We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, very friendly staff”
Review of Omar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omar Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Torba
West Lothian
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, very friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Didn't stay here but a helpful member of staff showed me one of the rooms. All have sea views and although quite basic, very clean, good sized bathroom with shower (no bath), covered balcony and even a fridge and 2 hob for basic cooking. The big plus about this small hotel is it's location. A beautiful pool with covered toddler's pool area, big comfy cushions and lovely sunbeds. Staff are very friendly especially Hussein . The all day dining cafe is elevated with the most beautiful views of Torba Bay. We ate here a few times and although the menu is not a la carte it is good value for money. Would definitely consider staying here next time we visit. Hussein who is one of the waiters is extremely friendly (in fact they all were) and nothing too much trouble. We tried out our limited (very) Turkish on him!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaJLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

just back from Torba, had good holiday but if it had been my first trip to turkey I probably wouldn't rush back. Resort lovely, very picturesque. A must visit is to Olivia at night on the beach, very laid back and great food. Why is the wine always so overpriced in Turkish restaurants? Hotel very friendly but we had an apartment below people who wore shoes and walked around a lot late at night and early in the morning!! The cafe below the hotel played very loud music and you could hear club voyage's music late into the night. Turkish people as always were wonderful.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2008

we stayed here in june 2008 and loved every minute of it .Situated within a small unspoilt fishing village there is very little to do except swim and sunbathe and considering the weather was 47 degrees thats exactly what we did.the hotel is clean and pretty with fantastic views of the long winding harbour and there are a few choice fish restaurants,bodrum is vey accessible via dolmus which stops just outside the hotel as is gumbet (IF YOU FANCY SOME NIGHTLIFE) all in all a very lovely place for couples looking for a relaxing sun kissed holiday.The food available within the hotel was very varied and reasonably priced except for the english breakfast...... we have booked to go back next year and cant wait.

  • Liked — gardens
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mariaRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Omar for 12 days at the beginning of June 08. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with all rooms overlooking the bay. The lay out does not give the impression of a hotel but a small village with stone steps connecting the whitewashed buildings that contrast against the perfect blue sky and sea with exotic flowering plants dotted around. The restaurant consists of tables and chairs on the shady patio, a stones throw away from the sea across a lane, where you can watch the boats come and go and locals amble up and down the street. There is also a very adequate pool and sun loungers, pool bar and a small gravelly beach with more loungers and shallow safe swimming in crystal clear water. Rooms are spacious with a large lounge, small kitchen area, and balcony; air conditioned bedroom and bathroom/shower. The facilities are basic but clean and comfortable. The kitchen area is not really suitable for full self catering but good to prepare a simple lunch. Locally are a few shops and a number of restaurants specialising in fresh fish.
We booked directly through the hotel via family members in Turkey who negotiated a very good deal at this quieter time of the year. The hotel owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers excellent value for money. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast is typically Turkish, bread, cheese, tomato, cucumber, olives, jam and honey. Coffee only is included. This may not be to everyone’s taste, and we were craving cornflakes after 12 days! Other breakfast items are available from the menu though.
Small minibuses run into Bodrum every few minutes which is just 10 minutes away. The fare is 2TL (80p) one way. From Bodrum you can pick up other local buses to explore the peninsular. I highly recommend taking a boat trip from Torba to visit quiet bays ideal for snorkelling. Look out for Captain Okay Dokey and his boat who offers good value trips with lunch included. His boat is moored close to the hotel. There are also boat trips and boats for hire from Bodrum. I do not recommend taking any organised bus tours. These generally give you a poor impression of Turkey taking you to 'rip off' restaurants designed for tourists, giving you little time to see the sites you paid for, instead forcing you to visit gold centres, carpet factories etc where your tour guide gets commission. All of this is not mentioned when you book the trip.
Visiting in early June really was one of the best times to go to the Bodrum peninsular. I imagine that the end of the season in September would also be good. The hotel was quiet, beaches fairly empty and the weather around 85 with guaranteed sunshine and sea breezes. From late June until end of August the Turkish school holidays and more visitors from overseas means that this area becomes very crowded. It can also get stiflingly hot.
The only downside of staying at the Omar was the noisy 'All inclusive' hotel complex down the road which spoiled the peaceful atmosphere at times.
We would highly recommend the Omar at this time of year for a quiet relaxed holiday and as a base for exploring this beautiful peninsular by car, boat and using local transport. It may not be suitable for those with young children who require activities and theme parks or those looking for lively nightlife, although this is close by in Bodrum.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hypat1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torba hotels
0.2 mi away
Sina Otel
Sina Otel
#13 of 23 in Torba
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samara
Hotel Samara
#5 of 23 in Torba
991 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 23 in Torba
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zeytinada
Hotel Zeytinada
#12 of 23 in Torba
179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
1.6 mi away
Janna Bodrum Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omar Hotel

Property: Omar Hotel
Address: Ataturk Cd, Torba, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Torba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Torba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Omar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing