,
Many thanks for choosing Kervansaray among endless choices and sharing your impressions here.
In conclusion, we'd like to state that the feedback points and critisms in your review are going to be meticulously examined and inspected by our Management Team.

No matter positive or negative all reviews are important for us and our best watchers are our guest's, thank you very much for your feedback again We'd like to underline again the fact that your opinions matter us very much.
It's very pleasing to see that you enjoyed your Holiday with Kervansaray and we hope it will be perfect at your next visit in our Hotel.

With the wishes of welcoming you again with the best vacation memories.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I went to this hotel in June 2014 with 3 other friends, and it was like a dream! had the time of my life, it was beautiful, clean, rooms was nice and big and cleaned, with new towels and sheets everyday, food was great, you had so much choice and you never went hungry! and the people there was so helpful, friendly and fun. Me and my friends also went to the Spar, we went in the sauna, had a Turkish bath, massage and facial and it was amazing! so relaxing and professional I would strongly recommend the Spar!! perfection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kervansaray H, Guest Relations Director at Kervansaray Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Paige,

Many thanks for choosing Kervansaray among endless choices and for your very positive review.
It's really pleasing for us to see your overall satisfaction with the hotel service in general.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were here at the Kervansaray Resort from May 29th to June 13th.

As the previous reviews say the hotel itself is beautiful and spotlessly clean, with wonderful views of the Bay and mountains.

That being said, I have to comment on the actual management of the hotel which I found to be shambolic especially at meal times. I have never seen or been anywhere like it.
1. You had to find yourself a table which in itself is not a problem at all but when there are so many people including children milling around finding a table that was clean and set was not that easy. Especially on our second week when the hotel was full to capacity.
2. The waiters did not speak very good English so trying to get a drink was nearly impossible so most evenings I had to go to the bar in the resaurant myself and get a drink, not the best really.
3. Very slow at clearing dirty plates etc so when you had your main course and then went for dessert when you came back the dirty plates were still on the table and we had to move them ourselves, this was not an odd occasion it was every night.
4. On one particular morning there was not one clean table to be had, there were no waiting staff at all on duty just a young lad sweeping the floor, I really don't know what had happened but the next meal time they had completely new waiters so I think they may have had some sort of disspute.

So that is my main gripe, the food in the buffet was OK not great but edible if very repetative.

Now onto the entertainment, well when we arrived there were only 3 on the animation team, that was Campbell, Titch and the girl who did the aquarobics, she only lasted one day as she got the sack. Then a couple of other guys turned up, they were only interested in the people who were under 20 or so years of age and just wanted to take them clubbing, they lasted one day. They then had an array of people turn up, not sure what any on them did as you couldn't hear anything because of the music that was blasting out at 100 decibels every day, unnecessary and very annoying.
We only went to one of the shows in the ampitheatre which was very good but didn't bother again it was too much hassle when the show was finished and the stampede to get to the pool bar where the live music was played was mad and there were not enough tables and chairs for the amount of people in the hotel.
The groups they had on a few times were very good and got everyone up dancing and singing along.

Now just general stuff, the first week we were at the resort was OK as the hotel ws only about half full so there were plenty of sunbeds and parasols and you could easily get one and not have to put your towel on it at some unearthly time in the morning, unfortunately the second week the hotel was full and that was when the trouble started there were not enough sunbeds etc and people began arguing and throwing peoples towels on the floor and just moving the parasols around if you weren't there to guard them with your life. Even if you were there but happened to go for a swim you could come back to your parasol having magically disappeared. As you can imagine this did not go down well especially with the very few English people that were there.

I really think all of the above issues could have been avoided had the management team got there act together and into gear and done the job of managing, there seemed to be enough of them wandering around with clip boards looking and writing stuff down but not implementing it.

So even though we had a good time, we did go out of the hotel to Bodrum to the Golden Plate the guy Andy comes round every day drumming up custom, the food was very nice and you get a taxi there and back for no charge, but he gets a bit annoying after a while. We also went to Gumbet which was a really good night, and we wished we had gone there earlier in our holiday. I would not go back to this resort even though it is beautiful and in a lovely location to many things need to improve to make it a 4* let alone a 5*.

I would just like to say Danny Parker the Thomsons/First Choice rep was brilliant, he had us in stitches and he gave very honest and good advice, he adivsed us of a lovely restaurant to eat in in Gumber and he was spot on. I can't remember the name but it is one of his favourites so just ask he will be more than happy to help.

I know this is a long review but I felt I had to be honest in my opinion which is what this is, I hope things have improved because we were there early in the season so hopefully the management have got it sorted and if you go have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torba
0.5 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
1.8 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 23 in Torba
1,628 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samara
Hotel Samara
#5 of 23 in Torba
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#3 of 98 in Bodrum City
214 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#11 of 98 in Bodrum City
2,310 reviews
15.7 mi away
Armonia Holiday Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kervansaray Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kervansaray Resort

Property: Kervansaray Resort
Address: Zeytinlikahve Mevkii, Torba 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torba
#12 Spa Hotel in Torba
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torba
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kervansaray Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kervansaray Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kervansaray Hotel Bodrum
Kervansaray Resort Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing